Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Valley Of The Rocks Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Isle of Anglesey > Trearddur Bay > Valley Of The Rocks Camp Site Reviews

Valley Of The Rocks Camp Site
Portdafrarch
Trearddur Bay
Isle of Anglesey   (Browse area)
LL65 2LL
Tel: 01407 765787
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 42 Reviews
                7/10 from 42 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: WoodyF 1 review from this member

This is a lovely site in a stunning, peaceful part of Anglesey, and Mal who runs it is very friendly and helpful. Facilities are quite basic but it has everything we needed at a very reasonable price-lots of space for my teenage son to try out his new tent in fabulous countryside, and hot showers and a hair dryer for me! It's close enough to walk to the beach (pavement all the way on one side of the country road). That's where we went to cook our tea on the first evening which was hot, and we had the beach to ourselves. We made use of the adjoining outdoor sports site for breakfast in their bar one rainy morning, and would return to try the evening menu- looked great. It was a fabulous end to the summer holidays, and we'll be back with the rest of the family.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Judergn 3 reviews from this member

We originally decided to stay for one night whilst touring round Anglesey but loved this site so much we stayed for 3 nights. It's a lovely quiet site really handy for the beach. We found everyone very friendly and the lady who runs the site, Mal, very welcoming and helpful. On our last night we went to the Paddler's Rest, a quirky pub on the adjoining site, for food and an evening with a Welsh Ceilidh-type folk band - we thoroughly enjoyed the evening and it rounded our holiday off well. The food was gorgeous! We will definitely book here again.

It depends what you're looking for in a site/holiday. We prefer quietish and don't necessarily want loads of facilities so this suited us well.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Laffingravy 3 reviews from this member

Stayed hear as a last resort, wouldn't stay again there was a cockroach in the toilet block, I had to pay to get hot water for a wash, the toilet/shower block was dirty and looked like it was something left over from the war, , There are a lot of nice camp sites on Anglesey but this isnt one of them.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bezz848 1 review from this member

This is a great site, in a beautiful part of the UK, it has a perfect location for some of the best beaches in north wales if not the UK.

We have spent some very happy times here and will be returning as much as possible, the staff are great and very accommodating, the local Paddlers Return bar has some of the warmest and friendliest characters we have had the pleasure to meet and my 6 year old son loves the sweet shop next door.

For all of those reviews that moan regarding the facilities and such trivial things as toilet paper and spending 20p for a shower. GET A GRIP! if that's all the issues you can find in such a naturally stunning area then you need to open your eyes, you life is passing you by!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Teenybob 2 reviews from this member

Just what do people want for their money, this is a very cheap and cheerful campsite and you get what you pay for, having to put 20p in a meter for hot water should not be the reason for slating this site. I often camped with my parents as a child and we washed in cold water and heated water for washing dishes on the fire. Surely this adds to the whole camping experience, if all mod cons are wanted try a static caravan on this site. The point made about a cockroach in the toilet block is very petty bugs and insects will get in anywhere even if you stand guard 24/7. This is a very picturesque site and the owners are very helpful and are always there should you need them. We are frequent visitors to Valley of the Rocks and if we were thinking of visiting for the first time this review would put us off which we think is more than a little unfair on the people who put so much work in to make it a pleasant experience.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paulwibble 6 reviews from this member

The site is very handy for Holyhead. Note you can take a trip to Dublin from the terminal, including bus tour and transfers for the day for £39. We did it and it was great. Free overnight parking on the seafront (wild camping for motorhomes).

The site is nice if a little basic.

Access is good and at £13. 50 in the summer including leccie one cant moan.

Personally I will be wild camping next time I am this way on. The local town is small but lovely. People are friendly

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chicgal 8 reviews from this member

We had booked for 3 nights and extended for an extra night. We loved this site. It gives the impression of being small but once you get onto the site it is massive without feeling in anyway overcrowded. The camping pitches nestle within the valley and look very private. We had electric hook up included in the price which also included our dog and awning.

There is a gate through to a bar restaurant which has darts and pool tables which serves excellent food. It is attached to an outdoor centre/ youth hostel.

5 to 10 minute drive to supermarkets.

Good bits: excellent value for money, staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Lot's of tips given for places to visit, nearby shops. Super location, lots of fabulous walks and beaches. Nice little shop and clean facilities.

Bad bits: 2 showers clean but you have to pay 20p ( put in 40p for a decent shower) toilets don't flush well and no paper. I could see in a busy period this could be a problem. We were warned about the toilet paper not being provided and not an issue. Phone signal dips in and out ( not a problem if you want to escape technology!)

We would definitely come again and enjoyed our stay.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Anji50 2 reviews from this member

The site is well situated a short walk (half mile walk) from a stunning little bay. No dogs from may to sept. Fab cliff walks round to Trearddur bay which is v. Pretty approx 3 miles. Lots of boating action and again no dogs, although there is a designated area at the far end only.

Blue flag status means it is safe and clean. Great for families, plenty of space to fly kites etc. A 5 min drive took us to South Stack where there is more stunning walking along the cliff tops or down to the light house.

The site itself has all you might need for a short stay. A little shop for essentials, basic but clean loos (no paper provided)a shower and a few hook ups.

We sacrificed electricity for a more organic experience. The beauty of the site is that it has secreted areas amongst the rocks and gorse bushes which gives a sense of seclusion even on a busy bank holiday weekend.

There are several fields in the valley with interlinking gravel roads. Whilst the fields are quite undulating there are plenty of level pitches for tents or smaller camper vans.

If you want a location that is a helpful base for activities such as fishing, kayaking, walking, fresh air that is a little more organic then I think this might be for you.

We found the staff helpful and keen to ensure rowdy behaviour was minimal and in fact we had quiet by darkness every night we were there

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Delphi 36 reviews from this member

The site itself is lovely because of it's setting, surroundings and proximity to a beautiful beach. If you like wild camping, then this is like that.

Because the facilities really let it down.

I can cope with a grotty toilet/shower block, because this site is cheap and I like it here so much. However, I find it really aggravating that toilet paper is not provided. This is such a basic thing, and really very greedy of the owner to sell it in the shop but not provide it free. Especially when for most campers, it is a very long walk to the toilets too.

Take your own toilet paper, and plenty of it, and always remember to take it with you to the block.

Also bring plenty of strong bin bags and keep them inside your tent/car overnight, because it is seagulls who are ripping rubbish bags apart and spreading the contents all over the site.

As for the 'on-site' bar, this is a separate business and nothing to do with the campsite. The owners should not be credited for this lovely little restaurant/pub even though it is definitely a bonus.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: OOHGETYOU! 3 reviews from this member

Depending on what you are looking for then this site is either the best thing going or a complete nightmare!

We stayed in the week up-to bank-holiday, and although the site had quite a number of tents it didn't seem crowded. The site itself is very beautiful in a rugged wild kind of way and is very close to the beach.

Unfortunately its a bit run down and a bit dated, the showers are positively prehistoric but this can be overlooked if you want what is near as you can get to wild camping. The site needs a good clean up as there was a lot of litter blowing around and if you are unlucky enough to pitch up in the lower field then do not get too close to the hedges as these were often used as toilets.

The site also runs a turn up and pitch up policy so allows large groups, which is great if there are a number of you but can mean it gets noisy, we had 'neighbours' that played music and were loud until 3am.

There is an on-site club house which has two pool tables and has a couple tv's that plays the sports. The main bar has a no kids after 8:45pm. The beer is ok a bit expensive for bottles and the old guy running the bar could do with cracking a smile now and again but at least the lady serving was very friendly.

All in all a good site let down by the lack of care and attention it deserves, ok if you want to rough it but not one to expect a 'get away from it all' peace and quiet holiday.

Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Anglesey

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2560 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019