Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wyeside Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Rhayader > Wyeside Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Wyeside Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Llangurig Road
Rhayader
Powys   (Browse area)
LD6 5LB
Tel: 01597 810183
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 01/04/2021 to 02/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 64 Reviews
                8/10 from 64 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  64 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Tony Burton 41 reviews from this member

 An exceptionally neat and well laid out site with tarmac roads, good hard standings and neat grass in between.

We enjoyed driving through the valleys and over the mountain roads. Lots of good walking and cycling routes.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were in the last stages of Covid restrictions so could not use the toilets and other facilities. I suspect they would have been as immaculate as the rest of the site.

The site was very popular with motor homes but not so many caravans. Lovely grass tent pitches by the River Wye. 


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stride 1 review from this member

 Just what the doctor ordered for us, wonderful week in Rhyadder, campsite central for everything we did, hill walking etc.

Beautiful scenery on the side of the river Wye with new facilities. We heard the owls hooting at night in between the occasional juggernauts going along the A470.

All in all we had a lovely weeks holiday on this site, thank you so much for your friendly assistance. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jasmo 11 reviews from this member

 Newly laid out and refurbished site, taken over by the Camping and Caravan Club. We stayed in our touring caravan on a Super Service pitch with drainage and water. Wardens could not have been more welcoming and helpful.

Site was spotless and very well laid out to be Covid 19 compliant.

Only drawback. Drainage on the grass part of the hardstanding is appalling and whilst the site is bounded on one side by the River Wye, on the other side there is the A470. I had to wear ear plugs as the road is busy with heavy goods vehicles all through the night. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Debski 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, friendly staff and excellent facilities.

Good location to town.

Only thing we werenít aware of was awnings have to go on hard standing. It wasnít easy to put pegs in and if your using awning for extra sleeping space itís not ideal!

The gravel did damage the ground sheet. Luckily we had carpet and good quality air bed. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jim yarwood 12 reviews from this member

 Lovely site in beautiful setting and a good base to explore this part of Wales. Level pitches on terraces. 5 mins walk into town and pubs/shops etc. We visited during Covid so on-site facilities block was closed (hence 8/10 marking).

Staff were helpful & friendly and we had no concerns as to the Covid safety measures implemented on site. Covid unfortunately also meant that many of the local amenities/ attractions were closed or only open intermittently.

Easy access to the cycle trail to the Elan Valley and the dams/reservoirs. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Johannes 1 review from this member

 Booked a few days beforehand. Was having a couple of days riding the back roads of south and central wales on my motorcycle. I had a one man tent with no hook up and my trusty steed.

A warm welcome. Great shower block. Great washing facilities and a 5 minute walk to central Rhayader.

The noise from the main road does travel across the site and I am a light sleeper. Large trucks haul down the road around 4:30 in the morning. But on balance. I'd rather be here than stuck up in the countryside with no pubs/eateries in walking distance.

Am trying to book again for this weekend. But it appears fully booked. BAH! 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: GeoffB057 2 reviews from this member

 The touring part of the site was being updated to a very high standard and because of that not all pitches were available however, very impressed with the the work completed, by the time you read this it should be completed.

Excellent facilities, nice location just a short walk into Rhayader where there are plenty of pubs and a very good Fish & Chip shop, some noise from the nearby A470, but I enjoyed my short stay there and would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Winkie williamson 1 review from this member

 Thanks to Mike and Sarah who let me stay at the Wyeside campsite recently even though it was still officially closed during upgrading work. I had cycled down from Dolgellau on route 8 that day, was tired and suffering from pannier malfunction, and I no longer had the legs to look for an alternative site, so the offer was welcome. The next day, Mike helped with emergency repairs to the pannier rack.

As usual, the campsite was immaculate, and all pitches well set up and widely spaced. The site is one of the best located in Wales: my tiny tent looked out directly onto the clear waters of the River Wye.

Looking forward to returning when current upgrading work is completed. They welcome cyclists and backpackers.

Highly recommended: Within 5 minutesí walk from the cafes shops and restaurants of the town, but peaceful and calm. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: 1_man_+_his_dob(lo) 34 reviews from this member

 I stayed a few days on a grass pitch with no EHU. The field is big so if you're not using EHU you have plenty of choice where to pitch up, limited only by some uneven ground and the area next to the River Wye getting soft after bad weather. The water points on the field appeared to be for both fresh and grey water; drainage was slow.

The staff were always polite and friendly. The facilities block next to the field was a bit run down, I suspect a legacy of the previous owners and the protracted transfer to the C&CC. Over my visits I could see things slowly getting sorted out and it appears that a big overhaul is taking place this winter - I hope they don't replace the proper showers with the push-button water-saver variety you usually get.

Mobile (2 & 3G) and radio (DAB) reception was good but the wi-fi erratic. The site is right next to the A470 so traffic noise was an issue during the day and getting out of the site could be a bit hairy due to vehicles coming around the corner from Rhayader quite fast. There's also not a great deal of space to park up at reception.

A public footpath runs through the field and takes you into Rhayader via a choice of routes; there are some nice scenic paths along the Wye at various points around the town. There's a small museum and a good selection of local stores and eating places.

Nearby attractions include the Elan valley, a couple of red kite feeding stations (my favourite being the Bwlch Nant yr Arian forestry site about 30-40 minutes away, due to its walking trails, views and coffee shop/restaurant) and Llandrindod Wells.

Due to the location you get a greater variety of camping types, including bikers, cyclists and off-roaders with tents of all shapes and sizes, which makes a nice change to the usual car-park-like monotony of motorhomes and caravans. Unfortunately the upcoming refurbishment looks like it's adding a lot of hardstanding pitches to the field which I worry might spoil things. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Robonabike 2 reviews from this member

 Easy to find and very convenient for the pubs and shops of the town. A bit noisy due to its location next to the main road. The staff are always friendly and helpful.

Toilet and shower facilities are clean and tidy with plenty of hot water (non-metered showers). The adjacent laundry room is useful to have.

The site is very convenient for exploring the Elan Valley and for Sustrans Lon Las Cymru and Lon Cambria cycle routes (NCN 81 and 8).

I have stayed here several times while cycle touring and have always had a good experience. 


Previous     64 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wyeside Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wyeside Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wyeside Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Rhayader      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3746 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement