Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - St Davids Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Isle of Anglesey > Pentraeth > St Davids Park Reviews

St Davids Park
Red Wharf Bay
Pentraeth
Isle of Anglesey   (Browse area)
LL75 8RJ
Tel: 01248 852341
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 45
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 86 Reviews
                8/10 from 86 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 10 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  86 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: TonyCee 3 reviews from this member

A lot of money has been spent on this site on the static caravans and the pub/restaurant. The touring part seems not to have figured so largely in the management's plans.

As mentioned previously access to the swimming pool is denied if you are a touring customer - makes one feel a bit like a second-class customer.

The touring field is large and almost all grass and, although it overlooks Red Wharf Bay, all the bay-side pitches have been allocated to seasonal caravans.

The sanitary block is a bit tired though well-cleaned and must be busy when the site is full.

Quite expensive for what it is and so many notices around the place.

That all said the area is beautiful. There is access to the beach from the site although the beach is pretty small at high tide. There is a path back through the site to a couple of nice-looking eateries on the water at Red Wharf Bay itself.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Conf 4 reviews from this member

Lovely site - can't fault it. Great facilities and pub with restaurant on site. Loved it. Right on the beach. Plenty of space and close to Benllech and Red Wharf Bay, both of which have great eating places.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Giughs 1 review from this member

We spent 3 nights at st Davids the views were fantastic. We had to pay £5 for a key card don't no why as no one else used the showers it said it was for the barrier as well but that was up all the time. We thought there was wifi on site so went and asked and was told if I was in a seasoned pitch I could have it as I was only staying a few days it would be £6. 50 a day. The person who I spoke to wasn't very friendly and I found he looked down on me as I wasn't on a seasoned pitch. The site itself was spotless bill and his wife kept it very clean. Found it very expensive to stay a few nights and we couldn't use the pool. There are 40 rules which we thought was a bit much. It said no dogs but there were dogs. Lovely walks across the beach when the tide is out. We did it twice and called in at the ship inn for a meal one night very nice and free wifi. There is also a cafe/ restaurant sorry can't remember the name but that was very nice as well. We went to puffin island.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kevdubes 1 review from this member

This was our 2nd visit to St Davids and we love the location and the site. Beautiful views across the bay from the camping field which is slightly slopped, the lower part offering better protection from the wind. It is great being able to watch the kids on the play ground from the pub. The toilet block is very nice and has underfloor heating and plenty of hot water. Lots of things to do and see in the area, crabbing off Beaumaris pier is a great way to spend a few hours, with all the things you need to crab available in the town centre.

Our only suggestion for improvement would be a freezer for ice packs that is more easily accessible, it is currently in the camp shop which isnt always open.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Orchid5 7 reviews from this member

We spent 5 days and 4 nights at this basic camp site, I describe it as basic because that is what it is, the scenery is outstanding and the beach is to die for, so one can only assume that is what you are paying for. The facilities let this campsite down as there are only 5 female toilets, 5 female showers, (one of which was blocked), 2 washing up sinks to serve over a hundred people in the height of the season, the sewerage you could smell across field 3 so not good which is really a shame as the bay was beautiful and the surrounding countryside outstanding. You can walk to Benllach from the beach, it takes approximately 10 minutes on the beach there is another small pathway elsewhere, you will find a café and small beach shop for the essentials, the shop on St Davids is nothing more than a tuck shop! The Tavern is worth a mention, sadly though you can't sit out on the veranda as the wasps are horrendous! Sadly we won't be visiting this site again, St Davids, lovely location but not enough facilities!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nicolella 4 reviews from this member

Just arrived back after a week at St Davids Park. My children(14, 11)+ I had a great time, this was mainly as it never rained for the week. The ladies shower block has 5 showers + 6 loos, all ok + kept tidy. There were just 2 sinks to wash dishes in, so a bit of queueing. The kids playground was big + modern, laundrette had 2 washers(1 broken). Iron-broken + 1 tumble- constantly in use. Shop stocked all papers + 1 pint's milk 90p ish, lollies + odd tins of food. In the week I was there I never saw any bread/eggs. When the shop is shut (times varied) there are 2 vending machines for drinks + crisps etc. The access to the beach leads you to a great safe sandy beach, but watch the tide as it does come in quick. Benllech is about 10 mins walk to left, with a Tesco, butchers, chemist etc plus beach chip shop + bucket/spade shop. 10 mins to right is red Wharf bay with Ship pub + a bistro (ice creams/coffee). On the site is The Tavern-an incredibly expensive pub/bistro. There are 2 camping fields-we were in no 2 (by the boats) this was a good flattish stretch, where as field 3 is larger + very steep in parts! There are 2 wardens that walk round all day + do litter/clean loos/check you paid. Overall this is just a basic camp site (expensive £35ish)-but its location makes it a winner!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jude Leadbeater 2 reviews from this member

Excellent location. Expensive for only 2 persons ok for a family. Toilet block ok but could do with a deep clean. It is only surface cleaned daily. It is nice to have a restaurant on site but disappointed that the nice shop that was there last year has been replaced with one that only stocked the bare essentials. Children's play area is a nice bonus and beach is fab. This was a second visit and we will definitely return next summer.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Private1 3 reviews from this member

Lovely location and gorgeous beach

V Expensive for £35 pn. Major bin issue, not emptied enough creating a seagull problem woken early hours of morning combined with the attraction of hundreds of wasps made it horrendous the bins almost inaccessible. Bins full and rubbish everywhere.

There is no private beach, it is accessible to public. They park in their pub carpark and dogs are allowed

Their 'strictly no rules' are not enforced, we witnessed dogs gazebos BBQ open fires all on tent field. Burnt marks from a BBQ were remaining on a pitch.

Forget the deposit for a access fob, it's not needed, unless you need to get back on site after 9pm. Toilets/showers accessible to any member of public on beach.

Only 2 dish washing sinks available so expect to queue after any mealtimes

Take your own toilet roll as unlikely to be any available for the 7am rush

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Skyeccles 2 reviews from this member

We did not receive a warm welcome on arrival or departure, and did not get any verbal welcome information about anything on the park, and no good morning did you enjoy your stay type greeting on our departure, this was very disappointing. We thought there would be a shop for a site this big but we where just informed that there where some vending machines. We love the look of the park very well cared for site but we did think £35 for the one night camping was a little expensive we thought we would try it, we had to pay for electric which we didn't use as we where in a tent and had no lead, there wasn't a reduced price.

The weather was amazing so we took full advantage of the fantastic views. The Tavern was very nice but we thought it a bit expensive (may be some cheaper options could be available) so we didn't eat there we just had a drink and found the staff to be helpful polite and attentive.

The toilet block was not particularly clean however there was a mop bucket for you to use if you wanted to and there was an awful smell. The showers where great and worked lovely. There was no electric sockets for my hair dryer and as there was only one supplied on the wall and 3 people waiting to use it I decided not to bother.

There is access to a lovely little beach, while the tide is in and it expands to a beautiful vast beach when the tide is out. The road running through the park is much to narrow and seems like there is space to widen it, we found it very difficult coming and going and where glad we where not towing a caravan

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Albatrossfs 5 reviews from this member

Have enjoyed a good bank holiday weekend camping at this campsite.

Campsite is very well looked after by the staff, with toilet/shower block being kept clean. I would prefer a separate toilet block to the shower block!

One thing out of the control of the hardworking staff is the weather, for 3 days we were battered by the wind ( and more so the rain as we packed up to leave) however when the sun is out, what a glorious place to be in, especially the beach.

The Tavern Bar is very modern with seating outside overlooking the beach. The price of the drinks are quite steep though, but I suppose it keeps 'those' away from the campsite who just want to drink themselves silly.

Kids park is well equipped, kids footy pitch could do with a little TLC.

Only gripe. Internet access is awful and the free wifi is not offered to campers. However they do have tv aerial access if you want to check what the weather forecast is going to be!

Previous     86 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Anglesey

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3293 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019