Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Henley Four Oaks Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Henley > Henley Four Oaks Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Henley Four Oaks Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Marlow Road
Henley
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
RG9 2HY
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 81
Open: 16/03/2021 to 03/01/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 56 Reviews
                8/10 from 56 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Madasaman 45 reviews from this member

 Just back after 14 nights, booked this as hadn't done this area much and had to cancel our usual French trip. When we arrived virtually all pitches taken and we had to pitch up by the dreaded road.

Warden told us which pitches would be vacated in the morning so we didn't set up, just put legs down, plugged in and moved next day. Much quieter at the back pitches. Covid rules in place, only three persons in shower block at one time.

Enjoyed our stay, easyish walk into town, where there are plenty of places to eat, all doing their covid regimes. Went on a river trip from in town, very nice. There is only one toilet block and during cleaning nowhere to use.

Warden refused to open the disabled for use until main facilities had been cleaned. A bit too regimental, and we could see no reason why not. 


Date of Visit: December 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor57 58 reviews from this member

 Stopped off here for a night en route to Bath, easy access off the A4155 Marlow Road. Site no more than 15 mins walk to Henley-on-Thames. Wardens were very nice and we chose our own pitch from the ones available.

Facilities block was clean and warm although in the main we tend to use our own facilities in our motorhome. We visited the site after several periods of heavy rain therefore the roadways and some of the hard standing pitches were flooded, to be honest the groundwork could do with refurbishment.

As a previous reviewer has stated the Motorhome service point is not brilliant it could do with repositioning off the roadway so you do not block the road however everyone managed to squeeze past.

Yes there is some road noise but our view is always that this is the price you sometimes have to pay to be near a town so it does not bother us.

Overall a very convenient stop for our overnight stay and Henley-on-Thames is a nice place so we would happily stay here again. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scarletsfan 90 reviews from this member

 Access is easy, direct off the Henley Marlow Road. Check in was friendly and efficient.

Nice large HS pitches and a well appointed toilet block. Decent 4g signal on EE and O2 but TV is only possible through hook up lead.

Small scamper for dogs.

Avoid pitches near road, it is very noisy. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jadsett 49 reviews from this member

 We have stayed on this site several times, so we know what to expect. It is handily placed as a stop-off in the Thames corridor for those of us returning to points east of London after trips to Wales or the West.

We received a warm welcome and had no trouble finding a suitable pitch.

The traffic noise is no better or worse than on previous visits. The facilities were maintained at the high standard we have come to expect of C&MC

Henley itself looked a little 'tired' and a couple of our favourite eating places have disappeared since our last visit. That doesn't mean that there isn't a fair range of 'eateries' - mainly chain restaurants and local pubs. Our choice this time was Zizzi and we weren't disappointed 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: David Klyne 228 reviews from this member

 To find site:- From Henley take the A4155, Marlow Road, the site is about a mile out of Henley on the left. From the M40 take Marlow bypass and leave at first junction. Take A4155 through Marlow and the site is about seven miles of the right just past the Garden Centre. This road is narrow in places so care is needed.

The advantage of this Members only campsite is its proximity to Henley on Thames and other towns along the Thames Valley. The site has 81 pitches which are a mixture of 55 hardstandings and 26 on grass. Electric points are convenient to all pitches and are rated at 16 amps and use CEE17 blue push in connectors.

The electric bollards also have Co-Ax TV connectors as apparently the terrestrial TV signal is poor. These are free to use but you must have your own cable or buy one from reception.

There are three service points for fresh and waste water plus chemical emptying points. Unfortunately the Motorhome Service Point is the old heavy drain cover type. The positioning of the drain is not great as it could impede the flow of traffic whilst in use.

There is one toilet block which also houses a covered dishwash area and a laundry. Because of its situation it is a fair distance from some pitches. When the block is closed for cleaning there are alternative facilities available. Reception sells some essentials and newspapers.

Next door is an information hut with details of local places to visit and local transport information. At the far end of the site is an enclosed play area for children. There is site wide WiFi and time can be purchased online. Although rated as Gold I found it slow at times with a few connection drops but generally it seemed OK.

This is a busy site so it is probably advisable to book in advance particularly around the time of the Henley Regatta. The main bugbear of this campsite is its close proximity to the A4155 and the associated road noise which of course varies depending on time of day.

Apparently the Club have investigated possible barrier solutions to this problem but they have proved to be prohibitively expensive and only likely to be minimally successful in suppressing the noise.

The pitches further into the site will be less affected but they are the ones that are taken first! If noise is a major irritant to you perhaps itís not the site for you. A possible alternative would be Swiss Farm which is almost next door but set further back from the road.

This is a very convenient site to visit Henley on Thames, it is a 15 or so minute walk into the town centre. There you will find an excellent range of shops and restaurants. The nearest supermarket is Waitrose in Henley. Also there are walks up and downstream along the Thames towpath.

If you don't want to walk there are river trips from the banks of the river near the bridge. This is a good base to visit other towns along the Thames, Marlow is 8 miles away and Windsor a little further and if you prefer not to drive there is a very regular bus service from the bus stop about 500 metres from the site which runs between Reading and High Wycombe calling at Marlow en route. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 79 reviews from this member

 Lovely clean site. Very convenient level walk into town - just a 15 minute stroll although there is a bus in case of need.

(The Swiss Farm site is nearer to town but more expensive and takes bookings only for a minimum of three days).

Good modern clean facilities. £18 pn. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dickiebird 19 reviews from this member

 Although only staying overnight, we liked the layout of the site and the friendliness of the wardens.

The sanitary facilities were excellent as with all Caravan and Motorhome sites we've been on. It is in a very good location, despite it just being off a main road.

It was an easy walk or cycle into the town itself where there were lots of independent shops as well as a couple of supermarkets, and also plenty of eating places and pubs. Going in the direction of Marlow - there is a good bus service to this other good shopping area.

It is easy to walk along the river or even take a boat trip. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Piffy57 37 reviews from this member

 Great site this. Yes its next to the main road and there is traffic but nothing untoward.

You can either drive through Henley (one way system) or approach via Marlow. We chose the Marlow way in as the traffic in Henley tends to be very busy.

The wardens are excellent in everything they do. They are always busy and have a very friendly way of going about things.

The pitches are big enough and there is a mixture of grass and hard standing.

The facilities on site are excellent and well looked after. Four oaks is about 15 minutes walk to the town centre and about six miles from Marlow.

Within 4 miles of the site is Turville which was the setting for the Vicar of Dibley and Chitty Chitty Bang Bang. We travelled to London one day by parking at Twyford station and catching the train to Paddington.

We will return in 2018 as there is so much to do in the area and Four Oaks is the perfect base. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Keefysher 17 reviews from this member

 We stayed here to attend the Tom Kerridge Pub in the Park event in nearby Marlow. What a lovely site with a mix of pitches, grass, hard standing, awning and non awning all mixed in together so the regimentation of lines was not present. Spotlessly clean facilities and the site itself. The weather was awful for most of the time of our stay, getting soaked on a boat trip added to the mix. Great to come back to the caravan at the end of each day. Having resided in the area for many years a while ago it was good to revisit. There are walks along the Thames that you can get as far as you want. The walk to Marsh Lock across the bridge over the weir pool is always fun, past the rowing museum, going up stream. Downstream you can walk to Hambleden Lock, cross the weir and walk into Hambleden itself for a pint & chilli nachos at the Stag & Hunstman. Or continue downstream to the Flower Pot. Take a tour of the Luxters brewery and winery if you have a gift experience voucher. Danesfield House is worth it for afternoon tea as a treat. Marlow is worth an aimless wander, you may even spot 'celebrities'. The red kites soaring in the area are prolific. We will use this site again. 


Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fidibury 38 reviews from this member

 We visited this site along with a friend in her Motorhome at the end of December. What a lovely site. The wardens were very pleasant, helpful and friendly. We were aware that the site was just off a main road and under a flight path but neither bothered us. It's just one of those things!

It's a lovely 15mins walk into Henley along a narrow footpath but even with two dogs each (and 5 in total) we managed with no problems. Henley is a lovely town with a variety of shops and eating places. We would highly recommend the Chocolate Shop for a hot chocolate - just a few varieties to choose from! Lovely walks along the river in both directions.

The site and facilities are of the normal Caravan Club standard with a small children's play area. There is also a small secure dog area where dogs can be safely let off the lead. Red Kites can be seen around the area

This was the first time we had been away for New Years Eve and it was a pleasant surprise to find that the wardens had put on a small buffet with drinks for anyone who wanted to join them on the afternoon. A lovely gesture! 


Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Henley Four Oaks Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Henley Four Oaks Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Henley Four Oaks Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Henley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1238 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement