Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of West Harris Trust Talla Na Mara

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Harris > West Harris Trust Talla Na Mara > Reviews

West Harris Trust Talla Na Mara
Pairc Niseaboist
Isle Of Harris
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS3 3AE
Tel: 01859 503901
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 3 campervans
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 21 Reviews
                7/10 from 21 Reviews

Photos (11)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2024 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Norfol 41 reviews from this member

 This site is just off the road but still quiet and sheltered. We were at the bottom section, nice spacious pitches with lovely views. A stunning area anyway.

The old school site also looks nice but you couldn’t stay with dogs at the time of year we were there due to lambing. We weren’t disappointed though.

The facilities are new and spotless. My only niggle (which we found on several sites on this trip) was the ‘fashion’ for all in one shower rooms.

So both rooms had a toilet, shower and sink and they really do need at least one separate toilet. If you get someone showering or someone shaving you cannot get to a toilet.

Still a fabulous site that is truly recommended. Well done West Harris Trust. 


Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Lizfot 1 review from this member

 Booked hardstanding pitch 6 weeks ago but was given grass pitch on a site in a hollow. Disappointed at that.

No tv signal at seilebost so don't book if you want tv or a view.

Went up to other part of same said site to sit in carpark for view and tv and spoke with other visitors who only booked 10 days previously and given hardstanding pitch??!

However, that aside toilet facilities were clean and new.

We left after 4 nights. Parked up at different pitches put aside for motorhome parking with beautiful views. The islands are very beautiful indeed. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lee 60 24 reviews from this member

 This is a great base to stay to explore Harris. It is in arguably to most scenic part of Lewis & Harris, with fine views of the coast across to Taransay from every pitch.

We stayed for two nights on the lower Parc Niseaboist (seven pitches), then two nights at the upper Talla Na Mara (three pitches), next to the community centre.

All pitches are fairly level hard standing with EHU, but are only a few metres from the main road. Getting consecutive nights is difficult as this is a popular choice. We preferred Parc Niseaboist as it is slightly sheltered, but both are good with clean modern facilities, including a small laundry.

There are also two chemical disposal points and a drive over grey waste. There is a wind turbine on the hill behind the site that can be noisy when the wind blows, but it didn't disturb us at night.

All booking is done via their website, and payment in full is required at the time of booking, which for us was three months before our stay.

An email is sent just before your stay with codes for the gate, facilities and chemical waste, so there is no check-in or reception. We found it a bit expensive, but £32 per night seems to be the going rate up there.

There is some good walking with fabulous views directly from the site along the coast, including some beautiful beaches and views across the bay to Luskentire.

We were disappointed by the restaurant/cafe. We popped in during the afternoon when we first arrived for a coffee and to check out the menu, but after being directed to a table we were ignored for some considerable time whilst the staff were chatting, so we left. We didn't see any menus or specials boards on display, the place felt more like a vanity project rather than a serious business.

All in all (discounting the restaurant), we really enjoyed our stay here and might return if we visit Harris again. 


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: LizTam 6 reviews from this member

 Given cost, bit disappointed by site - still being developed, and had to go down the hill to facilities.

Had night before at the lower site - preferred that, but by busy road until evening.

Fantastic area.

Outstanding shower/loo and ok kitchen - all fresh and new.

It was great to be able to eat in the restaurant - had an excellent meal. 


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Moffat 1 review from this member

 Talla Na Mara was a perfect stop for our first night in Harris. It was easy to find and had good facilities ( they were clean and well kept).

The cost was adequate and the staff were very friendly. The views from our pitch were like a painting - amazing.

Good small site - 3 sites and facilities, CWP and fresh water near the sites too. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Scankguy 22 reviews from this member

 Lovely set up. Secure gate provides easy access from the road to large level hardstanding pitches. No awnings allowed but too windy anyway.

New portacabin provides a kitchen sink, washing and drying machines and two toilets/shower cubicles, one of which is set up for disabled access. Everything is very new and kept very clean.

We had pitch no 1 at the front, pitch 2 possibly had better views and closer to facilities. The other pitches were at the back of the site. All have good views across the road to the sea.

Dog friendly camping but note the restaurant and gallery building does not allow dogs inside. There is a wind turbine above the site but despite very strong winds whilst we were staying did not bother us at all.

There is a community shop nearby at Leverburgh which has a reasonable range of food and other items and road fuel/calor gas but is pricy. Otherwise main shops are in Stornaway so come well provisioned.

Out of all the islands Harris seems to have very poor grocery shopping. We arrived on an earlier ferry and called from Leverburgh and staff stepped out to check and confirmed the pitch was free, also I needed to replace the hitch damper on the caravan and I was able to have the part delivered to the site, so I found all the staff to be very helpful.

Expensive nightly fees but this is Harris. I felt the price was worth it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Goldwingrider 2 reviews from this member

 I had the misfortune to stay at the Talla na mara site, it is vastly overpriced for the the facilities it provides, directly above the site is a large wind turbine that has mechanical problems and is extremely noisy.

If you want a shower during the day you have to go to the office and get someone to unlock it.

Free wifi is advertised but is available within the centre and as they shut at 16:30 there is no way to properly access the wifi.

It is a shame that given the fantastic location the fees are such a rip off.

The attached restaurant is also a rip off as they do not show prices on their menus or the specials board, I ordered fish and chips and got chargd £17. 50, their were no condiments on the table and I had to ask for a knife and fork plus salt and vinegar, I was given a metal "cup" with 2 tiny packets of salt and 1 sachet of vinegar. 


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: MachairMan 10 reviews from this member

 Was going to stay here for longer but the wind turbine was so loud it was like staying next to a Motorway there were other couples leaving for the same reason as we did. Even the lower site had the same problem !

Such a shame as it had a nice complex attached.

Do have to say the sites on Harris are like chalk and cheese !

But thankfully another Campsite come to our rescue ! 


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Hrobs2 1 review from this member

 A great site. Level pitches, with lots of space between each van.

Electric hookups, great clean facilities.

Clear & accurate check in instructions.

Superb views.

Perhaps a bit on the pricey side but we loved staying here. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Seasidenana 9 reviews from this member

 Our pitch was on the lower level where the toilet and shower facilities were closed. This caused a problem as I have walking difficulties and the path to the upper level is steep. We did not go up to these or the cafe for that reason.

The pitches are all hard standing, with no grass at all. The views are fabulous from the site.

We didn’t see anyone, we were sent access codes by email. You are supposed to send a text when you arrive and depart, but there’s no phone signal.

Sadly, we would not stay here again unless the facilities block were opened, or if we could pitch on the upper level. 
via mobile


Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is West Harris Trust Talla Na Mara child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to West Harris Trust Talla Na Mara?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is West Harris Trust Talla Na Mara dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Harris      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3351 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement