Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Waxham Sands Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Waxham Sands Holiday Park > Reviews

Waxham Sands Holiday Park
Warren Farm
Horsey
Great Yarmouth
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR29 4EJ
Tel: 03332002568
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: 24/05/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 123 Reviews
                8/10 from 123 Reviews

Photos (30)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  123 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Busdriverinnepal 1 review from this member

 Very friendly and helpful staff.

There is a box full of beach toys for children to use and even herbs growing with an invite for campers to use for cooking.

Nice place to stay.  
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Helen8 1 review from this member

 Lovely clean site with very friendly staff and great facilities.

Location is second to none - 5 min walk over the sand dunes - a fairly strenuous trek but totally worth it for the lovely beach with the added bonus of the inquisitive seals joining you for a swim! Amazing!

The kids loved the play area and the shop was well stocked with all the basics including giant marshmallows and some local produce too. Lovely addition was the free body board loans and the beach toy library, perfect for when you’re camping and space for new things in the car home is limited.

The pitches were a little cosier than we’re used to and was a bit of a squeeze for our 6 man family tent + car, fortunately the site was fairly quiet during our stay so wasn’t too bad but I can imagine it’d feel a bit cramped during really busy times - might be worth considering the no cars on pitches rule that a lot of sites we’ve stayed on recently have adopted to allow a little more space.

The toilets and showers were always clean and tidy, as others have said the showers could do with a little updating but that’s mainly just aesthetics they were hot and spacious so no real complaints here. I liked the addition of the ‘beach spa’ which meant you could shower off the sand from your day at the beach before going back to your tent or into the main showers this helped to keep things clean.

In summary we had a lovely stay and wished we’d booked for longer but will definitely be back and have recommended it to our friends. Thank you! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Vonvon1 1 review from this member

 Had a lovely time, staff pleasant, walk on beach, sea lions swimming so close to the sure, amazing.

Facilities on site are close, clean, the whole place was amazing,

Would stay there again. the dogs loved it as well, , , ,

Gordon & Sam if you read this thank you so much, , yvonne & nadine xx 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Arctic 1 review from this member

 The site has greatly improved since it was taken over by Lovat.

The showers and toilet blocks were clean and checked regularly.

The reception / shop was well stocked.

The pop up food stalls were a great addition and offered variety across the days.

The communal fire pit and chill out tent were well used by us 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: 40sandras 1 review from this member

 The staff were lovely, always found time to have a chat! The food vans that arrived of an evening were excellent too.

On a negative side, when we booked our pitch, we asked for a pitch that was near to the shower block, as my wife is disabled and has mobility issues, but we were placed on the opposite side of the field, where yes there was a toilet block but no disabled toilet or showers, when I asked if we we could be moved the lady in the office tried her hardest to move us but said unfortunately there was no premium pitches available (even though there was some empty near to the sand dunes all week)

There was one disabled shower for the whole of the site, it was a wet room but unfortunately there was nowhere to put your clothes, so they got wet, other than the wet room with a toilet in it, which you needed a key for there was only one disabled toilet, the design of the actual showers were good but when you were in there the paint was peeling of the ceiling and kept falling on you.

The roads were just made of hard core which made it difficult for my wife to go to the shower on her mobility scooter because it just sank and if she went on the grass she was having to go across other people’s pitches, obviously she couldn’t go across the dunes to the beach because of her mobility and the steps that were located near to the house were inaccessible too, so the week we were actually there, she had to stay at our pitch whilst I went for a swim.

So all in all the site is lovely for families and we had a good time despite our disapprovals, it is not very disabled friendly 😢 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Emmaj8 1 review from this member

 Just back from our first weekend trip away in our new camper van.

We required an after 6 check in and called the number required to be met by a very nice guy who gave us all the information we needed.

Our pitch was very spacious and in a lovely location.

Toilet and showers very clean washing up facilities very clean and plenty of hot water.

Little shop was very quaint with very friendly helpful staff. Loved the fact that they out very doggie friendly with water bowl’s provided and treats too and poo bags.

Bin areas also kept very clean and tidy.

Campsite was perfect with easy access to the beach and plenty little walks for dog.

Overall it was a fantastic experience for us being first time campervan owners and new to everything.

We didn’t have children with us but the park and play areas looked lovely and well kept.

Will definitely recommend and return shortly. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Normans1976 1 review from this member

 Lovely place, close to a great beach, lots of seals.

The site was well kept and facilities clean.

Food on site, shop, bar, firepit and marshmallows 😋

Can't go wrong. X 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Lizzzi 1 review from this member

 A great location, beach just over the dunes.

Unfortunately since Lovat has taken over the family run camp, prices have doubled, fields have been dug up to accommodate overpriced holiday statics/chalets, etc, such a shame, it was a beautiful basic camp where EVERYONE could have an affordable holiday.

Gentrification and corporate companies ruining it for the masses. Sad times 


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Marie6 1 review from this member

 We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely return.

Lovely site, very clean, staff friendly and helpful.

Loved the food vans. We tried the South African and Sri Lankan food. Both excellent.

The showers do need updating but we’re clean. It’s a shame the shower only stays on a few seconds maybe that could be looked at.

Great size pitch for us we had a VW camper van and drive away awning

Loved watching the seals on the beach too

Thank you 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: KatandFamily 7 reviews from this member

 This is a busy site in stunning location right on the sand dunes with direct access to a wonderful sandy beach.

The site changed hands in spring so potentially some of the issues we experienced are things that will improve as new owners get opportunity to invest and improve.

The positives:

- Location is unbeatable and directly on beach / coast path. Lots of seals who love to swim with you.

- Amazing sunsets

- Daily street food vendors (eg. Sri Lanken / pizza / gourmet ice cream)

- Shop sells local produce as well as basics (no fruit or veg though - except the free plums from staff's garden!)

- Free loan of surf boards and beach toys

- Nice touches such as herb garden and help yourself strawberries

- Prominent security meaning very quiet after dark (surprisingly so given that site is so busy!)

- Despite being few and only in one of the facility blocks, showers were fairly clean, warm and functional. Free push button system meant queuing was minimal.

- Large new play area (away from camping field) and separate open spaces. Large safari tent provides a sheltered area for kids to hang out.

- Woodland walk area

The negatives:

- We were pitched in a middle row with back to back pitches and consequently hemmed in on 3 sides.

- Pitch was small and cramped for modern sized tents, meaning a minimum distance couldn't be maintained between tents (potentially a fire risk).

- Pitch allocation seems to work front to back of site, so the area nearest shop and showers is crowded and busy, whilst rear of site is almost empty! Had I have realised prior to pitching we'd have requested to be moved.

- Pitches are in long rows down length of site with no gaps. Consequently people regularly cut through pitches to reach facilities (strictly against camping etiquette)

- Freezer for ice blocks is tiny (size of a cool box) nowhere near adequate

- Charge for second car is not clear on booking. It's £5 (in coins) in the beach car park. If you use second car daily this would be an inconvenient additional cost for each day of your stay. Strict rules on keeping second car off pitch (understandable given pitch sizes!)

- no cold water in facilities isn’t great for brushing teeth (people were using outside tap instead!)

In summary, we're looking forward to a return visit (but be more selective on where we pitched). Hopeful that the new owners take on board any constructive feedback and continue to improve site over the Winter months ahead of next season. We'll be keeping an eye on any improvements and looking out for any discounted offers (which seem to be advertised regularly!) 
via mobile


Previous     123 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Waxham Sands Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Waxham Sands Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Waxham Sands Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Great Yarmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4348 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement