Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wolverley Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Worcestershire > Kidderminster > Wolverley Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Wolverley Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Brown Westhead Park
Wolverley
Kidderminster
Worcestershire   (Browse area)
DY10 3PX
Tel: 01562 850909
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 105
Open: 05/03/2021 to 02/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 114 Reviews
                9/10 from 114 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Woody71 2 reviews from this member

 My first Camping trip, to try out my gear. Camped in a Gelert 4 man Lunar.

Weather was poor rain and 20mph but I had no issues. No wind problems or rain leaks.

Service was brilliant, owner showed me to spot to pitch and advice on positioning for the wind and the EHU. Also was keen to hear my experience when checking out.

Facilities shower/ toilet block was first class, almost like new, very clean. Site was good and spacious. Did not stay long enough to explorer the surrounding.

Will stay again 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Shedboy 2 reviews from this member

 Great site in a lovely location,

The site was well marked and easy to access.

On site things were made better by the friendly and helpful staff who were ready and willing to assist.

Thank you CCC and team 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Two plus dog 13 reviews from this member

 Nicely laid out site. Clean facilities. Pleasant staff. The small shop is closed which was a small issue as there are no shops close to the site. Apparently the camping and caravan sites have closed their site shops. Although we have stayed on other private and Camping and Motorhome sites that have kept theirs open. Shame they cant set up a local delivery van to come to the site with basics such as milk, eggs and newspapers etc.

The canal is just a few minutes walk from the site and one direction along the canal takes you to Kidderminster. We had a small dog so didn't walk fast so it took us just under an hour. Wasn't worth the walk in our personal opinion as the town seemed tired with no character. Just a lot of usual shopping centre shops. A few people we spoke to had the same opinion.

We walked in the other direction the next day towards Cookley. About a 30 minute walk. Very nice section of the canal although we stopped a little bit shy of the town/village as some locals we spoke to said there wasn't much to see there. Pubs and a few shops so we returned to the campsite.

We had a lunch at The Lock pub near the camp, good pub grub.

Nothing else to see or do in the area and we left a day early due to a storm arriving the next day.

Its a nice, small, quiet site to stop for a day or two but a bit too remote for us. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Blisters 6 reviews from this member

 Very nice well-maintained campsite in the village of Wolverley near Kidderminster. The staff were helpful and friendly but very best thing about it was that it was quiet – no selfish campers sharing the noise from their televisions or sound systems with the rest us.

The washrooms and toilets were spotless although shutting every single one of them for an hour and a quarter mid-morning for a covid-19 deep clean caused some and anguish amongst campers who hadn’t read the information sheet supplied. But could they not at least have left the disabled facilities to be done separately?

The Staffs & Worcester canal is just the other side of a side road. Two pubs locally: The Lock is right on the canal and, from the outside terrace, you can watch the boats going through the lock. But, as it is on the main road, the traffic noise is quite intrusive.

The Queens Arms in the village is a ten-minute walk away. The pub has several seating areas inside and a garden at the back, the staff are lovely and the food acceptable. Wolverley is dominated by the huge church of St John the Baptist, which stands on top of a great red sandstone cliff which dominates the landscape around and there are some delightful unusual houses to see in the village, too.

There are plenty of walks around - up and down the canal or short drive away in the Habberley Valley or the Bodenum Arboretum and Earth Centre. No doubt there will be much more to do next year when hopefully lock-down will have ended 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Scilly Boy 16 reviews from this member

 We booked this site pre lockdown and were pleased to be able to visit. This was our first visit to the site. On arrival the warden came out to us to check us in and then showed us to our allocated pitch.

The pitch (hardstanding) was very level and well maintained. We were on the lower section and tv reception was poor as others have said.

There could be more water points on the site as people have to walk between pitches for a direct route to services which leads to people walking across your pitch.

As with most if not all sites at the moment, the play field is closed which meant children playing on the site - not ideal.

Exit on foot through a gate onto a road and turn left which leads to a nearby pub (too busy to visit safely) and across the canal to a tea room. Keep going along the canal towpath and you will soon be in Kidderminster with a good selection of shops. You will pass a big Sainsburys store and a Halfords should you need them.

Turn right out of the gate and take the road to Cookley where there is a Tesco and pubs and a chip shop.

We used our own facilities so cannot comment on the toilet/shower block.

It was disappointing to find that only aluminium cans are recycled at this site, but I suppose you have to go with what your local authority does.

The wardens could not have been more cheery or helpful and were a credit to the club.

A good site for cycling along the towpath in either direction. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Topsy1052 2 reviews from this member

 Being only 12 miles from where we live, my wife and I stayed here for our first outing with our new motorhome.

The staff were extremely friendly and the facilities were spotless which is a miracle considering the weather, which was very wet.

There is a large playing field adjacent with an access gate from the site, which was excellent for exercising our dog.

The Lock Inn is just a 5 minute walk from the site and is dog friendly with dogs allowed in the bar, there is also a nice walk along the towpath of the Stafford/Worcester canal.

Overall this is a lovely site and would not hesitate coming here again. 


Date of Visit: March 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Cclcfc 18 reviews from this member

 Just back from a lovely weekend at Wolverley.

Site is immaculate. There are some newer hardstanding pitches and all pitches are well spaced out. Nice welcome from the wardens on arrivals and they were always around to help if needed.

The toilet block is excellent. Spotlessly clean and lots of hot water. Dish washing area nice and big with plenty of sinks for busy periods.

My reviews tend to be a bit walking and dog focused so apologies but it’s quite important when you have a mutt tagging along !

There is a nice field behind the site for dog walking first thing in the morning but the beauty of the site is that it’s right on the canal so the walks are endless from there.

We walked to Cookley via the canal (approx 30 minutes) on the first evening and had a drink in the Eagle and Spur. The snug is dog friendly.

We walked back via the lane (approx. 20 minutes) to The Lock where we had booked a table for an evening meal. This is essential if you have a dog as the bar is dog friendly but that’s the only bit and it does get busy. Food and service were excellent in The Lock – would definitely recommend.

On Saturday we walked in to Kidderminster (approx. 40 minutes). The walk was good with an even canal path the whole way. Kidderminster is not terribly dog friendly however we found Rees Café which is a community café which was really lovely.

There is a Sainsbury’s just as you get in to Kidderminster along the canal so handy for some shopping. Kidderminster actually has three big supermarkets all within a very small distance so if you want to drive in you have lots of choice.

We also walked to Caunsall to try the Anchor pub however it has restricted opening times so can’t give you an update on that.

All-in-all we had a lovely trip and will be back. From looking at the OS there are some lovely walks towards Kingsford Country Park and Kinver so we’ll try those next time. 


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paulmold 76 reviews from this member

 Only ever use this site as a one-night stopover and have been here 7 or 8 times. Facilities have been upgraded since last visit with more hardstandings but they still haven't put in TV boosters (do anyC&CC sites have them?).

No matter where we pitch we never get TV (maybe the odd channel but normally nothing). Apart from the pub next door there is nothing locally to do so on a wet October evening it would be nice to watch some TV. There is free WiFi now.

I can't understand why sites such as Wolverley which is not exactly in a holiday area, have a minimum two night booking rule out of high season so we can never pre-book, we just turn up and always get a pitch. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alison matthews 1 review from this member

 Hello I have been using wolverley camp site since approximately 1976 on and off and through all those years I have never had a bad experience there the managers and wardens have always been totally professional in all things.

But I have to say that the managers we have at the moment are without doubt the best we have ever had Ann and martin are always ready to help with whatever the problem may be and as far as we are concerned the longer they stay with us the better.

The site is always looking at its best the toilets are always meticulous and what more could you ask for. After saying all this I still think there are a couple of points the club could do to make it better.

First of all the tv reception at wolverley is patchy to say the least and surely these days it would be possible to put some form of amplifier on the site to help with the early and late dark and cold nights.

Also I know that quite a few of our sites do have seasonal pitches and although I know that wolverley is a very busy site mostly it is mainly at weekends and so there are a lot of pitches free during the week.

Surely it would make sense to use some of the pitches as seasonal pitches firstly to allow us decrepit oldies and regular users the chance to come down during the quiet times and secondly the chance for the club to make extra revenue as more pitches would be used more often ( just a thought ) it would be nice to let me know what you think cheers 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Steve.c 11 reviews from this member

 Used to love this this site and have clocked up 76 nights since 2016, however I shall never go there again as long the warden is there !

After staying there recently for three weeks I tethered my dog in the "Please park your doggie here " area outside reception and went into reception to try and extend my stay !

Understandably after a couple of minutes my dog started to cry. At that point the warden appeared and shouted "I don't have to put up with the racket on my day off, move him now and never put him there again !"

I have reported him to the Camping and Camping Club customer services and they have investigated and listened to his side of the story which was "

The whole site was being disturbed and he was concerned for the other campers ! Customer services response was well if you don't want to go there again, , we have other sites ! 


Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wolverley Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Wolverley Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kidderminster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Worcestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5070 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement