Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Red Lion Inn Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Gloucestershire > Norton > Red Lion Inn Camp Site > Reviews

Red Lion Inn Camp Site
Wainlode Hill
Norton
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL2 9LW
Tel: 01452 731810
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 98
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 109 Reviews
                6/10 from 109 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  109 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Dolomi 1 review from this member

 Appon arrival we booked into site and was greeted.

Lady was really friendly.

Site is generally kept well but toilets and showers would benefit with updating but are clean and tidy.

Nice Pub just as you get into site which was busy and food looked good to what we saw.

Site was really good value for money and if we were in the area again we staying would consider returning 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mushratt 2 reviews from this member

 We had a lovely time here, we found the people we spoke to in the park very pleasant (owners) and helpful.

The field is well kept and nice and flat. All the EHU are around the outside of the filed so there is plenty of room for children to play and there is a small park on the field.

All the pitches are well mown and flat so easy to get sorted. There are showers and washing up sinks by the main building.

All in all we had a lovely break here and will definitely be going back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lynda S P 1 review from this member

 Nice site with a nice pub with a river view, food expensive.

Toilet block needs updating,

Small park for children but nothing else.

Ok for a weekend stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ericaa 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, open field and very quiet, in a beautiful position by the river. Pub nearby is a great asset for food and drinks.

The ducks are amazing and a part of the whole stay experience.

Facilities basic but ok, cleaned daily.

Will definitely stay again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Diane12 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely location on the River. Not too busy. Good for walks along the river.

Great pub food. Facilities good, the campsite is very flat and a good size so easy to spread yourself out or camp in a group.

Toilet block needs updating but I've seen a lot worse and they are clean.

When I was there most campers had caravans and motorhomes so the toilets and showers were not used that much by campers anyway. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Graham 34 reviews from this member

 Just returned from the bank holiday weekend, ( the one with the heat wave) what a beautiful site, level grass, water points near by, and a stunning location.

Friendly welcome by the new owners, but sadly after that we never really saw them again. Being a BH with super perfect weather you would think such a lovely site would be full, but no there was loads of room. No queues in the toilet block for showers, sinks, loos at all.

Perhaps the reason for that is the state of the toilet/shower block itself?

Yes it's as old as Gods dog, but even so it should be kept as clean as possible and sadly that didn't seem to be the case or even very high on the list.

With a modern (CLEAN) block this site would be a gem. There is a pub at the entrance that serves good beers and excellent food so what is not to like?

All the ladies in our party said they would not return due to the state of the block, lots of hair blocking the shower drains and sinks. Toilet bowls dirty throughout the whole weekend.

As we guys know, if the wives aint happy then you can cross the site off the list for return visits.

Two stars due to flat level grass and site location, oh and the pub, but I have no idea if that is linked to the site owners at all.

PRICE PER PITCH (TENT WITH EHU) was 15 per night.

I did overhear a conversation between two campers who thought that the block was to be modernised soon. I am unable to confirm that, but perhaps others can.

If you have a unit with shower/toilet included the this site could be for you. Tenters may not be so keen. Just my opinion of course. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rayjdyer 18 reviews from this member

 Nice quiet site. Stayed for two nights over a weekend whilst visiting family. Would happily use this site again, and probably will! Very reasonable price for a pitch with hook up.

It's under new management and they seem to be improving it from what looks like a state of disrepair by the previous owners.

The toilet block is basic and old but fine. The cesspit smells a bit if you're near to it and downwind. Go for the main field to avoid it. Quite a few seasonal pitches with caravans but the site was very quiet at night. Nice kids play park and loads of room for them to run and cycle in safety.

Next door to the Red Lion Pub. Didn't go in but it looked nice. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Susanna Smith 1 review from this member

 This site has dramatically changed with the new management, a really lovely young man and woman who cannot do enough to help, are polite and working hard, only been here around 1 month.

It is friendlier, much cleaner, smells good, a great atmosphere.

Well worth coming to, has great views, lovely camping field, is quiet and we'll kept.

Will highly recommended a stay here. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Harryajh 15 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site in a very picturesque setting alongside the River Severn. We were able to get a hardstanding pitch for our motorhome but it was only separated from the road by a hedge. Although to be fair, it wasn't a problem, noise wise. When we return we will choose a grass pitch on the other side. The toilet block is clean with plenty of loos and showers, which are hot and free plus laundry and washing up facilities. There is no problem with light pollution so star gazing is a bonus. The pub next door serves excellent food but beware the Sunday breakfast chef. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Vicspy88 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a couple of nights in July. It is a nice site, flat pitches that are a good size, lots of electric hook ups. Lots of resident ducks who are very friendly, just watch out for the duck poo 😀 It is by the river with nice walks and the Red Lion pub next door. Small shop with the basic provisions. Owner was fine with us but he isn't Mr friendly and helpful (as other reviewers have mentioned). He showed us to our pitch and and does drive round checking everything is ok so.

Toilet block has definitely seen better days but is large, plenty of toilets and hot spacious showers - lots of space, hooks and chair for your clothes etc. (never full while we were there) wash up area fine. A few children on site seemed to think the toilet block was a play area, making piles of toilet paper and emptying bins on to he floor but that is not the fault of the owner! Ignore the review for this place where someone mentions a new toilet block as it definitely isn't!

Pub next door was nice, with tables by the river. Food was fine but not amazing. 


Previous     109 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Red Lion Inn Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Red Lion Inn Camp Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Red Lion Inn Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Norton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3898 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement