Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Newhaven Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Buxton > Newhaven Caravan & Camping Park > Reviews

Newhaven Caravan & Camping Park
Newhaven
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 0DT
Tel: 01298 84300
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 155
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 132 Reviews
                8/10 from 132 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  132 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Keitho 1 review from this member

 Really enjoyed our stay and were made to feel very welcome and will be booking again very soon.

It has a great playground for the kids and the facilities were spotless 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Einsteinwasright 5 reviews from this member

 Nice enough campsite, good facilities, clean, large and open spaces.

Not many tents, mostly motorhomes & caravans.

A bit disappointed as we had booked and requested staying in a specific tent, no electric, area which they had confirmed, but on arrival we were put amongst caravans, not sure if the pitch they gave us had recently been converted because it was impossible to get tent pegs into the ground due to the amount of gravel/stones.

The site is lovely and safe, surrounded by trees so there is no view at all of the Peak District, also be warned there is a haulage company across the road who start up very early and operate 24/7, not the idyllic, peaceful countryside location we had expected! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: TouringCampers 5 reviews from this member

 Newhaven holiday park what can we say !

Well great location for visiting the Peak District,

Very well managed site, clean and very tidy. Great little shop and shower blocks, very clean

Staff very helpful and hard working.

We were given all the details of the surrounding area from lady in the shop,

We will be back, thank you to all 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TouringCampers 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, checked in at reception by a lady, very polite and helpful. It was Halloween weekend and she gave the children some trick or treats and details of the park, then radioed a gentleman who took us down to the bottom section of the park next to the play area, which was great for the kids. He told us where everything was and said have a great weekend and just give him a shout if needed anything. The park itself is very clean and tidy and fantastic. Very clean shower block and loos.

Small shop that sells most things that you normally forget to take with you, in my case tooth brush.

While we stayed we asked about a seasonal pitch and are thinking of taking one for 2019 season.

Thankyou to the staff and manager for a great stay and will see you soon x 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Susangibbons 5 reviews from this member

 The site is clean tidy and well kept the showers are hot and free. However because there are a lot of touring vans permanently pitched but empty the site lacks the atmosphere of a campsite. The pitches are very uneven and sloped so tricky for a trailer tent. We were on the middle field on the edge near the road once pitched we realised the bottom field was flatter nearer the toilets and the play area which with a 10 month old would have been much better but we weren't offered this. There are strange rules such as no cycling or scooters on site and no washing to be hung outside tent we were asked to move towels which were on a small camping rotary airer! Not causing any issue really.

It would be good to have a bucket and mop in the showers as they cut the grass a lot and the cubicles where usually muddy.

On the bank holiday weekend they decided to cut down tree branches next to the play area with large chain saw with no safety equipment or health and safety covered it was very dangerous.

The lady in the office was friendly but not the men who were often driving around to fast and very grumpy.

Don't arrive between 1 and 2 as they close for lunch and won't open!

If you are on the non electric pitches these are on a very steep slope

We chose the site as it was very reasonable priced and the location is very good. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Andyboylester 7 reviews from this member

 Just got back this evening after a four night short break at this campsite. We chose it in the first place because it was reasonably priced and we could bring our pet dog. Our pitch was large as we needed space for our trailer tent and a pup tent for my son and his partner, and we had electric hook-up. On arrival, we where directed by signs to the reception, which includes a very well stocked shop, where the lady took pains to find out exactly what we needed and then changed our allocated pitch to suit us better, because the weather had been quite bad and our original pitch would have been a bit boggy. Then she collared a young chap to take us to our pitch, which was on a slight slope. He told us all the bits about where the facilities where and so on, and even helped us to move our trailer off the road into position.

The site as a whole is absolutely beautifully kept, all clean and manicured, the toilets and showers (which are free and plenty hot enough) where clean, as was the dish-washing area (apart from the first night, where some lovely person had left a sink half full of their left-overs from dinner). There is a small play area for kids that also includes a brick-built barbecue that my younger kids made good use of (the play area, not the bbq!).

The only thing I wasn't over keen on was that there was a ban on outdoor games in the actual camping area, all games being restricted to the play area, meaning that if you have little ones, they couldn't play within sight of the tent. I understand that this might make things more peaceful for those who don't have kids, but it was a definite inconvenience for those who do.

Overall, this is a really excellent site, with staff who really go the extra mile, and I'd definitely go back for a longer stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Familycampers7 2 reviews from this member

 Experienced a camping trip to Newhaven Caravan & Camping Park with our family. Would definitely not return ever! The staff are miserable and unhelpful. The two play areas need updating. There is no dog walking area and it is quite far to walk offsite to the nearest one. Waited half an hour once we got there for someone to return to book us in. Will not return! 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: A1tony 1 review from this member

 Stayed with a large group at Newhaven for a bike event nearby. Camp site was immaculate, clean and tidy. Staff were very helpful and attentive to things like bins and especially so for unknown / unauthorised vehicles. Even though we stayed up late, there were no noise complaints. Shop on site sells useful bits n bobs. I really can't fault it.

We will be going back many more times hopefully.

Well done 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dave 418 38 reviews from this member

 We decided to stay on this site because it was near to the walks we wanted to do, Tissington Trail and High Peak Trail.

We were pitched on the bottom field and I assumed this to be the touring field for caravans tents and motorhomes. The pitch we were given was gravel next to the toilet block. There are two taps marked motorhome water next to the pitches we were on. Unfortunately this is were motorhome facilities stopped. There is no drive over drain and we were told we could use the elsan point to drain our water.

The toilet block has two showers each side, considering the size of the touring area this will cause a few hold ups during the busier times.

Dogs are allowed but there is no dog walk area and it is quite a walk to take dogs off site.

To end it all the elsan point in the touring area was overflowing this morning. We were directed to another elsan point by a groundsman. He knew nothing about the problem.

I thought this site was expensive for what it offered. Motorhome users have different needs to caravans. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Liconarella 1 review from this member

 Just on our way home from another great weekend at newhaven campsite. We decided to site our tourer here after our first visit and must say it was the best decision we made. We come most weekends. The children love it, everyone is so friendly especially the staff Sue, Paul and James who have helped us when we have needed them and we always get a friendly wave on their frequent site patrols. There's plenty of space for the children to play and the grounds are kept immaculately. The campsite is also in a prime location to access nearby towns Matlock, Ashbourne, buxton etc where there's always something going on.

With all the stress of work and children it's been fantastic to have somewhere we love to relax at the weekends 


Previous     132 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Newhaven Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Newhaven Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Newhaven Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Buxton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3031 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement