Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Mynydd Du Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth > Mynydd Du Caravan Park Reviews

Mynydd Du Caravan Park
Porthmadog Road
Criccieth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL52 0PS
Tel: 01766 523023
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 1st March - 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 47 Reviews
                8/10 from 47 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Milofilo 4 reviews from this member

The site owners/staff were brilliant at reception and later on.

They were in the midst of building new shower blocks and were able to open 2 units for the touring field, unfortunately it got blocked and the serviced unit next door and my drain got sewerage come up, they dealt with it immediately and even cleaned up the caravan shower next door which was contaminated. Good work.

The area was great, good views of sea, lovely cafes and restaurants are to be had in Criccieth and great days out on the steam trains from Porthmadog, had a wonderful Easter weekend, really appreciated the owners/staff in clean up.

We walked to Criccieth for meals and a few drinks, only down side was the extremely steep 20ft road to the immediate entrance of the site and the site entrance was hard to spot, I drove past it and had to turn around to find it again.

I think when the rest of the shower units, which were a good size and clean despite humongous spider, the touring field will be brilliant.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gill40 1 review from this member

As a wheelchair user and lone caravanner I can't praise this site enough.

The help was excellent from arrival to putting awning up. Couldn't find the play area for my young granddaughter, but the pitch was amazing with uninterrupted panoramic views and the facilities were spotless with the best disabled facilities I have come across.

Free hot water with no 'push buttons' and washing up/laundry is accessible and spotless.

It's within a short drive from Black Rock sands, a large beach you can take your car on and is reasonably priced for the area.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Maximax66 1 review from this member

Just recently visited and stayed with a caravan in the tent field with two other families and absolutely loved it!

The views are fantastic and the owners couldn't be nicer. Looking at last reviews the loos and waste is a little walk from the tent field but so worth it.

Great for our two dogs too! Will definitely be back and revisit in the future. Loved it!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Richard Whittles 1 review from this member

Stunning views of mountains & coast. Good walking direct from site. Criccieth an easy 30 mins walk by roadside footpath or along the beach which is mostly pebble when the tide is in or sand lower down when the tide is out. Criccieth is nice with good shops, pubs & restaurants.

Supermarkets are a 10 min drive away. No site shop so bring essentials for that first brew ! Toilet block is good and showers hot. Only downside is distance between touring pitches to the toilet block, which is also where the waste disposal points are.

The site owners are very friendly and helpful. The area is well worth a visit and this site is one I'm sure we will return to.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: S-price13 5 reviews from this member

My wife and I recently stayed at this site.

I booked a hardstanding pitch for our motorhome.

When we arrived I was very disappointed to find our pitch was shared with a busy car park next to the bins.

Most of the sites hardstanding is seasonal which I didn't know and was not explained on booking.

Most of the campsite users seem to drive to the toilets and leave their car at the carpark which was far from peaceful.

We couldn't pick up their free wifi.

Showers needed re grouting and the pressure was poor - wasn't a fan of the rusty soap rack.

All said the views were impressive but sadly we will not return

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stepperdoc 22 reviews from this member

Just returned from a fabulous 12 day stay at this site and I am glad to say that I would recommend this site to anyone! The pitches are all hardstanding and fully serviced and (for the most part) level.

There are only a small number of touring pitches available as most are taken up by seasonal caravans. The pitches are terraced so views up to Mount Snowdon and across Cardigan Bay are superb.

The toilet blocks are located close to the entrance and are well maintained but I feel they could get busy during school holidays as there are only 3 showers for each block. There is one washing machine (3. 50 per wash) and a dryer (1. 50) and two sinks for pot washing. There is a separate field for tents which is quite steep and a long walk from the toilet blocks.

There is a security barrier at the entrance but this is not working so site security could be an issue.

The site is a 30 minute walk from Criccieth and a short drive to Pothmaddoc where there are ample supermarkets including Lidl, Aldi and Tesco. A great place to go to and very quiet out of holidays during the week. Looking forward to going back next year.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CLH C3i 997 2 reviews from this member

Fabulous few days at this site, absolutely amazing views of coast and mountains to wake up to. Not the biggest pitches we have been on, but fully serviced and reliable electricity, although not many spaces the site was relaxed and very quiet.

Very clean shower and toilet block, loads of hot water, shelf and hook for stuff. As someone else has mentioned, would suggest a mop or some way of cleaning floors after showering and leaving inevitable muddy footprints.

Lots to do in the area, loved Black Rock Sands where we could drive on to the beach. Porth Madog (10 min walk) great for a wander and shop/coffee, good food at the pub.

We added on an additional day - we had to phone to do this, but we were very grateful when our request was accommodated by some juggling around. Looking forward to returning.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kelly and Broydon 23 reviews from this member

Just had three nights at this site over the late Easter period in our Tent with our two children.

Plus sides of this site is certainly location, open your curtains in the morning and the views are incredible. The Showers and toilets are clean, Showers lovely and hot and modern.

16A EHU most welcome and the owners seemed pleasant. The park was basic but our youngest enjoyed it. Loads of room for football abd cricket which was nice.

Negatives is that the tent field is the far end of the site and the opposite end of the site from the toilets and showers, if these had been central it would have made a huge difference. The access to the toilet blocks was a code pad, this was hit and miss and very frustrating.

The field during our stay was almost empty and gently sloped at the bottom half of the field. However the site is next to a farm and Easter is lambing season and Thursday and Friday night all night was the noise of lambs and ewes crying for each other. Looked lovely during the day but a nightmare at night. Free WiFi was great but sadly it was more Ify than Wify.

Would we stay again? certainly not at lambing season otherwise perhaps

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DGore 2 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to Mynydd Du, this time returning with a group of 6 tents. Once again we weren't disappointed even though the weather wasn't great, the new campers in our party weren't put off.

The site itself is pretty basic with the toilet and wash facilities clean although situated furthest away from the camping field which can be a pain if your caught short in the night and you don't have your own toilet facilities. That said the views from the camping field more than make up for anything else the sight might be lacking in.

There is a small park in the camping field although our children had much more fun rolling down the hill on a bike left behind by previous campers!

In our opinion the campsite is perfectly situated, Criccieth which is beautiful is 2 minutes in one direction and port madoch a short drive in the other. There is plenty of shops and supermarkets near by.

For anybody with children over 4 we would definitely recommend a trip to Glas Fryn Park which is only a short drive away. There is no admission fee and all activities are paid for individually. Our 6 and 16yr olds loved the archery and go carting whilst our 4yr olds loved the bowling and play areas. Looking forward to going back next year and having a go at the watersports!

Although basic I think Mynydd Du will always be one of my favourite campsites mainly because of the amazing views, relaxing atmosphere and the fab location.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mcockram 1 review from this member

Just spent 4 nights at this site, 6 of us in 3 tents on a well maintained field with extensive views of Snowdonia and Cardigan bay. Considering it was a Bank Holiday Monday, the site was not full or over busy. Locally there are shops and supermarkets and a host of 'touristy' things to see and do just a short drive from the site.

I found the site to be lacking information such as a local map free wifi and the fact that the wash room gets locked at 9PM. Even a bus timetable would have been nice. Just the usual stuff you'd find on many other camp site walls.

The field is serviced by ONE water tap so it's worthy to note that you may need a water container. My personal dislike was carrying washing up pots 150 metres through the caravans to the wash room and laundry. Electric supply is spot on and powered lighting and cooking without tripping or fading. Barbecues are allowed.

On the whole an exceptionally active break, only using the site in the evenings for a meal and get together for 'Sundowners' A hassle free site which I would visit again.

Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1380 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019