Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cawood Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Cawood Holiday Park Reviews

Cawood Holiday Park
Ryther Road
Cawood
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO8 3TT
Tel: 01757 268 450
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 19
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 83 Reviews
                7/10 from 83 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  83 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Sallyscholes 3 reviews from this member

Nice clean site

The pitches are a good size with astra turf good for the awning.

Booked the pool and had it to ourselves.

Would like to return when weather is warmer.

On site pub good for evening entertainment and lovely meals.

Local pubs good enjoyed the castle Inn.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tony Headlam 29 reviews from this member

This is a very nice campsite, about 20 or so touring pitches all level fully serviced with astro turf where your awning sits, we didn't use our groundsheet.

There is a large lake for those who like to fish, a small swimming pool that you have to book to use but that wasn't a problem. There is also a small play area for small children.

There is a bar on site that provided entertainment on the weekend we were there and on reading the posters most weekends with good well recommended performers.

All the staff where friendly and helpful and the food in Mrs B, s was very tasty and enjoyable

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rodgervsmith 4 reviews from this member

Im staying at Cawood at present (28 may to 2 June 2016) and I wont be returning, there are around 10 spaces to fish from and half of them are covered by rushes so unusable.

There is 10amp electric and if you trip the unit its £35 during office hours and £50 out of hours to have it reset! I had to go and buy a low wattage kettle just to be sure. My caravan has electric cooker/microwave, water heater/space heater, that equates to 2300kw so a 2000 space heater and the 850 water heater and/or 850 low wattage kettle is a trip on the rcd.

In the mens showers, some dirty toerag or child left excrement on the floor of the shower and also did not flush the toilet. I know that its not the owners fault on the last point but, regular toilet inspections are a must.

Date of Visit: December 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Davie T-boy 17 reviews from this member

Wonderful site, with large superpitches - all level with Astroturf outside of your unit. Site even has a small swimming pool, a clubhouse (with entertainment on most nights) and a cafe with a superb range of food at reasonable prices.

Lovely quiet location, on site fishing for the anglers. Plenty of space in toilets and showers, and only bad point is actual showers - not much water pressure from overhead 'rainforest' outlet, and you will spend most of the shower time pressing the button! Seemed to last 5 to 7 seconds! They are aware of this and will be correcting it they told me.

Site very well recommended - will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lee2104 1 review from this member

Beautiful Campsite with excellent facilities and very child friendly. Great idea for the astro-turf for the awning

The downside to this site is the proximity of the touring pitches to the road. Whilst it is not a busy road it is used extensively by farm vehicles and on sunny days there are hundreds of bikers doing full power trials on their bikes on the way to and from the café at Sherburn until around 10pm. Add to that the fact that RAF Church Fenton is just down the road and the on-going building work on what was the touring pitches 1-9 with diggers and demolition work then it all adds up to a less than peaceful environment which I a shame as the site is lovely

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jojobo01 13 reviews from this member

This our second break at Cawood this year first time for 4 night and this weekend for two nights. We returned this weekend for an American themed weekend due to 4 th of July.

The pitches are super pitches and fully serviced the astro turf is nice but some need attention with weeds growing through. The toilet block is clean and showers OK there free and push button type. Only disadvantage is the key system for toilets only one key per pitch and it can be a nightmare with a few of us, as someone has to run back to van with key if someone else needs the bathroom.

The site is busy and this weekend was full mainly of large groups making it noisy up till 1 am this was reported and delt with quickly. Shame the couple next-door to our pitch had a dog that constantly barked non stop this did ruin part of our weekend.

The club house had great entertainment on with tribute acts. One major area needs addressing is all the smokers stand directly outside the club house door and all smoke blows in and is a bit of a nightmare walking in and out.

The children's play park is suitable for age 5 or younger and there is no where for children to play football or rounders.

Our children enjoyed the pool which can be booked in an hour slot. The site shop is OK and stocks the basics.

The diner on site we didn't really use as its expensive apart from we bought some chips to go with our BBQ at 2 pounds a portion they weren't that nice and swimming in fat.

All in all this is a site of two halves one for sited homes and one half touring. We shall return at some point in time.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JacksterQ 1 review from this member

We stayed here for the February half term, 2 adults, 2 children aged 8 and 12 and a small dog. The site is a nice size with a lake which has static's all around, with the touring site behind. The pitches are a good size and are well spaced out with astro turf for awnings, which is nicer under foot than shingle.

The site is very quiet, especially at night even though its by the main road into Cawood.

The shower block was adequate, with 3 shower cubicles and 3 toilets for both men and women, but seemed able to cope with a nearly full site. A notice to tell you what time the block would be closed for cleaning would be appreciated as this was missing.

The children thought that the play area was small and only suitable for 5 year olds and under and they didn't use it very much. There was also no field/area for them to kick a ball around.

Another minus was the fact that there was no dedicated dog walk but there were dog waste bins on site.

The bar was welcoming and has entertainment at weekends and Mrs B's seemed very popular, but we didn't eat there but had a coffee. The swimming pool is small but useable but you are not allowed to use shower gel etc. , in the shower area which means you have to get dry/dressed and then shower in the block or caravan.

The site is approx 20 minutes from York and 30 minutes from Harrogate. We didn't visit the pubs in Cawood but did have a lovely Sunday roast and an evening meal in the Crooked Billet near Saxton which we would highly recommend. The pub is very child and dog friendly. They provide a children's menu and also do smaller portions of some of the main meals.

All in all a nice site for families with younger children or couples.

Date of Visit: January 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mikedunne 4 reviews from this member

Just spent the weekend here last minute after New year and can honestly say I have no complaints what so ever. Site was immaculate, staff were helpful and polite and the people here were ever so friendly. Facilities were spot on shower block warm and clean, kids playground near, swimming pool free and open all year round and the astro turf awning area best I've seen no mud and quick to dry. Site is only 20 minutes from York and is a must see. Will definitely be returning to this site in the future on request of my 3 children who can't wait to go back. All in all one of the best sites I've been too.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Yespoc 1 review from this member

We had stayed on this campsite years ago when we had a tent, obviously the site has changed a lot, I'm not a fisherman but the fish pond looked well organised, we stayed on the caravan touring area our group had two caravans and 5 children so the £30 per night per caravan we thought was ok. As it had a swimming pool and children's play park area. We normally stay on caravan, and camping and caravanning club sites so this is the standards I expected when I stayed on this site considering we paid £60 a night for our group. The club house was nice and the prices were ok not a rip off and the staff friendly and helpful.

The one thing that in our opinion let the site down was the state of the toilets and showers, the mop bucket that was left for you to clean the shower floor after use was disgusting the water was like mud and the bucket itself was absolutely filthy never been cleaned. I came across two young lads 20ish years of age they had just cleaned the toilets and were carrying the bucket still full of brown filthy water and appeared to me as if they were going to clean the bathrooms ( that you could hire) with the same water. This observation applied to both the men's a ladies toilets.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Louisa2206 1 review from this member

Just returned from a great weekend at Cawood Park, the Super pitches with astro turf are great! Very friendly, quiet site with a small play area close to the touring pitches, more suitable for toddlers than older children.

Good toilet/shower facilities, option to hire a private bathroom!

Mainly privately owned statics around a fishing lake, with 2 touring fields beyond (mainly caravans), however only a short walk to reception/shop/clubhouse etc

Pleasant walk into the village (10/15 mins), 3 pubs and a shop/post office.

The clubhouse staff were friendly and the restaurant was lovely, although we did have to wait a while for a table even though it didn't appear to be too busy. Food & drink very reasonable!

Small indoor heated pool, very warm but no shower facilities there so a bit of a pain to get dry/dressed to walk back to the touring shower block.

£30 per pitch seemed expensive but was worth it for the astro turf and no extra charge for the pool.

Earlier reviews mentioned a pizza van visiting on Saturday evenings but this has now stopped.

Will definitely return.

Previous     83 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5633 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019