Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Benar Beach Camping & Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Talybont > Benar Beach Camping & Touring Park Reviews

Benar Beach Camping & Touring Park
Benar Beach
Talybont
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL44 2RX
Tel: 01341 247571  or  01341 247001
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 38 Reviews
                8/10 from 38 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Reddin 3 reviews from this member

 Beautiful location only one minute walk to the nearest beach along a flat boardwalk.

Due to Covid, there were no amenities, just the public toilets by the National Trust’s car park. Benar beach site is simply a number of fields with large local stone walls to camp against.

Stunning, easy going and the dog fee of £1. Supports the National Lifeboat charity. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TallSimon1965 4 reviews from this member

 Brilliant location, next to some of the best beach in the UK, near Snowdonia, castles and similar. Well sheltered, reasonable public transport links. Flat and well run, there is a list of rules, but they are all sensible (no noise at night etc, , ) and then administered with reasonable common sense. The naturist bit is well appreciated.

The annoying bit is the showers and toilets. These are clean and maintained, but showers cost £1 per time, and are not always open. The toilets are mainly portaloo type, clean and modern, but limited. There is no washing up area for campers. A bit of investment would make this a truly brilliant site. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CookieCrew 5 reviews from this member

 This is the second time our family of 2 adults, 2 kids (10 yrs and 12 yrs) and 2 dogs have stayed here.

The location is such a gem! Right on the doorstep of the sand dunes and beach, and what a glorious beach it is! Sandy and safe for miles and miles.

David is a real gent and such a character. He is friendly and helpful and always there to chat and help out if needed, with loads of advice on the local area. He doesn't suffer fools gladly and that means the site does not attract any trouble from what I can see.

The site is flat and well maintained. Covers a number of grass fields which have metal fencing and stone walls around. There are trees around some of the main field nearest the beach. The soil is sandy so drains well and doesn't go muddy in the wet. It is easy to drive on and off, which is needed as there is only one main gravel path that runs along one side of the main field. Most have electric hook ups, I'm not sure about all fields. The pitch sizes are generous. We have a twin axle and awning.

The toilet blocks are very basic but clean and tidy. I did not see showers but there used to be some in a portacabin. We don't need them.

The electric trips sometimes if you use a standard household kettle but other than that it is fine. The TV aerial picks up all the channels. There is no WIFI. You are on the edge of phone masts so the signal is ok but fluctuates.

If you don't want to get your dog wet on the beach there are fields just off to the left of the car park at the edge of the beach, these are located right outside the gates of the site, we found that handy for the early morning or late night walkies!

The beach is wonderful and the dunes are clean. You are perfectly located for Barmouth and south and Harlech and north. There are plenty of attractions locally to suit everyone.

I would definitely recommend this to everyone. There are people on the site that have been going for 40 years and more! 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RichAnnie 2 reviews from this member

 I'd like to say thank you to David, the owner, for providing such a good campsite. My partner, our baby daughter and myself stayed in the naturist section for eight nights and enjoyed every minute of it. The owner is very friendly and accommodating and runs a tight ship. For that reason, the toilets and shower are always clean, there is no late night revelry and the place is safe for adults and children alike.

It's a 5 minute walk to the lovely beach and a further 15 minutes or so north, to the naturist beach. The beach was clean and, while we were there, not crowded at all. Early morning bicycle rides on the beach (naked on the naturist bit!) were bracing but fun.

The site across the road has a well-stocked shop, a bar and a fish & chip shop and, just up on the main road, there's a Spar with a great butcher and across the main Harlech to Barmouth road, a filling station.

In Llanbedr, a couple of miles north, the Victoria Inn is great with good beer and food and down the coast in Barmouth, you can get all the supplies you might need.

All in all a great place that I would recommend to anyone who is looking for a quiet family holiday. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tally66 1 review from this member

 We have been visitors to Benar beach camping site for many years. My children are all grown up now but when they were young, we have had many a wonderful holiday at this place. We still continue to visit as a couple.

Firstly I would like to comment on the site itself, . A quiet family site that is dog friendly, .

With x2 fields for camping and touring, we chose camping and. The facilities are great for the prices which are cheap, and you will not beat his prices along that coast line, . The owner David is such a lovely person, very polite and helpful and very accommodating. But also strict with his rules, and that is what makes this site the best by far, David makes sure people don't invade others privacy with the lay out of the camping spaces and he will not tolerate noisy and disruptive people, he demands respect for other holiday visitors, He will ask you to clean up after yourselves, in a nut shell David makes sure all his customers are happy. [old or new]. The site is kept immaculate at all times and believe me when I say spotless, David cleans the toilets himself at the crack of dawn and throughout the day, every day. The shower blocks are also the same and has women one side and men the other. David is very informative, and this lovely site is a credit to him, your stay and holiday experience is paramount to him and you can see that when you stay there. He will tell you about the pregnant lady in the mountains[ a great surprise], he will happily stand and chat to you and make sure you are happy[a rarity] and he normally updates you with the weather which is great.

Local to the site is a club house and café, local shop[ a little expensive] and a beautiful beach. [with a few minuets walk to the beach along the board walk. [beautiful sandy beach ]. If you are lucky you may spot a porpoise in the sea and you should take binoculars if you like bird of prey as the red kite are normally around and are fabulous. Do not forget Barmouth town which is a fantastic and just a local bus ride away. What more can I say but that we have countless stays here and with the cheap prices and comfortable surroundings it has the 10 out of 10 from we. Thank you David. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nemo2002 1 review from this member

 This is a great site for naturists. It has its own enclosed field and the owner gives short shrift to voyeurs.

The naturist part has a tap and a toilet but no showers.

The whole site, naturist and non-naturist is very clean, well kept and has on going maintenance going on so the owner is always available. There were six other users in the naturist part and all were regular users, so he is doing something right.

There needs to be an updated toilet block and pot wash area, there is no pot wash area at all.

There is room for children to play in both parts of the site.

It is just a fifteen minute stroll to the naturist beach, so my wife and I were very happy.

I just wish it could control the weather. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Domestiques 4 reviews from this member

 Was heading to Shell Island but that was full so doubling back we found ourselves at Benar Beach. Bank Holiday so there was a 2 night minimum and price per night was £22, which we don't pay for a Caravan Club site so was expecting something pretty special.

Its an incredibly basic campsite, quiet definitely, but basic. On checking in you are given a sheet of paper full of rules, there are loads and woe betide you if you break them, our dog was off its lead and sat by our chair and the warden was over.

That said the toilets, well the shower was broken, and that costs a pound, as does electricity to use a hairdryer. Also no potwash, at all, and one of the rules is that you cant use the bathroom sinks for it.

All in all though, its in an ideal location for the beach, its relatively close to the seaside estate which has a pub and shop, and its quiet. Would I stay again, no, I don't think the price reflects the site and its facilities. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lippychick 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a 3 day camping trip at Benar Beach. Our group consisted of 5 Families with children ranging from age 2 to 18. The site was extremely clean and perfect for families, with space to run around or play games. The showers were basic but warm! A bigger mirror and a few extra hooks or a shelf in the ladies showers wouldn't go a miss. The toilets were basic but clean. The beach was a few minutes walk from the site along a board-walk. And was fabulous! We'll most definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chickens 2 reviews from this member

 This is a great little campsite. The location is everything here! right next to the beach through fabulous sand dunes packed with wildlife. The beach is child/dog friendly and forms small lagoons as the tides goes out that are great for paddling and wildlife!

There is a local Spar for all your needs and Barmouth just a few minutes drive. A lady on the road out of the site sells eggs that were great! The Victoria pub and local Pizza take out were very good. Davy Jones' locker and The Last were recommended for food but we didn't get round to trying them.

The owner of the site was a real Welsh gem! He is very chatty and full of great info for the local area. He kept threatening my kids with Welsh language homework which made them laugh. Nothing is too much trouble for him and he is only to happy to chat about the local area.

The site is flat and clean. The amenities are basic but ok. The toilet blocks are old but were fine when we were there. The showers are in a porta-cabin, but were fine for when we needed them and plenty of hot water. You would not really know there was a naturist part to this site at all which is great for both sides I guess.

We would give this a 10/10 for location and friendliness. If you don't mind basic loos, etc then this site is for you. We went with 2 boys 6-8 and a dog and had a fab week with great weather. We visited Harlech, Sygun Copper mine and Black Rock Sands for the kids to have a drive! Love this part of Wales and would definitely come back to this site again. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Onegeegee 2 reviews from this member

 Nice clean site. The owner could not be more helpful. Basic facilities but all you need shops, club, beach are all in walking distance and lovely views, dogs allowed but not in the separate naturist area. The sea is about 5 minute walk over sand dunes to very clean beach that gently slopes so great for the kids to play in. Dog walk next to site with rabbits to torment your dogs '!'

Keep your eyes open see if you can spot a dolphin 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Benar Beach Camping & Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Benar Beach Camping & Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Benar Beach Camping & Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Talybont      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5639 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement