Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bainland Country Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Woodhall Spa > Bainland Country Park Reviews

Bainland Country Park
Horncastle Road
Woodhall Spa
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
LN10 6UX
Tel: 01526 352903
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Log Cabins Only
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 117 Reviews
                7/10 from 117 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  117 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Unfortunately this site has now closed to all touring caravans and tents. As from February half term 2013, there are no touring pitches, they are all being replaced by log cabins. 


Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Briarose 11 reviews from this member

 After using this touring site many times over the past 6/7 years esp in The Winter due to the facilities etc we have been surprised at the decline of the touring side of the park.

Pitches being ripped up, facilities in decline and only one shower block left open, which sadly again has seen better days. Prices in the bar and restaurant had become very expensive.

Sadly the park is not what it was in its hay day which is a terrible shame, and what is worse is that the owners have now decided to close the touring side and rip up the remaining pitches to be replaced by lodges. Such a shame as their touring customers remained loyal right up to the end and many were very sad at the demise of what once was a brilliant touring site admired far and wide when we first bought a tourer everyone told us to go there.  


Date of Visit: November 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Petertowbar 33 reviews from this member

 Visited this site after a gap of several years and to be honest it appears to have gone downhill, prices are expensive, although this site is opens all year the prices in winter do not reflect the season and are too high. The shower blocks are ok but you only get about 10 seconds of tepid water before having to re-push the button. The on site shop that used to be here has gone. The club is top priced for food / drink. The swimming pool is no bigger than a back garden one and has a list of things you cant do in it as long as your arm, I'm surprised you are allowed to swim. Having said all that there are plenty of things to do with Golf, Tennis, Archery Giant outdoor chess, pool and an Indoor/outdoor play area all on site. The park is well laid out and always clean and tidy. It is situated in a very nice setting and often has special events with an outstanding display on bonfire night and a great Christmas package. It remains a popular choice in an area of several holiday campsites in Woodhall Spa, which has some lovely walks and good shops, also a cinema and is a golfers paradise 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mariac 8 reviews from this member

 We have been going to Bainland for some years now and this is the first time we have felt disappointed. It's our first visit since it has added lodges and leisure activities and I must conclude I preferred how it was.

The shop has closed which is a real shame as our kids loved the independence of popping along there to buy sweets and tacky ornaments on their own plus it was useful to pick up the odd essential without going into Woodhall. Surely it made money for the park, so it is hard to understand why it has closed.

The pitches now work out pretty expensive. £142 for 3 nights on a basic grass pitch has to be the very limit of what anyone would pay to camp. The choice of food in the bistro is now very limited and quite pricey; we have always chosen to mainly stay on site to eat for convenience and to support the facility but if we were to come again, we might look further afield for choice and value. I didn't think cleanliness in the toilets and showers was what you would expect from a 5 star site; it used to be but isn't now. The children's park used to be a big attraction but that too is looking tired and dated.

The staff are always friendly and helpful and we would stop coming here with great reluctance as it feels relaxed and safe and we love Woodhall Spa but it is now very expensive for what you get in return.

A great shame. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Steadmanj 1 review from this member

 Visited this state for 6 nights.

On arrival booking in was easy the receptionist pointed out our pitch on a map and explained the one way system to us.

On arrival to the pitch the tv arial connection was broken, but the receptionist gave us a choice of pitches that we could move to.

Toilets/showers these we feel we're not 5 star, the main toilet block had on overpowering smell when using the showers that came from the drain, the smell was also coming out of the waste area on our full service pitch (could do with a proper cover instead of a cut peice of hardboard and handle).

The smaller toilet block was better but there was only two showers in the female block and unfortunately some campers did not keep them clean.

We have a small child and there was no baby changing facilitates or bath for use.

Playground, this was very good and both my children enjoyed this. Also golf course reasonable for £4.

Swimming pool, charge for this which worked out to be approx£10 for 1hour for a family of 4.

Food was good, they do a family deal before six. My husband went to the bar for a quick pint and ended up disappearing for longer due to the lack of staffing at the bar. One member of staff for food and serving in the bar. No where near enough staff for August.

Woodhall Spa and Lincoln are both a joy to visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Masonst0rm 10 reviews from this member

 Second stay here this year and very surprised on how quiet the site was. Had a super pitch and Yes its an expensive site but the size of the pitch is great.

I must admit grounds are kept well but the shower blocks etc are looking a little dated but still good. Last few days a large influx of people just staying for a few days, suspect this is due to an offer on their web site and the sunny weather.

Unfortunately this seemed to bring a number of people that didn't respect the facilities, the shower blocks ended up very dirty and what looked like a toilet paper fight had taken place with paper over walls and floors.

Such a shame as the site is quite nice overall. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lorraine23 16 reviews from this member

 Firstly, it is no way a 5 star rating. We paid £181 for a super pitch for 4 nights and were very disappointed at both the site and it's facilities. It is tired and desperately in need of an update to bring it up to the same standards of the other Best of British sites we've visited.

Wood hall Spa is gorgeous and we highly recommend the Chinese and Indian restaurants and the bakery. Budgens supermarket is excellent as quite unbelievably the site hasn't got a shop! Don't run out of gas too as they don't stock it. We wouldn't go back as it's far too expensive for what you get. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Masonst0rm 10 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 5 nights jut before Easter, site fairly quiet and as a result we were upgraded to a super pitch site as one of the facilities blocks was closed. Pitches very large and great super pitch facilities plenty of space for caravan, awning and car with space to spare. If you have an awning its worth noting the ground is quite sandy/soft so make sure you have good secure pegs to hold the awning down. We have a very wet and very windy day and most of our pegs pulled out.

Facilities blocks were OK but could imagine they get busy if site was full, the showers were very, very hot so beware no the push button operation a pain as they only stayed on for about 10 to 15 seconds. Bar / snack bars were Ok but a little expensive. Activity clubs were really good and reasonably priced but limited due to site being quiet.

The staff were very helpful and very pleasant which is always a plus, we really enjoyed our stay and have already booked to come back in the school summer break.

Well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dalmation 1 review from this member

 Just come back from a 3 night stay. Nice big pitches. (soft ground).

Showers & toilets ok, not in my opinion 5*. Water was very hot be warned.

After visiting 5 years ago not much has been updated, the park looks a little worn out, the swimming pool was ok, 2 changing rooms is not enough, lockers don't lock & no steam in the steam room!

Food looked nice in the bar & children's drinks overpriced.

We had a good time despite the above.

Woodhall lovely village. Approx 25 min walk.

I think a little over priced per night. 


Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kie68 36 reviews from this member

 We have just spent New Year at Bainlands, this is the second New Year we have spent, we also went last year. I have to say that we were disappointed this year.

Don't get me wrong the staff were still very friendly and very pleasant. The problems we had it has become very expensive, the drinks behind the bar are dear, especially the soft drinks for kids with a medium coke at £1.95, a pint of 'old speckled hen' at £3.35.

The entertainment wasn't as good either, the race night was poor compared to last year, you had to pay to enter the quiz which was free last year and the prices were a lot less.

Last years prize was four tickets for the carvery on New Years day, this year we would have only got £3 and a cuddly Giraffe until the lad doing the quiz asked if he could give tickets to the carvery like last year, he was told he could only give 2 this year.

The Carvery was nice but didn't have a selection of meats like last year only beef was on offer. The sauna, pool and Jacuzzi were free last year but this year £3 if you are on the touring pitches only free for statics and lodges.

We did the 'Kinema in the woods' experience which was a change from the normal multiplex cinemas. Sleaford was a nice town and also Skegness.

We had a lovely breakfast in Woodhall Spa at 'Little Dorrit's' cafe, very pleasant lady runs the shop. We had a laugh and joke with her, well worth calling in. It is a lovely area to visit. 


Previous     117 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bainland Country Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Bainland Country Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bainland Country Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Bainland Country Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Woodhall Spa      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3345 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement