Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Yarwell Mill Camping And Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough > Yarwell Mill Camping And Touring Park > Reviews

Yarwell Mill Camping And Touring Park
Yarwell
Mill Road
Peterborough
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE8 6PZ
Tel: 01780 782344
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 150
Open: 29/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 52 Reviews
                7/10 from 52 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Stevey 1 review from this member

 Perfect camp site, very clean and helpful.

We will be visiting again hopefully this year if the weather stays good.

Staff from office to ground staff very pleased with their help.

Steve Yates. 


Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mensam 1 review from this member

 Lovely clean facilities. Staff friendly and helpful.

Pitch was slightly narrow (not really room for a caravan, an awning and car to park alongside).

Although plenty of room in front of van. Riverside cafe was lovely.

Site is located a little walk from nearest pubs. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: C13ett 3 reviews from this member

 Very disappointed with this campsite especially at the price they charge. Lots of building work taking place.

The toilets and showers filthy, it took them 24 hours before they cleaned toilets after being told. No equipment to mop floors after shower, or clean floor before.

Dead flies and mould on ceiling.

One toilet cubicle (poss no 4) had damaged floor under covering, and no lights.

Long term units on riverside were green with algae and surrounded by long grass. Not a pleasant view.

Best bits: it was a flat site with electric.

Would not like to be here during busy times, cannot recommend. 


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Deb77 1 review from this member

 Expensive for a camping pitch.

Beautiful countryside surrounding this picturesque and historic site.

River and lakes on site.

Lovely walks and a great pub within easy walking distance.

Great transport links so very easy to get to.

We had a lovely time.

Toilets are a bit of a trek if not on electric hook up pitches and they are developing the site so building work is going on.

Well worth a visit though.

Will be fantastic when finished. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Msrasl 1 review from this member

 Brilliant place to stay, really clean toilets and showers.

Units not to close together either.

Looking forward to our next stay.

So much better than when we stayed there many years ago.

A must is the pub in the village as well. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Cris1973 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights, original pitch was non electric but managed to get an upgrade to electric pitch as someone had cancelled, staff was very helpful and pleasant.

Friday night there was a Pizza van arrived on site, Saturday was Fish & Chip van, all very pleasent and helpful. Also if you have dog there is also a mobile pooch grooming van that attends site.

We pitched in a huge field and wasn't too close to neighbouring tents, there was some noise from the building work going on where they are putting in new mobile home pitches but didn't go on late or started too early.

Shower block and toilets would have been spotless but we stayed where there 2 days of heavy rain so understandable the floors were a little mucky and wet but they were cleaned regularly and hand sanitiser dispenser on entrance to toilet/shower block.

Washing up unit was covered with hot and cold running water for washing pots and pans.

Plenty of nice walks around the site and if like us took our own kayaks there is a good launch spot on site with a pleasent paddle up the River Nene. There is a watersport centre near the site but didn't use so unable to commen on this.

There is a small village just outside the site with small convenience store, also major supermakets are about 10/15min drive away.

All in all a very pleasant enjoyable site and will be returning for sure (hopefully not in the downpour season) 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: HappyVanUK 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two nights, Friday to Sunday. We were quite surprised that you cant get in outside office hours so have to be checked in before 5pm, so be aware of this as arriving after work on a Friday evening is not an option here.

Upon arrival we were given a map of where to go to our pitch. The other side of the map was just a list of rules. Although rules are important, maybe a bit more information about the site and surroundings would be the better option. It came across quite strict.

We found our pitch in 'Meadowfields'. We were hugely looking forward to this weekend as I used to come as a child and loved it. A weekend by the river! What could be better. Unfortunately, the river spots seem to be taken by the seasonal pitchers so we had the view of the building site. New park homes are being built around the lake and this is definitely the Parks priority.

The toilet block was open but we did not use it so cannot comment. There is some nice walks about the area, including Yarwell train station, where steam trains come. The local village of Nassington has a shop, with a chatty owner, a really great guy.

The pitches also seem quite small. We felt a bit like sardines, rammed in between two tent outfits. We were also surprised to hear the thunderous noise of the JCB on Saturday morning. We were not told about this building work and had we been, we would have thought twice about going. You also have to pay 10 refundable deposit for the main barrier if you want to get in and out of the park after 5pm. Overall, very disappointed.

The priority is the park homes and campers have been moved into a field to look at the view of the diggers. A real shame as the lock and river give a great first impression as you drive in, but its all down hill from there. W

E didn't even get asked if we enjoyed our stay on leaving when we collected our barrier card deposit. We wont be back in a hurry. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jennycolin 6 reviews from this member

 What a gem! We will definitely return. The site was very quiet as it was mid-week. We loved the local area, great walk to the river and enjoyed watching narrowboats going through the lock. We explored the steam railway stations in the area and were lucky enough to see an engine under full steam, which was a thrill.

The Canada geese on site had babies, which was lovely.

The facilities were fine, always nice to see heaters in a shower room, plus its own toilet and basin, much appreciated. The building work we had read about was still going on but it didn't bother us, and the surrounding countryside is lovely.

One of the nicer sites we have visited. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Freckles63 79 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 3 nights in the October half term 22. 00 with EHU. We were pitched on 'Meadowfields' (No6)this was after starting to set up on No10 but then discovering the electric unit for pitches 9+10 wasn't working, even though apparently it had been reported!

The gap between pitches 8+9 was being used as a through road by the contractors/ electric buggies to get to the back of the field where an unsightly rubbish dump was ever growing. This was reported, apparently passed on but it continued the whole time we were there.

The nearest pub that also happens to have good food is The Angel in Yarwell village, a short walk out of site and turn right, we were lucky enough to be there for their monthly music quiz on the Thursday night and had a great evening.

There are 2 more pubs and a shop in the other direction in Nassington village, the first pub is a hotel The Queens Head and the 2nd pub is at furthest end of village The Black Horse.

You can get to the 'Yarwell' station of the Nene Valley railway by walking through the gate by the lock on site, well worth the walk just to see the trains even if you don't want to travel.

We visited Peterborough to see the Cathedral, not much else there other than the normal shops, there isn't a park and ride.

We also visited Sibson airfield a couple miles away to see the parachutists, although you can see them clearly from the site as we did on the Friday.

As already said in previous reviews there is a lot of building work and contractors at the site all week, there will be a lot of residential lodges once finished. There are also a lot of seasonal and yearly caravans sited along the river edge.

I know it is the end of the season but we got the feeling that the reception really need to clue up on the camping side of things, loosing our booking to begin with, then allowing us to pitch on a site that had no electric working. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Endoshot 2 reviews from this member

 Use this site at your peril. It is a very noisy muddy building site 7 days a week starting 8 am every day and it's going to be that way for years while they phase out caravans for the luxury lodges. Take your wellies and ear plugs. Make sure you arrive nice and early because you can't get in outside of office hours. Lots of potential but very poorly run. 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Yarwell Mill Camping And Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Yarwell Mill Camping And Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Yarwell Mill Camping And Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Peterborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2186 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement