Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Parc Cwm Darran

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Glamorgan > Bargoed > Parc Cwm Darran Reviews

Parc Cwm Darran
Deri
Bargoed
Glamorgan   (Browse area)
CF81 9NR
Tel: 01443 875557
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
                8/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SJF1503 12 reviews from this member

 An excellent site tucked away near a beautiful lake with circular walk and pleasant cycle paths.

A well kept site and very peaceful. The washing facilities weren't modern but were kept very clean and toilet paper replaced regularly.

Nice hot water both in showers and for washing up. We impressed by the nearby coffee shop and enjoyed drinks and ice creams there. Again not fancy but lovely young staff.

A good site for children away from city life. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Climbergirl 14 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site! There has been loads of work done on the site which seems to have cleared up the earlier problems including a security gate where you require a fob to enter.

The site is in beautiful surroundings with great footpaths and cycle ways round the lakes, through the the woods and down a disused railway to the local town.

The site has basic amenities but the kitchen block and toilet blocks were clean and there was a cafe on site which we didn't use.

I would highly recommend 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mayscamping 1 review from this member

 I wanted to post this review as we have just returned from a nights camping and following negative reviews I was pleasantly surprised. I'm a big fan of the park and go there often as I live locally.

The park itself is beautiful and very peaceful. This site is perfect for families who want to meet up and have fun in the outdoors where your children are safe to play.

We stayed in the electric hook up field and there was a central grass areas where there picnic tables and a basketball hoop, our kids played there for hours and thoroughly enjoyed. There was a place to wash up and the toilets were cleaned twice in the 24 hours we were there.

Yes the facilities are not posh but they were well maintained. The site has a lovely lake and park and a cafe.

We will definitely be returning but will be staying longer - £15. 50 a night the prices are very reasonable too. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lemone 4 reviews from this member

 Having seen the rather old reviews I was dubious about booking here but needed to be in the area and this was the only place available at the time. I was pleasantly surprised.

There has been a fair bit of work down over the last few years. There is lighting outside the toilets which are accessed using an electronic fob (£10 deposit) which also operates the gated access to the site. The toilets are not luxurious but appear to have been refurbished lately.

They might be under pressure a bit if the site was full as there are only 3 cubicles and 2 showers in the ladies and 2 cubicles and 2 showers in the gents. The showers were a good temperature but operated by the annoying push button - could have done with a couple of extra hooks or a shelf. Didn't use the kitchen area but it looked OK.

The site itself was nicely kept but not manicured and in a lovely setting. When we arrived there were some sheep there which were later rounded up by a farmer with his dog; lovely to see them work so well and patiently together - not a show you get at every campsite. Perhaps he could do it every day lol.

The Parc is lovely with an amphitheatre where shows are put on (Romeo and Juliet in July this year), good paths round the lake area to walk, run or cycle and things for children to do. The cafť on site is good. We had two meals there; one a pub grub type meal and Sunday lunch which was home cooked with fresh vegetables and gorgeous beef, all for £6. 95 and a struggle to finish! Check out the Parc Cwm Darran website.

Asda, Lidl, Tesco and Morrison all within a reasonable distance. Other shopping at Cyfarthfa Retail Park, Merthyr Tydfil and Festival Outlet Park at Ebbw Vale. Plenty of absolutely stunning scenery and of course the Brecon Beacons (do go to the Visitor Centre). For food try the Railway Tavern in Tredegar - good value. A little more upmarket try the Stables View in Merthyr or The Windsor in Butetown. Some of the best pub food I have ever had.

Give it a try - things have changed. I will definitely be going back

Forgot to mention entry is down a fairly steep hill with a bend so take care 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: OWENGLYNDWR 1 review from this member

 Very disappointed in this site. It is set in the most stunning surroundings but the safety facilities are really lacking.

Visited this site 2 months before and was assured faulty emergency button and broken safety lighting would be repaired and working for the summer season - it was not.

Pitch black at the entrance to toilets and no ranger was seen for the entire time we were there.

Vans would turn up during the night pitch up and gone by early morning - you had no idea who was next to you. Kept awake through the 2nd night by rats outside the tent - bins were overflowing with rubbish.

The final straw was our tent was unzipped through the night by persons unknown - the children wouldn't stay and we had to cut our break short. We complained but nothing was taken seriously. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jane Coles 3 reviews from this member

 To confirm the experiences below, we found that locals pitch up during the early part of the season to test their tents out and have lots of friends & family visit them onsite. At one point we had about six cars & 20 plus people at the pitch next to us, with taxis shuttling people back and fore to the village to bring forgotten CD's, make -up and more friends!

As if the group football match wasn't enough, we then had a karaoke machine playing until midnight!

The park knew they had a problem and had received many complaints, so it's worth asking if they still have a problem before you visit.

The security company monitoring the situation weren't doing enough, so that may well have changed.

The park itself is stunning and well worth a visit. With Lidl's and Asda just a short drive away, it makes a great stop not to far from major roads & sight-seeing opportunities.

Highly recommended as a setting. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vic29 3 reviews from this member

 Have stayed at Parc Cwm Darran lots of times as I don't live too far away. It's a nice secluded area with just 30 pitches all with electric hook up and the price is not bad too.
Toilets are cleaned every day not that great , kitchen is not very nice at all but has very hot water.
If you like walking you would probably like this site. The children's park not up to much , a bit of TLC needed but overall nice for a quiet break. 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KiwiGary 1 review from this member

 Have just retuned from a weekend away at Parc Cwm Darran in South Wales. Itís a great spot indeed, loads of walking to do. Itís a shame that the campsite isnít the best we have seen. The facilities, which are accessed by a swipe key, are OK. There were cleaned at least daily. The kitchen area was very dirty, and didnít seem to be cleaned at all. I had too clean it before and after we used it. We also felt like we were pushed off our campsite. This wasnít the camps fault, but maybe if the Ranger took more of active interest, things could be better. It does appear after 4pm the site isnít managed at all. On our first night some people turned up and set up camp at 10pm, there were gone by the time the ranger turned up at 9am. So this seems to be a good way to get cheap camping. We camped in an empty part of the site and we returned that night to have a rather loud family within 3 feet of our tent. There had also planted a small tent on the front of our site, and parked two cars also on our site. There also had set up a table and chairs very close to our tent, it made us feel very uncomfortable to say the least. Then some other people turned up and asked us to move our car, because there wanted to put a tent on our site. They thought we were part of this large group and had invaded their new pitch. This wasnít the case, but I can see how he made the mistake. We did feel like we were being pushed us off our site, on the last night we did move our tent to another camp site. As soon as we moved they moved they tent onto where we were camped. So that kind of confirmed their motives.

Itís a nice spot, I think maybe if the Ranger was be more involved in what happens at the site. I am sure it would be a great place to camp. Unfortunately it seems that some people don't seem to be worried about other campers. In these cases it would be good if the Ranger stepped and advised people of campsite manners. He did stop some other campers riding a mini motorbike around the concrete circle. So that was a relief to our sleep and us. I wouldnít recommend the campsite sorry; I canít see us returning anytime soon either. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Parc Cwm Darran child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Parc Cwm Darran?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Parc Cwm Darran dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bargoed      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Glamorgan

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2622 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement