Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Red Lion Inn Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Gloucester > Red Lion Inn Camp Site Reviews

Red Lion Inn Camp Site
Wainlode Hill
Norton
Gloucester
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL2 9LW
Tel: 01452 731810
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 98
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 103 Reviews
                6/10 from 103 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  103 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rayjdyer 17 reviews from this member

Nice quiet site. Stayed for two nights over a weekend whilst visiting family. Would happily use this site again, and probably will! Very reasonable price for a pitch with hook up.

It's under new management and they seem to be improving it from what looks like a state of disrepair by the previous owners.

The toilet block is basic and old but fine. The cesspit smells a bit if you're near to it and downwind. Go for the main field to avoid it. Quite a few seasonal pitches with caravans but the site was very quiet at night. Nice kids play park and loads of room for them to run and cycle in safety.

Next door to the Red Lion Pub. Didn't go in but it looked nice.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Susanna Smith 1 review from this member

This site has dramatically changed with the new management, a really lovely young man and woman who cannot do enough to help, are polite and working hard, only been here around 1 month.

It is friendlier, much cleaner, smells good, a great atmosphere.

Well worth coming to, has great views, lovely camping field, is quiet and we'll kept.

Will highly recommended a stay here.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Harryajh 10 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site in a very picturesque setting alongside the River Severn. We were able to get a hardstanding pitch for our motorhome but it was only separated from the road by a hedge. Although to be fair, it wasn't a problem, noise wise. When we return we will choose a grass pitch on the other side. The toilet block is clean with plenty of loos and showers, which are hot and free plus laundry and washing up facilities. There is no problem with light pollution so star gazing is a bonus. The pub next door serves excellent food but beware the Sunday breakfast chef.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Vicspy88 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a couple of nights in July. It is a nice site, flat pitches that are a good size, lots of electric hook ups. Lots of resident ducks who are very friendly, just watch out for the duck poo 😀 It is by the river with nice walks and the Red Lion pub next door. Small shop with the basic provisions. Owner was fine with us but he isn't Mr friendly and helpful (as other reviewers have mentioned). He showed us to our pitch and and does drive round checking everything is ok so.

Toilet block has definitely seen better days but is large, plenty of toilets and hot spacious showers - lots of space, hooks and chair for your clothes etc. (never full while we were there) wash up area fine. A few children on site seemed to think the toilet block was a play area, making piles of toilet paper and emptying bins on to he floor but that is not the fault of the owner! Ignore the review for this place where someone mentions a new toilet block as it definitely isn't!

Pub next door was nice, with tables by the river. Food was fine but not amazing.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Frankcoffi 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here for one night only, would have liked to stay longer but had to be elsewhere next day. Nice and quiet and right next to the river, with lots of places to sit right on the bank. Has all you need to have a pleasant stay. (Pub next door).

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: MrsPazzer 3 reviews from this member

Husband & I decied to get away for a week after I had surgery so I could really rest and recover.

I rang in advance and got plenty of information from Jan who was really helpful.

We arrived and she got us on the perfect pitch and couldn't help us enough.

We were really lucky to have a week of glorious weather, so it was just what the Dr ordered!

There was only 1 motorhome on the site and up the top end was a static & a few old tourers which I think were perhaps residents there.

Despite being just off the main road, the site was really quiet.

The new shower block is lovely & the shower rooms are massive! Very warm though as the radiators were on full blast - there was no control to access to turn it down, so I used the disabled shower while I was there as it was cooler. I can imagine in the winter months the temperature is perfect.

There is a washing machine in the shower block which takes tokens - these can be purchased from the pub for £2 - we didn't actually use the machine while we were there though.

There is an 'old' toilet & shower block on the site which we used a few times, but mainly just for the toilet - or for a shower in the cooler room!

There is a children's play area but we didn't use this.

Fantastic location for a bike ride - my Husband went out everyday on his bike!

We ate at the pub everyday - varied between breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Each time we went in, the service was quick and the food was lovely with a good choice on the menu. A good selection of drinks is available.

We also signed up for the QI loyalty card - as we were there all week and we WILL be back, we decided we would take advantage!

Jan wasn't on the site all day everyday, but did come down to the site each day. She always stopped and had a chat and nothing was too much trouble for her.

All in all, a lovely site and a great pub.

We WILL be back!

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Maxt46 53 reviews from this member

What a great spot, right next to a very nice pub, by the side of the river Severn, don't know what previous reviewer did to upset them but they were very friendly even allowing our dog into the bar. And the food was very good.

The site itself is great in so many ways, clean showers and toilets large cubicles and always warm, just one thing to be aware of if the lights go out then the water heater also goes off so not only is it dark but very cold, unless you're willing to leave the cubicle and move to make sensor work.

If you're taking your dog we always do, you can walk your feet off just go out back of site and go, or cross the road and walk along the river.

There is a shop of sorts but very limited, why do you need a newspaper when on holiday?

Will we return hope so!

Just thought I'd better add what great, value £12. 00 a night with ehu and dog, GREAT!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Madasaman 38 reviews from this member

Went here last weekend for a two night stay. Arrived before said booking in time, although only 20 mins and had no trouble booking in. Gent who booked us in was fine, showed us to our pitch and asked if it was OK, if not he would show us others further into the site. We were happy with this and was directed into position. Various amenities pointed out and we were left to set up. As said previously the toilet block and fittings are old but quite adequate. Level flat site which I guess as a river site is prone to flooding, electric hook up point needed for me to stand on our caravan step to reach. This to keep the electrics out of the water, good idea. Pub next door very nice and meals, although pub meals were well cooked and large portions. Would not hesitate to use again.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Steve-Thomas123 1 review from this member

Date of arrival 12th September 20014 at 8pm

Lane leading to camp site very narrow so beware.

Reception area has a constant chain smoker this being done both inside and out. Site Manager has no customer skills what so ever, a very rude person and very abrupt.

Electrical hook-up point inactive so had to call site Manager out and had to shake the electrical box to get it working.

Toilets were clean but outdated.

Reception shop area very limited not a newspaper in site.

Campsite pitching area is very large and flat with a pond and ducks - woo hoo BONUS.

Horrible stench from refuse that is stacked in an open skip right opposite the reception area.

The Red Lion Pub --- lovely setting but spoilt by unhelpful staff, this is surely a Local pub for local people you know. Stay off the moors!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Graham 33 reviews from this member

Just got back from a long weekend at this campsite.

Firstly this is a beautiful location right next to the River Seven and next door to the Red Lion pub. I believe that both were owned by the same people at one time but the pub is now under new management.

The site is large, flat and quiet. There are no marked pitches and the largest of tents will go here with no problem. The EHU's are all around the outer perimeter of the site and those that do not require EHU go onto the centre 'Island'

As stated the toilet block is old and in need of a refurb. Having said that the showers are hot, free and huge. Lots of hooks to hang your clothes and even a chair to sit on. 9/10 for these showers (only lost out because no soap dish in the actual shower)

The gents contains seven sinks with a mirror above each for shaving etc. Only one electric hand dryer though. Never had to queue once for any shower/loo during our stay.

Kids will love this site as there are a fair few ducks and cute baby ducklings running about. There are fences around ponds etc but best keep and eye on the kids. Loads of room for them to run about/bike etc.

This is a campsite review but for goodness sake if you go DO NOT miss the chance to eat at the Coalhouse Inn about 2. 5 mile away. DONT eat before you go. Wow! is the only word. Note though the place is only open Friday, Sat and Sunday. Best to book too.

The Red Lion pub is clearly right next to the site and the meals there are good, but no where near as good as the Coalhouse.

Oh nearly forgot. The site owner. Well he showed us to our pitches, he was polite, but he always seemed to have a fag on the go, even in the reception which in this day and age was a bit OTT. Only ever saw him again when he was showing others to their pitches.

Would I go again. You bet.

Previous     103 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6571 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019