Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Outney Meadow Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bungay > Outney Meadow Caravan Park Reviews

Outney Meadow Caravan Park
Outney Meadow Park
Bungay
Suffolk   (Browse area)
NR35 1HG
Tel: 01986 892338
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 45
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 49 Reviews
                8/10 from 49 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Kate1969 1 review from this member

 Had a 4 night stay with my 13 year old son and we had a great time. Had a good pitch

And we’re made to feel welcome, on arrival.

Toilet and shower block always tidy. Had a super time definitely go back again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Vwdubman 26 reviews from this member

 Although the appearance of the campsite from the entrance doesn’t look great you receive a warm welcome and are shown to your pitch.

The grass pitches are set in hedge lined sections and have both electric hook up and non electric pitches.

The showers and toilets are clean and functional.

The river Waveney runs down the side of the campsite and you can hire canoes and kayaks for a paddle down this lovely stretch of the river.

The town of Bungay is a 10 minute walk away and has all you need, the town has several pubs The fleece serving quality food and a decent pint of real ale ( other beers and lagers are available) the Green Dragan is more of a drinkers pub ( it has its own brewery on the premises) but does do a few bar snacks.

Beccles is a 20 minute drive if you require a big shop with Tesco’s, Morrison’s and Aldi all within a 1/4 on the same road.

With the campsite being right on the main A143 there is some road noise.

Would I go back there? Yes have booked for another week there in September. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RIMMER 190 reviews from this member

 Great location being just off the main road and five or so minute walk into the town which has everything you'd need, best of all being the brew pub Green Dragon with its own Green Dragon beers, buses can be caught from the town to as far as Norwich though we just settled for a bus ride to Beccles. The site is very secluded and quiet with a nice riverside walk so don't be put off by the rather shabby entrance. The only negative is the basic shower/toilet block though perfectly functional. Paid a very reasonable £18/night. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Phil and Mag 5 reviews from this member

 Perfect site for us as lightweight campers travelling by bikes with small'ish tent etc carried in bike trailer. Flat, well drained site - we survived an overhead thunderstorm with no flooding:) Good clean facilities and very professional owners who immediately made us welcome & invited us to move a picnic table closer to our pitch. Extremely reasonable rates.

15 minute walk into Bungay for local shops, wonderful Fisher theatre & bus services. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Badger54 19 reviews from this member

 Just spent 3 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The situation of the site is perfect, a 5 minute walk into town, and right alongside the river for launching canoes. We stayed on one one of the fields down by the river and the area is not divided up into individual pitches but you pick your own space and there are plenty of electric points.

There are picnic tables all over the site which you can carry to your pitch if you want to, and the site has a very laid-back feel to it.

The shower and toilet facilities are clean but with only 2 of each I guess they would be a little busy at certain times. The only little gripe I have is the charge of 20p to use hot water for washing-up.

The owners are very friendly and we would certainly return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Angidub 2 reviews from this member

 Cannot fault this site at all. My husband and I and our 2 small dogs spent 2 nights here and will definitely be returning. The site is clean and well kept.

The people that greeted us at reception were warm and friendly.

It was lovely to hear the children (and some adults) having fun on the rope swing into the river.

All round laid back and beautiful site. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sheffield Davs 18 reviews from this member

 A lovely friendly site on the edge of Bungay.

The site is easy to find with good access off the A143. Don't be put off by the entrance area where you pull up to book in. A number of old static caravans and a rusty tractor are a bit off putting but the rest of the site is clean and tidy.

Reception was friendly and they gave us a great map of a cycle route to Beccles (about 8 miles) along quiet back lanes and past a couple of lovely pubs (the Locks Inn and the Wherry both at Geldeston). Various Suffolk websites have other routes, all using quiet back lanes and with no hills to speak of, cycling is easy, safe and enjoyable in that wonderful Suffolk countryside.

£22 per night is a fair price for spacious flat pitches and we were on a concrete base too which made it perfectly flat. The toilet block is dated but clean and well maintained.

The site is very dog friendly (as is most of Bungay) and the open common behind the site is lovely for a walk. The River Waveney comes around the back of the site and kids can swim in there or you can hire canoes.

Best of all, the Green Dragon pub is 200yds walk into town across the main road. Again, don't be put off by the factory on the roundabout, Bungay is an attractive little town with numerous pubs, shops and cafes. We found the Fleece and the Chequers welcoming and friendly but if you like beer, the Green Dragon is a great little boozer. Unspoilt with its own brewery, they do an excellent bitter at £2. 70 a pint and the marvelous 'gold' at £2. 80.

We will be back! 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nina76 1 review from this member

 May Bank Holiday Stay, 4 nights.

We had been looking forward to this visit for some months as our first proper outing of the year. We were not disappointed. We wanted a riverside campsite, ideally for swimming and canoeing. This delivered perfectly on those ideals. There is even a rope swing over the river.

The pitch was flat and level and the toilet block wasn't far to walk either. It was regularly cleaned and we had no issues with it or the showers.

The village is only a short walk, don't be put off by the 'hill' we drove in on the first night after it being described as such but were ashamed of ourselves. Its an easy walk with plenty of shops.

We were a group of 3 (1 large tent and 2 tourers) with adults and one teenager, the proximity to the river was why we chose this site, I imagine with a few toddlers it may not be ideal, but it was exactly what we were looking for.

The owners/managers were lovely, I don't think I saw the chap on his bike stop smiling once the whole time we were there.

We'll definitely go back as riverside gems like this are rare. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elainemcd 15 reviews from this member

 Chose this site because we wanted to explore Bungay with our Friends and it's location meant we could easily walk into the town. It was also next to Outney common which had some lovely walks.

This is a lovely friendly site and nothing is too much trouble. We were shown to our spacious pitch and had our friends in their motorhome next to us.

The toilet and shower block, as previously stated, is small and dated but had been recently painted and was always clean. I do think this would get very busy in high season.

The fee of £18 including electric is fair but only because of the position of the site.

We had 2 lovely meals in The fleece but you need to book for a Saturday night. Bungay is a very interesting town and even has it's own theatre.

We will probably stay here again. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Freckles63 66 reviews from this member

 Stayed Sat - Tues at start of Oct half term £14 night, £4 ehu (which we think is a bit steep). Lovely site but bit too muddy at this time of year, we were put on field that was quite shadey and didn't get the daytime sun, which probably didn't help the ground to dry.

Only one toilet/shower block that only had 2 showers in ladies, this would of been totally inadequate in the summer as it looked like there were a lot of tent pitches.

Short walk into Bungay passing The Green Dragon pub which brews it's own beer, can recommend The Suffolk Stonehouse restaurant near the church in town where we had a meal on the Saturday night.

We had a good 7 mile run around the common and into the woods plus into Earsham, we also put our inflatable kayak onto the river for a good couple of hours on the Sunday as it was a lovely day, access is direct from the site. The area is lovely and the common is great for walking. There is a golf course next door.

The warden was a very nice helpful guy who made time to chat about the area.

The 'A' road just outside the site and the nearby 'Clays' factory do mean that there is a lot of background noise but in a caravan this wasn't an issue.

For location, acccess to town and ease of outside persuits I think this site is great and would return again. 


Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Outney Meadow Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Outney Meadow Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Outney Meadow Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bungay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1105 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement