Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodhall Spa Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Woodhall Spa > Woodhall Spa Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Woodhall Spa Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Wellsyke Lane
Kirkby On Bain
Woodhall Spa
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
LN10 6YU
Tel: 01526 352911
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/04 to 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 79 Reviews
                8/10 from 79 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Welshrover 20 reviews from this member

First time ever I stopped on site belong to the ccc although I been a member for 8 years always use the cl sites. With been over 60 it cost £85 for a week all in even cheaper than cl sites. I was very impress with the site very clean great toilets and showers only one negative there is a nine inch kerb round the waste water point which you got to get over the kerb to get to the drain I could not do it on my own not at 73. The wardens would go out of their way to help and the site was busy but ever so quiet. While I was there I went over to mabelthorp and I was very impress with that site too so I booked the first week in September there. This site is very top of my list really open my eyes and I shall visit this site and area again very soon

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jonk 18 reviews from this member

A well organized, clean and friendly site. When we arrived after a warm welcome we were offered a choice of pitches. We chose one in the open area rather than the wooded part. All the amenities we fairly close to hand and well taken care of. The toilet block was kept clean and the showers were excellent, no lack of hot water or pressure & no button to keep pressing!

Plenty of walking nearby including two nature reserve areas one of which backs on the the campsite. Woodhall Spa itself has 3 small supermarkets (that we found) one of which is open until 10pm. Various other shops there and a cottage museum. Tattershall Castle about 5. 5 miles away down mostly quiet roads (good for cycling/walking) and there is a walk starting in Woodhall Spa at the Dambusters memorial. A leaflet is available on-line with the directions which are clear and accurate (9. 5 mile route). The Water Rail Way cycle/footpath is close by (approx 3. 5 miles) a good route to get to Lincoln or Boston on a bike.

In all it was a very pleasant stay and although the site was quite full for bank holiday weekend, it didn't feel crowded at all. I would certainly go back to this site.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Spiritburner 18 reviews from this member

Great site. We were able to choose our own grass pitch with hookup for the tent. Level, well cut grass. Toilet & shower block clean. Very well maintained site. Very handy for antique hunting in Horncastle, Tattershall Castle & Battle of Britain Memorial Flight.

BTW - review below by Special01 is for the Jubilee Park site actually in Woodhall Spa

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Karenvan 1 review from this member

Wow!what a fantastic site. Just returned after 5 nights and feel completely relaxed. It's a beautifully kept site with friendly wardens who showed us to our pitch. We were able to chose our pitch from a selection and opted for one next to the park. It's across a little bridge so the kids were close enough to keep an eye on but far enough to have a little independence. It's peaceful, except when the jets from the nearby RAF Base fly over but that just added to our holiday, spotting Typhoons. We had an excellent hard standing with lots of space. Toilets and showers were immaculate with free hairdryer. Theres a little shop on site which the kids used for sweetie supplies Dog walking area is small, but fine to fling a ball around. An excellent site- the only downside we found is that is not closer to home!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alison1958 1 review from this member

Spent 2 nights here over the weekend, I have camped for many years and this has to be one of the best sites I have visited. This site is immaculately kept by the lovely wardens. Keep up the good work we will be visiting again.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Special01 42 reviews from this member

First time at this site. Had visited for a look around.

Very clean and new toilet block. Grass cut short. Only a few hard standings.

Good strict rules. Good kids facilities. Swimming pool. Heated outdoor. 50% discount for site user's. 500yds out of woodhall spar. Nice little village.

Very friendly staff. RAF Coningsby close by. Good viewing.

Very good rates. £14 per night weekday.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Waterman 23 reviews from this member

This site consists of some pitches around a lake under trees and three large fields, one with hard standings, one all grass but with electrics and one all grass no electrics. Although the road runs alongside these there is very little traffic, if any, at night. Warden said wifi can be iffy under the trees.

On arrival the warden was very friendly and helpful, taking the time to point out everything you needed to know, despite the rain.

There is one facilities block which was always kept very clean, only three showers in the ladies, but I never had to queue.

Small fenced play area, with climbing equipment and slide. Be aware there is a largish lake which is unfenced.

The site was fairly quiet during the week, but starts getting busy from Friday afternoons for the weekend. Being a CCC the wardens site you, but why when there was one caravan and one tent at opposite ends of a field do they site a motorhome on the pitch next door and a large tent right next to the small 2 man one. The small tent were not amused and moved to the opposite side.

The site is a fair way outside the town itself and although within walking distance for some I didn't see a footpath, and vehicles do go fast along the country roads.

The dog walk is very small, although handy for the first thing in the morning and last thing at night, unfortunately the woods/heathland surrounding the site is an SSSI and out of bounds to dogs. Dogs can be walked along the verge on the road out side, but be aware it is a single track road with some fast traffic. The closest good walk I found is 'Ostler's Plantation' if you go towards Woodhall Spa it is on the left, just before a rather nice Caravan Club CL on the right, it is not signposted from the road, but if you go down the track it opens into a good car parking area. It consists of part of the old airfield and there are some ruined RAF buildings and hard standings. Lots of trees and good paths.

The town itself is excellent with lots of individual shops, must see in the area, Kinema in the woods, even if you don't fancy the films, go for the setting, decor and the organist rising from the floor. Just along the road is the old tea rooms, left over from the days of the fashionable Spa. Don't forget East Kirkby to see Just Jane, RAF Coningsby for the Battle of Britain Flight, if you go there it's worth having a drive around the perimeter of the airfield, there are several places to pull in and watch today's military aircraft. There are lots of other military sites in the area. Lincoln castle and cathedral, go early (9ish) and there's plenty of parking just by the castle walls.

The highlight of my visit was morning coffee in the Petwood Hotel, once the Officers Mess of the Dambusters. We asked to see the squadron bar and were asked if we would like our coffee served in there. Staff were very friendly, would love to go back for their popular afternoon tea on the terrace, the restaurant looked wonderful.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 6mantent 11 reviews from this member

Booked online using the really good Club website.

Greeted on arrival in reception by a cheery man - shown to our pitch on a bike. He joked with our daughter with tales of the 'Woodhall Wombat' which was cool.

Pitched in a large field pretty much by ourselves. Had to link electric hookup into opposite field though so no problem.

Grass is closely mown which is great. Too many places leave long grass but always helpful to have nicely trimmed as it always less maintainance when cleaning dowm.

Nice pond area with walks around the site.

Clean facilities. 2 gripes. Broken mens loo seats in gents and wife complained it should have been heated.

Showers - great. Hot powerful and controllable. None of the push button malarky !

Would recommend Woodhall spa - within walking distance or few mins drive for forgotten essentials such as bread and beer. On a serious note looks like there are some good eats here - I would check tripadvisor.

Coast 40 mins drive. Try gibraltar point for peace and quiet rather than cheesy skegness or mablethorpe.

Also would recommend Tattershall Castle - 10 mins drive away. Free to National Trust members, but TBH I would join and get money back to enjoy free camping days out elsewhere. Kids particularly enjoyed audio guide.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kmorto4 26 reviews from this member

First time at this site. what a lovely site. friendly people that was looking after the site while we were there. Nothing too much trouble even helped us park the caravan in the pouring rain.

The only down side was the waste pointm having back problems found it strange to have to lift the toilet waste up to empty, the waste point was inside, not good idea the smell can be very off putting.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TEFKAS 23 reviews from this member

Annual Dad and Lad trip goes to Lincolnshire for a tour of the nearby aviation heritage and a bit of seaside.

We received a very warm welcome and a choice of available pitches. We pitched just to the right of the entrance agains the boundary. The road is not very busy so we were not disturbed by traffic. Pitch was a bit flinty but otherwise tidy and no holes.

Less than 100 yds to the facilities. I never had to queue for anything. Site is well maintained as you'd expect. C&CC managers helpful and not at all officious.

Light relief provided by the herd of ducks that roam the site begging for food. They behaved like minions and I imagined them yellow wearing dungarees! Entertaining and never a problem.

Nearby: Battle of Britain Memorial Flight visitor centre, Tattershall Castle, Jubilee swimming pool, Kinema in the Woods, East Kirby Aviation Heritage centre, Skegness etc.

Lots to see and do. Had to go home for a rest.

Previous     79 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3727 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019