Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sycamore Lakes Touring Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Lincolnshire > Skegness > Sycamore Lakes Touring Site > Reviews

Sycamore Lakes Touring Site
Skegness Road
Burgh Le Marsh
Skegness
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
PE24 5LN
Tel: 01754 811411
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 47 Reviews
                8/10 from 47 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: BBMatt 1 review from this member

 I've been at sycamore lakes before even then the place was extremely clean as was this time. People were very friendly.

Went for a meal in the restaurant, they treated you with respect and the meal was extremely satisfying.

My only thing is the paths with gravel on, its terrible especially when you have a mobility scooter. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sparky and camel 3 reviews from this member

 First of all I would like to say the location and general condition of the site are great. The pitches are well spaced out, theirs not a lot of noise at night and the bar area is also great.

The staff are polite and do their best to help when possible but there does not seem to actually have a dedicated site warden which is a little strange for a site of this size.

There are some very nice fishing lakes which had a lot of people round most of the weekend which is always a good sign for the fisherman.

Down in the village their were plenty of places to eat etc and on the monday their was a carboot straight opposite.

The one thing that lets the site down badly is the consistent bad state of the toilet block. I think it's the only place we've been to where either a mop or Squeegee and bucket are provided.

The actual cleanliness of the actual toilets etc even though they were blocked one night which can not be helped sometimes, was ok but the floors of the showers and toilet area were a disgrace all weekend in that they were covered in grass and wet muddy foot prints which made them dangerous to walk on and it was in the showers themselves so you did not have anywhere clean to stand to dry off.

Shortly this is a very easy problem to fix with said mop or squeegee as I'm sure like us everyone else does not want to be leaving a mess when the leave the shower block !

All weekend when talking to other guests one of the main topics of conversation that kept cropping up was the state of the toilet block and how it was putting people off going their again so I think it's a problem they need to address quickly.

Just to be absolutely clear the site/Staff and facilities are generally good on this site it's just details like this that let it down badly. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: P7hut 22 reviews from this member

 We've been here 7 years out of the last 8, they must be doing something right. Our second year since upgrading to a caravan and our first with the hound.

We were going to give it a miss for a year but the line up of the yearly music festival convinced us otherwise. Some good local bands supporting, plus Ellie Dibben, Jess & the Bandits, Scouting for Girls, Toploader and headlined by The Shires. It will be hard to repeat such a stellar line up next year.

We ate on site one night, we were allowed to take the hound in to the bar and the conservatory, but not the restaurant, which is fair enough, no complaints with that.

We don't see much changing year on year, the facilities are still fine and not in need of any work, the fishing seems to get slightly worse each time but that could just be me. Apart from that it's just business as usual.

It's 21 per night (up 2 on last year), 3 per awning (full or porch) and 1. 50 per hound, making 25. 50 a night for us. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rupaul 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned from another stay at Sycamore Lakes. We have been here many times over the last four years and love it for its location not to mention the fishing, which is great. My partner caught 33 good sized carp of over 200lbs worth. We stayed on a hard standing spacious pitch on the first 'circle'. Unfortunately we don't know whether it's due to the time of year ie increased numbers of people but the site just seems to be looking a little tired. The pot washing area is dirty. This is not a criticism to the site cleaners but the people using the site with left over food blocking the sink. The toilets were heavily used and most of the time toilets and showers clean. However, I would like to make a suggestion to perhaps install little shelves in the showers for toiletries and a non slip mat in the entrance as I did have a near-accident due to the area being so wet. Also there do not appear to be any recycling facilities. Moan over, this really is a wonderful site at a very reasonable rate. We ate in the village at The Fleece twice during our stay and the food is fabulous. You must try their chips! Another very friendly pub is The Red Lion, which is a short stroll over the field. There are three grocery shops in Burgh and we were lucky enough to drop on the Heritage Open Day at the Windmill. Wonderful! The bus stop is just outside the entrance to the site but I wouldn't really recommend Skegness at high season due to it being so crowded but there are many good high street shops. The beach at Skegness, however, at the dunes end is well loved by us and our dog. Roll on September as we will be back at Sycamore once the kids are back at school. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Little Sparra 10 reviews from this member

 This was the first time we have stayed at this site and have to say we were very impressed. The hook up was 16amp which is brilliant, not having to turn anything off to boil the kettle etc. !

