Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Salisbury Hillside Caravan And Motorhome Club Site ( Hillside )

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Site Reviews

Salisbury Hillside Caravan And Motorhome Club Site ( Hillside )
Andover Road
Lopcombe
Salisbury
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SP5 1BY
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 16/03 To 08/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 15 Reviews
                8/10 from 15 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul westcar 5 reviews from this member

Very pleasant wooded site arranged into secluded small bays. Very quiet & peaceful (very few children). Excellent facilities as always with the Caravan Club. Salisbury is fairly close with good park & ride. The only slight disadvantage I would say is that there aren't any shops nearby but the office sells a small range of provisions.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Monty the bongo 49 reviews from this member

Smallish site, facilities clean and tidy. The site is a bit out in the middle of nowhere, not much nearby without driving. The entrance is disappointing, you drive past a garage that looks a bit tatty, but once on site it's pretty.

One bug bear, you cannot arrive before 12 apparently, we arrived about 12, 04 and had to sit behind a big queue of caravan which must have arrived early and sat there. It's not just this site, people do it at all the Caravan Club site.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Maddogs 5 reviews from this member

Stayed 4 nights at this pleasant, quiet clean and tidy CC site with 2 children and 3 dogs. Small bays of 2 to 4 caravans on grass or hardstanding within a small woodland type setting around a circular roadway make for a secluded and private feel. I was concerned by mention of the hill and the name being hillside, but the slope is a gentle curve and not a mountainside and is easily negotiated for a novice like myself. Toilet block clean, but didn't use their showers so cannot comment. Dog walk is a long narrow woodland type path in need of a bit of a trim and eventually leads out directly onto a road which you should hear in good time, but beware having lively dogs off lead after going up hill again for a while due to this. Easily negotiated short single lane access driveway prior to site and entrance found right next to a small car sales garage at top of hill, so look out for this when arriving as otherwise easily missed. We found staff friendly and helpful on the whole. No playground or other facilities for children, but an excellent base for day trips by car out to many reasonably local attractions, Stonehenge, Cheddar, Longleat and the New Forest etc. And children enjoyed cycling around the one way circular roadway and relatively safe for sensible children. Site does not seem to attract rowdy or unruly occupants so a good choice for those who prefer peace and quiet. We were allowed to choose our own pitch, a first for us which was pleasant. I don't think any pitch is an unreasonable distance from the facilities, but the facilities and small shop / reception are located at the entrance at the top of the site, so those on lowest pitches will have to walk uphill a short distance to access. Also has information point with leaflets on local attractions, facilities etc located in shed adjacent to reception. Refuse, water and chemical waste points at several locations close enough to pitches so not far to go for these. Convenient for us for visiting relatives in the area and would be happy to return for another stay.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Alphapets 8 reviews from this member

Chose this site as it is listed as dog friendly. I would chose to say it is dog tolerant only. It is well patrolled by the 4 x wardens, who on one occasion asked me to tether my dog who was fast asleep. On one other occasion our indiscretion was because a warden did not like my dog urinating near a flower bed.

On the flip side children are allowed to cycle and skateboard against the one way system. On previous sites this has resulted in one child being knocked down. Dogs can be walked down a very narrow path.

The site is lovely in itself, with isolated pitches surrounded by overhanging trees. The toilets are spotless and clean. An ideal site for families with children. Not far from the main road behind a car dealership and garage.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jfa110n 14 reviews from this member

It's a Caravan Club Site so you know its going to be well kept and clean! located on the side of a hill so a bit steep up to the showers and toilets especially if you are at the bottom of the hill as we were. Our pitch was almost level and the rest looked pretty level too. Some pitches were delightfully secluded and private. A bit out of Salisbury (about 6 miles) so you will need a car or plenty of energy to get there but they have a good park and ride system - although we drove into the centre and parked in the large central car park with no problem. Salisbury is a Lovely place which reminded us of York. We would probably try to get in the Caravan and camping Club site if we went again because it is much nearer.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: FreddyBB 2 reviews from this member

Having passed Salisbury on numerous occasions we decided to make the city our first visit this year.

