Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Norfolk Broads Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Norfolk Broads Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Johnson Street
Ludham
Great Yarmouth
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR29 5NY
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 111
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 32 Reviews
                9/10 from 32 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Margaretsp 3 reviews from this member

The site is within 5 minutes walk of the river at Ludham Bridge so good dog walks were easy to find. The site also had a good but basic walk.

We pitched our caravan at the back of the site, nose in, overlooking open fields. The pitch was flat and well drained, which it needed to be given the amount of rain we experienced! The staff were friendly and cheerful and the visiting chippy was adequate but not great. We had a couple of good meals at the nearby dog friendly pub, The Dog. Would recommend it for good, no frills food that doesn't break the bank. Nearby Wroxham provided us with a day boat for a couple of hours at a reasonable charge. Don't miss the nearby Radar museum at Neatisham. It looks quite small but goes on forever and was full of really interesting stuff. They don't allow dogs in but the friendly reception staff allowed us to park round the side of the buildings in the shade and kept an eye on our pooch for us.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Salnsteve 19 reviews from this member

Fabulous site for exploring the broads. Spotless facilities and pitches, a real credit to the friendly hardworking staff. Plenty to see in the area lots of pretty villages and the real star of the show is of course the miles of broads. Not keen on the Dog pub, but the food was OK. Nice little store at Ludham bridge which is a few minutes walk from the site entrance.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CarpenterClan 15 reviews from this member

Second visit to this Club Site, centrally placed amenities block was spotless, plenty of showers and toilets. Dog walk on site, basic but does the job. Completely level site and good size pitches, some serviced pitches too. Children’s play area. A fish and chip van comes twice a week and an ice cream van comes round most days. Can walk to Ludham Bridge in 5 mins where there is a small general store, which stocks souvenirs and some food essentials. There is a pub 5 minutes walk from site called The Dog Inn which serves food, is dog friendly and has a beer garden. The nearest supermarket is the Co-op at Martham 6 miles away. Good Indian restaurant in Martham too called Martham Spice. Horning is just 2. 5 miles away and Wroxham is 6 miles away which is the best place to hire a boat for the day.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pooky 3 reviews from this member

Wow, what a lovely site. Now there is a new reception and Information Hut, it has lifted the whole appearance as you first turn into the site. During the very sunny days, lots of members sitting outside and enjoying the best of our English weather.

Lots more improvements have been made by the site staff and they always have a welcoming smile.

There is so much to do in the area, Norfolk Broads site is a fantastic base for a long holiday or short break.

Not too long now before we are going back.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Janine1947 43 reviews from this member

Large flat site big hard standing pitches with a central facilities block. There is a good information room but the bus information was completely wrong. Very friendly wardens. A fish and chip van visited. The area has lots of flat quiet cycle routes. This site advertises a bus to Norwich which we found was infrequent and unreliable. Ludham village is a nice place with shops and pub it's about half an an hour walk.

There is a pub 200 yards from the site serving good reasonable food. There is some road noise on pitches towards the front of the site and open views from back pitches.

The area is next to the Norfolk broads and there are lots of walks onto the broads.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cathy Sims 28 reviews from this member

Lovely well kept site. We had a very nice grass pitch on the far side of the site. Wardens very helpful and maintained high standards

Nice walk along the river which we enjoyed. Small local shop was good for small items but were glad we had brought stocks with us

We like to leave the van on site and walk or use buses. We found it difficult to find local walks without using roads.

We did take the van to Potter Heigham and Hickling Broad one day. Parking at Potter Heigham was easy. Up to 3 hours free if we visited Lathams. Called at the Pleasure boat pub at Hickling Broad which had a lovely location and easy parking.

Unfortunately on our way back a van hit the drivers mirror and took off. We need a whole new unit. There was plenty of space for both vehicles.

Next day we took the bus to Wroxham. Disappointed with the town hut enjoyed boat trip

We liked the site but not the area

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Thebairn 10 reviews from this member

We stayed at the Norfolk Broad Caravan Club site for five days in April this year. We were really impressed with the site. Nice and spacious, friendly wardens and spotless facilities what more can you ask for. We did have lovely weather but the location was smashing with a nice village Ludham about a mile up the road It had a small supermarket a couple of pubs and a newsagent the village has a lovely little coffee shop also and would recommend it as it is really reasonable. A few yards from the site enterance is a cafe and shop with gifts and a few essentials for bread a nd the morning papers and its on Ludham Bridge with moorings for boats which was nice to walk along and we chatted with a couple of nice owners whilst they were like ourselves enjoying a weekend away. I will definetely return

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 212 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- This site is directly off the A1062 between Wroxham and Potter Heigham. If coming from Wroxham cross Ludham Bridge and the site is a few hundred metres on the right. From the other direction once through Ludham village watch out for the Dog Inn and the site is about 100 metres on the left.

This members only campsite is situated a short walk from Ludham Bridge on the River Ant which is part of the Norfolk Broads network of rivers. Although the rows of pitches are divided by trees and shrubs the general appearance is a little bit featureless but this is not out of place with the surrounding countryside. There are 111 pitches, the majority being on gravel hardstandings but there are a few on grass. Some of the hardstanding pitches are serviced with their own water and grey waste. Electric points, rated at 16 amps and accepting CEE17 blue sockets are conveniently placed to the pitches and the electric bollards have a co-ax TV booster system, free to use but you have to provide your own cable. Water, grey waste and chemical toilet disposal points are well distributed around the site. The motorhome service point is not far from the site entrance. Unfortunately it still requires the lifting of a heavy drain cover to allow draining of waste water tanks and access is a bit short for longer motorhomes. There is one centrally situated toilet block which is of a high standard. However I would question who thought it appropriate to position the toilet paper dispenser at shoulder height alongside the toilet bowl! For children there is a very nice playground. There is also a boules court next door. There is site wide WiFi which I found of reasonable speed, time can be purchased online. There is a small information hut giving details of local attractions and transport options from the site. Reception sells a few essentials as well as some camping bits.

The site is well situated for exploring the northern rivers and Broads. Horning, Wroxham, and Potter Heigham are all within easy reach offering many opportunities for excursions and perhaps the hire of a day boat on the Broads. Norwich and Great Yarmouth are also within easy striking distance. Within easy walking distance is Ludham Bridge for some boat watching and a bit further in the other direction is Ludham village which might be better for an eating out experience. Within a 100 metres of the campsite is the Dog Inn which does food but when we looked it did not seem that impressive. For those wanting to use public transport there is a bus service which runs on about an hourly basis during the week taking you to Wroxham and Norwich. For shopping there is the Bridge Stores at Ludham Bridge but would suggest this is better suited to the emergency purchase. The better option is Roys of Wroxham which has a really good supermarket.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Eynsham Red 1 review from this member

We stayed here for two weeks and enjoyed some lovely weather. We had a warm welcome from the wardens. The site is very clean and the pitches large. There grass is kept very neat, but it would be nice maybe to have a few flower borders to add some colour. There is a nice play area and a boules pitch. (A boules set is available from reception). The showers were very clean, and although the site was full when we stayed, we never had to wait to shower. The site shop has little in stock but this is because there is a general store just two minutes walk along the road which stocks all of the essentials plus much more. The site is well placed for touring the North, East and Central Norfolk. There are a number of nice beaches within easy reach and plenty of good pubs and restaurants to eat at. Being on the Broads, naturally there are plenty of places to hire boats. We hired a small boat for a few hours from Potter Heigham a few miles from the site, but boat hire is also available from Ludham Bridge, two minutes walk from the site. We had a ride on the Bure Valley (narrow gauge) Railway from Wroxham to Aylsham and back which was fun. We'll certainly return to this site again.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bazz63 4 reviews from this member

A really good, well- run site. Clean, efficient, a little road noise but not too intrusive, very well-placed for activities. Toilet block always clean and efficient. Nice playground for children but always under-used. Easy cycling from off the site. Good access to Wroxham, GY, Norwich etc. Easy food shopping in Wroxham or GY. Canoeing access from Ludham Bridge itself with other access places not too far away. Good Birdwatching and other natural history interest all around. Electric boat trip (natural history interest) nearby. Coast not too far away - nice, clean beach at Sea Palling. WiFi was being upgraded while I was there. (July) Why couldn't this have been done in the Winter? Too many dogs on site. The Club should be re-named 'The Large Caravan and Kennel Club. ' Why should members pay for children, WiFi etc but NOT for any number of dogs? Hard to understand this. Anyway, no fault of site managers who are doing a first-class job of running a good site in an excellent location. Would go again if they had a 'dog-free' week. Unlikely, though!

Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3842 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019