The pitch was spacious and close to the amenities. The toilet block and showers were very well kept and the staff were very helpful and pleasant, especially in the Restaurant.

My husband enjoyed his fishing with a choice of 4 lakes, and I enjoyed a stroll to the Garden Centre just up the road, and a walk into the village of Burgh le Marsh. Good for basic shopping at the local Co-op, and a variety of pubs to choose from for food and drink.

With it only being a short distance by car from Skegness, we had a lovely day walking round the shops and seafront, and were lucky to have warm sunshine too. Excellent bus services too if you don't want to drive.

All in all a very enjoyable stay, and wished it had been longer. Hopefully next time it wont be just for a long weekend

Would definitely recommend 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Al-1 1 review from this member

 All I can say about this site, Sycamore Lakes is,

Toilet block excellent, but the water pressure in the wash basins is a bit too low, but is very good. Its a shame that the odd user or two, don't know how to respect the facilities. The block is cleaned three times a day. The Staff are very polite and friendly, and will do all they can to please. The site is very well kept, and a welcoming site as soon as you reach the main entrance, especially after having a long drive. Restaurant and bar excellent food and service. Tackle and bait shop, has all you need as an angler. As a keen angler myself, lake stocks are plentiful, and if you fail to catch, your doing something wrong. Yes I must say, its probably the best site I have been to in recent times, and will return.

The local Village of Burgh-le-Marsh, has 5 pubs, a Co-op store, Spar store, and plenty of attraction including a windmill. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Toni72 1 review from this member

 Just returned from 2 nights on this site. Had to pay minimum 3 nights but well worth it.

Showers and toilets very clean.

Site well kept. Short walk into village.

Didn't fish but the lakes were fab. Will return soon to fish

Recommend this site to adults and families. No park on site but all the children were making good use of the open space.  


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Melrebnat 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed for the first time may bank holiday weekend disappointed when we arrived reception was closed but sadly we are finding that more and more, but couldn't get over how nice site was and are planning on returning the only bad thing we found was pitches are clearly marked you have to drive right round to find the numbers a simple board of some sort giving directions for numbers would be great. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: P7hut 22 reviews from this member

 5th year at this site and it was as good as ever, if not better.

Great size pitches for our big tent, immaculate shower blocks, good fishing, and the welcome addition of the restaurant.

We had our usual 2 weeks and invited some friends for the weekend in their caravans, both families enjoyed it so much they left their caravans on site and came back the following weekend for another stay.

We eat in the Lakes for the first time having only visited for drinks last year, and enjoyed it some much we went again the following week. The food really is special, as is the service from the owners and the girls. There are theme nights for food i. E. Tapas night on a Wednesday, and live music on a Thursday.

Nothing is ever a bother to the owners, and they continue to work hard to make the site very special.

For the 2nd year in a row we missed the on site music festival by 1 day (The Beautiful South were headlining), and will be taking steps to ensure we don't miss it next year.

It's also great that we are starting to see the regular visitors year after year, it's like seeing old friends now.

And finally, if you have read all of the previous reviews, there are now 2 extra industrial size rubbish bins. Problem solved!

As for off site, the Fleece in the village is very good, we eat there a couple of times, as we do every year. The craic with Trevor is great. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ianabc 1 review from this member

 This is the first visit to sycamore lakes and will not be the last. Could not fault cleanliness of show/wc block or grounds and every body so friendly and fishing very good. How ever you have no shop on site for gas or run of the mill things, no rules or bans displayed for fishing on site. If you need a good night out you have five good pubs, Italian and Chinese in burgh-le-marsh, co-op, spar, butchers, bakers as well as a chippy these three are relay good value for money and only five mins up the road by car.

Fish are in good shape how ever you do have some mug mouthed due to the line and end tackle size being used also with fish being bullied into the landing nets. I found 6lb for all three lakes was good enough with 10lb for specimen lake (ducks will dive & take your maggots or worms)sweetcorn, meat & mainline cell freezer baits do great fished seven days out of seven and caught every day, carp, perch, rudd, roach, tench, orf,

One last thing you are in the country with working farms and fields around you so you will get that sort of smell not cess pits over flowing. 


Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Sycamore Lakes Touring Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sycamore Lakes Touring Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sycamore Lakes Touring Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Skegness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3310 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement