Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Black Rock Sands Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog > Black Rock Sands Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Black Rock Sands Caravan And Camping Park
Morfa Bychan
Porthmadog
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL49 9YH
Tel: 01766 513919
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/03/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 68 Reviews
                7/10 from 68 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Anwen 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site and only a 5 minute walk to the beach, nice and quiet and good facilities.

The toilet and shower blocks were closed due to the coronavirus however everywhere looked nice and clean, hand sanitizers every where, bin areas clean and overall site was well looked after,

The only negative was we could not get a picture on the TV so be aware in case you need an extra aerial.

There were plenty of children around and they seemed to have a good play area etc and plenty of room for them to go on their bikes. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: T6NYY 10 reviews from this member

 My second visit here this year, a cracking campsite, clean facilities, lots of hot water for showers and wash up.

Direct access to the beach is just fantastic, my 3 dogs had so much fun on the beach. The beach itself is UNBELIEVABLY clean, I walked miles up and down it and didn't spot a single piece of rubbish.

Staff on site were really helpful, particularly Emma the Site Warden.

The little pub next door the the campsite, Shenanigans, was very handy - check opening hours first.

There's a little supermarket about a mile away for any essentials.

Definitely recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Bromsgrove-Man 8 reviews from this member

 Very good location for the beach and for travelling around the area. We've stayed a couple of times now and will likely return again.

Great, well kept facilities (though they do close for a couple of hours in the afternoon for cleaning) and useful to have the cafe/bar across the road for refreshments which is well priced (though be warned there seems to be no set hours for food and they seem to run out of things all the time).

The first time we stayed there was no wind at all, the second time if was fine for a day or so then one night it was so bad several tents were damaged so I would say think about where you pitch. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: NigelDav 1 review from this member

 Although the overall location is very nice the campsite itself is not We stayed over the bank holiday and I have never stayed in a site with the pitches so packed together. Several of our. Neighbours echoed out view and said they would not stay there again.

The pitches are so narrow all the cars are parked along the road. The campsite clearly contrivances the government fire safety guidelines of 6 metres between tents or. Caravans.

At 40 per night for an electric hook ( 2 adults and 1 child ) its is one of the most expensive sites we have stayed at. However the shower toilet block can best be described as "tired".

The gents has loose tiles in the floor that when you step on them water comes up. Furthermore our pitch had clearly been used so intensively that it was at best only 70 % grass with large patches of soil.

The 11:30 quiet time may suit some but frankly for a family site is too late in my view. The site seems to attract rowdy crowds and we will not visit it again.

The area around it lovely and its possible to walk to Crickieth, about a hour. Find another site in the area is our recommendation. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: PaulineW 10 reviews from this member

 Booked a last minute 2 day break at this site and had a lovely time. Fortunately the weather was good to us which helped. It's a short walk over the dune to the beach.

The Welsh Coastal footpath is right next to the campsite and is a lovely walk to Criccieth. If you're walking on the coastal foothpath try to steer clear of the railway line and walk along the beach instead. The grass was chest height and a nightmare to walk through! Not to mention the risk of ticks!

Everyone was very friendly on site and happy to answer any questions. The facilities were good and clean, although my partner said the gents toilets weren't as clean as the ladies. Dishwashing area was also very good. The site is well laid out, although it wasn't particularly busy when we were there.

Tents and caravans were mixed together and this may put some people off. There were a few groups of younger people in tents but to be fair they were very quiet at night.

I would go back again but probably not in peak season. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nomads101 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed with our two young children for two nights in a tent behind the playground. Its 2 mins walk to the stunning beach which we loved.

The campsite is in a beautiful setting but it is slightly spoilt by the amount of noisy, loutish people that stay there who are only interested in getting drunk all day and all night.

There were groups of young lads throwing beer cans into the bushes and the group next to us us who were much older kept us awake with their arguing, shouting and swearing all night.

Such a shame as the site itself is great but needs to crack down on groups being loud and noisy. It seems that the pub next to the site attracts these types and if we had known about the pub being there we wouldn't have booked to stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dohrayme 1 review from this member

 Despite dry, hot weather, the campsite was very boggy. Although not full, difficult to find flat, dry plot. Facilities were good and hosed down daily. Freezer never worked while there and full of beer and food despite signs stating for freezer packs only. Close to beach.

Stayed 2 nights. Although not busy, there were 2 separate groups of young people camping who were very noisy. Playing loud music, running around screaming with water pistols and shouting/chanting after 10pm. When mentioned to warden, she very defensively explained that site rules allowed noise until midnight as considered 'daytime '.

It was very disappointing as while everyone is on holiday and wants to have a good time, there needs to be consideration for fellow campers. Could not recommend. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Katie1 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed this July, booked about 4 months in advance and booked a site by the dunes and beach, when we got there was told couldn't have the site we had paid deposit for and reserved.

We ended up right at the back of the site, paid in full. But the site rules were not enforced, kids playing football all day and bouncing balls off the van, toilets dirty, full of moths and spiders, needed updating, broken tiles, showers not working properly. People partying till 3 and 4 in the morning. We paid 40 per night, not worth it, would not stay again.

Site wardens where were they ?

Left after 2 nights. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bigyin247 18 reviews from this member

 We had been doing a tour round North Wales, the weather had been a bit of hit and miss but out came the sun, just was we found this site. I had found this fantastic site after going for a quick bike ride from the Tyddn Llyn site to Black Rock sands.

What can I say?

Brand new, people fantastic, all hard standing, toilets immaculate, baby change and shower, WiFi. Did I mention right on the beach!

Yes and you can take the van onto the beach and it goes for miles and miles, which allowed me to teach my wife how to drive the van with no obstacles. So during the day we took the van onto the beach an chilled out. There is a great SPAR shop in the village and a brilliant golf course.

Best of all this site is not overpriced. It was one of least costs per night, on our tour of North Wales and the best.

NOTE:There are two other sites close by which look like something out of the 70's go look at Black Rock Sands first !

Go there, you will enjoy it, we have some great shots of the beach and the sunsets. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Janwills100 30 reviews from this member

 As we live in north wales we have been to check out this site before as a day out in the car and found it to be perfect for a stay in our motorhome, we normally go abroad this time of year but this year we have to be here so of we went to Morfa Bychan and black rock sands caravan park - fantastic we arrived to be greeted by the wonderful parrot and set up on our pitch after filling up with water,

the showers have plenty of hot water which to me is essential far more essential than how modern they are as they are also very clean.

This site is perfect for a beach holiday as it's a short stride over the dunes to the beach -note very busy at weekends and school holidays the beach is busy as you can take your vehicle on it but this is a unique spot and a unique beach and there is plenty plenty of room for everyone, out of season it's perfect.

To me couldn't ask for anything more - great wardens there to assist and we love the atmosphere and the place also there is a cafe bar right by the entrance and 3supermarkets a short drive into Porthmadog and plenty of steam train rides on the Ffestiniog railway not to be missed all in all an amazing holiday 


Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Black Rock Sands Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Black Rock Sands Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Black Rock Sands Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Porthmadog      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1734 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement