Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Colmans Of Aysgarth Certificated Site ( Towns End)

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Leyburn > Colmans Of Aysgarth Certificated Site ( Towns End) > Reviews

Colmans Of Aysgarth Certificated Site ( Towns End)
Main Street
Aysgarth
Leyburn
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL8 3AQ
Tel: 07941 424537  or  01969 662666
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 vans plus tents
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Leow69 1 review from this member

 This was a return visit, we have always really enjoyed camping here.

Excellent location and facilities, camp site very well maintained and security staffed by "Big Boris"! you need to visit to know!

Staff very friendly and helpful, easy access to Aysgarth Falls and local walks.

We look forward to returning soon. 


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Madgeplus2 32 reviews from this member

 Our second visit to Colmans and by coincidence on the same pitch.

We were a little disappointed this visit as we felt standards had slipped, given this was in the middle of the Covid 19 epidemic, the showers were not as clean as they should be with black mould round the shower tray edges and despite their claims of regular cleaning during the day it was not noticed by us and others on site.

Aysgarth Falls a must see visit and not far away, Aysgarth Falls hotel good beer and food. Bolton castle well worth a visit.

Not on our will come again list anymore, which is a shame as location is excellent. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Mancali 1 review from this member

 Ideal site, small, very friendly, a warm welcome.

Great camping field, play area, chickens, trees, excellent shower and toilet block, and great for campers in the rain, a shed with table, chairs and kettle.

The owners couldn't have been kinder. Thankyou. 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Santos16 4 reviews from this member

 Fantastic little site, very welcoming and helpful owner, there was two Motorhome but only space for one, but offered us a grass pitch which was fine for us.

Facilities above and beyond our expectations for a small site, modern, very clean and warm.

No road noise at all. Walking to falls (well worth a visit) from site was great and after a great day in fresh air a very short walk to pub for tea, which in winter months you get 10% discount off if staying on site.

Would recommend to any type of unit as the camping area looked very well thought out. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BigErnie 32 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for the first time for a weekend stop over in November and it was fantastic.

We received a message from the owner during the morning before arrival allocating our pitch number as they were going to be out during the afternoon. The site was easy to find and once we arrived were please to see nice big hardstanding pitches that were easy to level up on.

The site itself is fairly new but it looks like a lot of hard work and love has gone into it over the past two years. There is a cabin housing the reception where you can pick up home made souvenirs, some lovely home cooked meals from the freezer and a great cup of coffee.

The toilet/shower facilities are modern and clean and a washer/dryer is available to use when booked through reception.

Walking is very easy from the site with Aysgarth Falls less than a mile away. Walking into the village is also easy there you will find a pub, garage which also serves as a very well stocked local shop, and a lovely Victorian Rock Garden which is well worth a look at if you are interested in history!

This is a great little site which we will definitely return to. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 What an excellent little site this is.

Stopped for a couple of nights during a longer tour. The owners got called away before we arrived, but sent a text to let us know which pitch to use, which I thought was good customer service.

The gravel pitches were great for the time of year and had patches of grass dividing them. The facilities were kept very clean and had proper showers rather than the annoying push button types. The little reception hut had home baked meals and puddings in the freezer and other bits and pieces.

There is a petrol station 2 minutes walk in to the village (expensive for fuel!) but this also had a very good shop attached to it; and next to it was the pub.

Great walking directly from the site and easy access to the road for any trips out in the van.

I look forward to returning next year. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Clappersgirl 11 reviews from this member

 It was a maiden voyage for two geriatric motorhome virgins so we didn't want to travel too far afield. But I think we have probably been ruined for other sites. This is a charming small site. We were on pitch 3 with a fabulous view over Wensleydale and a short walk to the shower block. A bit early and cold for camping so we had the facilities pretty much to ourselves. I imagine that if the tent field is busy then there might be queuing.

The showers and wash basins are, as attested by other reviewers, excellent. They are warm, well lit and immaculate at any time of day or night. The showers themselves are excellent after you have worked out how to work the two separate shower heads (one cold blast was enough to show me how to do it) but I must agree that a couple more hooks would be welcome.

We were advised on all the local sights by Matt which we duly viewed. These included, in addition to the ubiquitous Falls, a tiny rock garden in Aysgarth - at the other end of the village - which was charming, and the viewing of a gravestone in the churchyard by the Falls demonstrating the long-lived inhabitants. We did visit the very local pub, the George and Dragon, but found it to be a bit Jekyll and Hyde. We went one evening when it was busy and lively with an open fire warming everyone and had a lovely meal. We went the next evening just for a drink and found it cold with no fire lit, nearly empty and unwelcoming. Puzzling.

We also made great use of our bus passes on the local bus service. You can go from the stop in the village to Hawes one way and Leyburn the other, both well worth a visit. Though the timetable takes a bit of deciphering and we didn't go the same way twice. It's very much a local service for all the little villages.

All in all an excellent inaugural visit. 


Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BertiesTravels 4 reviews from this member

 Unfortunately I have to agree with everything everyone has said previously. This site is totally brilliant with lovely welcoming and extremely helpful owners. Even their booking website makes it easy, rather than having to guess if they have availability and phoning round it's there in front of you on the website.

On arrival you are greeted in the nicest way possible, other sites could learn from this, and welcomed into the reception area where there are frozen ready meals, ice cream, homemade soup available to you. Lots of things to do in the area, Matt will point out anything you need to know, but a must do is the Aysgarth Falls. Also visit the Mill Race Cafe on the bridge over the falls, lovely people and fantastic food with good helpings. Muddy boots and dogs are welcome too! We walked the Aysgarth falls, Castle Bolton, Carperby circuit (8 miles) which was lovely but very wet and muddy at this time of year. Be aware too that the castle does not allow dogs anywhere in its grounds so we couldn't stop at their cafe.

Back to the site and probably some of the best showers you will ever see on a site. The facilities shine here, far outdoing any CCC club site I've ever seen. Power showers and warmth, lovely after a long walk!

The biggest negative for this site is going to be how popular it is. We really wanted to stay longer but they were full over the weekend, and I can only see this continuing as its by far the best campsite in the nicest area around. So book well ahead! We will certainly be returning to what we think is probably the best most well run CS site we have ever stayed on.

Thank you guys for such a lovely two night stay. You are doing a top job and we wish you every success! 


Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Summersmum 30 reviews from this member

 Friendly welcome. Easy to book online via their website. Lovely views. Good facilities and glad they were warm in the very cold weather. Two showers and two toilets in both mens and ladies. If I was being picky then a couple of extra hooks in showers would be useful. Dishwashing area outside. Slightly tricky exit for caravanners as on a bend. Not disturbed by A road at night. Hardstandings slightly on the small side. We managed to park our campervan so we weren't stepping into mud/grass on one side but better than being completely on grass. Separate small field for tents. Dog walk directly from rear of site - pinch stiles tight for dogs who are larger than a spaniel though if you walk to Aysgarth Falls! 21 a night is a little more than many other sites of this size charge but the facilities are good. Can never work out why campsites need to charge for dogs though! 


Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiznlil 42 reviews from this member

 Reluctant to review as I want to be able to rebook!

Only thing to add to the below is that there is a little shop/reception on site which had home cooked frozen meals for sale.

There was a notice saying that breakfast sandwiches were available if ordered the night before

We were on pitch 2 and WiFi worked, friendly owner said that it dipped out every now and again but worked most of the time in the little shop/reception.

Had a lovely meal at Aysgarth Falls hotel. Take a torch for the 10 minute walk along the road to it.

If you have children (ours are grown up) there is a small play area.

Dogs appeared to be welcome on site. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Colmans Of Aysgarth Certificated Site ( Towns End) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Colmans Of Aysgarth Certificated Site ( Towns End)?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Colmans Of Aysgarth Certificated Site ( Towns End) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leyburn      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


49375 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement