Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cawood Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > York > Cawood Holiday Park > Reviews

Cawood Holiday Park
Ryther Road
Cawood
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO8 3TT
Tel: 01757 268 450
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 28
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 87 Reviews
                7/10 from 87 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  87 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Claire 1 review from this member

 Really enjoyed our stay here in our campervan with family, staff were very welcoming & friendly.

Camping area is very flat & we were able to camp next to our family.

It is a small quiet campsite, not lots of area for children to play but luckily for us it wasn't too busy & as we had 2 plots next to each other it gave us enough space for our children to play.

The toilet block could be updated & one toilet in the ladies was out of order so hopefully this is fixed soon.

We ate in the pub one night, food was lovely, menu choice was good & it had a very relaxed atmosphere & family friendly.

Recommend booking as we ended up with a table quite late at night as had a large group.

We used the local bus to get into York & had a great day out. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kdwilk 1 review from this member

 Hi we visited for 4 nights with caravan, disappointed on this occasion, it was 2 years ago when last visited but on this stay the standards have gone down,

The road to the campsite is in great need of repair as there are quite a few large potholes,

Everything looking tired and dated in need of maintenance, the electric was a nightmare as it tripped out quite a lot and at £35 pound a night it isn’t cheap,

We hope if we visit again standards have changed. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Christine Fritz 1 review from this member

 I had Sunday lunch twice here on the same day. It was so so good!

I visited in the afternoon with my brother, we had met up during my cycle ride from Loughborough to Scotland.

The young girls waiting the tables were so friendly and professional.

The Restaurant has such a lovely atmosphere.

I went back again in the evening and the brilliant chef cooked me another Sunday lunch.

I would definitely recommend a visit to Cawood just for the meal ! 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Peterm 1 review from this member

 Lovely friendly quiet site, good restaurant food,

Overall very good.

Would recommend to others.

A long way from any kind of shops.

Good for anyone who likes fishing 🎣 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Sallyscholes 3 reviews from this member

 Nice clean site

The pitches are a good size with astra turf good for the awning.

Booked the pool and had it to ourselves.

Would like to return when weather is warmer.

On site pub good for evening entertainment and lovely meals.

Local pubs good enjoyed the castle Inn. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tony Headlam 29 reviews from this member

 This is a very nice campsite, about 20 or so touring pitches all level fully serviced with astro turf where your awning sits, we didn't use our groundsheet.

There is a large lake for those who like to fish, a small swimming pool that you have to book to use but that wasn't a problem. There is also a small play area for small children.

There is a bar on site that provided entertainment on the weekend we were there and on reading the posters most weekends with good well recommended performers.

All the staff where friendly and helpful and the food in Mrs B, s was very tasty and enjoyable 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rodgervsmith 5 reviews from this member

 Im staying at Cawood at present (28 may to 2 June 2016) and I wont be returning, there are around 10 spaces to fish from and half of them are covered by rushes so unusable.

There is 10amp electric and if you trip the unit its £35 during office hours and £50 out of hours to have it reset! I had to go and buy a low wattage kettle just to be sure. My caravan has electric cooker/microwave, water heater/space heater, that equates to 2300kw so a 2000 space heater and the 850 water heater and/or 850 low wattage kettle is a trip on the rcd.

In the mens showers, some dirty toerag or child left excrement on the floor of the shower and also did not flush the toilet. I know that its not the owners fault on the last point but, regular toilet inspections are a must.  


Date of Visit: December 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Davie T-boy 17 reviews from this member

 Wonderful site, with large superpitches - all level with Astroturf outside of your unit. Site even has a small swimming pool, a clubhouse (with entertainment on most nights) and a cafe with a superb range of food at reasonable prices.

Lovely quiet location, on site fishing for the anglers. Plenty of space in toilets and showers, and only bad point is actual showers - not much water pressure from overhead 'rainforest' outlet, and you will spend most of the shower time pressing the button! Seemed to last 5 to 7 seconds! They are aware of this and will be correcting it they told me.

Site very well recommended - will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lee2104 1 review from this member

 Beautiful Campsite with excellent facilities and very child friendly. Great idea for the astro-turf for the awning

The downside to this site is the proximity of the touring pitches to the road. Whilst it is not a busy road it is used extensively by farm vehicles and on sunny days there are hundreds of bikers doing full power trials on their bikes on the way to and from the café at Sherburn until around 10pm. Add to that the fact that RAF Church Fenton is just down the road and the on-going building work on what was the touring pitches 1-9 with diggers and demolition work then it all adds up to a less than peaceful environment which I a shame as the site is lovely 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jojobo01 13 reviews from this member

 This our second break at Cawood this year first time for 4 night and this weekend for two nights. We returned this weekend for an American themed weekend due to 4 th of July.

The pitches are super pitches and fully serviced the astro turf is nice but some need attention with weeds growing through. The toilet block is clean and showers OK there free and push button type. Only disadvantage is the key system for toilets only one key per pitch and it can be a nightmare with a few of us, as someone has to run back to van with key if someone else needs the bathroom.

The site is busy and this weekend was full mainly of large groups making it noisy up till 1 am this was reported and delt with quickly. Shame the couple next-door to our pitch had a dog that constantly barked non stop this did ruin part of our weekend.

The club house had great entertainment on with tribute acts. One major area needs addressing is all the smokers stand directly outside the club house door and all smoke blows in and is a bit of a nightmare walking in and out.

The children's play park is suitable for age 5 or younger and there is no where for children to play football or rounders.

Our children enjoyed the pool which can be booked in an hour slot. The site shop is OK and stocks the basics.

The diner on site we didn't really use as its expensive apart from we bought some chips to go with our BBQ at 2 pounds a portion they weren't that nice and swimming in fat.

All in all this is a site of two halves one for sited homes and one half touring. We shall return at some point in time. 


Previous     87 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cawood Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Cawood Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cawood Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cawood Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2387 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement