Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gyrn Ddu Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Gyrn Ddu Campsite
Clynnogfawr
Caernarfon
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL54 5PS
Tel: 07391 190679
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 12
Open: 17th May To 15th September

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 8 Reviews
                10/10 from 8 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LWilkins 1 review from this member

We stayed for a week on one of the larger tent pitches in a week with lots of high winds and rain. Mark and Germaine were amazing hosts and constantly checked on all the tents whether we were at the campsite or not. They have set up the type of campsite that we have always been looking for and we will certainly come back for another visit to see how they have developed it further.

The setting is amazing, if not an occasional wind tunnel. There are views of mountains to one side and views of the sea to another. There's plenty of room for children to run around and great facilities and easy access to Snowdonia. We could walk down to the beach within 10 minutes and always found it completely deserted, great for the kids to play around in rock pools and search for shells.

We will definitely be looking to come back to Gyrn Ddu Campsite. I cannot think of a better campsite I have stayed at and would recommend it highly.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Philindanmat 1 review from this member

We stayed for three nights in one of the two beautifully equipped tipis on this small, family site with our fourteen year old daughter. Being new to camping it was great to have all the cooking equipment provided, as well as lots of useful little extras like torch, coolbox, washing up bowl etc ( the sort of things newbies might not think of ). In fact the woodstove, fairy lights and blankets in the tipi made it feel much less 'tent' and more 'home'.

The site is part of the 'Greener camping club', with a big emphasis on reducing its environmental impact - which chimed well with us. So there are no electric hook-ups. Instead there is low level solar lighting to help find your way about at night, ice blocks are provided for your coolbox, and the showers are heated by LPG - and they are warm. The washing up area, showers and composting loos (not smelly!) are spotlessly clean - because Mark and Germaine clean them twice a day.

The site is adjacent to a main road - you can hear traffic, but it does go quieter at night. Apart from that there is no other man-made noise. Just the wind in the trees.

The pitches are separated by willow screens - newly planted so quite low in 2018 but will provide pleasant private spaces in the future.

You can walk to the beach in a few minutes. It's a mixture of sand and pebbles and isn't life-guarded but you'll probably have it to yourself.

Being on the north coast of the Lleyn peninsula you have an easy drive to the Lleyn towns and beaches, inland to Snowdonia, or along the coast to Caernarfon, Conwy, Anglesea etc (many castles to explore).

Or you can just chill out by the tipi and listen to the birds or watch the stars.

Mark and Germaine are very welcoming, always around to help and suggest places to visit, and work really hard to make this site such a pleasant place to stay. We wish them every success.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Rsen 1 review from this member

We stayed for 3 nights in the ELK pre-pitched tent at Gyrn Ddu last month in an effort to persuade my husband that camping was great!

Mark and Germaine are amazing, friendly, calm, helpful and just go above and beyond really. The tent was comfortable and ridiculously well equipped and we didn't do it justice with our complete lack of fire-lighting skills.

Between the refreezing of ice packs, marshmallows supplied to toast on the fire, bottle of prosecco and free-fire training, there's no room for less than five stars really!

The site is very well thought out and it does feel good to be staying somewhere so eco-friendly in the comfort of a yurt

The dark sky status the area receives is justified once the lights are out and the stars reveal themselves!

The only thing wrong with our trip was one morning of bad weather which rolled in off the mountain and that's not something I would blame on the campsite or anyone!

Really easy to get to, less than three hrs from Manchester and then with the North Wales coastline within 20-30 mins as well as its own private beach!

The guys deserve to do really well with the site and we wish them all the best with it in the future!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sueas 1 review from this member

What an amazing, peaceful site with lovely hosts. We'd already stayed at the nearby Aberafon site a couple of years ago, which is a great location but can be busy and our sea view plot was very much exposed to the elements. This site is a little paradise – a great location, but with really generous plots, sea views (albeit further back from the coastline), plus shelter and privacy with the trees, hedgerows and recently planted willows. We spent three nights (with our seven-year-old) and would happily have stayed longer.

Germaine and Mark were great, hands-on hosts, greeting us personally when we arrived with a cup of tea, letting us choose our own plot, and making sure we had everything we needed, from ice packs to fire wood. Really got the feeling they were creating the kind of place they'd like to camp in themselves.

If your criteria is for small, friendly campsites with privacy and plenty of space, then you would be hard pressed to beat this site.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrhrdg 1 review from this member

For the last couple of summers we've opted for a split-base trip, spending a week at one site then decamping and heading off for the second week at another site. We're not the best at travelling light it's fair to say, so for this August we decided we couldn't face the hassle of taking down, driving to the next place and then setting it all up again, effectively losing a day of the holiday. Staying in one place for a fortnight has its own risks, particularly for somewhere you haven't visited before (our favourite Greener Camping Club site in Pembrokeshire wasn't available for the full 2 weeks). We have been to sites before that had good reviews and looked and sounded promising but which we were more than ready to leave after a week. No out and out disasters, just places that didn't have the right vibe for us and for which a second week would have definitely felt too long.

So to this year and the Gyrn Ddu campsite. If we thought we were taking a chance with a two-week booking, that was because we hadn't yet had opportunity to appreciate the thought and care that the owners Germaine and Mark have put into preparing the site for its first season or, more importantly still, the friendly, positive spirit they both bring to making everything work for their visitors once on site.

The location and site layout is a good start. Tucked between the imposing hills of Gyrn Goch/Gyrn Ddu and a long, quiet beach the stunning scenery is taken care of. Taking advantage of the single-location stay, which meant we didn't feel the need to dash off early every day to explore as much as we could in the time available, we settled into a pattern of long climbs/hikes every second day at beautiful places around the peninsula and in Snowdonia and quieter beach or short-walk days in between. Mornings were often spent pottering around the site or local area. A lovely boat trip to Bardsey Island, our one 'paid' excursion off the trip, was a highlight as were stunning walks around Uwch Mynydd at the foot of the pensinsula and up Garn Boduan and Yr Eifl on the peninsula and the Devil's Kitchen in Snowdonia.

Very spacious pitches well separated from each other (which will be increasingly so in future seasons as the young willows planted between the pitches mature) and each with a picnic table/benches and fire pit are just right. Two compost toilets, two gas-powered showers and a covered washing-up area complete the facilities - basic certainly, but that's what we like and all was kept scrupulously clean and well-maintained. A communal cooking area/shelter would have been an asset on one or two of the wetter, wilder evenings - less so perhaps for those with larger family-style tents, but for back-to-basics campers the lack of an alternative refuge might be a bit limiting when the outdoors stops playing nice! (Creditable) Greener Camping Club rules play a part in this - no permanent structures can be left on site once the season ends, which obviously presents a challenge for larger structures of the refuge-type. From talking to them on the subject, it's a challenge the owners are already giving some thought to.

We had a couple of days of high wind during our stay and it was was typical of the extra-mile attention to detail that makes this place special that Mark and Germaine checked in regularly to make sure everybody and everything was holding up against the wind on those days and even checked and repegged guylines which the wind had pulled up while we were out and about. Very reassuring!

The bottom line is that the two weeks flew by. This wasn't a gamble as it turned out, it was a racing cert. The joy is that it will also get better. This was the first season open and these are owners who care about their site and about their visitors. They will have benefited from seeing what works well and what doesn't work as well as they'd like in this first season and have actively sought their visitors' suggestions. That bodes very well indeed for next year and beyond and I've no doubt we'll be one of many families who make a return visit. Heartily recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BenAndBex 1 review from this member

Thank you for our lovely stay. I think it’s the best camp site we have ever been to.

Mark and Germaine (the owners) are the the most helpful and friendliest people we have met that run a campsite.

The views are stunning and so is the area.

The facilities were very effective, friendly to the environment and clean - so thank you!

I hope more campsites do the same thing as you!

The campsite is so quiet and peaceful. There is no feeling of other campers being too close by, big bonus for us. Each plot is separated by newly planted willow trees which will be lovely when they have grown.

The future plans for the site also sound very promising and we can’t fault anything they have done or plan to do.

Location is great too, everywhere we wanted to visit is close by. We particularly enjoyed Morfa Nefyn,

Which has beautiful beaches, scenery and a lovely pub (The Ty Coch Inn). We were also fortunate enough to spot seals and dolphins on our walks along the coastal path (at the tip of the golf course).

Will be visiting again in the future, that's for sure.

Will be recommending to all our friends and family.

Thanks again.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mschreuder 1 review from this member

Where else could you camp at the sea side, and still be the only people around at times? It is so peaceful! You do hear the noise of the main road, but that is easily forgotten due to the beautiful scenery, between the mountains and the sea. We watched the sunset at the beach every evening (the neighbour’s friendly dog Jess came with us to the beach each time to play), and the starry nights were breathtaking.

We like the fact that there are no campervans and caravans. And all the ecological facilities are cleaned very regularly.

Within reach are many attractions, such as the Snowdonia mountains, Llyn peninsula, Anglesey, and a lot of hiking opportunities.

Above all, the owners Germaine and Mark are the most welcoming and helpful hosts you can wish for.

We will definitely return some day!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sarah Franks90 2 reviews from this member

Hello we have not long come back from our best ever holiday. We stayed at Gyrn Ddu campsite.

It is an eco campsite and its amazing the pitches are huge and come with a picnic bench and fire pit.

There are two composting toilets

And two showers

Both are kept extremely clean and stocked with plenty of toilet paper and shampoo and shower gell.

There are two washing up sinks as well.

There is a carpark by the toilets and no cars allowed by pitches but wheelbarrow are available to take stuff to pitches.

But most of all the owners really made it. They were so helpful and lovely people following there dream of a perfect campsite and they are doing an amazing job. Nothing is to much for them.

We will definitely be returning as often as we can we have found our perfect site xx


Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3476 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019