Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Mayfield Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Cirencester > Mayfield Park Reviews

Mayfield Park
Cheltenham Road
Perrotts Brook
Cirencester
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL7 7BH
Tel: 01285 831301
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 72
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 112 Reviews
                8/10 from 112 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Quince 1 review from this member

 Very well maintained but very limited facilities.

We had a fully serviced pitch which was on the north side of a high hedge so no view or sunshine.

Also there is a very busy, very noisy dual carriage road beyond the hedge, this plus being under a flight path made sleep a luxury. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Mikec2 1 review from this member

 Excellent facilities and very happy staff! A clean and well organised mixed site (Chalets, caravans, mobile homes and tents) Arrived in the dark and was shown how to find my pitch.

Toilets and showers very clean. The pitch fee seems to be good value. Happy to stay there again.

I can't really 'rate' the child friendliness' score but I would think it would be great for kids 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jonec2 1 review from this member

 Lovely, quiet, well laid out, well cared for and spotlessly clean site with modern facilities. Children's play area and separate dog walking area.

Views over the surrounding countryside from the top of the site.

The nearest shop was just a couple of minutes away, and the centre of Cirencester was a few minutes drive away. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rkh554 1 review from this member

 Good access, grass level pitches were great with services, site quite open for the weather,

Nearby motorway a bit noisy when outside but can't be heard inside,

Free wifi in the gazebo next to reception,

Toilets and showers are to a good standard and clean, all covid protocols in place, pleasant and knowledgeable staff, bus stop outside entrance,

Two miles to Cirencester, circular walks from camp,

I shall be using this camp again when in the area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Maisie 1 review from this member

 Booked last minute for a weekend get away with my partner and our small dog. Booking and arrival were super easy and site was easy to navigate, map and general information booklet given on arrival was really helpful!

Tent pitches were clearly marked, toilets were clean and social distancing measures put in place and followed by all!

There is a fenced area for dogs to run off lead which was great and we found a number of local walks which were lovely! The staff were all incredibly helpful on the few occasions we had questions and the site was immaculately clean!

Would highly recommend to anyone looking to camp in the Cotswolds! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: RBSB 7 reviews from this member

 We visited Mayfield in order to break up our journey down to Brighton from Manchester. We arrived on Wednesday and the owners and staff in site were extremely pleasant and very helpful. The first impression of our pitch wasn't great as I had initially booked a 22 foot tent and VW van but changed our minds before travelling and brought the awning instead.

It is a good job we did because there wasn't enough flat space to have pitched the tent. The awning just about fit on the flat grassy area and the van on the hardstanding.

The toilet block was just meters away down a small hill and they were always very clean and the showers were nice and hot too with good water pressure. I had no problems sleeping as I was in the van with my daughter but my husband who wax in the awning didn't sleep for 4 nights because of the proximity to a very busy newly built dual carriage way. Obviously, this is an issue that the owners can't help as I'm sure the park was there long before the road network was updated so if you are under canvas and this sort of noise bothers you, I would look elsewhere.

Apart from visiting Cirencester, there wasn't much for my 13 year old to do. My husband and I enjoyed several walks as the surrounding countryside and local village is very pretty.

The only WiFi available was in the gazebo and the sites location doesn't get great mobile signal either. Our pitch had full sun from 11am till around 6. 30, sadly, a huge hedge which forms the boundary to the rally field totally blocked any evening sunlight on the lower hardstanding pitches.

During the week the huge rally field was almost empty but as weekend grew near, the field filled up with lots of tents and noisy single sex groups. I understand that Covid 19 means businesses are trying to recoup their losses so maybe this wouldn't usually be allowed.

I presumed there would also be toilet facilities for the rally field but there wasn't and noisy youths that had had one drink too many, passed our van after dark to use the only facilities on the site. The lack of facilities meant toilets were constantly blocking up which caused huge queues outside the block.

The site would also benefit from a shop for essentials as the only Shop nearby isn't within walking distance. The only pubs were in Cirencester itself so no chance of nipping for a walk and a pint early evening.

If you decide to visit, go midweek, ask for a hardstanding near the rally field if you want to be in the sun, stock up with food and take earplugs for road noise. The owners are amazing, 10/10 for customer service. It's just a shame the local area has changed considerably since they set up the site as it could have been a very relaxing holiday. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bsagri 1 review from this member

 Really nice site, would use again. Our pitch was level and well serviced. Toilet/shower block was immaculate and right next to us - pitch 11 👍

Taxi into town both nights, £8 each way.

Nice and secure too. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Daves mate 21 reviews from this member

 We've recently been looking for sites within half an hour's drive from our home in Swindon for some shorter trips so this place came within that remit.

Nice enough place, most of those on site seemed to be seasonal pitches. Not much for the kids to do on site, there's a ball games field but no play park area. Plenty of places to see in the surrounding area though, a visit to Bibury and a walk around Cirencester followed by a pub Sunday lunch filled our weekend.

It's already been said that the pitches can be a little tricky to get on/off. We were on a fully serviced hard standing pitch in the top field and didn't have too much bother. It was January though, in the summer months with a few more pitches full I can see it maybe a bit tight.

The other thing that gets mentioned often is the road noise. We hardly noticed it during the day with the radio on, a bit more noticeable at night but certainly didn't keep us awake. I guess if you're the kind that's bothered by such a thing then you should look elsewhere.

Toilet/shower block was perfectly acceptable, not sure how it would hold up when the site is full though.

We'll probably visit again sometime but for us, with 2 older girls, it'll never be for more than a couple of nights. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: CEW3A 25 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, clean & tidy. Our pitch was hardstanding, fully serviced, towards top of the site. Facilities were downhill via a gravel road. In the ladies’ there were 5 toilets, 2 of which also had the option of a child’s toilet seat – a nice touch for those with small children.

There were 4 shower cubicles, (2 were wet-room style, 2 with shower trays) but each with a chrome rack for toiletries, a wooden duckboard & a stool. Also 2 hooks for clothes/towels; perhaps an extra hook would be useful.

The showers were of the push button, fixed nozzle variety; no temperature control but after the first couple of bursts of cold water, were hot but not too hot.

There was the usual mop & bucket (filled with soapy water!) & the notices requesting guests to mop the floor after their shower. There were 4 cubicles with a sink, so that you can wash in privacy if not having a shower.

In addition, there were 2 handwash sinks opposite the entrance, with a magnificently powerful hand dryer & a coin-operated hair dryer (didn’t use). Around the side of the block was the disabled/family toilet & washroom – also for use when the main toilets were closed due to cleaning.

The disabled/family room had a baby changing bench (fold down), toilet, sink & shower, with a pull- down shower seat. The shower had a hose & temperature control, so more suitable for young children.

Next door was the laundry room, with commercial washer & dryer, plus a spin dryer & 2 sinks for washing laundry by hand. There was also an iron & socket for charging phones etc – 20p slot to operate. I didn’t use. There were some peg bags & 2 rotary dryers outside.

I had to use the tumble dryer; I was disappointed the first week to discover that the washing was still wet at the end (someone else told me theirs had been too) but the second week’s washing dried no problem. So maybe it was on the wrong setting the first week?

Along the back of the facilities block was the washing-up room (piped Radio 2 in here as well as the rest of the facilities block) with 4 sinks, each with a plastic drainer. The water was warm but not hot enough for my liking; after the first couple of days I decided to do the washing up in the caravan, where the water was hotter. Next door was the chemical toilet disposal & just outside were the industrial bins for general rubbish and also recycling facilities.

For children, there was a ball games/football field at the top of the site – although the site is sloping, it seems to have been levelled into terracing & there is evidence of young trees having been planted, which, when matured, should provide extra privacy for pitches & shelter from the wind.

The gravel road down to the toilet block created a few issues for some cars & caravans as they were trying to leave the site, especially after heavy rain – the car wheels spinning – but our pitch was at the top of that section so we had no problems.

The traffic noise is almost constant & loud, but it didn’t really bother us. The heavy rain on the caravan roof drowned out the noise on occasions! It was a bit of a trek to the gazebo which was the only place where the free wifi was available, but once there it was comfortable seating & pleasant surroundings.

There was also a lovely information shed with leaflets & a fridge, I believe, for tent campers, plus lots of books & DVDs to borrow & exchange, as well as a few board games/jigsaws.

We would be happy to visit again – though hopefully not next to the camper (probably a seasonal camper) who we nicknamed Firepit Man – virtually every afternoon/evening when the weather was fine he was burning blocks of wood – presumably damp wood, given the amount of smoke that was blowing into our caravan & awning! 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Django 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 3 nights at this site. Lady at reception was lovely. The whole site is so clean and tidy. Toilets and showers were spotless.

We had a fully serviced pitch. Nothing at all to complain about for this site. It's been a really lovely long weekend here.

Cirencester is a nice town to walk around.

Try Toro lounge for the best bacon sandwich, staff are friendly and helpful. Tesco, Waitrose, Aldi and Lidl just out of town and a Tesco express in town.

We came here to relax and recharge our batteries and that is exactly what we did. This was our first time at this site but we will certainly be back in the next few months.

Don't take our word for it try it yourself. 
via mobile


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Mayfield Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Mayfield Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cirencester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2416 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement