Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Henley Four Oaks Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Oxfordshire > Henley > Henley Four Oaks Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Henley Four Oaks Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Marlow Road
Henley
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
RG9 2HY
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 81
Open: 16/03/2024 to 03/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 62 Reviews
                8/10 from 62 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  62 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Vgwhi8 1 review from this member

 A very nice clean site, with easy access to Henley.

The toilet and shower block is immaculate.

Very friendly it's nice that people stop and chat.

The staff was very helpful and welcoming. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Npkent 58 reviews from this member

 Standard CMHC site all very clean and tidy with flat pitches and good clean toilet facilities.

TV signal was poor but good with cable to the bollard. Wifi worked fine but probably different in the summer holidays.

We were pitched on the far side of the site away from the road so nice and peaceful.

Short walk into town and plenty to do in the area. I booked early and can't complain about the price but a lot of others who booked later paid a lot more.

Next time in the area I would use the Swiss Farm site next door much better facilities for a similar price. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Joelewes 14 reviews from this member

 This is a great site - but with a couple of drawbacks. It’s always very clean, the pitches are generous and the facilities are very good. Staff also are friendly and helpful.

Henley is a lovely town and the Thames walks are exceptional. Best pub food by far was the Stag and Huntsman at Hambleton - a lovely walk along The Thames footpath.

The walk into town (20 mins) is along a very busy road so take care. Digital signals on both your ‘phone and tv are poor. So if you want trouble free tv viewing take a cable.

We were told by staff not to bother with their Wi-Fi (£3 per day - come on C&M Club sort this out!) as it was flaky at best. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: David Klyne 257 reviews from this member

 This is an update of a previous review.

To find site:- From Henley take the A4155, Marlow Road, the site is about a mile out of Henley on the left, a little beyond the Swiss Farm campsite. From the M40 take Marlow bypass and leave at first junction. Take A4155 through Marlow and the site is about seven miles of the right just past the Garden Centre. This road is narrow in places so care is needed.

The advantage of this members only, open all year campsite, is its proximity to Henley on Thames and other towns along the Thames Valley.

The site has 81 pitches which are a mixture of 55 hardstandings, both awning and non-awning, and 26 on grass. The latter tend to be closed from the 1st October over winter.

Electric points are convenient to all pitches and are rated at 16 amps and use CEE17 blue connectors. The electric bollards also have Co-Ax TV connectors as apparently the terrestrial TV signal is poor. These are free to use but you must have your own cable or buy one from reception.

There are three service points for fresh and waste water plus chemical emptying points. Unfortunately, the Motorhome Service Point is the old heavy drain cover type.

The positioning of the drain is not great as it could impede the flow of traffic around the site road whilst in use. There is one toilet block which also houses a covered dishwash area and a laundry.

Because of its situation it is a fair distance from some pitches. When the block is closed for cleaning, there are limited alternative facilities available. In normal times, reception sells some essentials but due to COVID best to check what the situation is.

Next door is an information hut with details of local places to visit and local transport information. At the far end of the site is a fenced play area for children. There is site wide WiFi and time can be purchased online.

Just using it to access the Club website, no fee, it seemed fine. Phone data is a bit of a mixed bag. EE seemed to work fine for tethering but not so good with the actual phone! O2 seemed fine for both.

This is a busy site so it is probably advisable to book in advance particularly around the time of the Henley Regatta. The main bugbear of this campsite is its close proximity to the A4155 and the associated road noise which of course varies depending on time of day.

The pitches along that boundary bear the brunt of the noise despite a thick laurel hedge. The pitches further into the site will be less affected but they are the ones that are taken first! If noise is a major irritant to you, perhaps it’s not the site for you? A possible alternative would be Swiss Farm which is almost next door but set further back from the road.

This is a very convenient site to visit Henley on Thames, it is about a mile walk into the town centre. There you will find an excellent range of shops and restaurants.

The nearest supermarket is Waitrose in Henley. Also, there are walks up and downstream along the Thames towpath. If you don't want to walk there are river trips from the banks of the river at certain times of the year from near the bridge. There is also launch hire.

This is a good base to visit other towns along the Thames, Marlow is 8 miles away and Windsor a little further and if you prefer not to drive there is a very regular bus service from the bus stop about 500 metres from the site, just outside of the Swiss Farm campsite which runs between Reading and High Wycombe calling at Marlow en route.

Swiss Farm also have a shop and rather nice café which non-residents can use. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 74 reviews from this member

 Initially booked this site as a one night stop off but extended to two and so glad we did. The site is well kept although the facilities are perhaps a little tired.

Easy walk into Henley on Thames which is a lovely town - took a circular 6 mile walk along the Thames and back to town - fairly easy, flat walking with the dogs and a refreshment stop at the Flowerpot Hotel half way round.

The pitches next to the road can be quite noisy but we managed to get a pitch towards the back of the site which was peaceful and the September sunshine was a nice bonus.

There is a small enclosed dog walk on site - enough to let them off lead for a sniff around. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Doulajulie 56 reviews from this member

 Spotless site surrounded by trees, the clue is in the name! Easy walk into Henley. Some road noise but ok unless pitched near the road.

Warden on reception was terse and when detailing the rules made hubby feel like he was being told off!

Can also get a bus into Marlow. Lovely walking routes from the site.

Shower block is dated but clean and functional. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Madasaman 57 reviews from this member

 Just back after 14 nights, booked this as hadn't done this area much and had to cancel our usual French trip. When we arrived virtually all pitches taken and we had to pitch up by the dreaded road.

Warden told us which pitches would be vacated in the morning so we didn't set up, just put legs down, plugged in and moved next day. Much quieter at the back pitches. Covid rules in place, only three persons in shower block at one time.

Enjoyed our stay, easyish walk into town, where there are plenty of places to eat, all doing their covid regimes. Went on a river trip from in town, very nice. There is only one toilet block and during cleaning nowhere to use.

Warden refused to open the disabled for use until main facilities had been cleaned. A bit too regimental, and we could see no reason why not. 


Date of Visit: December 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor57 87 reviews from this member

 Stopped off here for a night en route to Bath, easy access off the A4155 Marlow Road. Site no more than 15 mins walk to Henley-on-Thames. Wardens were very nice and we chose our own pitch from the ones available.

Facilities block was clean and warm although in the main we tend to use our own facilities in our motorhome. We visited the site after several periods of heavy rain therefore the roadways and some of the hard standing pitches were flooded, to be honest the groundwork could do with refurbishment.

As a previous reviewer has stated the Motorhome service point is not brilliant it could do with repositioning off the roadway so you do not block the road however everyone managed to squeeze past.

Yes there is some road noise but our view is always that this is the price you sometimes have to pay to be near a town so it does not bother us.

Overall a very convenient stop for our overnight stay and Henley-on-Thames is a nice place so we would happily stay here again. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scarletsfan 93 reviews from this member

 Access is easy, direct off the Henley Marlow Road. Check in was friendly and efficient.

Nice large HS pitches and a well appointed toilet block. Decent 4g signal on EE and O2 but TV is only possible through hook up lead.

Small scamper for dogs.

Avoid pitches near road, it is very noisy. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jadsett 52 reviews from this member

 We have stayed on this site several times, so we know what to expect. It is handily placed as a stop-off in the Thames corridor for those of us returning to points east of London after trips to Wales or the West.

We received a warm welcome and had no trouble finding a suitable pitch.

The traffic noise is no better or worse than on previous visits. The facilities were maintained at the high standard we have come to expect of C&MC

Henley itself looked a little 'tired' and a couple of our favourite eating places have disappeared since our last visit. That doesn't mean that there isn't a fair range of 'eateries' - mainly chain restaurants and local pubs. Our choice this time was Zizzi and we weren't disappointed 


Previous     62 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Henley Four Oaks Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Henley Four Oaks Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Henley Four Oaks Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Henley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


46634 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement