Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Murkle Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Thurso > Murkle Caravan Park Reviews

Murkle Caravan Park
Ivy Cottage Certificated Site
Murkle
Thurso
Highlands   (Browse area)
KW14 8ST
Tel: 01847 821648  or  07522 313559
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 vans plus tents
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Patric 1 review from this member

 I loved it all. We were greeted by Paul the owner who on seeing we had a dog directed us to a lovely beach walk.

I would recommend this site to anybody going north.

Thank you Paul for a great weekend. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: GIL-IAN 1 review from this member

 Initially only intended to pitch our tent for one night.

We stayed for three. Perfect base, very clean and we felt safe.

Paul was just brilliant with us, always making sure we had everything we needed.

Our walks each evening to the sites own private beach were breathtaking.

Loved our stay and will certainly be returning again when we can 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kelley 1 review from this member

 We stayed on this campsite for one night, the gentleman who owned it was lovely, very helpful directed us to a lovely beach,

Facilities were ok for the one night and clean.

It was next to a busy road which seemed to get less busy as the night drew in,

Was great for one night passing through. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: AngePaul 1 review from this member

 Great little pitch, we were late in arriving and Paul (the owner) stayed back, he even help set up the motorhome.

The facilities were fine. For those who like an evening/morning stroll there is a pebbly beach a short walk away.

His grand daughters bread is lovely. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Edward Ross 1 review from this member

 Welcomed to the site by Paul who offered to take us to the beach in his buggy.

A more pleasant and helpful person would be difficult to find. The site was excellent and the facilities spotless.

We'll have be back. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Julesh88 2 reviews from this member

 Staff was so helpful, really welcoming and friendly. He showered us to our pitch and helped my husband prop up the Motorhome, he also helped the next day empty the waste and show my husband where to do everything.

The facilities where good and clean, also he gave us an Indian takeaway and Chinese menu, we ordered from the Indian and honestly it was the best Indian takeaway ever!

Lovely views and felt really safe 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jacqui 1 review from this member

 Very helpful owner, spotlessly clean, ideal for an overnight stay. On the main road to Thurso and John O'Groats.

Very reasonable price for pitch and electric hook-up. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Barukode 1 review from this member

 We were doing NC500 in the end of October and we were looking for any campsite around 9pm in the evening. All of them around were closed and then we were very happy to find Murkle Carvan Camp.

The campsite was completely empty and it looks closed, but we gave it a try and called the owner (Paul) who was very kind and helpful and told us everything about the campsite through the phone so we could spent a night there which was an amazing.

In the morning Paul came and turn on the water so we could as well use the bathroom and so. The bathroom was very nice and clean as well.

After our departure we realized we lost a glasses, fortunately, Paul found them and was such a nice to send them to us by post.

Thank you so much, Paul for everything. We would definitely come back. We highly recommend this campsite. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Fractalmania 1 review from this member

 We stopped here for two nights. An absolutely lovely site. Slight slope but nothing to worry about. Great facilities.

The owner Paul is very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stop here again. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Herbertolly 1 review from this member

 We have stayed here on numerous occasions over the last 3yrs and have found the site to be very quaint and peaceful, although it is next to the road you get used to the traffic going by, it is especially very handy for the N500

It is very clean and tidy with fantastic views out to Orkney and beyond. Paul and his wife do an excellent job in making sure you have a wonderful time and we'll be back soon with our two dog's Herbie and Rex. 
via mobile


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Murkle Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Murkle Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Murkle Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Thurso      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4558 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement