Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Colmans Of Aysgarth Certificated Site ( Towns End)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Colmans Of Aysgarth Certificated Site ( Towns End)
Main Street
Aysgarth
Leyburn
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL8 3AQ
Tel: 07941 424537  or  01969 662666
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 vans plus tents
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 8 Reviews
                10/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Santos16 4 reviews from this member

Fantastic little site, very welcoming and helpful owner, there was two Motorhome but only space for one, but offered us a grass pitch which was fine for us. Facilities above and beyond our expectations for a small site, modern, very clean and warm. No road noise at all. Walking to falls (well worth a visit) from site was great and after a great day in fresh air a very short walk to pub for tea, which in winter months you get 10% discount off if staying on site. Would recommend to any type of unit as the camping area looked very well thought out.
via mobile

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BigErnie 32 reviews from this member

We visited this site for the first time for a weekend stop over in November and it was fantastic.

We received a message from the owner during the morning before arrival allocating our pitch number as they were going to be out during the afternoon. The site was easy to find and once we arrived were please to see nice big hardstanding pitches that were easy to level up on.

The site itself is fairly new but it looks like a lot of hard work and love has gone into it over the past two years. There is a cabin housing the reception where you can pick up home made souvenirs, some lovely home cooked meals from the freezer and a great cup of coffee.

The toilet/shower facilities are modern and clean and a washer/dryer is available to use when booked through reception.

Walking is very easy from the site with Aysgarth Falls less than a mile away. Walking into the village is also easy there you will find a pub, garage which also serves as a very well stocked local shop, and a lovely Victorian Rock Garden which is well worth a look at if you are interested in history!

This is a great little site which we will definitely return to.

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dubdogs 127 reviews from this member

What an excellent little site this is.

Stopped for a couple of nights during a longer tour. The owners got called away before we arrived, but sent a text to let us know which pitch to use, which I thought was good customer service.

The gravel pitches were great for the time of year and had patches of grass dividing them. The facilities were kept very clean and had proper showers rather than the annoying push button types. The little reception hut had home baked meals and puddings in the freezer and other bits and pieces.

There is a petrol station 2 minutes walk in to the village (expensive for fuel!) but this also had a very good shop attached to it; and next to it was the pub.

Great walking directly from the site and easy access to the road for any trips out in the van.

I look forward to returning next year.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Clappersgirl 3 reviews from this member

It was a maiden voyage for two geriatric motorhome virgins so we didn't want to travel too far afield. But I think we have probably been ruined for other sites. This is a charming small site. We were on pitch 3 with a fabulous view over Wensleydale and a short walk to the shower block. A bit early and cold for camping so we had the facilities pretty much to ourselves. I imagine that if the tent field is busy then there might be queuing.

The showers and wash basins are, as attested by other reviewers, excellent. They are warm, well lit and immaculate at any time of day or night. The showers themselves are excellent after you have worked out how to work the two separate shower heads (one cold blast was enough to show me how to do it) but I must agree that a couple more hooks would be welcome.

We were advised on all the local sights by Matt which we duly viewed. These included, in addition to the ubiquitous Falls, a tiny rock garden in Aysgarth - at the other end of the village - which was charming, and the viewing of a gravestone in the churchyard by the Falls demonstrating the long-lived inhabitants. We did visit the very local pub, the George and Dragon, but found it to be a bit Jekyll and Hyde. We went one evening when it was busy and lively with an open fire warming everyone and had a lovely meal. We went the next evening just for a drink and found it cold with no fire lit, nearly empty and unwelcoming. Puzzling.

We also made great use of our bus passes on the local bus service. You can go from the stop in the village to Hawes one way and Leyburn the other, both well worth a visit. Though the timetable takes a bit of deciphering and we didn't go the same way twice. It's very much a local service for all the little villages.

All in all an excellent inaugural visit.

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BertiesTravels 4 reviews from this member

Unfortunately I have to agree with everything everyone has said previously. This site is totally brilliant with lovely welcoming and extremely helpful owners. Even their booking website makes it easy, rather than having to guess if they have availability and phoning round it's there in front of you on the website.

On arrival you are greeted in the nicest way possible, other sites could learn from this, and welcomed into the reception area where there are frozen ready meals, ice cream, homemade soup available to you. Lots of things to do in the area, Matt will point out anything you need to know, but a must do is the Aysgarth Falls. Also visit the Mill Race Cafe on the bridge over the falls, lovely people and fantastic food with good helpings. Muddy boots and dogs are welcome too! We walked the Aysgarth falls, Castle Bolton, Carperby circuit (8 miles) which was lovely but very wet and muddy at this time of year. Be aware too that the castle does not allow dogs anywhere in its grounds so we couldn't stop at their cafe.

Back to the site and probably some of the best showers you will ever see on a site. The facilities shine here, far outdoing any CCC club site I've ever seen. Power showers and warmth, lovely after a long walk!

The biggest negative for this site is going to be how popular it is. We really wanted to stay longer but they were full over the weekend, and I can only see this continuing as its by far the best campsite in the nicest area around. So book well ahead! We will certainly be returning to what we think is probably the best most well run CS site we have ever stayed on.

Thank you guys for such a lovely two night stay. You are doing a top job and we wish you every success!

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Summersmum 27 reviews from this member

Friendly welcome. Easy to book online via their website. Lovely views. Good facilities and glad they were warm in the very cold weather. Two showers and two toilets in both mens and ladies. If I was being picky then a couple of extra hooks in showers would be useful. Dishwashing area outside. Slightly tricky exit for caravanners as on a bend. Not disturbed by A road at night. Hardstandings slightly on the small side. We managed to park our campervan so we weren't stepping into mud/grass on one side but better than being completely on grass. Separate small field for tents. Dog walk directly from rear of site - pinch stiles tight for dogs who are larger than a spaniel though if you walk to Aysgarth Falls! £21 a night is a little more than many other sites of this size charge but the facilities are good. Can never work out why campsites need to charge for dogs though!

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiznlil 36 reviews from this member

Reluctant to review as I want to be able to rebook!

Only thing to add to the below is that there is a little shop/reception on site which had home cooked frozen meals for sale.

There was a notice saying that breakfast sandwiches were available if ordered the night before

We were on pitch 2 and WiFi worked, friendly owner said that it dipped out every now and again but worked most of the time in the little shop/reception.

Had a lovely meal at Aysgarth Falls hotel. Take a torch for the 10 minute walk along the road to it.

If you have children (ours are grown up) there is a small play area.

Dogs appeared to be welcome on site.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 76 reviews from this member

If you require a blue print for how a CS should be set up, look no further than Colmans of Aysgarth [also confusingly referred to as “Town Ends”!]. This is recent addition to the CS network & sets the standard for well thought out, small scale sites.

We stayed for 5 nights at the end of October 2017 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Wensleydale.

The site has 5 hardstandings with some being slightly different to enable awnings to be located on the hardstanding rather than grass. Electric hook ups are close to each pitch with the fresh water point being close to the Reception hut [as is the CDP]. The facilities block would put many of the main C & CC sites to shame! The showers are superb with a choice of shower heads – the largest is liable to give you a headache if you stay under them too long! There is also a well lit outside washing up area. Free Wi-Fi is also available at Pitch 1 but we are not sure if that extended to the other pitches.

There is a separate grassed area for tents to pitch.

The site backs directly onto the footpath that runs from Aysgarth village to the Falls.

Close by there are two hostelries – The George & Dragon, which is visible from the site & The Aysgarth Falls Hotel. Both have a good reputation.

The petrol station is also a mini-supermarket – open 7 days a week from 7am to 7pm.

There are numerous walks directly from the site & some will take you along the touristy path passed the Mid & Lower Falls and then onto Bolton Castle. If you want a bit of peace & still want to view the falls, there is a footpath on the other river bank accessed through the churchyard.

The friendly owners, Clare & Matt, were normally on hand to answer any queries or just chat. If their Halloween decorations are anything to go by, you are in for a treat if you visit over the Xmas period!

Overall, a super, well run site & we will be recommending it to others.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2964 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019