Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping La Foret De Tesse

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Poitou-Charentes > La Foret De Tesse > Camping La Foret De Tesse Reviews

Camping La Foret De Tesse
1 Rue Des Berches
Grosbout
La Foret De Tesse
Poitou-Charentes   (Browse area)
16240
Tel: 0033545 311 914
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 12 Reviews
                10/10 from 12 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Stemar101 1 review from this member

Superb site with a lovely couple Mark and Ildi who are always around to answer questions and give help.

Lots of good dog walking direct from the site which was of benefit for us and a small but interesting hamlet to walk around.

Very clean and tidy toilet area but is 'unisex' and combines with the washing up facilities, which would be our only pickie point if there had to be one.

Amenities like bars and restaurants are short drives away and good quality.

Would definitely recommend for short or long stays to suit couples or families.

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: TimBucktoo 1 review from this member

We were looking for a stopover for a couple of nights on our way further south and choose this site because I wanted to see if it lived up to its rave reviews (even though it was a little out of our way).

Guess what, it really does. A lovely village setting, quiet, except for birdsong. Run by fantastically welcoming and helpful owners. Immaculate toilet/shower facilities.

Sparkling pool at 26C. Bread delivered daily. There is nothing to fault. So, our 2 night stay turned in 12. And we will return.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Jayneseaborn 1 review from this member

We absolutely loved this site.

We stayed last year late summer and couldn’t wait to get back as soon as possible this year

The downside to this site is that we intend to see the rest of France on our visits but never so because once we are here Always stay twice as long as we booked for because it is so perfect.

Immaculate stunning and peaceful with lots of interesting wildlife and beautiful plants.

Extremely helpful owners friendly without being intrusive.

I told them I’d love to visit a brocante they went and found where the nearest one was for us.

They’ll help with restaurant bookings if your French isn’t up to scratch.

We even got to look round the newly renovated gite. And it’s gorgeous.

I just can’t wait to get back and I’ve only just left!

You must try the local pineau.

Visit a market or Brocante

The villages of Verteuil sur Charente and Nanteuil-en-Vallée are so picturesque. Dont forget your camera.

In early summer there are fields and fields full of sunflowers

Mark and Ildi provide a comprehensive booklet with loads of information about the area and things to do so you can find what suits your needs for however energetic or relaxed you feel.
via mobile

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AphraBehn 3 reviews from this member

When we left here in May, we promised ourselves we would come back next year. But four months later, back in chilly Northumberland, we were missing this place so badly that we couldn't wait any longer. And once more, we thought we'd stay for a week or two and ended up staying for most of October.

We agreed with our dogs that it was just too lovely to leave. This truly is the best campsite we have ever visited - and we have been to a fair few across the UK and France. Equally importantly, this part of rural France is just as stunning in autumn as it was in spring but in a totally different way.

Why do so few people realize how glorious the south west is out of season? OK, some of the major attractions are closed but who needs them anyway? The really important ones are often open for a couple of days a week and, with planning, we were rewarded with leisurely, easy visits with lots of time to explore and ask questions without a crowd laughing at our wobbly French.

It helps that the free wi-fi on the campsite is so good that it is easy to find what's available locally and Ildi and Mark are mines of information about fun things to do. The villages, the cafes and the restaurants are uncrowded, the countryside is glorious and golden and it was warm enough for me to swim nearly every day.

We also visited a few of the designated Plus Beaux Villages de France which would probably have been impossibly crowded in July and August but were a delight in October.

Maybe we are becoming unadventurous but we have booked again for next year. For a realistic month this time. But who knows …? It gets harder to leave every time.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: TravellingTrio 1 review from this member

A lovely site so glad we found it. We were looking for somewhere great to relax after 3 months of travelling and found it here. The site is immaculate as are the facilities and pool due to the hard work of Mark and Ildi.

They are lovely hosts always happy for a chat and help or advice. Our dog loved it here, very dog friendly too with great walks straight from the campsite. Nice shady forest with so many tracks to explore and quiet lanes. Lovely quiet stone village.

The whole site has a nice atmosphere and not regulated with regards to parking as many are but everyone has ample space. We booked four nights and stayed for six and once we had moved wished we had stayed longer and we don't normally stay that long. Will definitely return.

Michael, Lesley and Bella

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 14+ Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: ToadOfToadhall 11 reviews from this member

I read a lot of UKCampsite.co.uk reviews that start with 'This has to be the best site ever!' and I usually take it with a pinch of salt. BUT, in this case, it really is the best site I have stayed on. The layout is flexible so you can position you van to suit your preference (morning sun or evening sun for example).

The site and facilities are immaculately maintained by the owners, especially the sparkling clean swimming pool. And the location is so quiet and peaceful, just the sound of birdsong and crickets. The area is full of small, picturesque villages with ancient churches, Lavoir (old communal washing houses, great for dog swimming!), and chateau.

The very quiet country roads are ideal for cycling. Bread is delivered most mornings. The final clincher for me was the inky black night sky, so many stars!

Will definitely book again for next year, only I will stay longer!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AphraBehn 3 reviews from this member

We booked for a week and ended up staying for more than a month! And even then, we didn't want to go home. We have visited campsites all over the UK and France and I can truthfully say that this one beats them all hands down.

It is a little gem. It is small - only ten vans plus a bell tent with its own cooking cabin - and it is uncrowded and very pretty. It has shady areas with picnic tables dotted around, redstarts and blackbirds dancing in the trees and even its own resident little owl. The facilities are second to none.

The unisex shower block (two loo/showers plus an extra loo) is new and sparkling clean. The disabled facilities are thoughtfully designed and there are new laundry facilities at a very reasonable price. The real joy for me was the pool.

It is very large for a site of this size and beautifully maintained. Most of the pitches are on very well-drained grass with EHU and plenty of water points although, as confirmed sloths, we bagged the huge fully serviced pitch. The owners couldn't have been kinder or more fun!

They were wonderful with our two rescue spaniels, one of whom has recently joined us after a horribly abusive past so is usually terrified of strangers. Ildi and Mark spent time with him every day, gently persuading him to trust them. We think he is still pining for their own special brand of ear tickling. We fell in love with the whole area.

You can walk for miles through the forest, empty country lanes and beautiful ancient villages. Everyone we met was genuinely friendly and interested. The local dialect is was killer for my schoolgirl French but there is so much goodwill that we all muddled along together happily.

We have booked again for next year but perhaps no-one should try to book our pitch for months afterwards. Or possibly years. Or maybe we will never go home!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alan6719 4 reviews from this member

Well run immaculate and attractive site with good mains hook up together with water and waste water disposal. Informal layout just go where you prefer in the open or shade.

The toilet shower facilities are excellent with washing machine and drier with first class wheelchair accessible shower (being a full time wheelchair user this is the best I have seen).

The owners Mark and lldi have worked hard to make this site special with swimming pool fresh bread delivered daily and the opportunity to visit all year round.

Easy access from N10.

Planning further visit already !

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lambourne41 1 review from this member

An absolute pleasure to find this amazing campsite. The facilities are 1st class, spotlessly clean and way ahead of any site we've been to.

Mark and Ildi were extremely helpful and welcoming and we very much look forward to returning.

Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Olivia Anne 5 reviews from this member

Found this lovely campsite from UKCampsite.co.uk. We travel back to the UK twice a year. Finding campsites open in winter is something of a challenge. Finding one so close to the N10 with such lovely facilities is a delight.

The English owners who are experienced motorhomers have developed this lovely site using their wealth of knowledge.

We will be back in the summer to spend more time exploring the area and relaxing by the lovely swimming pool.

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near La Foret De Tesse      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Poitou-Charentes

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5568 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019