Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Murkle Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Thurso > Murkle Caravan Park > Reviews

Murkle Caravan Park
Ivy Cottage Certificated Site
Murkle
Thurso
Highlands   (Browse area)
KW14 8ST
Tel: 01847 821648  or  07522 313559
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 vans plus tents
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 18 Reviews
                8/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2024 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Norfol 41 reviews from this member

 Paul the owner is great and very friendly and helpful. Our pitch was flat and fine for a one night stop.

The shower looked clean and worked fine and the water hot. You can hear everything from the men’s room next door. Also the ladies had two toilets, two sinks and a separate shower while the men only had one room with shower, toilet and wash basin so they often had to wait.

Would be handy for the men to have a separate toilet.

The facilities are very basic (I didn’t use the mop as it was brown) but work.

The washing up sink drains into a big water butt and doesn’t have hot water so I got a small bowl full of hot water from the ladies sink.

Not the owners fault and in fact he helped get the speed limit reduced but the road is very noisy and even though it is 50 mph through the night some must have been doing 80.

For one night it was fine but wouldn’t return. 


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: 1katie 1 review from this member

 Basic campsite near a busy road but perfect for an overnight stop to be close to Thurso parkrun.

We did the run and then came back for a shower before continuing our travels which worked out brilliantly. Plenty of space in the shower cubicle so no worry about clothes accidentally getting wet from the shower.

The owner is very sociable which was nice, making the time to stop and chat. House Martins nesting in the toilet block building so could see them nipping in and out.

We also got to feed one of the orphan lambs which was lovely. 


Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alyson 1 review from this member

 Great for a nights stopover near John O Groats whilst driving NC 500. Was greeted by Paul.

Very helpful and extremely pleasant. Explained where everything was. Showers and toilets basic but very clean.

Water available. Similar price to all other sites we’ve been on.

Beautiful views and a very friendly lamb ( number 11!)

We enjoyed our stay there 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paul Webb 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Murkle for two nights while visiting Thurso and it was fine for that.

It was a bit basic and right on a very busy road which we already knew from the reviews. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alibou 1 review from this member

 Good location (road quiet at night) with a large hard standing pitch. Which was definitely needed during winter.

Due to being out of season we only used EHU, water and toilet disposal.

The owner was polite and pleased to chat to. The price was higher than other sites at £20 a night. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Patric 2 reviews from this member

 I loved it all. We were greeted by Paul the owner who on seeing we had a dog directed us to a lovely beach walk.

I would recommend this site to anybody going north.

Thank you Paul for a great weekend. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: GIL-IAN 1 review from this member

 Initially only intended to pitch our tent for one night.

We stayed for three. Perfect base, very clean and we felt safe.

Paul was just brilliant with us, always making sure we had everything we needed.

Our walks each evening to the sites own private beach were breathtaking.

Loved our stay and will certainly be returning again when we can 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kelley 1 review from this member

 We stayed on this campsite for one night, the gentleman who owned it was lovely, very helpful directed us to a lovely beach,

Facilities were ok for the one night and clean.

It was next to a busy road which seemed to get less busy as the night drew in,

Was great for one night passing through. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: AngePaul 1 review from this member

 Great little pitch, we were late in arriving and Paul (the owner) stayed back, he even help set up the motorhome.

The facilities were fine. For those who like an evening/morning stroll there is a pebbly beach a short walk away.

His grand daughters bread is lovely. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Edward Ross 1 review from this member

 Welcomed to the site by Paul who offered to take us to the beach in his buggy.

A more pleasant and helpful person would be difficult to find. The site was excellent and the facilities spotless.

We'll have be back. 
via mobile


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Murkle Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Murkle Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Murkle Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Thurso      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2827 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement