Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Strictly Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Tunbridge Wells > Strictly Camping Reviews

Strictly Camping
Woodlands Farm
Hastings Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent   (Browse area)
TN2 4BL
Tel: 01892 823581  or  07732165080
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: 24/3 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 17 Reviews
                10/10 from 17 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Howardcampers 1 review from this member

We had a successful first ever family camping trip thanks to Bob and his lovely site. We chose a pitch in the woods which was very private with lots of space. We enjoyed having our own fire and being fairly back to basics despite hours of awful rain! The toilets and washing up area were very clean. Booking communication was excellent using email and good old phone. The children loved going on Bob's trailer around the site spotting deer and rabbits.

We visited nearby Scotney Castle and another national trust as we're members and also had a great Sunday roast in Tenterton to escape the rain.

A great weekend of camping; highly recommend.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sammy1436 1 review from this member

Just got back from our first camping trip and canít wait to take the kids again. We had a lovely weekend. The kids had so much freedom to explore they absolutely loved it. Showers and toilets are very clean. Table tennis table is great too. Bob could not have been any more accommodating and made us feel so welcome and relaxed, thanks bob. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fallulah82 1 review from this member

What can I say. An absolutely amazing weekend, a beautiful site, happy children and Bob, there are not enough words to tell you how amazing Bob is. Strictly Camping is like the secret garden, I didnít want to leave, the children had endless woods to play in and ride their bikes in and they had a huge field space for our camping Olympics. We chose the field pitch as opposed to the woodland pitches, but all equally as lovely. Huge pitches, with fire pits provided. Bob checks in on you for anything needed, wood for the fire, ice for the cool boxes, and he has to cope for the constant requests from the children for a ride in the trailer!

Showers and toilets are very clean, and the other campers were lovely.

My only issue was taking my 4 year old to the toilet and it being too far for his little legs to get there in a short amount of time. Having said that, it didnít detract from the amazing time we had. Cant wait to go back, thank you so much for having us Bob, it really was amazing

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Family intents 1 review from this member

What a fabulous find. We have just returned from a 2 night stay. 4 adults and 6 kids all had a great time. Lovely spacious pitches and plenty of room for the kids to explore safely. I loved the showers as there was space enough to shower all the kids down! Bob is an amazing host and such a lovely family man. We never went without - always popping up with ice and fire wood. The kids loved the ride on the gator around the woods. Would highly recommend and will definitely be visiting again. Just remember you wellies and insect repellent! Thanks Bob.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Julia1978 1 review from this member

Firstly Bob is amazing and the kids absolutely love him. We pulled up to the entrance and like magic he knew we had arrived and was there to greet us and help us unload our cars. He then delighted the kids with a ride on the trailer to the field we decided to camp in. Despite is being bank holiday and all the other sites in Kent being fully booked we shared the field with only two other tents. The pitches are spacious and set around the edges for kids to play in the open space. The field is then surrounded by paddocks for the horses. The woods around provided hours of entertainment and the kids made their own camps and went exploring and on bike rides. Bob checks on you constantly just to see if you need anything liked ice or wood, which he delivers in his trailer. He was so welcoming. Its a little gem of a place and we will definitely be returning. Loved our 3 nights and had lovely weather and a thunder storm which was spectacular to watch. Toilets and showers kept very clean. The one thing the field campers could do with maybe is a portaloo nearer to the field more for the little campers that decide they need the loo and cant hold it for the walk down but I definitely wouldn't let that put you off at all. Brilliant !

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rsquibb 2 reviews from this member

We visited over the May bank holiday and had amazing weather which made our stay even more special. We were with two other family groups and stayed in one of the woodland pitches. Our children (aged 4 - 14), loved the freedom to wander off into the beautiful woodland, where they were surrounded by wild spring flowers and wildlife including frogs and a baby owl! Really nice natural site, with camp fires, very friendly/helpful owners (as other reviewers have also said) and basic, but well-maintained, facilities.

A map of woodland trails and pitches locations would have been helpful also.

Only slight downside was some road noise from the A21 (especially high-pitched motorcycles. ), but other than that a great place to camp.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Realbernie 1 review from this member

This is a lovely campsite set in a mixture of open fields and woodland (predominantly ash). It's relatively small (I think 15 independent camping areas) and new as of 2017. We chose it based on the reviews and the fact you can light campfires in the fire pits provided. Note you can't bring your own wood because of concerns regarding tree disease (Ash dieback) so you buy buckets of chopped logs at £6. 50 a shot.

Run by the owner Bob (and his wife), Bob is friendly and very helpful - so is his wife probably but we didn't meet her! You have to leave you car in the parking area and Bob then loads your gear into his tractor+trailer and drives you the short hop to your site. The wooded area where we camped was big enough for our 3 tents and could probably take 2 more. It was a beautiful setting and peaceful - you can just about make out the hum of traffic from the A12 in the distance. However given the seclusion you can probably put music on if that's what you want, without disturbing too many people.

Lots of good cycling tracks through the woods (you'll need a mountain bike for the muddy bits) and the nearby village of Pembury has some nice pubs within walking distance - across the busy A12 unfortunately - and there's a Tesco superstore close by if you run out of supplies.

Overall we had an excellent time and would gladly return again!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Eponomous 1 review from this member

If your idea of a good camping holiday is going to the clubhouse each night, then I suspect this campsite will not be for you. If you have kids who are active and adventurous, or you like the peace and quiet of the woods then this site hits the spot. Having driven 3/4 mile from the main road we got to the parking area and Bob took us for a quick tour of the site so we could see the variety of sites on offer. The choice is really between camping in the wood itself or in an open field with horses grazing on three sides. Having recently injured my ankle I avoided the less even woodland sites and chose the field. Bob helped us unload our car onto his trailer and then took us to the site then returned for our trailer. This may sound inconvenient but it means that there is not a continuous stream of cars using the tracks, which makes it feel much safer for the kids.

Cycles are actively encouraged as is exploring the large area of woodland. At the field there is a standpipe for fresh water and a covered area with picnic tables and benches. A short walk to the parking area takes you to the toilets, showers, pot wash and covered play area with table tennis. The facilities are clean but basic.

Lighting is from a solar panel charged battery so it does rely on people turning it off during the day in order to save the power.

Showers and pot wash have the water heated by bottled gas and are good, provided no one else draws water. Bob apparently intends working on that problem ready for 2018. This is a new site opened, I believe, in 2017 so there are things to improve, but Bob seems very open to suggestions and keen to continue to make improvements. Having said that I would be disappointed to see this site become too sterile as it would loose a lot of its charm.

I did find that on the field site there was some road noise which disappeared when one dropped down into the wood. This may be useful for those seeking a really quiet spot.

Each site has plenty of space (far more than I am used to) and comes with a fire pit and logs to sit on. Bob will provide logs for burning at a reasonable rate.

There are a lot of things to do in the area and it doesn't take too long to get down to the coast. If you are heading towards Rochester and feeling peckish then I would recommend Papa's Barn fish and chips restaurant and take away (ME20 6DB) Tel:01732 848488. We had a really good supper there, but I would recommend booking as it can get very busy.

I think the final thing to say is that in the 50 years I have been camping I have never met a more helpful and accommodating owner than Bob.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tenement 2 reviews from this member

This is exactly what I want when I go camping! The forest pitches are a perfect escape from normality and theyre all really far apart so you wouldn't feel overlooked at all.

The huge fire pit made of truck alloys each pitch has are brilliant fun to sit around and are great for cooking over! Don't bother bringing the bbq or gas cooker - Just do it all over the fire. Id bring some extra long skewers next time for roasting marshmallows and starburst over the rim.

Bob couldn't be more friendly and helpful! The ride in the offroader to take your stuff to the pitch is brilliant. We bought two buckets of wood (with newspaper provided by Bob to help get it started) and had the fire going within 10 minutes of getting the tent up. He also brought us a coolbox to store the ice we bought from him which was a great shout!

We only stayed a night and mostly sat around the fire but I couldn't love this place more - will absolutely be back to walk the trails. I'd imagine though that as word spreads about this place it's going to be hard to get a pitch!

Thanks Bob for a great stay!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LandB 1 review from this member

Absolutely fabulous, if a little muddy!

Had an absolutely brilliant weekend at Strictly Camping - definitely our best campsite so far!

We stayed in a group of 4 to 5 tents, in a lovely secluded area in the woodlands. Bob was amazing and did everything he could think of to make us feel at home, including helping us put up the tents, erecting a gazebo over our kitchen area to protect us from the downpour, and bringing us an extra cool box. He was also very patient taking our ridiculous amount of belongings round to the site! Being so hidden away, the washing facilities were quite a trek, but we were asked beforehand if we were happy with that before we choose the spot. If it hadn't have chucked it down a day before our arrival we would have followed the 'road' round to the facilities but we spent most of the weekend getting lost in the woods. A map could have helped! The facilities were certainly very adequate. Great fun and we felt just as feral as the children we brought with us.

I'm not sure how much of the area we actually saw (it seemed to go on forever) - but there were beautiful fields, lake(s?), woods, horses, a great covered area to hide from the rain and play table tennis. The kids disappeared for hours at a time. We went for a lovely, unambitious walk to a local pub. Spent the evenings around the fire. It really was fab! Will definitely re-visit!

Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1184 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019