Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - York South Caravan Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

York South Caravan Camping
Adjacent Roydon Lodge
Broad Lane
Selby
Cawood, York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO8 3UE
Tel: 07546 652046
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 45
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Whoateallthepies 7 reviews from this member

Having just returned from another fantastic stay at York South, I have to say what a wonderful site. Bank holiday weekend and a pleasure to be staying at a site that just keeps giving. Peter and Gaynor are fantastic hosts who go out of their way to help. After last trip, we didn't think a lovely site could be any better, but the ideas of ice machines, clothes airers and even freezers for your food are just some of the things you wouldn't get anywhere else. With the hot summer, even ice lollies and crisps are available and payment by honesty boxes. The site is kept spotless and facilities even include washing machines and a doggy shower. Handy site for visiting Leeds, Selby and York, all being easy to get to. Keep up the good work Peter and Gaynor, till next time, cannot wait, Paul and Yvonne

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HEJC72 13 reviews from this member

Just returned from a lovely 5 night stay. I was greeted warmly on arrival by Peter who explained everything and said to contact him or his partner Gaynor at any time if I needed anything. You are given bin bags to help recycle glass, tins, plastics and cardboard which is very helpful and environmentally friendly.

The pitches are really spacious and level and are divided by low hedges. Electric is metered and so you only pay for what you use. The facilities were very clean and never seemed to be too busy, despite the site being almost full. There is a large freezer filled with ice creams and ice pops which were most welcome in this hot weather and are paid for using an honesty box.

There is a washing machine available and you can borrow a folding clothes airer to dry clothes or towels after showering. There is an elsan point (green fluids only which you can buy on site), grey water disposal and even a dog shower! There is a large field at the rear of the site for children to play ball games with no worries about balls hitting tents or cars!

Peter and Gaynor really have thought of everything to make your stay easy, enjoyable and relaxing.

I can HIGHLY recommend this site and will definitely be returning in the future.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tent folk 7 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a couple of nights recently. Owner has thought of virtually everything that a camper might need, which was a refreshing change from some sites we've visited over the years. Our only concern was the amount of washroom/toilet facilities available (2 toilets, showers and sinks) on either side plus the disabled facilities. Ok out of season but could present problems when all 45 pitches are occupied ie. Probably over 100 people. Otherwise a high class site for anyone wishing to visit the area.

Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Whoateallthepies 7 reviews from this member

What a lovely warm welcome when we arrived at this stunning site, not something you get from caravan club. The owners Peter and Gaynor where very helpful and friendly. The site is well laid out with spacious pitches and a separate spot to park car, shrubs between pitches for privacy and pitches on angles, so you are not looking into other peoples vans. Toilets are spotless, checked often and there's a pot wash, washing machines and dryers. Electric is pay as you use, and its quite surprising how cheap it works out, considering we had everything on. Lights for the park are turned off at quiet time, so the site is pretty dark, you will need a torch. Shops are not too far away, and there's plenty to do in and around the area, with helpful leaflets on what's on and nice walks. Dog friendly to exercise your furry friends with doggy bags posted around site. Site is easily accessed from A1M and A19. A must for your diary, you will not be disappointed. See you soon, Paul and Yvonne

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DJMC 17 reviews from this member

We visited this site based on the lovely reviews we had seen - mainly on Facebook, but unfortunately we were slightly disappointed for various reasons.

The one way road around the site is very narrow, and there are wooden posts on the corners of the pitches, making it very tight for twin axles when taking the corners.

The pitches are large in length, but narrow (just caravan width), and the car parking space is at the front of the pitch - which means our view for the weekend was part of our car and more of the works van parked on the opposite pitch.

The adjacent house we assume is occupied by many, as there must have been at least 10 cars both parked, and up and down the gravel drive all weekend - extremely noisy to say the least if your pitch is directly in front of the property.

The main issue was the main road. Although not a busy road at the weekend, it was very noisy on the Friday, and it is a very fast road, also quite worrying when entering or leaving the site, and you certainly wouldn't want to be walking along it.

The toilet blocks are quite nice, although 3 toilets and 2 showers in the ladies will be in high demand during busy times.

We appear to be the exception, as people are loving this site, and whilst we wouldn't advise people not to go, we feel that the above points are valid and should be known.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tdawn 5 reviews from this member

What a little gem of a site. Newly opened just 8 weeks and it certainly has the wow factor. Layout is fantastic and as the pitches are offset your not looking into your neighbours van and are very spacious. The electric payment is done by honesty by paying for exactly what you use, and the personal details of air fresheners in all the toilets, the site owners Peter and Gaynor have really put a lot of thought time and effort into their new venture. The site and the new amenities block is spotless, even a hairdryer for use and washing machines. A short walk into the village about 25 mins where there is a local garden centre and tea rooms, a post office where you can purchase home made food, we didn't try this but my daughter said it looked very nice. Went with my daughter and her family. As yet there is nothing for the children but I understand it is in the pipeline for the future. The only other negative is the waste, my husband found it difficult to lift the waste as its over a step, but I understand this is getting addressed and changed. You won't be disappointed in the site or the surrounding area. Lovely welcoming site owners, fantastic facilities, what more could you want for a relaxing time away. We will definitely be booking again soon.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: EX BOYSCOUT 5 reviews from this member

I cant say anything but superb,

The welcome we got was great, warm and friendly (unlike the weather)

All the info we needed and no volumous welcome packs that take you all day to read through just to find out where the showers are just help to find out what we needed.

The pitches are very generous to say the least, big enough to take our 6 man and a hike tent plus the car with space left over

The toilets / showers were spotless, and it was throwing it down and muddy, even a dedicated dog shower BIG plus point for us and our quite frankly spoilt dogs

The price is easily the best value I've encountered

For your shopping needs its not far to major supermarkets

Now for the bad, but even the bad is not too bad

Each pitch has small flood lights on and even though they are a great idea we think they should be switched off at the 10 oclock noise curfew as they seemed to encourage people to stay up and talk loudly, so all in all the only minus I can think of is the usefull lights

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smee05 2 reviews from this member

Outstanding from start to finish.

Into its fourth week of opening and I took a gamble on a Facebook post that went somewhat viral.

Site is immaculate, friendly approachable owners and a good location.

Huge pitches.

Amenities area literally is second to none.

20mins to York / races / designer outlet and the tadcaster breweries.

Will be back son.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Helandchas 2 reviews from this member

We visited this site on its opening week and stayed for 4 nights. A lot of thought and consideration has gone into its layout and presentation. Pitches are very big, nice and flat with each pitch being provided with euh and water. The site offers ample space for children to play safely. The toilet and shower block are immaculate both in cleanliness and presentation and have been designed to a high specification.

Around the site their are plenty of little touches which show the owners high attention to detail.

There are honesty boxes for washing machine use and electricity usage.

The site has an air of relaxation without the over use of rules and regulations and Peter the owner is so very welcoming and unobtrusive.

The site is ideally situated for York and surrounding areas.

Overall this site was a real find we had a lovely break and we will be back.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2073 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019