Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Norwich Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Norwich Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Martineau Lane
Norwich
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR1 2HX
Tel: 01603 620060
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/04 to 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 42 Reviews
                8/10 from 42 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: PedroPete61 20 reviews from this member

A small site on the outskirts of Norwich, it is a popular site for this and Dutch travellers. The facilities need upgrading as this an old site but kept clean by the teams who are helpful and friendly. There is a bus route close by as well a small shop and Fish and chip shop, as well as an anglers shop, fishing is available on the river close to the site. Out of the site there is a Public house across the field about 1. 7 miles or by bike, there is a cycle track to the city centre and is available on modern phones. One warning two low bridges are close to this site so be careful which way come here.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Outwellnotts 5 reviews from this member

A lovely warm welcome on arrival from the wardens, who offered suggestions for local attractions, beaches etc. The site is kept beautifully, the flower displays are so colourful and pretty. The shower and toilet block are spotless, with plenty of hot water always available. Little shop on site for supplies that opens daily. It a nice steady walk into Norwich city centre from the site. We booked this site to visit national trust properties and it was ideal.

Reading some reviews before booking, some reviewers had been less than kind, but please don't be put off by negative report, relating to the facilities.

Although the site was busy, the only noise was from the train track behind the campsite, but that was intermittent. We would recommend this site to anyone who likes to relax on a lovely campsite, and would like to visit this lovely city of Norwich

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Purplebean 19 reviews from this member

We have just spent an enjoyable week at this site. As the site is on the edge of Norwich it is rather noisy. It is between two railway lines and there is quite a lot of car noise. Saying that this wouldn't stop us returning.

The site is small and has a lot of trees, some pitches are completely under trees and this makes it rather dark. We had a pitch in the middle which was lighter.

The facilities are exactly what you would expect on a C&CC site, hot water, clean and I never had to wait to use them.

Plenty to do in the area we visited RAF Museum, Grimes Graves, Oxburgh Hall, Castle Acre and spent a day in Norwich. There were many other things we didn't have time for.

We will certainly revisit the area and would happily stay at this site again

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mrshole 2 reviews from this member

Two male and two female showers is not adequate for this site. To be honest they are not that nice either and you have to pay 20p for hair dryers! People are queuing for a shower!

The pitches are bizarre, felt like we were plonked in the middle of nowhere. For £30 I would expect a super pitch! Not impressed. Spend your money elsewhere ?! Especially don't pay £30!

Seem to be a few dictators here, demanding people move their cars too! It was a bit of entertainment for the rest of the site!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 212 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- Leave Norwich Southern Bypass onto A146 and head towards Norwich. At T junction turn left onto Barrett Road. At first set of traffic lights turn left onto Long John Hill passing under railway bridge with 10. 2 foot clearance. Take next left into Martineau Lane and site is a short distance on the right through green gates. The entrance is quite tight so care is required. An alternative route if you require a greater height is rather than turn left at first set of traffic lights continue to second set of light and turn left into Mansfield lane and take second left. At mini roundabout take first left and just past the Cock Inn turn right into Martineau Lane and then as above. (The first option is currently not available as they are replacing the railway bridge but it us due to reopen soon, check with site, particularly if bridge height has changed)

The Norwich C&CC site is not unlike a small French Municipal campsite and equally as rustic as some! It consists of three pitching areas, two for touring units and one for back packing tents which has no vehicular access. The area next to reception has a lot of mature trees but the second touring section is more open. The advantage of this campsite is its close proximity to Norwich City Centre, it also accepts non-members. There are 50 touring pitches, plus tents, all on grass, some may require levelling. For those pitches that have electrics the points use CEE17 blue connectors and are rated at 16amps. The toilet block, whilst kept perfectly clean is somewhat old fashioned and could do with a refurbishment. It does however have a covered dish wash area and a small laundry room. There are limited water points and only one service point which is some distance from the furthest pitches. There is no motorhome service point although there is a tap where you can attach a hose to fill fresh water tanks. Emptying grey water is best done manually, if this is not possible best to discuss this with the site manager to see if a drain cover can be removed. Reception sells a few essentials and has exchange gas bottles. There is site wide WiFi however I found the connection would drop out frequently and you would need to login again. There was a good mobile signal which perhaps could be used as an alternative. Near to the site is a railway line with frequent services so some noise should be expected although we found it did not particularly cause us an issue perhaps because none of the trains were going that fast.

You can walk (uphill) into Norwich which is a distance of just under two miles. Alternatively you can use the regular Monday to Saturday bus service from Cavell Road, the number 39/39A runs at 20 minute intervals but not run into the evening. Obviously Norwich is an excellent shopping centre, including its famous Market and also has a wide choice of restaurants. For more basic supplies there is a general store and fish and chip shop not far from the site. Norwich is also very historic and the Castle Museum is well worth a visit as is the Cathedral. The campsite have City maps so you can plot out the things you want to visit.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Timsinc 13 reviews from this member

Very noisy - constant all-night traffic roar, thundering nearby trains that also hoot their horns. And on my visit, tree pruning and felling with all accompanying machinery whines and thumps. Just glad it wasn't raining because on this busy small site you'll likely get placed under trees. A neighbour warned me that guey stick comes off the leaves.

Positives? Nice small woodland riverside walk. But with outdated ablutions etc (only two gents toilets) and no motorhome service point, I won't be back.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RIMMER 173 reviews from this member

The cheerful warden was quite apologetic over the lack of facilities here but the toilets/showers were clean and functional. Quiet at night except for the resident Tawny Owl, only heard the trains during the day. The bus No. 39 to Norwich runs every 20 mins about a 10 min walk away, near the chippie (directions from warden). The last bus back is 2030 and is the 37B. Didn't try the pub down the road but noticed it was up for sale.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dooney 4 reviews from this member

We went for Whitsun bank holiday and the site was fully booked. The day before the warden offered us an electric pitch which wasn't previously available. We were grateful for this. On arrival we were offered a choice of 2 pitches - 1 quite dark in corner under trees or 1 in an area next to tent field. We chose the latter and glad we did. There were only 2 tents in the field behind our pitch most of the time. You cannot park in the tent field and have to unload across the fence (next to where we were!) so glad that area wasn't busy! There are only 2 showers and one of them is tiny (I think to allow for a family one next to it). Most of the staff were extremely friendly and the site is kept very tidy with the grass cut short. Next to us was a gate through to a dog walk next to the river which is lovely. The walk to Norwich was longer than expected (about 40 minutes) and there were no buses on a Sunday which was disappointing for a City. Norwich Cathedral is well worth a visit as its free and allows dogs inside.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Julzgeraghty 7 reviews from this member

We used this site as a base to visit Norwich. The site is flat and grassy, and the warden helped us find a south facing pitch so we could enjoy the sun. The facilities, as others have said, are dated, but were always clean and we never had to wait. We were concerned to see how close the train line ran, but as the trains went by very slowly, noise was not an issue at all. We enjoyed a walking tour of The Lanes in Norwich - well worth a visit. We visited the cathedral. Banham Zoo is also only 30 minute drive away. With the country park and the Broads nearby, you certainly won't be short of things to do.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Carol Jean 21 reviews from this member

Very clean. Very friendly and helpful couple who ran it. We enjoy a bit of cycling (on the flat!) when we are on holiday so we cycled into Norwich. We followed a cycling map showing different coloured routes but unfortunately it is difficult to find the colours on lampposts etc when you get near the centre! It is very difficult stopping and starting to look at a map when you are on a bike so that was a bit frustrating. There are virtually no cycle lanes in the centre and there is a lot of traffic. We cycled to Whitlington park and around the lake, a total of 6 miles so that was nice. We drove to Wroxham and cycled the Bure Valley Railway path. I recommend stopping at Coltishall. We also hired a small boat at Wroxham and sailed to Horning –that was lovely! There is a great pub next door to the site called The Cock. Food was good there.

Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


958 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019