Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Yarwell Mill Camping & Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough > Yarwell Mill Camping & Touring Park Reviews

Yarwell Mill Camping & Touring Park
Yarwell
Mill Road
Peterborough
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE8 6PZ
Tel: 01780 782344
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 150
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 45 Reviews
                7/10 from 45 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jennycolin 4 reviews from this member

 What a gem! We will definitely return. The site was very quiet as it was mid-week. We loved the local area, great walk to the river and enjoyed watching narrowboats going through the lock. We explored the steam railway stations in the area and were lucky enough to see an engine under full steam, which was a thrill.

The Canada geese on site had babies, which was lovely.

The facilities were fine, always nice to see heaters in a shower room, plus its own toilet and basin, much appreciated. The building work we had read about was still going on but it didn't bother us, and the surrounding countryside is lovely.

One of the nicer sites we have visited. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Freckles63 54 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 3 nights in the October half term £22. 00 with EHU. We were pitched on 'Meadowfields' (No6)this was after starting to set up on No10 but then discovering the electric unit for pitches 9+10 wasn't working, even though apparently it had been reported!

The gap between pitches 8+9 was being used as a through road by the contractors/ electric buggies to get to the back of the field where an unsightly rubbish dump was ever growing. This was reported, apparently passed on but it continued the whole time we were there.

The nearest pub that also happens to have good food is The Angel in Yarwell village, a short walk out of site and turn right, we were lucky enough to be there for their monthly music quiz on the Thursday night and had a great evening.

There are 2 more pubs and a shop in the other direction in Nassington village, the first pub is a hotel The Queens Head and the 2nd pub is at furthest end of village The Black Horse.

You can get to the 'Yarwell' station of the Nene Valley railway by walking through the gate by the lock on site, well worth the walk just to see the trains even if you don't want to travel.

We visited Peterborough to see the Cathedral, not much else there other than the normal shops, there isn't a park and ride.

We also visited Sibson airfield a couple miles away to see the parachutists, although you can see them clearly from the site as we did on the Friday.

As already said in previous reviews there is a lot of building work and contractors at the site all week, there will be a lot of residential lodges once finished. There are also a lot of seasonal and yearly caravans sited along the river edge.

I know it is the end of the season but we got the feeling that the reception really need to clue up on the camping side of things, loosing our booking to begin with, then allowing us to pitch on a site that had no electric working. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Endoshot 2 reviews from this member

 Use this site at your peril. It is a very noisy muddy building site 7 days a week starting 8 am every day and it's going to be that way for years while they phase out caravans for the luxury lodges. Take your wellies and ear plugs. Make sure you arrive nice and early because you can't get in outside of office hours. Lots of potential but very poorly run. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: H Family 4 reviews from this member

 We camped here with our 9 month old daughter for 1 night in August. We had a grass pitch with electric hook up. The camping field is huge and flat with tons of room in the centre for kids to play and not disturb other campers

The toilet and shower facilities were excellent

Nene Valley steam railway is only about a 10 minute walk away and you can access the platform for free (recommended)

It's also nice to watch boats coming through Yarwell lock in the grounds of the site

The site is child friendly and safe but doesn't have a playground (which would give it 10/10 for child friendliness)

The reception is a professional set up

The only downside was there was a bit of building work going on so some of the ground around the site was a bit boggy 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Simplife 1 review from this member

 We thought this would be our ideal site, on a river, with three pubs within walking distance. Unfortunately for campers the new owners are concentrating on developing an estate of “park homes”. So this summer there is building work, noise, trenches dug across parts of the site, churned up roadways and heaps of earth and rubbish at one end of the site: well away from pitches, but unsightly.

All of the river and lakeside pitches appear to be occupied by permanent or seasonal caravans. There are about 20 EHU pitches for tourers.

There is a nice new facilities block with spacious individual bathrooms, each with a toilet, basin and excellent shower; there are also separate toilets.

But the washing up area is very poor: a shed with three sinks and drainers and only cold water. It was filthy when we visited. The rubbish area was overflowing, with piles of bags heaped outside the bins. There didn’t appear to be any laundry facilities.

The reception seems to be geared to selling homes. We had to check in by 4. 30 pm (on a Saturday) when the office closed. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Catandbones01 4 reviews from this member

 One of our favourite sites - quiet peaceful great pub (the angel) in walking distamce that does good food and of your lucky live entertainment.

Surrounded by yhe river you can watch the boats come through the locks, launch your own canoe, fish the lake or just sit and chill.

Toilets and showers were brand new and still snagging but clean and plentiful, site is in the process of being rearranged to accommodate more permanent dwellings but there still plenty of room for all.

Only downside is you have to arrive by 5pm to book in and collect your gate pass. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JohnnyTwosheds 14 reviews from this member

 The site lived up to expectation from the description for views peace and scenery and the staff were pleasant and helpful though we only stayed one night.

My only disappointments were the lack of recycling facilities and that the showers/toilets were grubby and in need of a makeover. Though I was told that it had already been done! Do not misunderstand me. Everything else about the site was truly enjoyable but if the managers ensured that the toilets and showers were cleaned properly and they were kept in as good a state as the rest of the site then this would merit a 10/10.

I believe that there is a genuine wish by the owners for it to be a pristine, top site and, for very little further investment, it really could be just that.

All said, I would still return as the location is wonderful and at £25 for the night represents fair value. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tracy1962moss 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 7 nights and it was with trepidation I booked this site after reading some of the reviews but this is what I thought

On arrival we were directed to a lovely spot backing the pond, a nice flat grass pitch close to the entrance, toilets and showers.

The site is vast but very tranquil and beautiful. Delightful surroundings with the boats on the river and the lake and pond. My other half enjoyed fishing all three with moderate success, There are most definitely fish in all three including some big carp and tench in the lake and pike and perch in the pond and river. He never had problems accessing any of them to fish although some swims obviously belonged to private vans others were always available.

The toilets and showers were always clean and there was no charge to use them. They were not push button so ran as long as desired and they were adjustable, a godsend for shorter people. There was also an undercover wash up area with piping hot water.

It was a ten minute walk to three pubs, we visited the Angle Inn (turn right out of the campsite]and loved It so much we never made it to the other pubs! Very welcoming and friendly and very dog friendly. Lovely garden, lovely food and a huge range of still ciders. The locals were welcoming and entertaining and during out stay they had karaoke, Morris dancers, quizzes, and open mic night.

A ten minute walk to yarwell station for the steam train(through the campsite by the dog walking field and not accessible by car] at about £15 per head for a rover ticket(only type available]. We went to Peterborough, but beware, not all trains return to Yarwell, some terminate at Wansford so we had to walk the final leg of the journey as there are no busses, cabs etc. So plan your journey and check your train times. Lovely train though and it had a buffet car.

The staff were all friendly and helpful in particular John who went that extra mile when our lab got herself stuck in the river. Thanks John. And Howard who gave some good advice on where to fish

Lots of lovely dog walks and also a designated dog walking field.

It had been mentioned that the bridge at the entrance is a bit tight for acaravan but I never noticed anyone struggle and I saw a fire engine cross it so it cant be that narrow.

Check in is during office hours only after which time a barrier prevent access, once in possession of an entry card you can come and go as you please

We loved this site and I cant find a negative thing to say abut it! We will definitely return 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MandynShaun 1 review from this member

 First time camping on a lakeside pitch. LOVED every minute. From the friendly reception staff, to the well kept site set in beautiful surroundings.

Toilet and shower block clean and plenty cubicles, kept clean and stocked up on toilet paper and soap even on a very busy bank holiday Open Day weekend. Grounds are kept immaculate, grass beautifully cut and everywhere so tidy. Considering it was really busy everyone was friendly, no noise after dark and lots of space. Loved it that much were booked to come back again.

100% recommended to everyone we know - can't wait to come back again 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Davedave1 3 reviews from this member

 We spend two nights at Yarwell Mill on the 27/28 June. The last time we came here was at the end of the season last year to visit some friends who were caravanning. Yarwell mill is a lovely site set next to the river Nene. Although a nice setting we were so disappointed at the state of the showers and toilets. On the Friday and Sat the showers and toilets were only cleaned once at 0630 and not cleaned for the rest of the day. One of the toilet blocks were out or order. The showers and toilets are very old and dirty and quite disgusting. Last night at 8pm the mens toilets were swimming in pee.

We were told last year that these were going to be rebuilt but when I complained today I was give a poor excuse about lack of planning permission. I am sorry but I could not recommend this site until they get this serious issue fixed 
Management response: Hi davedave1, thanks for your review.

You’ll be pleased to hear Yarwell Mill Country Park is under new ownership since your visit – actually since the first week of September 2015.

Since then (approx. 6 weeks) we have already started work on the toilets and shower blocks – no empty promises here!

The drainage problems have all been sorted and the plumbers and plasterers are in there at this very moment replacing the showers and plastering new walls.

It would be a pleasure to have you back to see what you think!


Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Yarwell Mill Camping & Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Yarwell Mill Camping & Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Yarwell Mill Camping & Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Peterborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5828 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement