Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Wyeside Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Rhayader > Wyeside Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Wyeside Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Llangurig Road
Rhayader
Powys   (Browse area)
LD6 5LB
Tel: 01597 810183
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 01/04 to 02/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 59 Reviews
                8/10 from 59 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Johannes 1 review from this member

Booked a few days beforehand. Was having a couple of days riding the back roads of south and central wales on my motorcycle. I had a one man tent with no hook up and my trusty steed.

A warm welcome. Great shower block. Great washing facilities and a 5 minute walk to central Rhayader.

The noise from the main road does travel across the site and I am a light sleeper. Large trucks haul down the road around 4:30 in the morning. But on balance. I'd rather be here than stuck up in the countryside with no pubs/eateries in walking distance.

Am trying to book again for this weekend. But it appears fully booked. BAH!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: GeoffB057 2 reviews from this member

The touring part of the site was being updated to a very high standard and because of that not all pitches were available however, very impressed with the the work completed, by the time you read this it should be completed.

Excellent facilities, nice location just a short walk into Rhayader where there are plenty of pubs and a very good Fish & Chip shop, some noise from the nearby A470, but I enjoyed my short stay there and would definitely return.

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Winkie williamson 1 review from this member

Thanks to Mike and Sarah who let me stay at the Wyeside campsite recently even though it was still officially closed during upgrading work. I had cycled down from Dolgellau on route 8 that day, was tired and suffering from pannier malfunction, and I no longer had the legs to look for an alternative site, so the offer was welcome. The next day, Mike helped with emergency repairs to the pannier rack.

As usual, the campsite was immaculate, and all pitches well set up and widely spaced. The site is one of the best located in Wales: my tiny tent looked out directly onto the clear waters of the River Wye.

Looking forward to returning when current upgrading work is completed. They welcome cyclists and backpackers.

Highly recommended: Within 5 minutesí walk from the cafes shops and restaurants of the town, but peaceful and calm.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: 1_man_+_his_dob(lo) 34 reviews from this member

I stayed a few days on a grass pitch with no EHU. The field is big so if you're not using EHU you have plenty of choice where to pitch up, limited only by some uneven ground and the area next to the River Wye getting soft after bad weather. The water points on the field appeared to be for both fresh and grey water; drainage was slow.

The staff were always polite and friendly. The facilities block next to the field was a bit run down, I suspect a legacy of the previous owners and the protracted transfer to the C&CC. Over my visits I could see things slowly getting sorted out and it appears that a big overhaul is taking place this winter - I hope they don't replace the proper showers with the push-button water-saver variety you usually get.

Mobile (2 & 3G) and radio (DAB) reception was good but the wi-fi erratic. The site is right next to the A470 so traffic noise was an issue during the day and getting out of the site could be a bit hairy due to vehicles coming around the corner from Rhayader quite fast. There's also not a great deal of space to park up at reception.

A public footpath runs through the field and takes you into Rhayader via a choice of routes; there are some nice scenic paths along the Wye at various points around the town. There's a small museum and a good selection of local stores and eating places.

Nearby attractions include the Elan valley, a couple of red kite feeding stations (my favourite being the Bwlch Nant yr Arian forestry site about 30-40 minutes away, due to its walking trails, views and coffee shop/restaurant) and Llandrindod Wells.

Due to the location you get a greater variety of camping types, including bikers, cyclists and off-roaders with tents of all shapes and sizes, which makes a nice change to the usual car-park-like monotony of motorhomes and caravans. Unfortunately the upcoming refurbishment looks like it's adding a lot of hardstanding pitches to the field which I worry might spoil things.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Robonabike 2 reviews from this member

Easy to find and very convenient for the pubs and shops of the town. A bit noisy due to its location next to the main road. The staff are always friendly and helpful.

Toilet and shower facilities are clean and tidy with plenty of hot water (non-metered showers). The adjacent laundry room is useful to have.

The site is very convenient for exploring the Elan Valley and for Sustrans Lon Las Cymru and Lon Cambria cycle routes (NCN 81 and 8).

I have stayed here several times while cycle touring and have always had a good experience.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Waddles 1 review from this member

We had a good time. My children enjoyed themselves and loved the warden lady. Although the site is a little bit dated, everyone was nice, and everything is kept clean. Told there is going to be some work done to upgrade it soon by the caravan club. Its right by the river and there is walking and cycling from the campsite and it's easy to go for food and drink in town. There were a lot of loud bikes in the camp field which spoilt it a bit but apart from that, we will return.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: M+MGalliers 20 reviews from this member

This site is very easy to get to as it is on the A road into Rhayader. However, that does mean that the road noise is very noticeable and the touring pitches by the roadside of the site are tight to reverse into. There are no views from these pitches either.

The showers are a bit tatty but have plenty of free hot water. There is a 'hoover attachment' style hairdryer. The wardens are very friendly and always on hand.

There is a pleasant riverside walk into town where the Cornhill Inn has great ale and a warm welcome for dogs. The Eagle Inn also welcomes dogs and does good food all day.

A good site for a stopover.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chaddite 11 reviews from this member

Overall score 8/10

Located just outside the town, about 5 minutes walk form the main street making it ideal for shops and more importantly, pubs! Lovely little town with the beautiful river Wye running through it. The site has the river on one side and the main A470 on the other which does carry some heavy goods traffic during the day but which drops off at night, it didnít bother me anyway.

Facilities are getting a bit dated but clean and efficient, the site has recently changed hands to the caravan and camping club so they may invest in improvements but they are perfectly acceptable.

The site is split into 3, a camping field, a static area, and a touring area. Staff were extremely friendly and made me feel very welcome.

Surrounding countryside is breathtaking ideal for walking, if you go you must see the Elan valley its amazing but it is surrounded by lovely country. Pubs, chip shop and takeaways in the town as well as tea room and other small shops.

Highly recommended I will certainly return.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: MaffH 3 reviews from this member

I have liked this campsite for years. It is in a great location with good facilities and has a field for tent or van units. I understand that it has been taken over by Camping and Caravanning club and hope that they keep the informal atmosphere in the main field.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mmc1690 2 reviews from this member

Not the prettiest site by any means, but traffic noise nowhere near as bad as expected, and the location is superb. Shower block dated but clean (and warm!), staff friendly & helpful, free WiFi that works well. Close to fantastic scenery, amazing walks, and if you are using it for a base & effectively just to sleep then it is perfect.

Best bit? 'Grown up ' showers that allow you to turn off and on yourself, and to adjust your own temperature. !

Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Rhayader      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2269 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020