Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Aldenham Country Park Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Hertfordshire > Elstree > Aldenham Country Park Farm Reviews

Aldenham Country Park Farm
Aldenham Road
Elstree
Hertfordshire   (Browse area)
WD6 3BA
Tel: 0208 953 9602
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/04/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 7 Reviews
                7/10 from 7 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Markpu 1 review from this member

 Despite the rain and the mud we had a brilliant time here,

Will absolutely be visiting again!

The Farm is well laid out,

100 Aker wood was great and the staff were so friendly and helpful. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Lsb290 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely (albeit basic) campsite, especially if you have younger children, as they love the farm animals element. There isn’t much for older children & one of the “camping pros” that is lost here, is that children are not allowed to explore anywhere on their own. I understand the reasons for this (the risks of the working farm element) but this is one of the things we love about camping normally, that our older kids (9 & 12) can have some independence. They were reprimanded for going near the farm shop without adult supervision in this instance. Although this is clearly stated in the rules so we were in the wrong but this would stop me from returning.

We also made the mistake of not taking wellies, as in our area (only an hour away) we hadn’t had a drop of rain for months, but clearly they had (again, this was our fault).

Lovely views over the hills but no “proper” facilities in the fields, only chemical toilets and cold water taps. The permanent facilities were too much of a walk back up a muddy hill to make use of them.

We also ordered the BBQ meat pack from the farm shop and we did not receive all of the items that were listed but because of the fair walk back up the muddy hill, we didn’t raise it with them.

All in all we enjoyed our stay though and the staff were very good at checking up on everyone regularly (in a good way). 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: VWBus 83 reviews from this member

 Had a one nighter here to celebrate my birthday with a group of friends, in various tents and campervans - it's a perfect site for that sort of thing. There are lots of different fields to pitch in, most open, some wooded, so you can tuck yourselves away from others if you want.

Facilities are basic, very basic, so if compost loos over a hole dug in the camping field doesn't appeal then might not be for you! There are also a couple of open air showers dotted around, which were muddy but did the job, with vaguely hot water!

Pub a 10 minute walk along the road, but bear in mind there are no pavements, so be careful - especially on the way back !

Booking was reasonably straight forward, all done online on their website. Cost for me was £12. 50 for one adult, the dog was free. Would return for another "group" night with friends. 


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 I came here last year and loved the place and this year we wanted something for a gathering of around 10 of us, and as the place is very laid back we chose here.

We all booked online at £12.50 per adult, be aware that they default to one child when you go to book online, so make sure that you check this and remove the child pitch if you don't have them. They should default it to zero kids, but hey ho, they may catch a few people out.

On arrival we checked in at the farm shop / reception and the lady was very cheerful and explained the facilities to those who did not know and off we went.

We skipped through the main camping field and went straight in to the wooded area and we pitched near one of the many compost toilets. The toilets were clean and well stocked with paper, handwash and wet wipes. There is a shower in the wooded area which was warm, and perfectly usable. There is also fresh water tap and washing up area in the field, along with a few bins.

Aldenham Country Park has a large lake and woodland trails which you can wander around, a farm area and kids play area. We did not use any of these facilities however I have walked the lake before and it is pleasant enough.

The Battle Axes pub is not far away down Aldenham Road which offers a good variety of food at reasonable prices and a good range of beers, wines and spirits.

Elstree Aerodrome is just down the road and is a great place for plane spotters.

I will be back, but really only on my own as for a couple it is £25 and that is just too much for the site with the facilities on offer, but on your own it is an absolute bargain and you are allowed to party into the night. 


Date of Visit: July 2018  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 This site was easy to book online and I booked for the four of us that went in one booking. I simply turned up wth confirmation and the lady on the reception desk gave us full details of the site and pointed us in the right direction.

The site is made up of two fields, one in the open and one amongst the trees. We opted for the tree field and this has numerous compost toilets and fresh water taps. There are also showers on site, but I didn't use them, so cannot comment. You leave your rubbish on the pitch after a stay and they come round and collect it.

The toilets are cleaned regularly and the helpful cleaners showed us where the nearest pub is and this was The Battle Axes which is a ten minutes walk down the road and offered a great menu and a good selection of drinks.

Altough the field we were in had trees, there were still plenty of spaces with sun, but also shade if required.

The site sites on the edge of Aldenham Country Park which is huge offering loads of walking, a lake, boating lake, shop, farm and is a lovely setting for a chilled walk. There is a cafe too and large childrens play area.

Close to Radlett and Elstree and Borehamwood where you will see all the usual shops and restuarants etc.

It is pricey at £12. 50 per adult and £9. 50 for kids, so if taking a family of four it is expensive for quite a basic site, but if on your own it's a bargain and I will be back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ilusby 4 reviews from this member

 Booked up here for a night with friends. Was really easy to find and get into the site. It was rather busy when we got there as it looked like part of one of the fields was taken up by a private party but there was still plenty of space left.

We found a pitch among the trees and set up. The facilities are pretty basic being just compost toilets but they are regularly cleaned and well stocked.

This is one of the few sites that still allows campfires, not that we needed it with how hot the weather was!

Being part of the country park there is some cracking walking round here and a great pub just down the road as well.

Overall a great site for a local one night getaway. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Julie Heather 3 reviews from this member

 I went with a group of people. I didn't personally book it myself but based on how the website portrays it, I would have also booked a stay here. I'm not fussy, but it's basically a field!. With a few clumps of trees. People are allowed fires - I saw a real clever family with a fire going right next to a tree where they were staying in a tent. Thank god the tree didn't catch fire.

The facilities are not very good and it's not clean at all. I know it says wild camping but I really didn't want to see people running around peeing on trees all around us at night time after a few drinks.

Gates are locked at night and the fact this is in the middle of nowhere, you need a car to drive out to gain access to the shops. There is no one even around in the evening past a certain point. As a person I would not moan at things like prices, weather etc. But this was not great at all.

I think it's a public park and as such anyone can come and go. On one occasion I saw a car drive past and miss one of the campers children by inches. It wasn't the fault of the driver and the child did run out in front of the car. Thankfully no one was injured. Having cars park next to tents is convenient but maybe not such a great idea with kids running around.

Weather was good though. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Aldenham Country Park Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Aldenham Country Park Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Aldenham Country Park Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Elstree      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hertfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Lifestyle 2022 Show, Shropshire 06/05 to 08/05
Holiday homes, caravans, camping, holidays, garden rooms, hot tubs, garden furniture, gardening, health & fitness - 20% off tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3294 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement