Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Louisa Alice Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Rutland > Site Reviews

Louisa Alice Camp Site
Ranksborough Drive
Langham
Rutland
Oakham
Rutland   (Browse area)
LE15 7JR
Tel: 07565188649
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 52 Reviews
                7/10 from 52 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindilou 14 reviews from this member

Wardens greeted us on arrival ok so far, shown to our two pitches one of which wasn’t suitable for a caravan and awning, luckily they were flexible and let us put van on forwards to accommodate but this meant awning was on hard standing not grass as requested. Grass was rather long the reason given as to not cutting it was “we are having problems with moles” not a mole hill in sight.

No recycling

Toilets were clean but showers left a lot to be desired. Very small area to undress in and shower cubicles very small. Water pressure is bad, ideally only one shower can be used at a time, (push button type)

Cars cannot be parked on the grass.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ConH 1 review from this member

Have spent four days on this lovely, peaceful and superbly maintained small site. Ideally situated for exploring the area and with one if the nicest approaches I've ever seen!

Having just read some of the previous reviews, I agree that the showers are small but the issues they present can be overcome. If, however, all the showers were being used the water pressure got low.

The toilet block was always very clean even during a busy weekend.

We found the wardens friendly and helpful.

We would certainly return to this site.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Colman71 5 reviews from this member

Lovely little site ideal for Rutland Water. Wardens were very friendly and nothing was too much hassle. Toilet block is a little dated but has everything you need, is well maintained and was always spotless. Pitches are mostly gravel with grass for awnings. Site was well maintained and there was no traffic noise so a great little hideaway. I only stayed one Saturday night enroute to Norfolk but will definitely be back for a longer stay

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kamac13 3 reviews from this member

Campsite is clean and tidy and the number of pitches proportionate to the size.

The price is a little expensive. The loos are clean but the showers are a little dilapidated. More than one shower cannot be used at any one time and they are poorly set up with door and curtain etc. Our electric hook up did not work. The site staff were pleasant.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Janetreid 15 reviews from this member

We chose this site as being close to both Oakham and Rutland Water for a short stay. It's in a nice quiet location and easy to find. The site is all hardstanding, grass and trees and used mainly by sited tourers. Langham village is lovely with 2 pubs but no shops. Oakham is walking distance or a mile and a bit.

The toilet block is clean- 4 toilets. 2 sinks and 3 showers in the ladies and 2 outside wash up sinks. The showers are tiny and the water not very hot. My husband said that if there was more than one man in the showers that they just went off! No privacy cubicles.

We probably would not stay here again.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Vashka 14 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a night in early April as wanted to visit nearby Oakham. It was our first time here and we weren't expecting much but were pleasantly surprised. Nice friendly campsite in lovely surroundings, everything neat and tidy and clean - the toilet blocks are a bit dated but perfectly fine. We visited in lovely sunny weather so may have had Rose Tinted glasses on! My only concern with visiting in wet weather or winter is that there is only one outdoor sink for pot washing which isn't ideal in bad weather. The water point to fill the motorhome also wasn't particularly accessible without blocking entry into the campsite. There's a pub within walking distance that we didn't get chance to visit but looked a lovely pub in a nice setting. Agree with the previous reviewer that the prices are a little steep - we paid £24 for a night, but I don't think anything in Rutland is cheap! We will definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: SimonandNik 4 reviews from this member

Weekend visit as its local to us and fancied a walk around rutland and a few beers and a meal in langham and oakam.

Paid 26 a night which I think is a bit steep for January and never like paying extra for our jack russell. She obviously uses the facilities way to much.

Toilet boiler broken so no heating but loads of hot water in old showers.

The whestsheaf in langham is well worth a visit as is the nelson in oakham for great food and real ale.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mel Hood 1 review from this member

Good location, friendly staff.

On the slightly down side. No signs when you enter the drive to the estate. Just keep going and look for a barrier on the right. There is a water tap 30 yards on the left but no sign to say so.

My biggest problem came when taking a shower.

It was one of those dreaded push-button types where it takes 10 minutes to get warm water. To get this you need to be in the shower unable to escape the cold spray. After achieving a decent lather the button ceased to operate. When it finally burst back into life the other 2 showers were in use and there was barely a trickle. The fold down seat is behind the door so of no use and everything has to hang off the same hook.

Having said this I would return.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jkemp 1 review from this member

Everything is just perfect here is you want to get away from it all. Nice and quiet and a very well kept site. Toilet block is spotless, and pub and shops only a short drive down the road. Ann and John are great who run the site. We have booked to go back next month.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Costessey98 3 reviews from this member

On arrival a nice drive up the lane to the Hall, signs not too clear once outside the hall as to where to go. Stopped outside barrier to ring warden so they could let us in the barrier, held a local up whilst waiting!

Once settled up our dues we were told we could choose a pitch, we have a six birth tourer but found the pitch snug, we were asked to keep the car off the grass - no problem as we did not have our awning but car and caravan filled up the hard standing.

First electric pole we tried the RCD was faulty so we had to use a neighbouring pole, could have been a problem though if the site was full.

We were surprised to see that the hand drier in the gents was still broken as only one drier in the mens, there was also a shower curtain missing on one of the three gents showers. The worktop where the vanity basins were did not seem to get cleaned whilst we were there and the showers did not appear to be cleaned either, all in all the facilities could do with an update.

The site was peaceful and clean until the last night when it filled up, the tents filled up the grass in the middle of the site so there would be no where for the children to play or to sit and enjoy the British weather. There was also a visiting Duke of Edinburgh group which was noisy until gone 1030 in the evening.

There was plenty to do in the surrounding area and good shops in Oakham. Marstons at the Buttercross in Oakham are good for food but worth booking in advance unless you are prepared to wait.

Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Rutland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3514 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019