Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lake Ross Caravan Park And Fishery

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Spalding > Lake Ross Caravan Park And Fishery Reviews

Lake Ross Caravan Park And Fishery
Dozens Bank
West Pinchbeck
Spalding
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
PE11 3NA
Tel: 01775 761690
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/02/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 15 Reviews
                8/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Roobeeroo 15 reviews from this member

 As this site has not had a review since 2017 I will update on our recent stay there. The site has now been taken over by new owners last year who are friendly and welcoming.

The fishing is great caught lots of fish Carp. Tench roach all sorts.

Pitches are lakeside which is great, it says dogs are welcome but there is nowhere to walk your dog as they are not allowed to be walked around the lake which I have never come across before and the main road outside the site is very busy and the cars fly along so not suitable to walk along or ride a bike into Spalding, as there is no buses close by you need to get a taxi.

But after saying that if you go to fish then its a great little site for fishing.

Nothing on site for children I would say its adults only which we prefer anyway as when your fishing you don't want children running and squealing all over the place. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kmorto4 27 reviews from this member

 Just got back from this fantastic site, the fishing was brilliant

Our caravan was right next the waters edge so not far to carry the gear

I would score this site 10 out of 10

Many thanks to bill and sue for making our holiday brilliant

This site is not child friendly nothing for them to do on site 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cybbib 5 reviews from this member

 Oh dear, I'm afraid that the site has new owners and they are not as helpful or as friendly as the previous owners.

My caravan is minute and I was squeezed onto a tiny pitch, which the owner said she could only give to a small caravan and because I erected a motorhome awning was charged 18. 50 per night, more than a 'van which took up far more space.

I had to park my car in a space in front of a static and the owner of the caravan next door had nowhere to put his car. It was very tight. The toilets were clean, but the wash basins were so small, just hand rinsing basins and a shower to add insult to injury was charged at 50p.

During the night, the lights were turned off in the toilets. I thought that was really penny pinching. It's a shame - it is a beautiful location and difficult to find in the area, but I shall keep looking as I need to go there once or twice a year. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Fruitloopy 1 review from this member

 Absolutely wonderful place! The owners really know how to look after you and allowed me to stay in a static caravan for almost two weeks.

The fishing is excellent, all the fish I caught were in a lovely condition and it is obvious its all well looked after.

Nice, peaceful and relaxing, exactly what I was after.

There's a nice pub down the road called the Fishermans Friend, also a post office a bit further on.

Thanks 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Yvonne 49 1 review from this member

 We stayed at lake ross for four days had a lovely time and very relaxed. The fishing was good which kept my partner happy and me the peace and quiet I was looking forward to.

The owners are very friendly and helpful to anyone who has any enquiries about the town and surrounding areas and keep the site very clean and tidy and the locals are all nice and welcoming.

We went for a meal in the town which has a good choice of places to eat and drink.

The taxi charged us 7. 20 to get back which is not too bad. Would go back again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paul.f 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed there for ten wonderful days, with a 7mtr tent right on the lake, Everybody was very nice and very welcoming.

We were invited to all events by staff and members, so peaceful and relaxing. Can't wait to go back.

We also took our dog, which considering it's a fishing lake it was not an issue, fantastic for fishing, not my thing but everyone I spoke to told me so. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adam94 1 review from this member

 We stayed at lake ross for 10 days and found that the owners nigel and shirley were very welcoming. Throughout the whole holiday they were always there if you need any help and would regularly visit you to make sure you were ok. The toilets and showers were always spotless and were kept to a high standard.

We also found that the clubhouse was a great place to go to in the evening and sit and have a few drinks or prehaps place some pool or darts, there was also a nearby town within 4 miles which was ideal for shopping and dining

The pitches at the site were also in a very good condition and of suitable size, although we never fished I would definitely do so next time

This was a great site that I definitely plan to go back to, I really enjoyed the holiday but it would not be suitable for small children is there is no facilities to keep them occupied. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JanetteBanner 3 reviews from this member

 A dream of a site if you are an angler as the pitches are within feet of the waters edge, and the lake is well stocked with a variety of fish. The pitches are quite small, and if you have a large awning there is not really room for your vehicle as well, but the car park is close by, so it does not pose a problem.

Privacy could be an issue for some folks, but the owners Nigel & Shirley, and those occupying the permanent pitches are just so friendly, that the lack of it didn't bother us at all.

The site is beautifully maintained and the toilets and the 20p shower are immaculate and more than adequate for the number of pitches.

There is a small pot washing area with a butler style sink, and a little club house which is cosy and welcoming. It is not suitable for children due to the proximity of the lake, and although quite close to Spalding, there is no bus service.

However there is a small general store/ post office within walking distance should you need provisions. For us, everything is perfect ! 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gill W 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our second visit of this year to Lake Ross,having planned next years return and feel the need to comment on the previous review.

Yes,the pitches are small but we managed to put the 'van,porch awning and car on the pitch side by side.On visiting earlier in the year with a couple in another van when we both wanted to put up a full awning,we simply explained that to Shirley on booking and were allocated three pitches between the two of us at no extra charge to give us the space to do just that,as long as they know in advance the size of your unit,then pitches can be allocated to suit all.

Showers are basic but the 20p lasts a good while and the water is hot,also heated in the colder weather,cleanliness is never an issue.

Club on site always welcoming and has occasional entertainment laid on,can normally find some-one for a game of pool as well.

A good few of the pitches are taken up with seasonal 'vanners who are a friendly bunch and willing to stop for a chat or to get you to join in with anything going on site.

Nearby Post Office cum village shop sells all essentials and has a handy range of freshly prepared sandwiches for a quick snack.

Oh and fishing on site not bad either,just ask the other half 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alison121 1 review from this member

 Visited this site over the bank holiday weekend, as we where attending a family party nearby. We had 3 pitches overlooking the lake - was very relaxing watching the fishermen whilst cooking breakfast! The pitches where small and if we didn't know our neighbours would have been very cosy!

The owners, and caravanners with seasonal pitches, where all very friendly. The facilities - although limited - where very clean. We only went in the bar/club house on the Sunday night after spending a couple of hours in the pub across the road (not recommended), the bar was compact but with a good atmosphere - there was a family fortunes style quiz 'just for fun!' which we all enjoyed.

Wouldn't really recommend for families with children due to lack of space to play and open water. 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lake Ross Caravan Park And Fishery child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lake Ross Caravan Park And Fishery?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Lake Ross Caravan Park And Fishery dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Spalding      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2909 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement