Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of St Neots Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Cambridgeshire > St Neots > St Neots Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

St Neots Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Hardwick Road
Eynesbury
St Neots
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE19 2PR
Tel: 01480 474404
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 175
Open: 01/04/2024 to 02/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 104 Reviews
                9/10 from 104 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  104 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stevej 1 review from this member

 Excellent site and well maintained facilities in a good location.

Approach is a bit tricky through narrow streets and kerbside parking, although some of the issues caused by roadworks.

Riverside access is a bonus and quite unique for a town site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Booketta 55 reviews from this member

 Having moved on from the Hertford C&C site we arrived in the 1pm rush hour but didn't have to queue for long. There were plenty of staff to move people along reasonably quickly.

Our warden (older chap, possibly the manager) was friendly and helpful in advising us on pitches. We were warned about access to the site and it was tortuous through a housing estate.

The site is located on the river but as the towpath is public, the site is accessible to anyone.

The toilet block keypads were out of action therefore open to all. Facilities were kept clean although in one block on one occasion there was a large wet patch near the basins which wasn't cleaned up immediately.

The site is walking distance into St Neots and great for kayaking, paddle boarding, boating and fishing.

The site was very busy with a lot of changeover which made it feel very impersonal.

Most campers were friendly, the washing up area being the place to chat whilst doing those mundane chores. 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Adamedwardsteather 42 reviews from this member

 Fab site by the river, although if the wind drops you may get bitten. The only negative is the public footpath and early morning dog walkers talking loudly on their phones as they walk past tents! Wifi is a bit iffy and kept dropping out, but that's a minor issue.

Everything spotless and staff the friendly club people you would expect. The site was pretty full and we heard from several people that they come back regularly as they like it.

We hired a boat for the morning from the hire based 15 mins walk up the river from the site and also made good use of the local cycle paths. You can cycle from the station to the campsite entirely off road and the lifts at the station make getting bikes on and off trains a bit easier.

National Route 12 north to Huntingdon via Grafham Water and south to Sandy and Biggleswade is close by. We cycled south to Tempsford to see the memorial to the SOE agents (many of whom were women and flew out never to return) and then on the the SOE barn, the building the agents collected their parachutes from before flying out in the Lysanders.

If you want to see a Lysander, the Shuttleworth air museum is a good visit. It has a superb garden for anyone who finds too many aircraft a bit too much. It has a good cafe.

There are chinese and indian takeaways within a 15 min walk. 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: ChrisBradburn 30 reviews from this member

 This is one of our regular sites and each time it is just as good as the last time.

On this occasion the site was full but the facilities and everything else were still up to standard.

This time we had a very pleasant grass pitch with no electric, down by the river.

The TV signal was good, 4g was weak and site WiFi was only just in range of our unit.

There is an easy walk into St Neots in one direction and The Rivermill pub in the other direction.

The site is easily accessed provided you follow the signed route and the arrival times advised by the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: AndreaTom 2 reviews from this member

 We absolutely loved this site and wished we could have stayed longer. We were very lucky with the weather as it very hot (probably too hot as we didn't put the awning up as we weren't there that long so had no shade and had to go out and buy a parasol) but everything was perfect.

We had a great pitch (no. 75) which was really close to the river so we were able to sit and watch the boats go by and watch people attempting to launch canoes which proved difficult for some as the water level had dropped due to no rain.

Also close to us was a footpath that went through a wooded area and then into a beautiful park which in turn led to St Neot's itself (where there is a Waitrose for supplies) so we didn't need to use the car at all; we went for lunch in St Neot's one day and managed to get a table overlooking the beautiful river and then stopped and listened to some live music in the park on the way back.

We had planned on going to Cambridge but we didn't bother - we've been before and it was so hot that we decided to just stay and chill in the local area.

It is like an oasis of a campsite - you would never believe there was a housing estate just before you enter as you feel like you are in the middle of the countryside. Going the other way on the footpath takes you to a weir where there is a lovely pub though I've forgotten the name. Plenty of walking to be had for our dog but it was so hot - thank goodness, we took our water mister for him as it got a lot of use.

The toilet blocks are probably the cleanest I have ever seen and when they are cleaning them, you can take a short walk through the site to an identical toilet block located near Reception (they are cleaned at different times).

You mustn't arrive before 1. 00pm on the day of arrival - this is really important as otherwise, you would block the lane in waiting for the pitches to be ready. We were able to choose our pitch so we asked for somewhere quiet, not too far from the toilet block and near the river.

The man who showed us to our pitch on his bike was super friendly and also gave us lots of tips on where to go, we weren't rushed at all even though it was a busy time and he really made us feel like we had gone on holiday - a lovely welcome. I wish I had taken a note of his name as he was excellent.

Only one slight gripe and that is that the bins were right near the entrance but it wasn't too much of a problem for us as we went via the bins when we took our dog for a walk. Oh and there's no shop which would have been nice.

We are definitely going again - in fact, we are trying to fit in another trip before the season is over. Fingers crossed! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Lorrai 1 review from this member

 Excellent location, close to town and great walks right on your doorstep.

All site facilities very good and very clean.

Will definitely come here again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Junior pullman 7 reviews from this member

 This site gave us exactly what we wanted for a few days away. It is so peaceful.

The site staff are all very friendly and helpful. The facilities are spotless. The campsite is clean and tidy.

We were given the choice of three pitches. (HS EHU) shown to our pitch. We never return to a camp site, but we are going to make this one the exception.

We will return.

We were happy with the cost of our five nights. ST Neots is just a couple of miles away. Lots of places to eat out. Take aways are near by.

Not sure if it is a usual thing, but an ice cream van was let onto the site, very welcome in the recent hot weather. Already looking forward to our next visit to this lovely site.

The only negative…. Our stay was too short. Thanks St Neots for a relaxing holiday. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: NikkisTravels 5 reviews from this member

 Another well kept Camping And Caravanning Club Site next to the River Great Ouse which runs alongside the site, with the occasional river cruisers passing by.

I had an enjoyable 3 nights there on a grass only pitch with water, laundry and toilet blocks all close to hand.

The grounds were always being checked by the members of staff and those members of staff that I had occasion to speak with were extremely amicable and a joy to talk with.

St Neots has a lovely high street with a wide variety of shops available and there are plenty of eating out venues close by. Grafham Water is not too far away and 'The Offords' also is nearby and they both offer walking or cycling route options.

The cost of my 3 night stay was just £28 (with age concession) and if I had to have a small gripe it would be the traffic noise from the A1 that becomes apparent at night time as the site quietens down after 11pm, but that's not anything the site can be responsible for and probably only really affects tent dwellers as Caravan & Motorhome users are more insulated.

All in all, a great campsite with well kept grounds, conscientious and friendly staff, great facilities and close to the town for eating out and shopping.

Well worth staying and enjoying the surroundings. 


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor57 87 reviews from this member

 Easy access to St Neots C&CC Site from either the M11 or A1 then follow the Club directions and brown camping signs and not your SATNAV.

The route appears strange as you are driving through a housing estate but don't be concerned the site is at the end of the road just past the car park.

We received a nice welcome and were allowed to choose from several pitches so we chose a nice hardstanding one down by the river. The site is very spacious and open with a nice river aspect.

There are both hardstanding and grass pitches with electrics but there are no fully serviced pitches. However there is an excellent Motorhome Service Point and various water and waste points around the site.

It has two facilities blocks but the riverside one was closed when we visited. We prefer to use the shower and washing facilities in our motorhome so not an issue for us but the facilities block that was open was never crowded.

Our main reason for visiting this site is the easy walk into St. Neots through the park which takes about 10-15 mins. Wardens will tell you the easiest way to go.

St Neots is a lovely small town with lots of restaurants, pubs and tea rooms. We tried and would recommend Poppy's Tea Room, Betty Bumbles Tea Room and the Il Girasole all were excellent.

Overall a very nice site in a excellent location.

We will definitely visit again soon and next time we will walk the other way towards the locks which we were told is lovely with a very good pub. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: PedroPete61 31 reviews from this member

 This is my last outing for the year? and I have returned here last visit 2018. The town has changed as others but the location is excellent.

On the banks of the river with fishing on site( with Permit) Swans, Ducks and fish to feed if you so wish.

Plenty of walking with or without Dogs, pubs and restaurants within walking and fish/ chip shops nearby.

Walking or driving to town your choice. Spread out site clean and tidy where matters, all kept clean by wardens, shortage of dog bins for poo.

Must watch out for high water in river but normally ok.

Plenty of things close by including Duxford located close on M11 


Previous     104 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is St Neots Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is St Neots Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Neots      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


23443 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement