Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Dell Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds > The Dell Touring Park Reviews

The Dell Touring Park
Beyton Road
Thurston
Bury St Edmunds
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP31 3RB
Tel: 01359 270121
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40 (6 tent pitches)
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 88 Reviews
                9/10 from 88 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  88 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mandyw 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely big pitches.

Nice view and good location for A14 and access to Bury St Edmund's.

Clean facilities and welcoming.

A little road noise from A14 but that didn't worry us too much. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Tonyol 2 reviews from this member

 Very polite and helpful

Gave us a family bathroom, was super clean, we were the only ones with key

Very helpful asking if we needed a hand putting up and ripping down

Was lovely for 2 night stay to see me family 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alanedwin 10 reviews from this member

 Site is easy to get too being off the main road, canít deny there is road noise but it really didnít worry us, after about 2 hrs we did t even notice it.

The site is well run and we weíre welcomed warmly and given a choice of pitches. There is an Adult only side to the site which is excellent. The pitches are level and spacious with grass and gravel areas. The facilities are spotless and there is a bathroom with bath. I have never seen that at any campsite in the last 9yrs!

There are pubs to left and right, approx 1 mile each way, we only went to the one in Thurston, The Fox and Hounds which has Sky Sports in one bar, and didnít eat. We were told the Beyton Bear wa excellent but didnít try it.

There is a bike path from the village all the way to Bury St Edmonds which is about 4 miles. You have to cycle along the minor road to the village but I am a novice and managed it fine.

We had a wonderful time and would definitely return.

Thanks for a great stay. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Maggie53 11 reviews from this member

 This is a super site. We were given a warm welcome on arrival, shown to our pitch, and shown the facilities. They are some of the best we have seen with plen2ty of hot water and kept spotlessly clean. Pitches are generously sized.

We knew about the proximity of the A14 when we booked. Yes it was a bit noisy but even though we were at the end of the site that was closest it didn't disturb us too much and we got used to it.

There is lots to do in the area. The seaside at Felixstowe is only about 40 mins away. Ickworth house and Park are worth visiting, and Bury St Edmunds is an interesting town.

We were shown round the water mill at Pakenham which was interesting, with a cafe and nature trail. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kevah 3 reviews from this member

 We have been to The Dell Caravan site a few times before. We really like this site and will visit again. All the facilities are nice and clean.

Ideal site to visit Bury St Edmunds. The site is open all year and has hard standing.

Nice to see Gary again who is on site. Thanks for a lovely stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: P seward 1 review from this member

 Great little campsite. Stayed with my 3 little dogs. Immaculate showers and toilets very clean. Very friendly wardens, even offered to drop us to local pub and pick us up. Will be back. Peter the house hunting couple 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mustang75 22 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 2 nights to take a break from the busy town where we live and to do a little exploring. We were greeted upon arrival by a friendly and helpful chap who got us parked up, booked in and paid for straight away. The site was immaculately clean and tidy and the toilet and shower blocks were about the best I have ever seen! Spotless, warm and with everything you need, even a bath!

Plenty of space for camping with a family site and adults only site each side of the facilities and within easy reach of some great attractions and lovely villages, not to mention Bury St Edmunds just round the corner. We chose to visit the English Whiskey company and have a tour - well worth a visit!

I cannot fault this site - the only thing I would say (as have others), is that the noise from the A14 and the road next to the campsite is constant - albeit not incredibly loud, enough to disrupt the peace and quiet from time to time. It rained whilst we were there and that increased the noise levels slightly. Don't let this put you off though as it's a brilliant base for touring!

Highly recommended! 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: PaulineK 11 reviews from this member

 Best wishes to Dawn and Andrew on your move. Always a joy going to your wonderful campsite. Pitches are flat and well drained, Dawn and Andrew are a joy, always helpful and, most importantly, the toilets and showers are immaculate. You really are going to be a hard act to follow. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Eco priest 1 review from this member

 We liked this site from the very moment we arrived, unannounced and unbooked, at about 8. 30 pm and Andrew made us welcome, gave us a choice of pitches and all the information we could need that night. He couldn't have been more helpful in the morning too. Having said we didn't need a hook-up we ran out of gas, and so hooked up to electricity for an hour or so - for which he didn't charge us. Clean, flat, well kept, pleasant views, etc. , and everything worked! It felt quite spacious too, and it seemed that the pitches were large. Not only that, it was very good value for money, and showers were included.

But, having said all that, noise level is a very personal thing. We usually stay on certificated locations deep in the country, but were too late to reach one on this occasion. And by comparison with those, it was not what we could call quiet. Traffic noise was constant until quite late and from an early hour. So you have to balance your priorities, and if 'quiet' for you means little or no traffic noise, you have to weigh this against the otherwise generally outstanding qualities of the site 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Diane66 2 reviews from this member

 Once again returned to The Dell after last year when I put my back out and was unable to do anything. I must say this is a lovely site, noise from A14 very minimal despite what some say, you really do not notice it. The sight is very well run by Dawn & Andrew at the moment (They have sold it to new owners) who make you really welcome, new owners will have to have high standards to keep up with them. Diane & I wish them well in there retirement. Visited a few NT properties around the area. Very well situated. Wish both Andrew & Dawn a very happy retirement.

Diane & Colin (Hester). 


Previous     88 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Dell Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Dell Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Dell Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bury St Edmunds      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3564 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement