Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Wolverley Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Worcestershire > Kidderminster > Wolverley Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Wolverley Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Brown Westhead Park
Wolverley
Kidderminster
Worcestershire   (Browse area)
DY10 3PX
Tel: 01562 850909
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 105
Open: 05/03 to 02/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 109 Reviews
                8/10 from 109 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  109 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: March 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Topsy1052 2 reviews from this member

 Being only 12 miles from where we live, my wife and I stayed here for our first outing with our new motorhome.

The staff were extremely friendly and the facilities were spotless which is a miracle considering the weather, which was very wet.

There is a large playing field adjacent with an access gate from the site, which was excellent for exercising our dog.

The Lock Inn is just a 5 minute walk from the site and is dog friendly with dogs allowed in the bar, there is also a nice walk along the towpath of the Stafford/Worcester canal.

Overall this is a lovely site and would not hesitate coming here again. 


Date of Visit: March 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Cclcfc 16 reviews from this member

 Just back from a lovely weekend at Wolverley.

Site is immaculate. There are some newer hardstanding pitches and all pitches are well spaced out. Nice welcome from the wardens on arrivals and they were always around to help if needed.

The toilet block is excellent. Spotlessly clean and lots of hot water. Dish washing area nice and big with plenty of sinks for busy periods.

My reviews tend to be a bit walking and dog focused so apologies but it’s quite important when you have a mutt tagging along !

There is a nice field behind the site for dog walking first thing in the morning but the beauty of the site is that it’s right on the canal so the walks are endless from there.

We walked to Cookley via the canal (approx 30 minutes) on the first evening and had a drink in the Eagle and Spur. The snug is dog friendly.

We walked back via the lane (approx. 20 minutes) to The Lock where we had booked a table for an evening meal. This is essential if you have a dog as the bar is dog friendly but that’s the only bit and it does get busy. Food and service were excellent in The Lock – would definitely recommend.

On Saturday we walked in to Kidderminster (approx. 40 minutes). The walk was good with an even canal path the whole way. Kidderminster is not terribly dog friendly however we found Rees Café which is a community café which was really lovely.

There is a Sainsbury’s just as you get in to Kidderminster along the canal so handy for some shopping. Kidderminster actually has three big supermarkets all within a very small distance so if you want to drive in you have lots of choice.

We also walked to Caunsall to try the Anchor pub however it has restricted opening times so can’t give you an update on that.

All-in-all we had a lovely trip and will be back. From looking at the OS there are some lovely walks towards Kingsford Country Park and Kinver so we’ll try those next time. 


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paulmold 57 reviews from this member

 Only ever use this site as a one-night stopover and have been here 7 or 8 times. Facilities have been upgraded since last visit with more hardstandings but they still haven't put in TV boosters (do anyC&CC sites have them?).

No matter where we pitch we never get TV (maybe the odd channel but normally nothing). Apart from the pub next door there is nothing locally to do so on a wet October evening it would be nice to watch some TV. There is free WiFi now.

I can't understand why sites such as Wolverley which is not exactly in a holiday area, have a minimum two night booking rule out of high season so we can never pre-book, we just turn up and always get a pitch. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alison matthews 1 review from this member

 Hello I have been using wolverley camp site since approximately 1976 on and off and through all those years I have never had a bad experience there the managers and wardens have always been totally professional in all things.

But I have to say that the managers we have at the moment are without doubt the best we have ever had Ann and martin are always ready to help with whatever the problem may be and as far as we are concerned the longer they stay with us the better.

The site is always looking at its best the toilets are always meticulous and what more could you ask for. After saying all this I still think there are a couple of points the club could do to make it better.

First of all the tv reception at wolverley is patchy to say the least and surely these days it would be possible to put some form of amplifier on the site to help with the early and late dark and cold nights.

Also I know that quite a few of our sites do have seasonal pitches and although I know that wolverley is a very busy site mostly it is mainly at weekends and so there are a lot of pitches free during the week.

Surely it would make sense to use some of the pitches as seasonal pitches firstly to allow us decrepit oldies and regular users the chance to come down during the quiet times and secondly the chance for the club to make extra revenue as more pitches would be used more often ( just a thought ) it would be nice to let me know what you think cheers 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Steve.c 10 reviews from this member

 Used to love this this site and have clocked up 76 nights since 2016, however I shall never go there again as long the warden is there !

After staying there recently for three weeks I tethered my dog in the "Please park your doggie here " area outside reception and went into reception to try and extend my stay !

Understandably after a couple of minutes my dog started to cry. At that point the warden appeared and shouted "I don't have to put up with the racket on my day off, move him now and never put him there again !"

I have reported him to the Camping and Camping Club customer services and they have investigated and listened to his side of the story which was "

The whole site was being disturbed and he was concerned for the other campers ! Customer services response was well if you don't want to go there again, , we have other sites ! 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pendywooley 21 reviews from this member

 Again chosen because of canal nearby. Nice open site with surrounding trees and old wall, slopes down from reception area. Our pitch at the bottom of the slope near old wall and trees was level and well drained. TV reception OK.

The Lock Pub was mentioned on arrival, as it was late afternoon, and being dog friendly we had to visit. A brief walk out the back gate. A longer walk into Kidderminster along the canal next day.

Toilet and washing facilities were the usual club standard.

The lighting at night around the sloping path and step to this area is poor. There are pillars which could easily have lights on them to show the narrow step/s. I missed one small step at night and jarred my ankle because the path also slopes downwards.

Staff friendly and helpful. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: *deb* 22 reviews from this member

 I love this site!

It is close to home and really excellent for a home from home get away! We chose a grass pitch bordering the lane. At the time of our stay (prior to the summer holidays) there were no other children on site and it really was excellent - quiet and very clean!

As it is not far from home our daughter went to school during the day leaving us with some quality time. Truly a great aspect of owning a van! There is a very large playing field to one side of the site which we enjoyed a game or two of frisbee in - this is also a local dog walking area so watch where you are walking. Mostly fine though.

I did feel like I disturbed the wardens when we turned up, and we were not given a site map and struggled to find a map on site either. Minor niggles though.

There are lovely walks by the canal nearby and the pub is great for watching canal traffic!

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jane1954 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this site, having not visited for a few years since retiring!
The staff were friendly and welcoming and offered us a choice of pitches, we had a slightly sloping grass pitch, but there are more hardstandings now along with resurfaced roads and paths
There are trees for shade or open parts.
The facilities have been refurbished since our last visit and were excellent, always clean and good hot showers.
TV reception is not good, best on the top pitches unless you have a sat dish!
Phone signal was pretty good and the site has C&CC wifi all over.
There is some road noise at times.
The site is ideally situated for walks along the canal in one direction to Kidderminster or the other direction nearby villages. There is a large sports field and some open land next to the site where people exercise dogs.
Its a nice walk (or bike ride) to Kidderminster, the retail park has a Sainsburys and various other outlets plus a coffee shop or three! There is a petrol station too.
The Lock pub is a short stroll, it does excellent food but does get busy at times. Next to it is a minigolf course.
A short walk past the Lock (take small road on right by minigolf) will take you into the old village centre where there is another pub, the Queens Head, which also does good food and beer!

Its not far to nearby Bridgnorth, a pretty town and Severn Valley Railway station.
Alternatively go to Kidderminster station, which is the other end of Severn Valley Railway, great trips on the steam trains with lovely stops en route and scenic countryside.
Its not too far to other attractions such as West Mids Safari Park and RAF Cosford Aerospace museum or Ironbridge. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Steve.c 10 reviews from this member

 Hi Folks. Just returned from another visit to this great site but this time with my new caravan. On arrival I was checked in by the new Wardens who were friendly and helpful ! There has been some more work done to the site, new tarmac roads and the addition of some more hardstanding pitches. There are also plans to demolish and upgrade the Motorhome service point. The usual facilities remain as clean and spotless as always with lots of things to do in and around the area. This remains one of my favourite local sites and I will keep on returning. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: KeithChesterfield 12 reviews from this member

 Staff very helpful.

Good but expensive site – included EHU.

Wardens very helpful and their Halloween event was appreciated by all who attended.

Plenty of dog walks close by and canal tow paths that stretch for many miles.

The Lock Inn 50 yards from the site is well worth a visit.

The Motorhome service point is better than many we have seen with easily accessible grate for grey water disposal.

Very quiet at night. 


Previous     109 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wolverley Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Wolverley Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kidderminster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Worcestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1298 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020