Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Barton Certificated Location

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (North) > Bideford > The Barton Certificated Location > Reviews

The Barton Certificated Location
Weare Giffard
Bideford
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX39 4QP
Tel: 01234 235167  or  07974 988052
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 6 Reviews
                9/10 from 6 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jenwil 1 review from this member

 Lovely location by the church and the farm. A short cycle to the TarkaTrail and a small uphill section to cycle back.

We didn’t use their facilities so can’t judge those.

It is a working farm with a milking herd and the associated noise and a few smells - not enough to worry us and we will definitely use this site again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Josaro 3 reviews from this member

 This certified location is part of a working farm and is pleasantly situated in the rural community of Weare Giffard.

Don't be surprised if you hear cows during the night. We didn't hear them but other guests mentioned it. Nice to see the cows walking out to the fields in the morning.

Site itself is next to an old church which adds to the beauty of the setting.

There is a small additional camp site next to the CL for about six units on grass.

One toilet which was kept clean and is appropriate for a site of this size. No shower, but wouldn't expect one at a CL. The owners were friendly and would have been happy to extend our stay, but they were fully booked at the time.

Wifi is available for a small charge. You can turn left out of the site and walk along the quiet road to the ruins of the old lime kiln by the bridge over the River Torridge.

You can join the Tarka Trail here which is perfect for cycling or walking. We had an evening meal at the Cyder Presse Pub in the village. Very friendly in there and the food was lovely.

Further afield, we enjoyed Bideford with it's ancient bridge and had a snack lunch in the Cafe du Park in Victoria Park. You can hire bikes at the Puffing Billy Trading Co which is next to the Tarka Trail.

There is also access to the River Torridge there over a small bridge, which was a perfect place for a dog swim. Enjoyed the National Trust Carriage Museum and house at Arlington. Instow is a nice place to walk on the beach.

Enjoyed a takeaway lunch bought from John's Patisserie which we ate sitting on the harbour wall.

We caught the small community run ferry to Appledore on the other side of the river.

Westward Ho! is nearby but very busy on the day we went there (August Bank Holiday).

Overall, a great place to stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Caroly 1 review from this member

 Excellently situated site. Very close to Tarka Trail.

Also, in lovely village with good pub ‘Cyder Press’.

Site was very peaceful and welcoming. Had a great time watching the ponies and goats.

Will definitely stay again. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Angelica01uk 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely little gem of a site. Very quiet and well maintained. There's a field with hard standings and a slightly sloping field with grass pitches. Only one toilet in a purpose built shed but very clean. Hand sanitizer is provided at all shared facilities to aid with covid hygiene. It was only £15 a night which was a bargain compared to some sites in the area.

The horses and goats kept my kids entertained and as it's so quiet they enjoyed running around the site quite safely. There's a small playground in Weare Giffard which was ideal for them too.

The owner is very friendly and leaves you to it once you've paid.

The access to the site from Bideford is under a railway bridge with a sharp bend and as long as you don't meet the infrequent bus coming the other way, it's fine!

The Tarka Trail cycle path is accessible via the quiet road in under a mile. Great track which is family friendly but can be busy in places!

We've already booked to go back again and can't wait to return 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Nothome 5 reviews from this member

 From the moment we arrived we were made to feel truly welcome. Ross and Nicky are the perfect hosts. If you want to relax away from it all but know someone is available if you need them then this is the site for you. Set on a dairy farm with cows, ponies and pigmy goats it’s the perfect site to watch the world go by.

If you want to cycle the Tarka Trail then Torrington cycle hire have bikes to suit all abilities and they also serve snacks. The cycle track entrance is easily accessible. The bus stops literally outside the farm entrance.

The Plough Torrington is a cinema and cafe they also hold tai chi classes. Torrington has Aldi, Co Op and a Spa also a Post Office. The Green Lantern is good value for meals. Torrington has a Pannier market as does Bideford and Barnstaple.

Bike to Bideford, Barnstaple or beyond. Instow has nice cafes and pubs and dog friendly beach. Cafe Du Parc Bideford serves delicious French and English dishes. The park has lots for all the family including a small outdoor pool.

Take a trip to Made Well near Hatherleigh and wander the garden and see the animals. Really lovely well priced food served there. We popped in several times. Very friendly. Westward Ho! Has good cafes and pubs. Dog friendly part to the beach. There is a golf course at Northam. North Devon is well known for its surfing beaches. Okehampton has nice shops and cafes.

A visit to Torrington tourist information will tell you all the local places to visit. We went to Rhs Rosemoor a must if you love plants. Great cafe there. All terrain scooter available if you need one. It is beautiful all times of the year. The roses were in bud at the beginning of May. Nice plant sales area.

Access off the main a386 to the site was no problem to us. Our mh is 26 foot. Height under the bridge near the site is 11’9” or you can go via Torrington. We can’t wait to visit the site again.

It is the most relaxing site we have ever been in and certainly the friendliest. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 369 reviews from this member

 Oh dear, this site should not be open in the winter! I chose it because it has hardstandings. These were probably installed about 40 years ago and have not been touched since. They need to be twice the width and a metre longer. I'm sure the site is fine in summer (glowing reviews on the CAMC website). But goodness knows how long it takes to dry out. Everything became covered in mud just walking from the caravan to the car.

There also needs to be some sort of walkway to the tap and the bins, walking over even more mud isn't good. The track should go all round the site. Everywhere is covered in deep wheel ruts; when full you have to park on the grass, sorry, mud.

Access to the actual site is fine, but when leaving the main road you have to negotiate a sharp turn and then a steep downward slope and right angled blind bend under the old railway bridge/Tarka Trail.

The area is lovely, there are plenty of good walks on the Tarka Trail or on the coast, try Instow. There is a Morrisons in Bideford, and more shops at Atlantic village on the A39.

Satnav will take you off the A39 before the new bridge, stay on the main road and cross the bridge, left at the roundabout, then you are on the right road.

£12. 50 per night would be ok without the mud. 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Barton Certificated Location child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Barton Certificated Location?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Barton Certificated Location dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bideford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


62288 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement