Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodhill Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer > Woodhill Park Reviews

Woodhill Park
Cromer Road
East Runton
Cromer
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR27 9PX
Tel: 01263 512242
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 300
Open: March-october

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 182 Reviews
                8/10 from 182 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  182 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 14+ Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: TimCESmith 33 reviews from this member

We stayed on a "serviced premium pitch" (ie not less than 100 square metres, with EHU) and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. It's not our usual sort of site, being very caravanny, purpose-built-commercial and a bit of a car park. There is very little separation between pitches, so you will feel cheek-by-jowl when the site is full, but it does mean you get splendid views: Sheringham Shoal out to sea, Beeston Bump, and the Runtons inland. It's a clifftop site - you will feel the wind.

We were pitched well away from the road, but it was still noisy at night once the zillion Easter caravans had left. Presumably it's the same handful of boy racers who have drilled out the silencers on their horrible two-strokes and whizz up and down at all hours.

The ground is excellent: really firm, with no stones. The staff mow religiously so the grass is healthy and short as a good lawn. Our pitch (93) was very well placed, near the "BBQ block" facilities with their family bathrooms, washing up facilities, chemical disposal and even a dog shower. Press Taps Of Doom for the humans' showers but plenty of hot water. They were beautifully cleaned but did get a bit grim over the Easter bank holiday when the site was at its fullest. There's a very swanky new set of ablutions in the reception block with adjustable temperature showers and trendy modern fittings, but they don't work as well. Drainage is poor throughout and in the showers you're standing in a pool of everyone else's filth and spores.

One drawback for long stay tenters is the slope. Anywhere except the middle of the main field it's just steep enough to give you back ache overnight and you'll want some non-slip matting to go under your gin.

The reason we stayed here was because I had to go back to work for the second week, leaving Mrs TimCESmith and 10yo without a car. It's walking distance from lovely Cromer and Sheringham and there are bus stops in both directions right outside the entrance. The excellent West Runton Beach Cafe is two fields away along the cliff top. There's an excellent play area for children and a meadow for kite flying. There's lots to do and see in the area as well as the beach of course - we went sailing, visited Holkham, Felbrigg, Muckleburgh, Norwich etc, and still had plenty of time for idly chilling.

The staff are helpful and polite. The on site shop is great - everything you need including excellent local beer. We preferred Woodhill to the nearby West Runton C&CC site because the location is better; it's more cheerful and, with the views, you know you're in North Norfolk, whilst the quality is at least as good.

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Nesty 4 reviews from this member

When going to North Norfolk, I donít usually stay at this site, as my usual one was closed, so opted for Woodhill.

I have to say nothing really wrong with the stay. There wasnít many people staying that time of year, the facilities were clean and the showers were really hot, in fact so hot it just bordered on my tolerance level, though I assume due to probably being only person using them at that time.

I did have problems finding the pitch at first and there isnít any physical guidance (like a warden) as such, but plots are numbered and there is signage you just have to find your bearings.

The location is handy, the bus stops (east & westbound) are right outside and a short walk to East Runton, where there is a pub (The lifeboat) and shops. Cromer is walkable even at night (itís straight pavement), so no cross country walking.

If the site not busy it can be open to the winds if they blowing in a certain direction, as you can clearly see across to Beeston Mount, which leads to my 1 of only 2 gripes about this site. I found the washing up area there wasnít enough cover, the area is protected from the rain, but there are no doors or windbreakers and many times it was like washing up in a wind tunnel, I didnít enjoy that experience.

The other is the road noise, Woodhall is right on the A149, if you are based at the front field, you might notice some road noise at night. Itís not that bad traffic wise, but some nights got woken up with boy racers with noisy exhausts. I found the plot even level, though if you were further up the field to get away from the road, you would require levelling chocks.

A decent stay and would recommend.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lenandlou 10 reviews from this member

Very good indeed.

This is a large site, and even in the first week of September was quite full. There were never however any problems.

The facilities were very good and clean, and reception/shop was very decent, (papers, some food/drink, loads of information, friendly staff).

The bus service up and down the coast is excellent, (if sometimes white knuckle), and there is easy walking on coast path (check itís still there) and beach (watch tides) to North and South.

The site organises a variety of activities, and we took a free guided walk along the beach/cliff, looking at the geology, biology etc. It was brilliant, and would look to repeat and see the others on offer.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pilgrim730 9 reviews from this member

Just back from a few days at Woodhill and felt obliged to add a review.

The Staff are very friendly and helpful, and the whole booking/arrival system is good.

The ablution blocks were very clean and tidy, with regular cleaning being carried out.

The pitch was spacious.

No complaints at all.

A couple of tips and info

The likelihood of having to use levelling blocks is high, so don't like me forget to load them.

There is a really good caravan/camping/Motorhome shop in West Runton, who have a fantastic stock of useful gear (including levelling ramps which I had to buy LoL)

If you have a Motorhome and want to explore the local area I can recommend A local car hire in Cromer - 'YES' is a father and son set up that are very helpful, and will collect and return you to site prior to and post hire, and have good sensible rates.

We will definitely be returning to this site

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dewhirst 1 review from this member

Just returned from Woodhill Park for the fourth time in three years which say's a lot. Great, friendly, spotless, as all other reviews below. The only top tip that I'd give for your journey here, if visiting from the Midland/South is to take A47 exit Swaffham A1065 and on to A149 at fakenham. Lovely stress free, avoid A149 at Kings Lynn.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Normanmansell 2 reviews from this member

Stayed for 4 nights, good sized pitches, site well kept and maintained. Toilet/ shower blocks clean and in good condition, would be nice if the showers had a fold down bench or similar as there is just a hanging hook on the back of the door, the newer block is much better. Easy walk (half mile)to a pub and chip shop if required. No direct access to beach but good views from the cliff top and plenty of walking opportunities. Both Cromer and Sheringham are walkable. All staff we encountered were friendly, easy booking in. The staff seem to genuinely enjoy working there, which is usually a good sign. Lots of money recently spent on upgrading wifi which worked well. We will return.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nightstalker76 1 review from this member

Only short review,

We just come back from a 4 day stay here and really enjoyed it.

we were worried about the size of the pitches as we did not want to be up close and personal to the next tent, but was very surprised how big each pitch was, managed to get our large 7m x 3m tent and wind breakers and car all on the pitch.

Showers was lovely and hot also refreshing 'hint' if you go in the evening its less busy, toilets well there just as they are toilets did what they was meant to do.

Staff are very friendly and nice to see the site wardens doing the rounds and helping people getting the best out of there pitch and assisting anyone that needed a helping hand.

Lovely walk to Cromer and to the local beach and was very happy that dogs are VERY welcomed on the beaches as long as you took notice where they can and cant go.

If I had to put a negative to the site as dog owner it was hill called the 'quite spot' where dogs are banned due to noise, the thing is we were a good 200 meters away from this hill and could hear all the noisy people on the hill so not only was it not quiet up there we were not allowed to enjoy the sunset from that location.

Also would like to recommend if you need any camping or caravan bits and bobs is the 'Caravan accessory shop' in west Runton (15min walk from the site), the guys in there was very helpful and go the extra mile to help you and have pretty much everything thing you need.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andy McKay 14 reviews from this member

We stayed here for the first week in June (8 nights). The site was busy at both weekends but no so during the week. The new shower block in the reception area was truly outstanding, the others were also OK but a little more dated, and all the facilities were very clean. After reading other reviews we were a little concerned about road noise and mention of a generator running. During the booking process mentioned these to the call handler who reassured me the generator was no longer there. As I was at my computer we both looked at the site using Google Maps and selected a pitch far away from the road. In my opinion truly excellent service. When we got to the site the pitch was exactly where I had selected it, the only noise was from the sea washing up the beach below. There is no access to the beach from the site probably due to cliff erosion, however there is access a short stroll along the coastal path towards Sheringham. Easy walk (for us) to Cromer (about 30mins) and about twice as far the other way to Sheringham. Only one pub at the moment in East Runton Ė The Village Inn, had 4 real ales which we tried and also served food which we didnít try. This pub has a really nice beer garden with lots of nooks and crannyís. We also dined at Rocky Bottoms specialising in crab / lobster / fish and had an excellent meal, you can also take your own wine. Rocky Bottoms is 15mins walk from the site. Internet not a problem for us as we only wanted to browse the web and there was 4g coverage so had no need to try the site wifi (we were actually notified it was quite poor by the staff). We would definitely stay here again.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bryan_k 14 reviews from this member

I have visited this site & area many times & I still rate Woodhill as the best site in the area. The pitches are nice & clean & well maintained. The amenity blocks are also clean & tidy. This site is perfectly located with easy walks into Cromer or along the cliff into Sheringham & with some really nice walks in every direction it truly is an 'amblers paradise. I like the meadows next to the campsite & it is a real pleasure to listen to the Larks singing in the evening. The coast hopper bus stops right outside the campsite & you can ride right round the North Norfolk coast on it. Best local pub was the Fishing Boat in East Runton which was £2. 50 a pint ( others were all £4. 00+ ) & has a fantastic garden at the rear, the social clubs in East & West Runton are also good places to drink & often have entertainment at weekends (everybody is welcome, including dogs & kids in East Runton). My one big grumble about Woodhill is the WiFi which is not fit for purpose, it has never worked very well on my previous visits & never worked for more than 30 minutes during my entire 7 day stay (& the site was not even busy), mobile signals can also be dodgy in the area. A lovely well located site but if you require WiFi you may like to consider other caravan sites.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lekkiman 9 reviews from this member

Just spent an enjoyable week here--The site is well kept and the toilets are immaculate, we were lucky to get a pitch close to the entrance so it was only a minutes walk to the bus stops which took us virtually anywhere and very punctual. Only down side was the wi fi --told it was intermittent but it was as good as non-existent all the time we were there. However we will definitely visit again

Previous     182 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


348 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019