Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Chapel Lane Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Birmingham > Chapel Lane Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Chapel Lane Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Wythall
Birmingham
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
B47 6JX
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 116
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 59 Reviews
                8/10 from 59 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Pca1958 11 reviews from this member

 This was a our first visit to Chapel Lane as we had wanted to go to the National Trust 'Back to Back' tour in Birmingham and also the National Motorcycle Museum in Solihull.

Just off the M42, this site I'm sure would suit people travelling either North or South as a stopover, as we stayed 2 nights and that was probably the max we would do here.

The site is flat, however there was a lot of open space tarmac areas, which didn't make it feel particularly special or homely.

To be fair, going in January meant there was very little greenery around to offset what could be mistaken as a car park, so we probably didn't see it at its best.

The warden was very welcoming and helpful on our arrival, however she informed us that in one of the two toilet blocks the heating wasn't working.

So, as you can imagine, most of the visitors pitched next to the one that was heated, as we indeed did. Facilities were OK and clean, if a little dated.

15m walk to Wythal Village Hall to catch bus into Birmingham that runs every hour. Nearest proper pub is approx. A 25m walk away.

I would stay again if I had something specific organised in Birmingham or the NEC, but for anything else, not really 


Date of Visit: December 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Doulajulie 12 reviews from this member

 Well situated near to major motorways. The site is very well maintained with spacious pitches and a friendly welcome and some of the most powerful showers I have experienced.

The bus into Birmingham runs several times a day at approximately 1 hour intervals and takes around 30-40 minutes. It cost £12 return for 2 adults and 2 children. Be aware that it is a 15 minutes muddy walk to the bus stop across a couple of busy roads. Bring a torch if you plan to be back after dark. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Doit 11 reviews from this member

 Great site. Two wash blocks. One very modern, and one very clean but old fashioned (not a deal breaker but could do with a refurb). Pitch we used was gravel, we put up a porch awning and had enough room and was level. 16a electric always a welcome feature as was good tv reception.

Nearby is Cadburys World, Birmingham city centre (back to backs a great visit for NT members but remember to pre book). Ironforge not too far away and very interesting place to visit.

On site there is a bit of road noise but not enough to spoil our stay.

The transport museum right next door to the site is well worth a visit if you like old busses and electric vehicles.

tayed here more than once and would happily stay here again 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scarletsfan 90 reviews from this member

 Access to this site is pretty straight forward. Check in was efficient if a little unfriendly (there really is no need to be given a dressing down about speed on site before you've even entered).

Large areas of the site are covered in unbroken tarmac, not really a nice look. The HS pitches are gravel, but lurking just below the surface is rock (I ruined a few rock pegs trying to penetrate).

We were told on arrival that one shower block was out of order, not really on when they are fully booked. Dog walk is just a scamper.

We got full digital TV reception with our Status and decent 4g on EE and O2.

No shop near by except the extortionate Becketts Farm shop.

Not one we'd return to out of choice. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pauleb 9 reviews from this member

 Very well kept site. Facilities clean and well maintained. A good dog walk (although small dogs might escape). Staff very friendly.

You choose your own pitch and give the number when you can. Amazing farmshop and restaurant next door. Advisable to book as it gets very busy for breakfasts. Site is very useful for visiting Brum (advise getting the train in) and the NEC. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Maverickdave 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for two weeks visiting friends and family. The site is well kept and the shower blocks spotless and warm. I would agree that some pitches do seem like a large car park but there are plenty of pitches located away from tarmac on hard standing and grass. It's just personal preference. We chose a serviced pitch and the electricity supplied was good and never tripped out once during our stay. I couldn't get a full digital tv reception using my caravan ariel but plugging into the socket next to the tap sorted that out (you will need a long ariel extension lead). We did not use the wifi as there was a good 4G mobile signal on the site. There is a bus stop directly outside the site but this does not go directly into Birmingham. The best bet for public transport is the number 150 bus that goes from Redditch to Birmingham Moor Street Station every hour. The stop is about 5-10 minute walk from the site near to Becketts Farm Shop. Beware the last bus back from the city is about 6. 30pm. The nearest Pub is about 20 minutes Walk and is a Stonehouse Pizza Chain. Didn't use this pub but there are many more within a short drive. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ct955 47 reviews from this member

 Spent 3 nights here with our new caravan. A friendly welcome and choice of pitch. The facilities blocks were spotless, one older but still nice. We didn't notice traffic noise even though site is near to main roads. Small dog walk on site and longer walks just off. Becketts farm shop worth a visit. Handy for city and country days out. A peaceful site with a countryside feel. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mitchells 27 reviews from this member

 This is a typical Caravan Club site which is quite nicely laid out, however, the non-awning pitches are just an expanse of tarmac, you may as well park up in a supermarket car park and the pitch price is exactly the same as if an awning pitch is booked!

As for prices they are ridiculous! We paid almost £30 per night (two adults). Admittedly it was a bank holiday but even so.

As far as location is concerned it is quite well placed for getting around the area as it is only a couple of miles from the M42 but aside from the Farm Shop and restaurant (which isn't open in the evenings) there is not much within walking distance of the site.

Will we return to this site - I doubt it. 


Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Piggle28 23 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 1 night on our way back down south, fab site a few minutes off the motorway with a surprising amount to do in the area, very friendly warden and toilet blocks were spotless and very warm. We are planning on returning later in the year to sample some of the sights. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Red Mick 28 reviews from this member

 What a very nice site, even when full, it didnít seem crowded and the facilities coped. Very nice staff, helpful leaflet on arrival showing the way to shops, supermarkets, pubs and buses. Two shower blocks to choose from, one, as mentioned is older, but still fine, this has adjustable shower heads as opposed to the fixed wall mounted type in the newer block, which I donít care for myself. The short walk to the Farm shop is a must on day one :-) Thereís a surprising amount of choice of food from ready meals, cooked meats, bread, cakes, all you want at good prices too. The pork pies are the BEST Iíve ever had and Iím an expert. Added bonus is you get a discount on everything in the shop on production of a Caravan Club membership card, also in the coffee shop and restaurant. The White Swan pub does very nice food including a carvery, itís not really in walking distance though. Thereís a transport museum next door, itís now £6 and is only open weekends and Bank Holidays. I would recommend the short drive to Hatton Locks, 21 flight with a cafe at the top locks, parking is limited, but itís only £1. 20 all day. From here, you can walk to Birmingham, itís about 3 miles on the towpath. Only one thing I had problems with, the hard standing is the hardest Iíve ever met. Blue Diamond Rock pegs only made it two inches in, stainless steel coach bolts screwed in about the same amount. ďTake a bigger hammer next timeĒ I told myself, at least a two pounder! Access is very good, just a short distance from M42 jnct 3. The site is very quiet with no traffic noise considering the proximity of major roads. 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Chapel Lane Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Chapel Lane Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Chapel Lane Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Birmingham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1456 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement