Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Waxham Sands Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Waxham Sands Holiday Park
Warren Farm
Horsey
Great Yarmouth
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR29 4EJ
Tel: 01692 598325
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 97 Reviews
                8/10 from 97 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   No Bar   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  97 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sonygeezer 7 reviews from this member

With over a hundred pitches this is a big site, it has 3 toilet blocks and 1 shower block all kept very clean! a small shop plus a fish and chip van which is open every day in the summer.

Your pitch is very generous easily fits a caravan awning and car and still space to sit outside, most pitches have electric hook up, all be it only 6amp so you have to be a bit careful what you use.

The staff I found to be very helpful and friendly.

The site is very close to the beach also has a couple of play areas and a small crazy golf course so plenty for kids to enjoy themselves.

It did feel a very safe site to let the kids roam around freely.

Would I return? Yes!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: HilaryCooke 1 review from this member

Found this site by lucky accident and had a lovely 2 night stay.

The beach is just over the dunes and the walking is spectacular in every direction.

The beach is gorgeous and we loved watching the seals each day.

Dog friendly, clean and well maintained - all things we value

A great place for families and children

We can't wait to come back!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AndyRomain 34 reviews from this member

After a very wet trip to Scotland, I had to appease my 9yo son with a warm sunny beach, so after a look at the weather forecast, and a quick look through the UK Rough Guide to Camping, we found Waxham Sands.

Booked up at short notice for initially 2, then 3 nights, and was instantly given a spot, so drove off to Norfolk.

Very friendly service at reception on arrival, and upon finding our pitch, was pleased to see a flat, well drained spot.

Gorgeous location, just a quick climb over the dunes and you're on the beach. Good showers (token operated), with a nightly chip van if needed, and mini golf. Also a nice play area for kids.

Well stocked shop (beware of the 70p card charge).

Would (and will) happily return again.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Djsmashem 1 review from this member

Good pitch size being flat and well kept, 4 blocks or toilets which were clean but basic, 1 shower block needing tokens which didn't accept the tokens very well but the office were keen to replace them, the shop is well equipped and there is a play area opposite for the young ones and a burger van. Major plus was the location, just a short walk over the sand dunes and you find the beach. We didn't have any problems so I can't really comment on customer service but the check in was quick and easy. We would definitely go back again as it was good value.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Oldcodgers 21 reviews from this member

The site is isolated, 10 miles from Stalham where there is a large Tesco or Caister where there is Lidle and Tesco. The site shop has the basics but no newspapers. The site has a beautiful beach but you need to be a mountain climber to get over the dunes before you can reach it. No good for the disabled or elderly. The toilet block was near to us, basic but adequate. The site was scruffy but acceptable, not very well laid out, plenty of room beside the caravan to put up the awning but our back window was looking into the caravan behind us. On arrival we were told not to use an electric kettle or it would trip the electric, the site has 6amps only. The receptionist was not very friendly, took our money and apart from giving the site number gave us no information. Good site for young families who are fit and want a beach holiday. For the money charged we expect more, we will not return

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Malteaser red 12 reviews from this member

This was a return visit for us again this year, and still it is the best campsite I've stayed on.

Friendly staff, who are always happy to help with anything and are super organised and run an amazing site.

Nice shop which sells most things, chippy van open in the evenings, very tasty and generous portions.

Toilets and showers are dated, but are kept very clean.

Lovely sandy beach just over the sand dunes.

You really couldn't ask for more, it really is a gem of a site and have already booked up again for next year

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Steve.1945 8 reviews from this member

Been camping now for 6 years, tent first now moved on to a caravan and we cannot believe we have never come across this site before.

We arrived after 6 on a Friday evening and after being shown to our pitch we set up no problems on the more than adequate, large pitch.

There is 4 toilet blocks, 1 shower block, these are dated but kept very clean, (50p) for a shower token from the shop/ reception. When you token runs out the water stops.

The location is perfect yards from miles of beautiful Norfolk coastline very secluded and visited by the odd inquisitive seal.

There is a shop for the basics, a large play area and field, crazy golf and a chip van from 5:30 and they were the best chips we have had for a while and reasonably priced.

Overall we had a wonderful weekend here and if your looking for a nice quiet stay this is the place, we'll be back next season, can't wait.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Saluki 1 review from this member

Beautiful, brilliantly run, secure site.

I have stayed at Waxham Sands both with my partner and alone over the last few months (May onwards), and look forward to staying there lots more in September!

Key points

Large flat pitches, with a choice of being by the sand dunes. Fairly sheltered by the dunes although the wind can really get up on the coast!

Several toilet blocks which are all cleaned several times per day, big shower blocks and a laundry room. A shop which sells some camping items- the windbreaks are cheaper than in GoOutdoors which was great!

Very well organised and friendly staff - happy to help with anything.

Dogs must be on a lead- my dog is a bit nervous so I much prefer knowing that all the dogs are under control.

Signs up asking people to not play loud music- thank you- so lovely and peaceful.

Designated security guard who patrols at night - made me feel very safe camping alone.

Playground is well designed- there is a mini golf course, a little playground for tinies and a lager, mainly wooden one for slightly bigger children.

Just the other side of the dunes is Waxham beach- lovely, clean, quiet unspoilt beach. Added bonus this time of year- sea is filled with seals popping their heads up - very cute!

Ten minutes drive to large supermarket in Stalham.

Two minutes to local pub- Nelson- which serves great, home cooked food- would highly recommend! Also very close to cafe which does brilliant cooked breakfasts!

Showers cost 50p- I used two tokens per shower but you do get enough time with 1, and they are lovely and hot.

You are very near to Norwich, the Broads and Great Yatmouth, Cromer etc. I spent most of my time sunbathing, but there is no lack of activities nearby if the weather isn't so good.

I'll be heading back there soon and would say its one of my favourite campsites.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rosbod 14 reviews from this member

There is always something to do at, or around, Waxham Sands. The weather for us this year was not particularly good but we still managed to fill it with beach walks, pub drinks, barbecues and fire pits.

The site has been spruced up this year, with some of the shabbier windows in the amenities replaced and a fresh lick of paint.

We managed to miss the army exploding a couple of UXB's that had washed up and didn't see many seals this visit but we'll keep coming back as it's our favourite, unspoilt getaway hotspot and long may it stay that way.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lauren57 4 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a midweek break at Waxham Sands. We had a fabulous time and would certainly return!

This site is all about the beach! It's very dated, but perfectly clean and well kept, always seemed to be somebody out and about getting on with some small jobs. The play areas were great for our children aged 8 years 4 years and 22 months. They loved the little guinea pig enclosure near the park! The shop is fab, has plenty of everything. Lots of toilets and even though it was the first week of the summer holidays for us, I don't think the local schools had broken up just yet, so it was really quiet.

Showers were hot and that 5 mins lasted FOREVER! The best spent 50p. They were a little hot for my children though so we just did them quickly before it really heated up, but I managed to get 3 of us showered with one token.

The walk over the dunes and down to the beach is absolutely glorious! We managed to find a slightly less steep path near the dog walk area and it was stunning. The seals constantly popped up to have a nosey at us playing in the shoreline - and to check out my partner trying to fish! Needless to say he didn't have any luck haha!

Its lovely and quiet, and peaceful, and very easy going. We had day trips to Happisburgh, Sea Palling and Cromer. Will certainly be going back, was a bargain for the 5 of us with ehu at 18. 00 per night

Have marked down facilities slightly as it could do with a little updating, not too much though or it would lose it's olde worlde charm.

Previous     97 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2643 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019