Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Abererch Sands Holiday Centre

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Pwllheli > Abererch Sands Holiday Centre Reviews

Abererch Sands Holiday Centre
Abererch
Pwllheli
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 6PJ
Tel: 01758 612327
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 46 Reviews
                7/10 from 46 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Chrisn6044ivw 1 review from this member

We have stayed at Abererch Sands campsite many times, both in Caravan and Camping. For a family this is a fabulous site, the heated in door swimming pool and beach on 100 yards from your camp, is a unbeatable combination.

Pitches have ample space.

The train line by the touring caravan area, adds an occasional fun extra, watching the train go by.

But its the appeal of the beach, walking the dog, walking towards Criceth and the mountains beyond. Just cannot get enough of it.

The on site shop are very friendly. Pwllheli shops are close by. And they have addition of the 'Littleteashop' selling excellent tea/coffee/cakes.

Abererch is a wonderful campsite, in a wonderful part of North Wales, with a wealth of fun for the family.

Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Debbie27598txs 1 review from this member

Beautiful area. Campsite was clean. Facilities are excellent. Toilets and showers are cleaned every day.

There is a lovely little cafe on site and the food is delicious.

Would highly recommend this campsite.

We will definitely be going there again.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sthack5579xxb 1 review from this member

We stayed in the overflow field, this was quiet mostly but filled up at bank holiday,

We found the amenities to be clean but not very well laid out, having a shower was difficult, with very young children it would be hard work.

The week we stayed there was a strong wind from the sea, the site was a bit exposed and it gave the porch a fair bit of hammer. The tent stood up well, no fault of the site but something to bear in mind if you prefer shelter.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Blackdog 2 1 review from this member

Booked late (Two adults and two children 7 and 12) so our pitch was on overflow field grass electric hookup, several standpipe around the field.

The pitch was quite level and elsan point for toilet and grey waste by the key accessed toilet/shower block, these were not the greatest but it is the overflow field, with lots of kids in and out but that goes with the territory, on the whole not bad.

Now the site is quite basic if your expecting a Costa in the morning and fully stocked supermarket then this will not be for you, however it has a heated pool not massive but good enough, (please be aware there is no shallow end) on the plus side the main shower block is much better than the overflow field and is accessible from the beach via steps.

Now the beach! If your into your water sports and you like a beach holiday then this is definitely the place for you!

There's a marina just up the road and you can pop in your ski boat, jet ski, or wet bike, in the water and sail round the corner to the camp, did I mention 4miles of beach!

It can be a little windy so windsurfers it's gold!

But when it's not the beach fills up quite quickly, it is accessed via the dunes which make an excellent wind break, over wooden steps.

The site has a mix of static and seasonal pitches, and is very reasonably priced,

After speaking with some of the residents (who have been there for years!) and the location is that good we left our van there taking the site owner up on a very reasonable discount for the rest of the season!

We are looking forward to the next visit would highly recommend 👍👍👍👍👍👍😊
via mobile

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Barracudafish 7 reviews from this member

Having watched the weather forecast we decided to stay in North Wales for a week and seeing as we are windsurfers we chose Abererch for its beachside location.

The easiest way to do the review is with pros and cons:

The Pros:

Proximity to a 4 mile long beach

Water taps at pitch

Level pitches

Train station at campsite for trains into Pwllheli and Porthmadog

Can easily walk into Pwllheli

The little coffee shop open at the entrance to the site ( open Fri-Sun)

The pool was warm but very small ( not really any changing rooms though)

The cons:

In mid June the main reception is closed and therefore you have to go some way to a cottage to check in.

The new toilet block was NEVER cleaned in a week of being there. I think a maintenance man may have put in toilet paper but the showers and sinks/floors were never cleaned. I queried this and was told that they have a cleaner twice a day but I could see the same hair on the bin all week (YUK!)and the same water stains on the floor and sink areas.

There is nowhere to keep clothes dry in the shower and no shelf for shower gel etc.

They have rules in place about noise and ball games but these are not enforced. A groups of 3 families arrived at the weekend and the kids were very noisy, playing ball games etc. Late into the night. It was quiet on the site only 3 vans so it wasn't such an issue but if you have rules then enforce them.

There is no official place to dump grey water. There are drains in each field but there is no fresh water to clean the area and I could imagine it being very smelly in summer with grey water just sitting in that drain.

The pool table/games room is not open outside school holidays

All in all, we had a nice time because we love the beach and can use the facilities in our motorhome but it is very expensive to stay out of season if all you get is a pitch with water and a pool, no shop, no useable toilets. The cost does not seem to be that much less that high season for far fewer facilities. Compared to Caravan clubsites at cheaper prices it was found wanting. I thinks as a static site it would be fine but for camping unless I was a large family group I would go elsewhere.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Minielsie 1 review from this member

Had a fab time at this site. The location is great for spending time on the lovely sandy beach or visiting other towns: Pwllheli via a beautiful beach walk, Porthmadog in the car or by the train as station is literally a few minutes walk away.

I was initially concerned that the train track right by the back of the caravan would be disturbing us but trains are travelling slowly and you hardly notice them. We took the train to visit Harlech castle too and it’s such beautiful scenery on the way. You get an entry discount if you mention you’ve used the train.

The shower block is newly renovated by the looks of it and the shower is nice and hot. A couple of finishing touches to the shower block would be great: panel by the sinks, extra hooks near the hair dryer sockets and floors get quite mucky so rubber mats by the door and mop and bucket so campers encouraged to clean up after themselves.

Staff were great help with enquiries before our visit and really pleasant during the stay. Thanks for a really enjoyable stay.

We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JLC121110 2 reviews from this member

We’ve just returned from a two night stay. We were booked for three nights but due to the bad weather of heavy rain forecast for the morning we were due to leave we decided to leave a day early.

Our welcome letter stated that credits would be issued for unused nights if we departed before 12 noon. There were also TWO signs at reception that stated this but when I spoke to a woman at reception she said it was in emergencies only or if the weather was really bad. I explained that due to the weather warning of heavy rain we were leaving early. She replied “well the weathers nice right now” If this is the case they need to reword the letter and the two signs in reception.

The ladies shower blocks and toilets were clean. We were lucky enough to get a pitch perfect for our two tents.

The biggest selling point for this site is the close proximity to the beach.

I’m unsure if we would stay again after the encounter with the woman at reception up until that point we were planning on returning very soon.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sirjona 2 reviews from this member

I agree with other reviews on here that the facilities are nice and clean if a little dated, the beach is lovely and close.

The main reason we were here was due to the location of the beach to be able to let the dogs go before the ban comes into force. When we arrived we were told to park anywhere in section B and located what we thought was a nice quiet place near the railway line.

Unfortunately it wasn't the noise from the trains which bothered us it was the two families parked close to us who were playing with petrol powered cars. Later on the Sunday night their kids decided to play knock knock on the caravan window and then stood there hard faced waiting for us to chase them. One of the parents came along and caught them but nothing in the way of an apology.

We were also woke up at 6. 30 on Monday morning by a campervan looking for somewhere to park before eventually turning round right by us. The only other issue we had was that the bins were overflowing everywhere on Monday morning.

Don't think I would like to stay here during busy summer months.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helliwell 1 review from this member

We stayed from the last Bank holiday in May for 5 nights. The site was busy but we chose to pitch in the overflow field as there was more space and choice of pitches.

The site is in a great location, just a short walk from the beach and is a short journey by car to Pwhelli where there are the well known stores and some smaller independent shops.

We used the Asda for food and also had a nice meal in Weatherspoons on Friday lunch time.

The pitches come with water points close by and electric hook-ups but you do have to pay extra for use of the WI-FI.

We have 3 children (6, 7 and 10) and they used the playground on site but didn't seem that impressed with it but they did enjoy watching the trains pass by close to the site.

In my opinion, the only thing spoiling this site is the toilet, shower and washing up facilities. In the Ladies showers on the overflow field, there is nowhere to put anything to keep it dry whilst you are showering. The only 2 hooks were in the shower itself and footwear left outside the shower also got wet. There is a lack of adequate ventilation as well. This meant that if a few people had used the showers one after the other, it got very steamy and cold condensation dripped from the plastic roof as you were getting dry. The block on the overflow field is small with 2 showers and 2 toilets and water pools on the floor between them. (I checked the showers on the main site to see if they were any better but apart from a few more hooks outside the showers on the wall, they weren't). My Husband said the Mens facilities were the same.

The wash up facilities have push taps which I appreciate can save water but they don't lend themselves to easy washing up and they also sprayed water all over the floor. Again, water pools on the floor and makes it very slippery. In fact my eldest slipped and banged her head on the side of the sink. It's also not nice washing up whilst paddling in muddy water!

If a long-handled squeegee had been provided in the shower blocks and washing up area, then at least the water could have been scraped out.

We were lucky and had glorious sunshine all week but I wouldn't want to have stayed if it had been bad weather.

I would say that if you are Caravanners with your own facilities you would find the site great. Those camping, especially with young children, may want to choose a site with better thought out facilities.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: P1egan 2 reviews from this member

Booked for 4 nights, stayed 10!

The opening line should speak for itself really. Loved the place that much we didn't want to leave.

The place has a certain charm about it that not everyone will love but was almost perfect for us (2 adults, a 5 year old boy and a 2 year old girl. There is no clubhouse, no arcade. There is a shop that serves it's purpose and is available for 12 hours a day. A room I didn't go in to be honest that has a pool table and a table football machine. A lovely little indoor pool, a play area that needs TLC and nothing else.

The toilets are outdated yet I found very clean and served their purpose entirely. Free hot and powerful showers.

We stayed on the main camping field, you pay the same price with EHU as without. Plenty of space here I found, and nice flat grass pitches.

The site is 5 minutes drive away from Pwhelli and 20 mins from Portmadog. These are also the nearest amenities for shopping, nothing within walking distance, however, there's a train stop on site. Didn't use the train, but might on the next trip.

Now the main reason the place is so good. The beach, WOW. We couldn't work out why this site hadn't been developed to death or loads more popular. The beach is a 20 second walk over the dunes from the campsite. Lovely golden sand and shingle at low tide. Clear water and great views. Perfect for any young family or even walking enthusiasts. Even when it was baking hot there was only a handful of people on the beach.

It's a lovely walk at night, and also being so close when going to sleep it's very soothing listening to the waves.

I was a bit dubious about this place before I arrived as there wasn't a lot of reviews. I still can't get my head round this, unless people are trying to keep it quiet so not to spoil it! A lot of people I talked to were returning visitors and we will be also at the earliest opportunity!

Ps The wifi is terrible but camping shouldn't be about that, I was trying to stream a football match.

Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Pwllheli      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4757 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019