Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Grove Lock Caravan Park And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Bedfordshire > Leighton Buzzard > Grove Lock Caravan Park And Campsite > Reviews

Grove Lock Caravan Park And Campsite
Grove Lock Marina
Leighton Buzzard
Bedfordshire   (Browse area)
LU7 0QU
Tel: 01525 377444
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 24 Reviews
                8/10 from 24 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Canalside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Radams1975 2 reviews from this member

 Really nice site.

Stayed here a couple of times now.

Good clean site with spacious pitches and decent facilities.

Some lovely canal walks and a pub nearby. Can't go wrong!

Will most definitely stay again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: KnitKnutter 5 reviews from this member

 Nicely kept and friendly staff, and a big field with pitches around the edges. Every other one has a tap, so I was glad I arrived before my neighbour so I could easily fill my van with water.

Booking confirmation doesnít give info on what to do when you arrive, and there are no signs to reception. The gate is locked and the buzzer wasnít connecting to reception when I got here, but someone leaving opened the gate for me. Could have been user error, frankly!

My biggest frustration is that, being a lone person with a large, elderly dog, I am stuck on site unless I move the motorhome. To get to the tow path you need to walk across the lock, which is OK for people or small, nimble dogs, but not us. The road outside is fast, with a blind bend, so walking along it to the nearest pathway isnít worth risking. The site/marina warden agreed that he wouldnít risk it.

The road and railway are noisy during the day but that doesnít bother me and didnít keep me awake.

You get given a key to reach the canal lock and the pub next door. Pub is dog friendly, and service is great, but do not order the garlic mushrooms. Disappointing and poor value for money. There are cats living on boats in the marina so please keep your dogs on leads.

Would recommend this site as a one night pit stop, or if you have a vehicle to get about in. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mizy 7 reviews from this member

 Easy to get to, roads leading to site good. Spacious pitches, quite sloped so you might need wedges/levelling pads.

Not all EHUs have water; ours certainly didn't. The CAMC ones do. Long walk to the loos/showers from the main, non CAMC section of the site.

Very noisy due to extremely busy road right by the field, high speed train line the other side of the road, and Luton flight path. If you're a townie probably fine, but we're not and struggled sleeping.

Recommend a walk along the canal, lovely Nobby's Farm Shop just up the road for lush, locally produced food. Market in LB much improved from when we were last here.

Shame it's so noisy, as we shall not return because of it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jjh61 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, very well kept. We had a thoroughly enjoyable visit. Close proximity to the canal for walks; we walked into Leighton Buzzard which is a super town.

The touring pitches are well maintained, the bathrooms are very clean and the showers are lovely and hot.

There is a little noise from the road and railway, but it's not inconsistent with being on the outskirts of the town and it certainly didn't disturb our sleep.

The pitches are spacious too.

The pub is close by, very pleasant but a little pricy for quite basic pub grub; the staff however are very friendly and helpful.

We'll definitely be back - we loved it. 😀 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rob Burton 26 reviews from this member

 Travelling back to M1 from Newhaven. This site was a real joy after an arduous trip around M25.

Running a little late when the owner called us with the barrier code and our allocated pitch. As we were only twenty minutes away he stayed to check us in.

The site was excellent with good facilities and generous pitches.

Would like to have stayed longer but this lovely site gave us a perfect end to our holiday. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 67 reviews from this member

 Very nice site adjoining a marina with a pub next to it.

Very large open pitch with water and EHU. We asked for and were given 3 pitches next to each other. Grass pitch but the ground was solid so no problems getting on/off.

There are some hard standings as well but these have to be requested. There was some road noise at the back of the site where we were. It didn't bother us but might bother some.

The facilities were in a block some distance away from our pitches but they were good with a shower, wc and basin in each cubicle. Plenty of hot water and good pressure. The elsan point is at the end of this block.

The pub is on the canal next to the warden's office and you are given a key to access it from the site via the canal path. We ate there both nights and the food and service were good.

Lovely walks along the tow path. As said the site has no shop etc so take all you need. 


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Elton3 26 reviews from this member

 Excellent facilities from the cleanest elsan point to the toilets.

Great looking site that is ideally placed next to a very nice pub.

There are excellent walking routes along the canal.

But do note there is no shop on site or anything nearby so make sure you bring all you need. 


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 312 reviews from this member

 Back again!

I enquired using the form on here and they were quick to respond with pitch availability and prices and I confirmed. There was no key code this time and you had to phone reception to get them to open the gate, however this is great unless you wish to go out for a meal, to the shops, etc, as once reception is closed it is tough, you cannot get in unless you ask another camper to drive to the gate to open it form the inside!

As before all pitches have electric and water on the posts. The pitches are flat and well maintained.

Noisy from the nearby train line and road, however this is perfect for me as I am not a fan of too quiet sites and it means sitting outside with a fire is more enjoyable as you can make a bit more chatting noise.

Toilets made up of 5 of them, all with shower, toilet and sink in them, very clean and loads of water pressure.

Chemical disposal by reception and is quite high, so could potentially get splash back, but I avoided that again.

Visited the pub for food and drink, great choice of drinks and the food was very good, not the cheapest, but very good grub. Loved sitting by the canal watching the boats go by.

Great for kids as there is a lot of space to run and play, handy for bike rides and walks along the canal.

Another great visit and I would visit again at £23. 50 per pitch per night inc the electric and the dog. However this time I booked online and paid in full, then when my friend turned up he charged him again, and also charged him for 3 pitches when we only had two. When requesting a refund he needed proof of how much he charged as he could not remember taking the payment the afternoon before, however it was swiftly sorted out and a full refund given. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 312 reviews from this member

 I enquired using the form on here and they were quick to respond with pitch availability and prices and I confirmed. They replied with the gate code, etc. And off we went

On arrival, there is a keycoded pad and simply in and on to the pitches. As before all pitches have electric and water on the posts. The pitches are flat and well maintained.

Noisy from the nearby train line and road, however this is perfect for me as I am not a fan of too quiet sites.

Toilets made up of 5 of them, all with shower, toilet and sink in them, very clean and loads of water pressure.

Chemical disposal by reception and is quite high, so could potentially get splash back, but I avoided that.

Visited the pub this time, great choice of drinks and the food looked delish, and loads of benches by the canal to sit and watch the boats go by.

Another great visit and I would visit again at £22. 50 per putch per night inc the electric and the dog. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Amanda 1 review from this member

 We loved our stay! We wanted to give our children a 'first camping experience' in our camper van. We loved the walk down to the canal to see the barges.

We used the barbecue to toast some marshmallows. The camp site was very spacious and pretty. My daughter enjoying running around the site.

The toilet facilities were clean and spotless. Great value for money and we will definitely come again. Thank you for making our children smile! 
via mobile


Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Grove Lock Caravan Park And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Grove Lock Caravan Park And Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Grove Lock Caravan Park And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leighton Buzzard      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Bedfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


43914 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Play our
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win an amazing 12V and 240V 21.5" Full HD Smart WiFi TV with Satellite Decoder worth £399 provided by outdoor superstore Towsure!

Play Here


Advertisement