Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Black Rock Sands Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog > Black Rock Sands Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Black Rock Sands Caravan And Camping Park
Morfa Bychan
Porthmadog
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL49 9YH
Tel: 01766 513919
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 150
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 65 Reviews
                7/10 from 65 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: NigelDav 1 review from this member

Although the overall location is very nice the campsite itself is not We stayed over the bank holiday and I have never stayed in a site with the pitches so packed together. Several of our. Neighbours echoed out view and said they would not stay there again.

The pitches are so narrow all the cars are parked along the road. The campsite clearly contrivances the government fire safety guidelines of 6 metres between tents or. Caravans.

At £40 per night for an electric hook ( 2 adults and 1 child ) its is one of the most expensive sites we have stayed at. However the shower toilet block can best be described as "tired".

The gents has loose tiles in the floor that when you step on them water comes up. Furthermore our pitch had clearly been used so intensively that it was at best only 70 % grass with large patches of soil.

The 11:30 quiet time may suit some but frankly for a family site is too late in my view. The site seems to attract rowdy crowds and we will not visit it again.

The area around it lovely and its possible to walk to Crickieth, about a hour. Find another site in the area is our recommendation.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: PaulineW 10 reviews from this member

Booked a last minute 2 day break at this site and had a lovely time. Fortunately the weather was good to us which helped. It's a short walk over the dune to the beach.

The Welsh Coastal footpath is right next to the campsite and is a lovely walk to Criccieth. If you're walking on the coastal foothpath try to steer clear of the railway line and walk along the beach instead. The grass was chest height and a nightmare to walk through! Not to mention the risk of ticks!

Everyone was very friendly on site and happy to answer any questions. The facilities were good and clean, although my partner said the gents toilets weren't as clean as the ladies. Dishwashing area was also very good. The site is well laid out, although it wasn't particularly busy when we were there.

Tents and caravans were mixed together and this may put some people off. There were a few groups of younger people in tents but to be fair they were very quiet at night.

I would go back again but probably not in peak season.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nomads101 2 reviews from this member

We stayed with our two young children for two nights in a tent behind the playground. Its 2 mins walk to the stunning beach which we loved.

The campsite is in a beautiful setting but it is slightly spoilt by the amount of noisy, loutish people that stay there who are only interested in getting drunk all day and all night.

There were groups of young lads throwing beer cans into the bushes and the group next to us us who were much older kept us awake with their arguing, shouting and swearing all night.

Such a shame as the site itself is great but needs to crack down on groups being loud and noisy. It seems that the pub next to the site attracts these types and if we had known about the pub being there we wouldn't have booked to stay.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dohrayme 1 review from this member

Despite dry, hot weather, the campsite was very boggy. Although not full, difficult to find flat, dry plot. Facilities were good and hosed down daily. Freezer never worked while there and full of beer and food despite signs stating for freezer packs only. Close to beach.

Stayed 2 nights. Although not busy, there were 2 separate groups of young people camping who were very noisy. Playing loud music, running around screaming with water pistols and shouting/chanting after 10pm. When mentioned to warden, she very defensively explained that site rules allowed noise until midnight as considered 'daytime '.

It was very disappointing as while everyone is on holiday and wants to have a good time, there needs to be consideration for fellow campers. Could not recommend.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Katie1 2 reviews from this member

We stayed this July, booked about 4 months in advance and booked a site by the dunes and beach, when we got there was told couldn't have the site we had paid deposit for and reserved.

We ended up right at the back of the site, paid in full. But the site rules were not enforced, kids playing football all day and bouncing balls off the van, toilets dirty, full of moths and spiders, needed updating, broken tiles, showers not working properly. People partying till 3 and 4 in the morning. We paid £40 per night, not worth it, would not stay again.

Site wardens where were they ?

Left after 2 nights.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bigyin247 18 reviews from this member

We had been doing a tour round North Wales, the weather had been a bit of hit and miss but out came the sun, just was we found this site. I had found this fantastic site after going for a quick bike ride from the Tyddn Llyn site to Black Rock sands.

What can I say?

Brand new, people fantastic, all hard standing, toilets immaculate, baby change and shower, WiFi. Did I mention right on the beach!

Yes and you can take the van onto the beach and it goes for miles and miles, which allowed me to teach my wife how to drive the van with no obstacles. So during the day we took the van onto the beach an chilled out. There is a great SPAR shop in the village and a brilliant golf course.

Best of all this site is not overpriced. It was one of least costs per night, on our tour of North Wales and the best.

NOTE:There are two other sites close by which look like something out of the 70's go look at Black Rock Sands first !

Go there, you will enjoy it, we have some great shots of the beach and the sunsets.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Janwills100 30 reviews from this member

As we live in north wales we have been to check out this site before as a day out in the car and found it to be perfect for a stay in our motorhome, we normally go abroad this time of year but this year we have to be here so of we went to Morfa Bychan and black rock sands caravan park - fantastic we arrived to be greeted by the wonderful parrot and set up on our pitch after filling up with water,

the showers have plenty of hot water which to me is essential far more essential than how modern they are as they are also very clean.

This site is perfect for a beach holiday as it's a short stride over the dunes to the beach -note very busy at weekends and school holidays the beach is busy as you can take your vehicle on it but this is a unique spot and a unique beach and there is plenty plenty of room for everyone, out of season it's perfect.

To me couldn't ask for anything more - great wardens there to assist and we love the atmosphere and the place also there is a cafe bar right by the entrance and 3supermarkets a short drive into Porthmadog and plenty of steam train rides on the Ffestiniog railway not to be missed all in all an amazing holiday

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Simon39 1 review from this member

Yet again a fantastic stay, water piping hot and showers clean and tidy. Children and adults are asked not to ride in car park area and is in forced which we found reassuring for the obvious reasons.

Park wardens very helpful and always on hand to help with pushing in caravans etc. Playing area for children and outside shower for those sandy wets suits ! Also a hose pipe to wash down your car, boat or jet ski.

The only downsides are the cost to stay which is a bit on the high side but that could just be me a bit tight ! If this site had wifi I could stop longer and the price to stay would be more justifiable all in all good times with just the usual amount of noise and laughter at night but again where's the WIFI !

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bolstridge 3 reviews from this member

Have just had a lovely stay with my husband and our 6 year old. The location is perfect for a beach holiday, as you have access from the camp site over a small dune. There is a playground but didn't seem to be used much I think due to being out of sight of the main camping area.

There were plenty of toilets and showers, but I agree with the other review in high season I think they should be cleaned more than once a day. Even though I did see the warden cleaning the sinks outside of the cleaning hours.

I think some of it is down to people not cleaning up after themselves, I saw showergel bottles, soap just left on the floor also sinks left full of water and hair. Maybe a few leave as you would like to find signs may help.

The issue with bird poo ect from another review is due to the windows being open which is needed for obvious reasons but maybe some mesh over the windows would keep the small birds and moths out at night.

There is a café and pub and small arcade by the entrance to the park. We had something to eat at the café and was very nice. The pub was expensive at £3. 30 a pint in my opinion so we tended to drink by our van.

There is also a spar, fish shop and another pub a short drive away. I will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vespa74 1 review from this member

We come to black rock at least twice a year for the last 5 years, this is a great site in a great location.

The manager is always welcoming and helpful, wifi would be great but it is a relief to get the kids off their phones and ipads :) showers hot and clean, 2 minute walk to beach and flat pitches.

Like all sites you cant choose your neighbours so if you end up with a noisy bunch next to you just have a quiet word (usually works) if not then the warden is on hand, if still no joy flood their tent when they go out :)

Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2947 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019