Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bridge Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth > Bridge Caravan & Camping Site Reviews

Bridge Caravan & Camping Site
Dingestow
Monmouth
Monmouthshire   (Browse area)
NP25 4DY
Tel: 01600 740241
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 14 Reviews
                8/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dave4242 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful medium sized camp site. I really don't understand where the negative reviews are founded! The owners are very polite and helpful, the site is very nicely presented and maintained, and next to a river if you like fishing. My dog and I were the only tent residents for the evening but everyone on site were friendly. The 'local pub' is excellent and only 1/2 mile away and has a lovely garden plus a decent menu. The village shop which is about 50yrds for the site is sells all the usual stuff from milk, papers, bread and bacon. The wash/shower facilities are excellent too, and if you begrudge 20p for a shower why bother camping? 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Smw2 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely camping and caravan park in a beautiful setting. I am writing this review because I was amazed at the totally inaccurate reviews given by some people. This is not an amusement park, so if you are looking for wall to wall entertainment this is not for you. If you are looking for a peaceful holiday - either with a family or on your own, this is wonderful. There is a river running through the park - which obviously is a magnet for insects - so bringing some sort of insect repellents/creams etc is sensible! We have stayed here most years for the past 24 years, and always enjoyed our stays, no matter what the weather! We first found this site when looking for reasonably priced accommodation near to family. We have sometimes visited 2 or 3 times a year. We have always found the owners very friendly to children when ours were young; now they have grown up, the owners still ask after them, and how they are doing. They even remember us when we phone to book. This is a peaceful site, in the countryside. It would not be suitable for people who want to make a lot of noise and inconvenience others, but is ideal for those who want a break to get away from it all. There is grass where children can run around, and a play park a short walk away down the road through the village, past the village shop. Monmouth is only a short drive away, as is Abergavenny. Both have a good range of shops - the markets in Abergavenny are really good too. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Niallh 1 review from this member

 Lovely quiet site, helpful and friendly site team and a really luxurious caravan with all mod. Cons. Would def go again. Handy base for exploring a beautiful part of Wales.

The communal facilities were spotless, too, with useful access to the village, lovely walks nearby and Monmouth, Raglan and Usk all nearby. Excellent pub about 1m away.

Not particularly child-friendly but we were able to play football / tennis / badminton with our young visiting grandchildren. Lovely and quiet at night. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Newbie-campers 4 reviews from this member

 We chose this site as it is only 20minute drive and was ideal as somewhere to test pitch our new tent for the night. One night was more than enough.

Although the toilets were basic and a bit dated they were clean for the time we were there and we chose to shower when we got home so didn't use them.

This site is every reason why we chose to buy a tent not a caravan and confirms we made the right decision for us. When we approached the site it looks like a sales area for caravans but then you realise that they are actually pitched. Most of the site is used as seasonal pitches, a lot of the caravans have gnomes outside their awnings. Almost every one has a satellite dish. Its rows and rows of caravans in straight lines with hardly any room in between them.

Then there is the tent 'field', which isnt really a filed but a sort of circle of uneven grass with marked pitches. Despite informing the lady when I booked the size of the tent, if the other pitches either side had been taken we could have borrowed each others salt for our dinner we would have been so close together.

The site is described as riverside but whilst actually it is a site by a river, you have to stand on the bank to see the river and then it is a slow running stream of brown water.

Traffic noise from the main road which is in fact a few miles away but loud in the night.

Most of the seasonal pitches along with their gnomes have dogs, and even as dog owners ourselves the constant yapping from a yorkie was enough to drive you nuts.

The site is described as having a play area which would have been useful to entertain our 10yr old while we putting the tent up but despite a walk all around the site I couldn't even see a swing, but maybe we missed it.

If you do visit and have a large tent then pitch T20 the one we had was the biggest, avoid at all costs T17 as its not flat but almost an s shape ground.  


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Juliem123 1 review from this member

 Just returned from this peaceful and well maintained site. Very quite in the week, which was great, lovely walks nearby, site owners friendly and relaxed atmosphere.

Facilities included washing up room, washing room with machine dryer and iron also books to read all facilities very clean and well maintained.

Monmouth is a lovely market town and only 4 miles away and the Weatherspoon pub, the kings head is well worth a visit for its charm and character and a fantastic breakfast and good value food throughout the day 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Celtic1 13 reviews from this member

 I cannot say that I found this site particularly attractive. The tent field was small and everything seemed to scream 'pack 'em in and take the money!'

20p for a 3min shower, in a shower block that got very grubby because there was no mop to clean up with. If you are a woman avoid the shower furthest from the door, as this is the only one that has drainage, so all the dirt from the other showers flow down to that one exit.

The toilets were fairly clean, but there was no toilet paper in one for the whole day, and skid marks were left, even after the cleaner had 'cleaned'.

It has beautiful walks from the site, but I am sure that you can get much better sites, with equally lovely walks. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dirkydel 4 reviews from this member

 A lovely little site, plenty of room, hardstands are excellent, water points dotted along so not too far to walk to fill aquaroll, toilet block is a fair walk away from the touring area, especially the waste water and elsan points.

Toilet block is spotlessly clean.

Ground is reasonably level, and pitches are quite large.

Owners don't take any nonsense, if someone breaks the rules the owner comes down hard on them and are asked to leave the site.

Location is ideal for Monmouth, Abergavenny, Brecon, Raglan Castle and even Newport. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Unicorn73 1 review from this member

 Well this was our first time here and I was really pleased the toilet and shower blocks were spotless. The pitches were flat and well maintained. There was nothing there for children but there is a small river running at the back for you to go fishing, saying this our children made their own fun, there is places to go around the campsite so I'm sure it will please everybody.

We would go back to this campsite really enjoyed our stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: WWLL 60 reviews from this member

 Visited this site as a one night unbooked stopover following a tour of west Wales.

We received a friendly reception and were able to choose our own pitch, all the pitches were level with both hard standing and grass. About half the pitches are seasonal and there is also an area with caravan sales.

The site was well maintained with lots of showers & loos. There is an inside washing up room with constant hot water as well as a water disposal point.

This is a nice quiet site with a pub about 1 mile away.

There is a friendly village shop and post office just over the road from the site.

We enjoyed our short stay on this friendly site. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yve123 7 reviews from this member

 The park is full of permanent caravans with the toilet block in the middle of them , the tent area is as far away from the toilet block as it could be. No soap although the block and shower block were clean. To charge 13 a night for a tiny tent then 20p for a shower was a bit of a cheek . I thought the extremely high stone steps up to the reception were very dangerous esp for older visitors. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bridge Caravan & Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bridge Caravan & Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bridge Caravan & Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Monmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Monmouthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2733 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement