Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Swallowholme Camping & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Swallowholme Camping & Caravan Park Reviews

Swallowholme Camping & Caravan Park
Station Road
Bamford
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 0BN
Tel: 01433 650981
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 65
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 59 Reviews
                9/10 from 59 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Livelylass 14 reviews from this member

Perfect base to explore Hope Valley.

Great site lay out with the River Derwent flowing at the bottom of the campsite.

Site is a mix of seasonal pitches and touring tents / caravans and motorhomes.

There is a footpath that runs right through the campsite offering walks straight from your base.

However the whole area is open to you as there is a bus stop immediately outside the entrance to the site and Bamford train station is 2 min walk which offers regular service to Sheffield or Manchester, but more importantly stops at places like Hope and Edale offering up all their walks.

Site facilities are very clean and well maintained. Loads of hot water.

Loved the borrow library of books / DVDís / cassettes and games which is found in the dishwashing area.

Good 3G / 4G coverage.

Would happily and easily recommend this site.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Justin Andrew 1 review from this member

I have been to this campsite twice a year for maybe the past 4 years. I absolutely love it. It gets better every year. Yes there's a train but for me it adds to its quaintness. I will continue to return for years to come. There's so much to do around these parts. I bike and walk and every year is different.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Camogirl- 15 reviews from this member

Great site. Ideal for walking and all other activities in the Derbyshire.

We spent 5 night here and only took the van off once.

The site is next door to the train line but after the first night soon got used to the trains passing and their are not that many.

With the train station just up the road you can get to lots of places and walk back to the site. A walk up Win hill can be rewarded with fantastic views in all directions. Although their is no ball games on site their is a great play area about 100m up the road with 2 foot ball fields for the kids to run around and benches for parent to sit at.

The 24 hour garage is very well stocked and easy to get to.

If you into gardening then the Herb centre towards Hathersage has lots of great plants with a great cafť. Towards Edale is a more every day garden centre but the plants are just as good.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: WB1564 1 review from this member

Nice site. Clean toilets and showers, although not a path to them. We only spent one night there, but the noise of the trains woke us several times through the night (line used by freight). Shame as everything else was lovely (next to river, ducks on site, even a small patio area on plot).

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mic60 7 reviews from this member

This is the second time we have stayed and the site has improved on its very good standards last year. The bathroom facilities are clean and adequate for the number of pitches, the landscaping is attractive and the site is well maintained. The owners live on site so there is always help on hand if you need it.

The site is well located in the Hope Valley, with nice walking from the site. The train to Sheffield or Manchester can be caught from a station only 5 mins away.

All in all, good value for money.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: S64miller 40 reviews from this member

What a lovely site this is. The facilities are clean, modern and very well cared for. The site itself is maintained to a high standard. I was sat outside in the evening looking at the backdrop of green hills. There is a busy road and a trainline but the noise was never an issue. We had Ducks outside the unit and loads of different birds. There are buses within yards of the entrance and a train station just over the road that takes you to Sheffield or Manchester. The couple who run this site are lovely, helpful, chatty and obviously love the place.

The only thing that will stop me from coming back in the near future is the No dogs rule. Had a great weekend even without our lovely dog.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: T5Bilbos 3 reviews from this member

An Oasis.

This is a lovely little family run site.

On arrival its very clear the effort Graham and Pam have put in to make it special; hard standings with patios if required, flower beds, neatly cut grass, decorative walls, fences and spotless modern toilet and shower facilities.

They also make you feel welcome and give good advice.

The site is an excellent location for walkers its right by the Derwent river, a 10 min walk to the beautiful Bamford Mill, about 30 mins to Ladybower Reservoir and a short car journey for walks to Stannage Edge and Mam Tor. Its also about 30 mins by car to the Monsal Trail for walking or cycling

There is a 24hr shop closeby and more shops in nearby Bamford, Castleton or Hathersage.

You can keep on top of things with the free WiFi

We would certainly return to this site when next in the area

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Span 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here during the summer holidays as a family of 2 adults and 2 young kids.

It's a lovely campsite. Very clean, with excellent facilities and friendly owners who had plenty of info on local walks and attractions. The ducks from the adjacent river Derwent are also very friendly!

We didn't use electric hook up but may do in the future.

The trains weren't a bother - our girls loved watching them go past, and the road wasn't noisy, even from the other side of the hedge. We used the nearby station to pop to Sheffield too.

There is a local kids playground just up the road and a 24 hour garage in the other direction.

It was an excellent base for exploring the Peaks and we'll definitely return once it warms up a bit, especially as we now live only half an hour away (Derbyshire instead of Surrey).

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sunburnden 9 reviews from this member

Had 2 nights on this site and the sun was shining, walked up the hill to Bamford but not much to see, trains at the back of the site noisy and frequent so used earplugs at night, spotless toilets/shower but up quite a few wobbly steps, grass and the site very neat and tidy, recycle bins near entrance, caught bus into Castleton and train station about 5-10 mins walk from site to go to Edale, lovely lady host and lots of info leaflets, site backs onto the river but not in view from the pitches, lots of friendly ducks, there is a local play area with swings/slides a few mins from the site but it's not signed posted, would return again for the odd night or 2

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Howard Turner 1 review from this member

3 nights camping at Swallowholme campsite May Day weekend. Very friendly welcome on arrival given pitch options also given a copy of sites rules and an information sheet giving a quick summary of the area including place's to vist distance to travel.

Camping area quiet flat with a number of seats and benches on campaign area. The toilet and shower block is very well kept and fitted out to a good standard. Had 2 nights in the Anglers Pup good food and beers. The site is an ideal location I spent 3 days hiking in the surrounding areas with a train station on the doorstep. I will use the site aging when I next visit Hope Valley.

Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4134 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019