Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of West Harris Trust Talla Na Mara

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Harris > West Harris Trust Talla Na Mara Reviews

West Harris Trust Talla Na Mara
Pairc Niseaboist
Isle Of Harris
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS3 3AE
Tel: 01859 503901
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 3 campervans
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 11 Reviews
                7/10 from 11 Reviews

Photos (11)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Bonchl 1 review from this member

 We didn't have a booking but received an email to say the site had received a cancellation. Great communication and a lovely site.

The view was amazing! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Family France 2021 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here 1 night when on the island. Our view over towards the beach was lovely.

The facilities are good and clean and the site is spacious for motorhome as to be safely spread out.

We never saw anyone relating to the site and per other reviews there were no reply texts when we checked in (probably because itís ran by the trust).

We had lunch in the cafe and it was lovely, would highly recommend.

We liked this site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kilmont 1 review from this member

 The road level site is new and not quite complete - will be greatly improved when the container-style utility block at site level is completed. It looks like this will provide toilets and washing up and possibly wash basins at the same level as the 7 road level pitches.

Presently no washing up is available and you need to trek up a steep ramp to the community centre to access the toilets and (single shower). Can't wash in the wash basins there as no plugs in sinks - a big drawback when only one shower available.

A couple of other small improvements would be helpful. A catch is needed for the lid of the chemical disposal so it doesn't get blown shut whilst you are using it. Also the hand sanitiser provided is very sticky and makes it difficult to use the combination lock on the access gate - better to use your own!

The grey water facility is first class.

Otherwise a well laid out site and, although expensive, good to support the local community trust.

[Great lattes in the community centre cafť!} 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Rpixph 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site with outstanding view.

The site is very clean and facilities are great, the staff are really friendly and willing to provide any help and advice you may need.

The West Harris Trust are doing a wonderful job and totally deserve the support. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Annabe 1 review from this member

 Beautiful location with lovely views. Unfortunately due to the Covid restrictions we were unable to use any facilities as they were closed.

The restaurant was open but as it closed at 5pm we didn't use it as we were out all day and didn't return in time.

We checked in and out by text as requested but did not receive any acknowledgement from anyone.

The restrictions are obviously in place for good reason but it was all a bit impersonal!

There was a fault with the electricity which was repaired very promptly. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Romastone 16 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed our stay, despite the weather which was mainly wet and very windy. As others have said, itís next to a community building which is fairly new and well blended into the local landscape.

There are a couple of local business shops and a nice restaurant which we are in once, highly recommended.

The toilets are clean, note that at night, the main toilets are closed leaving access to one toilet. For those with limited facilities onboard, there is no dishwashing facilities or dedicated grey waste water disposal although there is a chemical disposal point.

I spoke to the community trust staff and mentioned to them about the lack of dishwashing facilities. They were genuinely interested in feedback and let me know that they are planning further spaces near the site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lorfal 23 reviews from this member

 Recently had 2 nights here. The good first. Amazing location. Great views. Pitch 1 gets views of sea, isles and beach through the car park. As long as itís empty.

Itís part of a centre with art studios and adjoining restaurant. Menu looked good but we didnít eat there.

As previously mentioned, 3 pitches are close together with no room for awnings in between. This is made clear at time of booking.

Pitches are level, never needed to use blocks.

Generally, toilets were clean but are used by everyone using the centre. They lock then at night and reduce those staying to using the disabled loo only. Not quite sure why as the other toilets are behind the same locked enterance. It would be easy to leave all loos open as punch code is needed to access out of hours.

Showers are not locked during the day so anyone can walk in and use the only shower.

Itís not as landscaped as advertised. Maybe this wild look is what they are after? Didnít bother us too much but you need to be careful if walking about on the surrounds of these Ďlandscaped Ď areas. Itís ankle breaking stuff ! Be careful.

Make no mistake what this place is. Yes itís a great locale, but itís nothing more then 3 big spaces at the end of a very busy car park. If you ar after peace and quiet go elsewhere.

If you arrive on a Saturday and the shower is not cleaned. It will stay dirty until Monday.

Staff were off sick during our stay and other staff around the centre are really very helpful in helping out as itís Ďnothing really to do with themí.

It is essential to book, donít just turn up looking for a space are you are not likely to get one. Itís easy to book online and check availability.

Be careful you donít use the waster water cleaning hose to fill your tank. My mistake I know, but itís a long hose, not what you might be used to at a CDP. There is a note attached to the fire thingy next to the hose saying itís for waste water cleaning. You might need a magnifying glass to find it.

I however would consider using again, but I feel itís a bit pricey for whatís there. Youíd be better off at one of the West Harris camping spots dotted about in amazing locations, for a fiver 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tinwheeler 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Talla Na Mara for two nights and I have to admit to being slightly disappointed.

The location is good as are the facilities, although out of working hours only one toilet and the single shower are available which is not what I expected for £23 p/n.

The 3 pitches are quite close together and set into the hillside. Ours was level but the stones were lumpy. The chemical emptying point (which can also be used by those staying at Seilebost School Site) is very close to one of the pitches.

We were looking forward to using the restaurant on the Saturday evening but, even though it was advertised as being open, it was closed. Not good!

We witnessed a fabulous sunset from this site.

Unsurprisingly, there was no mobile signal here.

Another time we would choose to stay at Seilebost School which is on lower ground looking across to Luskentyre. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: SJSScotland 10 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 4 nights over the bank holiday weekend and have to disagree with the above review, this place is superb! Hardstandings are smooth and slightly sloping, we used ramps to get level as we were there for a while but for one night we wouldn't have bothered. Wonderful sea views, pitch 1 had a view onto the beach across the car park as well. Chemical toilet point is at the front and to one side of pitch 3, not very close. Facilities are fine for 3 pitches, when the restaurant (which is highly recommended!) is open so are their toilets so it is only 1 toilet available over night and on Sundays. All very clean, shower was lovely as well, lots of room. 2 mins walk to the beach. Very quiet location, bit of coming and going in the car park whilst the restaurant was open, after they close at 9pm it was very quiet indeed. Hook ups are a bonus! Touch more expensive that the other sites on the island, but I think it was worth it. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Scouse82 3 reviews from this member

 First of all the 'landscaped grounds' - if by landscaped you mean 'construction site-chic' then, yeah. Definitely. Mud mounds full of construction detritus, no grass, exposed pipes, no security, elsan point right at the back of your van so others empty their poop as you're eating, one toilet between 7 campers - the secure keypad to which is broken so you have to pray a)someone doesn't knock the doorstop and the door slams shut or b)the wind doesn't close it - so we did have toilet queues.

Also, the hairdryer in shower doesn't work, other campers and cars driving into the site through the night to use the toilet and to try to get a sneaky space for the night (one van nearly plowed into the back of ours close to midnight on the first night).

There's nowhere for awnings, the pitches are all very uneven and sloping so even using chocks was a impossible (even though the car park is as level as anything right next to you). Absolutely nowhere to walk pets or for kids to play - really not child friendly. Go to Horgobost instead across the road.

We booked and paid in advance for 2 nights. We left before 10am the morning following our first night as we didn't feel safe, our daughter was bored stiff and we spent most of the night concerned about the access door to the toilets would slam shut in the high winds (we had no on-board toilet facilities and a 6yr old child).

If you're arriving late and just need somewhere with hook up for one night then it's a good place. Definitely wouldn't stay any longer than that. And I don't think it's worth £24 a night. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is West Harris Trust Talla Na Mara child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to West Harris Trust Talla Na Mara?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is West Harris Trust Talla Na Mara dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Harris      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4869 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement