Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Louisa Alice Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Rutland > Oakham > Louisa Alice Camp Site Reviews

Louisa Alice Camp Site
Ranksborough Drive
Langham
Rutland
Oakham
Rutland   (Browse area)
LE15 7JR
Tel: 07565188649
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 55 Reviews
                7/10 from 55 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: AlisonB1 1 review from this member

Lovely picturesque little site close to Rutland water and market town of Oakham that I have visited before.

I was pleasantly surprised to to find this visit that the showers and toilets have been improved. Sparkling clean, with more powerful warm showers which don’t lose pressure anymore.

The site was tidy and peaceful during our break.
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: H Family 4 reviews from this member

We received a lovely welcome from the owners on arrival

There is a barrier with a code to get in and out of the site

The tent area is in the middle and not really marked out as pitches. The electric hook up worked well

The toilet and showers were spotlessly clean (the heating broke while we were there which couldn't be helped but the owners kept filling their kettle to allow people to wash in hot water)

They also let us put our ice blocks in their freezer

Our 1st night was lovely but a noisy group of families arrived on the 2nd night which spoilt the atmosphere. The owners had to come over to tell them to quieten down then at 11pm they finally did after the 2nd time of asking

The owners apologised as we were leaving the next day but we said they did all they could

The long caravan pitch owners were friendly and welcoming

There isn't much room for kids to play and also no ball games but it's close to Rutland water and the local new build estate has a very large play park

All in all a lovely friendly site
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Scotzlynnie 4 reviews from this member

Myself, husband and 10 year old stayed here as our older daughter was in a football tournament. Location seemed perfect and the reviews were mixed. We hoped that the owners had taken some notice of what people don’t like and make changes. Not so!

The showering facilities are wholly inadequate. The water is a trickle and a complete nightmare if more than one person is showering. Not a great start to the morning! Didn’t even bother trying to shower the second day.

We arrived and were shown to our pitch which was basically a grass area in the middle of caravans. Went out for the day and came back to find two tents to our left and one directly in front of our tent which was a bit awkward. Thankfully we’d put the windbreak up prior to going out. Our neighbour apologised as his guy ropes where on our pitch. Not ideal for toilet run before bed!
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindilou 14 reviews from this member

Wardens greeted us on arrival ok so far, shown to our two pitches one of which wasn’t suitable for a caravan and awning, luckily they were flexible and let us put van on forwards to accommodate but this meant awning was on hard standing not grass as requested. Grass was rather long the reason given as to not cutting it was “we are having problems with moles” not a mole hill in sight.

No recycling

Toilets were clean but showers left a lot to be desired. Very small area to undress in and shower cubicles very small. Water pressure is bad, ideally only one shower can be used at a time, (push button type)

Cars cannot be parked on the grass.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ConH 2 reviews from this member

Have spent four days on this lovely, peaceful and superbly maintained small site. Ideally situated for exploring the area and with one if the nicest approaches I've ever seen!

Having just read some of the previous reviews, I agree that the showers are small but the issues they present can be overcome. If, however, all the showers were being used the water pressure got low.

The toilet block was always very clean even during a busy weekend.

We found the wardens friendly and helpful.

We would certainly return to this site.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Colman71 5 reviews from this member

Lovely little site ideal for Rutland Water. Wardens were very friendly and nothing was too much hassle. Toilet block is a little dated but has everything you need, is well maintained and was always spotless. Pitches are mostly gravel with grass for awnings.

Site was well maintained and there was no traffic noise so a great little hideaway.

I only stayed one Saturday night enroute to Norfolk but will definitely be back for a longer stay

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kamac13 3 reviews from this member

Campsite is clean and tidy and the number of pitches proportionate to the size.

The price is a little expensive. The loos are clean but the showers are a little dilapidated. More than one shower cannot be used at any one time and they are poorly set up with door and curtain etc. Our electric hook up did not work. The site staff were pleasant.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Janetreid 15 reviews from this member

We chose this site as being close to both Oakham and Rutland Water for a short stay. It's in a nice quiet location and easy to find. The site is all hardstanding, grass and trees and used mainly by sited tourers. Langham village is lovely with 2 pubs but no shops. Oakham is walking distance or a mile and a bit.

The toilet block is clean- 4 toilets. 2 sinks and 3 showers in the ladies and 2 outside wash up sinks. The showers are tiny and the water not very hot. My husband said that if there was more than one man in the showers that they just went off! No privacy cubicles.

We probably would not stay here again.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Vashka 14 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a night in early April as wanted to visit nearby Oakham. It was our first time here and we weren't expecting much but were pleasantly surprised. Nice friendly campsite in lovely surroundings, everything neat and tidy and clean - the toilet blocks are a bit dated but perfectly fine.

We visited in lovely sunny weather so may have had Rose Tinted glasses on! My only concern with visiting in wet weather or winter is that there is only one outdoor sink for pot washing which isn't ideal in bad weather. The water point to fill the motorhome also wasn't particularly accessible without blocking entry into the campsite.

There's a pub within walking distance that we didn't get chance to visit but looked a lovely pub in a nice setting. Agree with the previous reviewer that the prices are a little steep - we paid £24 for a night, but I don't think anything in Rutland is cheap!

We will definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: SimonandNik 4 reviews from this member

Weekend visit as its local to us and fancied a walk around rutland and a few beers and a meal in langham and oakam.

Paid 26 a night which I think is a bit steep for January and never like paying extra for our jack russell. She obviously uses the facilities way to much.

Toilet boiler broken so no heating but loads of hot water in old showers.

The whestsheaf in langham is well worth a visit as is the nelson in oakham for great food and real ale.

Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Rutland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4075 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019