Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Grove Lock Caravan Park And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Bedfordshire > Leighton Buzzard > Grove Lock Caravan Park And Campsite Reviews

Grove Lock Caravan Park And Campsite
Grove Lock Marina
Leighton Buzzard
Bedfordshire   (Browse area)
LU7 0QU
Tel: 01525 377444
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 18 Reviews
                9/10 from 18 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Canalside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Elton3 18 reviews from this member

 Excellent facilities from the cleanest elsan point to the toilets.

Great looking site that is ideally placed next to a very nice pub.

There are excellent walking routes along the canal.

But do note there is no shop on site or anything nearby so make sure you bring all you need. 


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 Back again!

I enquired using the form on here and they were quick to respond with pitch availability and prices and I confirmed. There was no key code this time and you had to phone reception to get them to open the gate, however this is great unless you wish to go out for a meal, to the shops, etc, as once reception is closed it is tough, you cannot get in unless you ask another camper to drive to the gate to open it form the inside!

As before all pitches have electric and water on the posts. The pitches are flat and well maintained.

Noisy from the nearby train line and road, however this is perfect for me as I am not a fan of too quiet sites and it means sitting outside with a fire is more enjoyable as you can make a bit more chatting noise.

Toilets made up of 5 of them, all with shower, toilet and sink in them, very clean and loads of water pressure.

Chemical disposal by reception and is quite high, so could potentially get splash back, but I avoided that again.

Visited the pub for food and drink, great choice of drinks and the food was very good, not the cheapest, but very good grub. Loved sitting by the canal watching the boats go by.

Great for kids as there is a lot of space to run and play, handy for bike rides and walks along the canal.

Another great visit and I would visit again at 23. 50 per pitch per night inc the electric and the dog. However this time I booked online and paid in full, then when my friend turned up he charged him again, and also charged him for 3 pitches when we only had two. When requesting a refund he needed proof of how much he charged as he could not remember taking the payment the afternoon before, however it was swiftly sorted out and a full refund given. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 I enquired using the form on here and they were quick to respond with pitch availability and prices and I confirmed. They replied with the gate code, etc. And off we went

On arrival, there is a keycoded pad and simply in and on to the pitches. As before all pitches have electric and water on the posts. The pitches are flat and well maintained.

Noisy from the nearby train line and road, however this is perfect for me as I am not a fan of too quiet sites.

Toilets made up of 5 of them, all with shower, toilet and sink in them, very clean and loads of water pressure.

Chemical disposal by reception and is quite high, so could potentially get splash back, but I avoided that.

Visited the pub this time, great choice of drinks and the food looked delish, and loads of benches by the canal to sit and watch the boats go by.

Another great visit and I would visit again at 22. 50 per putch per night inc the electric and the dog. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Amanda 1 review from this member

 We loved our stay! We wanted to give our children a 'first camping experience' in our camper van. We loved the walk down to the canal to see the barges.

We used the barbecue to toast some marshmallows. The camp site was very spacious and pretty. My daughter enjoying running around the site.

The toilet facilities were clean and spotless. Great value for money and we will definitely come again. Thank you for making our children smile! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Finall 2 reviews from this member

 Very well cared for site, level pitches with EHU and water.

Toilet block is large and very clean.

Very secure site behind locked gates.

Staff are extremely friendly and very helpful. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sarnie 1 review from this member

 Lovely clean site located next to a canal and pub. Can be a little noisy near to the main road so depends where you pitch.

Friendly staff, but remember they lunch at 1pm so may not be there to open the gate if you arrive at that time.

Overall and nice place to stay 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: David3 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely clean site, water tap at each E H U. Point.

Rail line close by but never botherd us also busy road but again same thing,

Long treck to toilets & shower but both spotlessly clean, even further to the only elsan disposal,

Not a lot of walks unless you took your life in your hands & crossed the canal via the lock gates (we didn't), no dog poo bins on the site so used the dustbins to dispose,

Overall a lovely site for a long weekend. 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 I made my enquiry using the form on here and they responded quickly and advised me they had a pitch available and told me the price and instructions for arrival.

The site is easy to find and has good links with the M1 and other major routes. I arrived and was met with gates and an intercom system lets you in. I met the owner and he was friendly, explained where everything was and gave us a key for direct access from the campsite to the canal path and pub next door.

The site is immaculate, what a well kept site, each pitch was pretty level, some were hardstand, some were grass, all had electric and water points. We went in the corner and there was quite a lot of road noise, but this did not affect us too much. Choosing a pitch further from the road would be better.

Facilities were made up of 4 rooms, each with toilet, shower and sink and all were immaculate. Showers were temp controlled and were not the annoying push button types. Plenty of nice little seating areas and some bbq's dotted around which I guess are for the guests. There was an outside seating area with a fire pit, presumably communal for all to use.

The site is right on the canal and offers loads of walks in each direction. I did not take a stroll this time, but will do on next visit. I also did not visit the pub next door, but will try it out next time.

Close to major roads, so loads of choice for shops, etc. And places to visit include Leighton Buzzard, Bletchley Park, Whipsnade Zoo and so much more.

I spotted nothing for children expect loads and loads of open space for them to play on, so this is perfect for children who prefer not to be glued to a screen.

Each pitch had electric hook-up if you wanted it and we paid 22. 50 for the night for two adults, one dog in a campervan.

I will be back as I did not explore the walks enough on this visit 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Elton3 18 reviews from this member

 Nice big site in a great location.

It has a nice pub just at the entrance if you want a pint or 2.

Being next to a canal there are lots of nice walks as well.

Bring levellers as the main field is not that flat depending on what plot you get. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Billyboggins 8 reviews from this member

 Such a shame ! Great location, good facilities but spoilt by the grass cuttings left everywhere, my van is now going to need a complete clean.

I have stayed here several times in the past but my last visit will probably be my last 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Grove Lock Caravan Park And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Grove Lock Caravan Park And Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Grove Lock Caravan Park And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leighton Buzzard      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Bedfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4302 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement