Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Quiet Waters Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon > Quiet Waters Caravan Park Reviews

Quiet Waters Caravan Park
Hemingford Abbots
Huntingdon
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE28 9AJ
Tel: 01480 463405
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 20
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 12 Reviews
                8/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Couls 1 review from this member

Lovely quiet site, spotless toilet/ showers. Following comments about the charge for showers, there is no longer the need for 20p. All now free.

In the centre of a lovely picturesque village, in a great walking area, the park is right on the river bank.

Local pub just 200yds away from park. Good food

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Romanyjones 4 reviews from this member

Quiet Location in a nice village

Not close to any shops or amenities as in a residential area

Bollards to enter site and was told not to let anyone tailgate which suggests they have had unwelcome visitors

A key for use of toilet block, and showers tedious

To have to pay 20p for a shower is a pain in the backside and irritating to say the leat

I would rather pay a pound more and have free showers

Toilets and showers dated but generally clean

Feels like a retirement centre

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andrew132 2 reviews from this member

This site is fantastic. If you have a caravan!

I get the feeling they really don't care much for tents as I was placed on a very small patch of grass 10 feet from the toilet block.

The toilets were very clean and tidy, 20p for a shower lasting 5 mins was more than enough.

This site is also in the beautiful village you could ever wish to see with a fantastic food and real ale pub barely a 5 min walk.

The problem comes at night when some local 'lads' working locally but staying on site return from

The local pub and insist on wishing goodnight to the entire site!

Then there was a very large party of Germans (40) staying the night, which was fine until they decided to leave at 4. 30! I thought they were having a party in the toilet block!

I mentioned the noise the following morning to the owner who said that 'I' should have told them to be quiet!

I felt this site didn't accommodate tents one little bit and that we were an inconvenience at best.

Shame.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Daffodil1941 45 reviews from this member

What a lovely place. The site is set in the beautiful village of Hemingford Abbotts, I have never seen so many thatched cottage in one area before, even the pub. The touring pitches are at the opening of the site with statics and holiday homes behind some of the tourers, were there for the season, so no riverside pitches available. The toilet block was large with plenty of loos, basins and showers and wash up area, but everything seemed to have meters, 20p a time showers, wash up sinks and £3. 00 laundry. It is definitely a place for fishermen, they were at the river bank (you could hire row boats) all day. The local pub did good food, we ate there on the Saturday lovely and beer was up to OH taste. There was a lovely walk by the river to Hemingford Grey which had a village store and another 'oldy worldy ' pub. In both places we were treated to roast potatoes on Sunday lunch. There was a bus stop in the village but no buses as it was Sunday, so not sure on times and destinations. There was also a walk to a working mill. Well worth a visit for its locality to such lovely places and lots of lovely walks. We will be back.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: M CLark 8 reviews from this member

This is a small, quiet site reached by small country lanes for touring caravans and tents (there are Park Homes and Static Caravans at the rear. )

Set in the beautiful village of Hemingford Abbots, Peterborough, Cambridge, St Ives, and Huntingdon are all in easy reach by car using the busy A14 or country roads. The managers were very helpful when I arrived and set up my caravan for me.

There are lovely dog walks across fields, thanks to access from a farmer to the river with footpaths leading to St Ives about 3 miles away, passing through the pretty village of Hemingford Grey. With canal barges, geese, moorhens, and swans using the river.

It was very enjoyable despite the occasional inclement weather.

There is a very nice pub in the village.

The showers and washrooms were kept spotlessly clean, and there was also a laundry room, but I didn't see a play area for children. I would recommend this site perhaps for people who prefer the peace and quiet of the countryside. As itís the second time Iíve been, I would certainly recommend it.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Saonkirk 13 reviews from this member

We stayed here for one night during an August weekend as we could only get a pitch for the one night.

A small touring field mainly taken up by seasonal pitches.There are probably around 5 pitches available to book.Nice and quiet.

Facilities were clean and tidy.Never a wait.Whenever I used them I was the only person in there.

Axe and compass in the village didn't serve food on a Sunday evening,though a very nice pub.

There are literally miles of good walks around the area,the dogs loved it.Eventually we ended up in Hemingford Grey and found a pub restaurant called the Cock Inn. Food was greta as was the beer in the separate pub.

All in all a fantastic Sunday/Monday. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Autumn9 19 reviews from this member

Hemingford Abbots is a delightful, picturesque village on the River Great Ouse with thatched cottages and a medieval church. The campsite is at the end of a quiet, tarmac road off the main High Street.

There is no shop in the village but the Axe and Compass pub, which serves good home-made food, is within a five minute walk.

There are some statics and an estate of thirty two retirement homes on site but there is certainly no holiday camp atmosphere and no feeling of regimentation.

The small field put aside for tourers is mostly taken up with seasonal caravans, which occupy the pitches next to the river. Although surrounded by trees, the site itself is open with little shelter or opportunity to tuck away in a corner.

Owned by the same family for over seventy years, the current owners live on site and offer a friendly welcome to visitors. The hook-up post was a fair distance from my pitch and the lead I had with me was not long enough but I was immediately loaned one from the site.

The toilet facilities are modern and extremely clean. There is drinking water, a washing machine, an iron and the other usual facilities. Novels can be loaned from the site office, where there are also tourist leaflets.

Showers cost 20p for five minutes, a reasonable time for a quick shower but the water stopped just as I was about to wash the conditioner out of my hair and I had to paddle out of the cubicle to put another coin in the machine.

Rowing boats can be hired from the siteís own river bank but there is no thoroughfare for other river traffic, hence the siteís name, perhaps. Turn left when leaving the site onto the villageís main street and a little further along, on the left, is a public footpath that leads across a meadow and onto another footpath that follows the river bank to the next village, Hemingford Grey, a ten to fifteen minute walk altogether.

At Hemingford Grey there is a church, post office, village shop and the Cock Inn, which I was told by those who eat there serves excellent food. The Manor House at Hemingford Grey, built around 1130 and once the home of the childrenís author Lucy Boston, is reputedly the oldest inhabited house in England. It is open to the public by prior arrangement.

Turn right out of the campsite and almost at the end of the village is a turning to the right that takes you to a foot bridge, beyond which is a path that leads across Water Meadows to a lock and the village of Houghton, about a ten minute walk or a minuteís cycle. Just beyond the lock is Houghton Mill, owned by the National Trust.

The mill operates on Sundays during the season and the flour that has been milled there can be purchased. There is also a small cafť. Next to the mill is a Caravan Club site. In the village there are pretty Tudor buildings and two pubs, The Three Horseshoes and The Three Jolly Butchers, and a well-stocked general store.

The route connecting the villages of Hemingford Abbots and Houghton is not open to motor traffic and the journey by car will take some twenty minutes or more. Buses run from all three villages.

The weather was particularly hot and sunny during my visit and families were enjoying picnics on the riverbank at Houghton, using canoes and swimming in the river.

The area is also ideal for cycling and boats can be hired. The market town of St Ives, which offers a museum, restaurants and shops, is about three miles away,

This is a peaceful, attractive area and Quiet Waters is a very pleasant campsite.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Deba 14 reviews from this member

Stayed here for three nights and would recommend this site. The washing facilities are spotless and to a very high standard. There are some lovely walks around the village and a shop within walking distance. We brought our 13 foot boat and managed to launch it using the site's boat ramp. We had a day trip to St Ives in it where you can moor up. Nice and peaceful site with very polite and helpful owners.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Iresha 6 reviews from this member

We where there for the Easter break. We choose this site as it was near the river as we brought with us a dingy with engine. And we have realy nice time. Weather was nice. Facilities were ok. Owners were very helpful as we could not reach our hook-up and they gave us an extention. Nice pub in the village only 5 min to walk. Has got a lot of walks. We had bikes with us, but really there was not many suitable paths for bikes. Down point - no shops around, you need to bring food with you .

Reviewer: leisa.tomaselli 3 reviews from this member

May 2004
Nice site on river bank. Toilet block excellent, but downside is that showers are on a coin meter basis. Fairly quiet site, good mix of couples and families, would visit again without question.

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Huntingdon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6018 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019