The Hillside Caravan Club site was a delight and even when full to capacity we did not feel crowded in any way. The facilities were a joy and the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

On our way into the city we had noticed the Park & Ride facilities and decided to use the bus. What a good move. Armed with our Senior Citizen Bus Passes we had a free ride and no parking charges. Salisbury is a delightful market town and the river side walks were delightful. So many places to see in the area, good shops in Salisbury and a host of good places to eat.

Without doubt we shall be returning to Salisbury and the Hillside Club site soon.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Malc1 9 reviews from this member

A very well kept fairly smallish site. New amenities block kept n immaculate order as expected for caravan club.

The pitches are spread around a hilly area in small glades and are very secluded.

The roadway (one way) is narrow and needs care.

The wardens are very helpful and outgoing and obviously enjoy their tenure.

No children's facilities and the nearest shops are in Salisbury some 6 miles away.

The army air museum is a little way along the road towards Andover (Middle Wallop).

We visited in the 'value season' and found 51 for 3 nights a tad expensive for mid September.

The motorhome point is on the 'wrong side' for continental vans, a turn around and reverse operation is required for n/s mounted drain taps.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Louish 5 reviews from this member

Booked this site late for the Easter Bank holiday break and stayed 4 nights.

This is a lovely small site with mostly groups of 4 to 5 vans in small alcoves (there are also a few areas with more vans). Most pitches have slight slopes but I didn't need any sort of levelling device.

We stayed near the bottom of the site (pitch 41) and it really is a very short walk (if you're able) up to the toilet block which was very well maintained. The size of the pitch was fine with our two berthed van, awning and kids awning annex. We had plenty of space to sit out in the evening and for the obligatory bbq.

There are lovely views of the rolling country side.

The dog walk was adjacent to the site and fine for our two dogs - you can walk down what seems like a footpath for a mile or so and there are a few open fields also.

In terms of location, we were about 6 miles from Salisbury and it felt like miles from anywhere. The shop sells only very basic items so you'll need to make sure that you're well stocked.

Salisbury traffic was terrible so avoid it if at all possible - we sat for 1/2 hour twice (admittedly on the Thursday afternoon before Easter and again on Easter Monday).

A word of warning, we drove to the site from Salisbury and missed the turning as it's just after the brow of a hill and sailed straight past it as it's not sign-posted until your at the site. It's about 2 miles down the road before you can turn.

Nothing on the site for kids but given that the New Forest is a short drive away it's not a problem. Mine are 12 & 8 and we had no problems keeping them occupied.

We visited Ober water (twice as it was so beautiful!) and Old Wardour castle (NT) where there are beautiful grounds for a picnic.

All in all, a site that I would recommend and return to.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rees MJ 12 reviews from this member

This is a very nice site as it states, on the side of a hill. It is particularly nice because it offers small areas of 3 or 4 pitches rather than one big site. Previous reviews have stated that it is a fair hike to the shower block. I do not agree but then I like walking. If you are older and prefer not to walk then you will need a pitch on the green at the top of the hill.

This site for me is one that we will visit for a long weekend maximum. We only live 1hr away so it was a nice break for us, but I wouldn't like to stay there much longer due to having to travel to see POI's.

There is a dog walk to the side of the site, which I can imagine will get quite overgrown in the summer months.

A nice dog walk is at Danebury hill fort about 10 mins down the road.

All in all a great little site and we will definitely be going back. I can't judge the toilet blocks etc as we use our own.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Carousel 25 reviews from this member

A very quiet site with a wide choice of pitches although some are a good hike from the toilet block and those lower down in the woods feel rather dark even in the bright sunshine.

The facilities were spotless and wardens friendly but do insist on the after 12 o'clock arrival and you can see why as the access road is very narrow and not at all easy to spot on the brow of a hill so take care!

The surrounding countryside is gorgeous and it's an easy drive to the New Forest too. Salisbury itself has a lot to offer too.

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1944 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019