Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Azure Seas Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft > Azure Seas Caravan Park Reviews

Azure Seas Caravan Park
The Street
Corton
Lowestoft
Suffolk   (Browse area)

Tel: 01502 731403
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Lodges For Sale Only Now
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 36 Reviews
                7/10 from 36 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rex Hudson

 We were unable to get a response by email or telephone so we went on the off chance.

The reception had moved since we had last been there so there was a convoluted journey past rows of statics. The man at the reception was very short with me and told me they did not offer camping; they had gone fully static in 2012. He couldn't suggest anywhere else although he thought there might be a farm at the other end on the village.

I pointed out that there was still a reference to camping on the website but all he said was that they didn't do it any more. The website has subsequently been updated. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: BadBoyBushy 16 reviews from this member

 We (2 adults, 1 baby and a dog) stayed for 4 nights midweek over the Jubilee week and were surprised to find the site less than half full (their website being mostly based on static sales probably doesn't help).

We were welcomed by Dai (the site owner) who showed us to the touring and camping area located at the far end of the site where we had our pick of pitches. The hookup points were poorly sited so a long power lead was required. Luckily we have 2 so we connected them together.

The soil is very soft and easy to peg our awning into, and also drained fairly quickly after some substantial rain, but took quite some time to fully dry due to the lack of sun through the trees. The location in the woods also meant a lack of grass in places.

A 5min walk through the woods takes you to the quite beach. The beach has no facilities and is a mix of sand and shingle.

The rates for June 2012 were £12. 00 per pitch and £4. 00 if using hookup. No extras are charged for awnings, dogs, extra people etc. We found this more than acceptable given the double bank holiday.

Although we had little use for them, the only big gripe we had was the distance the toilets/showers are from the camping site. Based in the middle of the statics (who don't need them).

It would appear that many years ago the site was split 50/50 camping and statics so the toilets were perfectly placed, but now the statics have been put on the original camping pitches, and new pitches have been created further away in the woods.

Having said that, they were warm, clean and stocked whenever we used them. They also housed the chemical loo disposal, and 2 twin tub washing machines (£2. 20 per wash) and 1 tumble dryer (£1. 00).

This site is great value for money, but in my opinion, not for those who are glampers due to the distance the toilets are from the camp site, and the lack of grass making the ground a little dirty when wet. Ideal for short breaks or stop overs.

Would we go back there. Yes 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Macheath 7 reviews from this member

 Just spent three nights at this site over august bank holiday weekend. As we have a 9 and 11 year old we weren't sure how it would go due to lack of pool and facilities, but everywhere else was booked. The children loved the rope swing in the woods, and soon made lots of friends with other children on site. The beach was a bit stoney but that didn't stop them going in the sea. We spent lots of time walking our dog in the woods, and the children loved being outdoors. The tent and tourer part was very sheltered under trees which was great when it rained. We were lucky enough to have a cliff pitch, and woke up to the sound of the sea each morning. The shower blocks were a short walk away and although not shiny and new they were clean, with hot water. Electric hook up points on some pitches are quite far from your caravan. Luckily our lead reached. Others weren't so lucky!There is a lovely pub just outside the site that do nice food if you don't want to cook. We all had a great time at this site and the children didn't want to leave. We will go back again, hopefully soon as its not too far from home. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrsfarnie 1 review from this member

 I have just returned from a 3 night stay at Azure Seas with my husband and 2 small boys aged 3 and 5. We were very pleased with the site. It is a small, friendly site located just 5 minutes walk from a pub and the beach- in opposite directions unfortunately! The pitch was clearly numbered and was a large size for our 8 berth tent. We even had a sea view from our pitch! The pitch was located in a dense woodland and was very sandy underfoot which when wet is not easy to keep out your tent.

The toilets are located a distance from the touring site and on a night is very dark to walk back as has poor lighting in place. This could do with being updated. The toilet block however was very clean and always had toilet roll- unlike another post states. The site is located very close to Lowestoft town centre and not too far a drive from Great Yarmouth. While there we visited Pleasure wood hills and could hear the rides from the camp site. The pitch price was very good value for money. We will definitely be returning to Azure Seas. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kampa 5 reviews from this member

 Subject to my previous review, my latest visit was very different,the ground works that had been carried out must have been a one off, although this was peak season the site was not full, so why was there never any toilet paper.

Some pitches had more than one unit on them resulting in very noisy and late nights (early mornings), one evening music was played very loudly from one caravan that appears to be a permanent fixture until the early hours and on the guest leaving decided that they had not made enough noise and tooted his car horn as he left the site.

If you want a site that has no restrictions on noise then use this site, as I will use another one in the future .Due to the heavy rain the ground was very muddy, one day the dustcart had to be towed out of the mud. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sylvpaul 1 review from this member

 Just got back from 3 night stay. Was plenty of room to pitch tent. People from campsite and campers were very friendly. Pub at end of road. Only 7.5 miles from Yarmouth and only 2 from Lowestoft so well located especially if you have a car for both. Toilets and showers very clean only downside is you don't really get any sun due to the trees but would definitely go again 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Skate68 1 review from this member

 Stayed for two nights at the Azure Holiday Village in a small two room tent, just my husband and I. We stayed on pitch number 5. This was in the first part of the wooded entrance alongside the road into the wood. All the tent camping is in the wooded area and is therefore quite dark with just a few rays of sun making their way through the trees. We were lucky that we had great weather, dry and warm. Had it been wet I don’t think I’d have enjoyed the site so much as there is only dirt and leaves and woodland on the ground, no grass. The tent would have been filthy dirty! The site is beside a very busy main road and traffic noise was a little intrusive but not enough to stop us returning. Lots of wildlife roaming and flying around. Millions and millions of rabbits! Kids would love the wood, plenty of games to make up and play!

The toilet/washing facilities were good. Clean and tidy. The showers are indeed push button ones. My first morning the shower I choose had a button which needed to be held in all the time, however the second morning I choose a different cubicle and each push of the button gave about 30-40 seconds of hot water, much better. No sockets for hairdryers, not a problem for me for a couple of days but would have been had we have stayed longer.

No freezer for ice blocks, again not a problem for a couple of days. There is a small shop in Corton village, a fifteen minute walk form the site selling a little of everything. The washing-up sinks were fine, two in a stand alone room and more in the ladies shower block. Also two washing machines in the stand alone room.

The site itself is positioned beautifully for the beach, a short walk through the wood and you’re there. And yes, there is still a small part of the beach which is for naturists.

Lovely pub at the entrance to the site, The Corton Inn. They had an Ozzy Osborne tribute act on on the Friday we were there and very good he was too! Their “whats coming up boards” showed other bands scheduled to play plus quizzes too. Although we didn’t eat, many were and what we saw looked good. Children were welcome too.

A lovely site and area to base yourself to explore Lowestoft, Yarmouth, Gorleston, however also really lovely if you just want to stay put and enjoy a relaxing break in the country beside the sea. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dubndog 3 reviews from this member

 Just purchased new/old campervan so we're trying out sites for short breaks - I chose Azure Seas (amusing name for the North Sea coast)as it wasn't far from home. Found the site easily, stopped at reception (very smoky inside), paid and went off to find our pitch. They're in the woods, marked ok although we did shuffle about quite a bit to make sure we were vaguely in the right place with an awning to put up and avoiding tree roots. Got settled and strolled off to the beach, just a very short walk away.

I was warned by friends that disgruntled nudists and voyeurs still hang about at Corton even though it's no longer a designated beach but no problems at all, hardly anyone there and we had a great time. Back at camp, we sat for a while admiring the view - although there's the fence and bushes we could sit in the van and see the sea, fantastic view. Just a note - Pleasurewood Hills adventure park isn't far away so for a good part of the day you can hear distant rumbling and screaming - it didn't bother us and by evening there's just peace and the sea.

We ate at the pub next door, really nice pub food, friendly staff.

Facilities - the toilets were clean, we didn't use the showers but they looked basic and clean. Not sure what the site would be like in peak season, there were tents in the woods where there didn't seem to be designated pitches, but while we were there it wasn't very busy. Overall a very pleasant one-night stay, we'd happily go there again. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Leeney 4 reviews from this member

 Just recently returned from Azure Seas. Must say it wasn't really our cup of tea although can appreciate why it is attractive to some other campers.

Staff friendly on arrival but left to find our own pitch. We were informed that someone would come up and see us but they didn't. The touring/camping field was at the end of the site, you have to go through the static site to reach it.

The pitches are in the middle of very tall trees and we found it very difficult to get our caravan onto the pitch and even more difficult trying to get it out.

Being surrounded by trees made the site very dark and a bit gloomy. There was no open space for children to play. We had to clear away a number of discarded bottles and used BBQ trays with cigarette butts from our pitch.

Our pitch luckily had a view of the sea though some bushes at the top of the cliff. The toilets/showers were situated on the static site and a 3 to 5 minute walk from the touring site. We used the facilities in our caravan but for those in tents it may be a little difficult for people with children to use the toilets especially at night when its so dark.

Although there was lighting, it was not switched on so the walk back to our caravan after visiting the pub was a little concerning especially trying to avoid the tree roots etc as you couldn't see where you was walking.

The floor of the site is mainly mud and sand - no grass, a little messy especially after rain. Luckily we had a long cable but could only just reach the electric hook up.

We couldn't put up our awning because of the tree branches etc. Sap and bird droppings is what you may expect from camping in woods. The beach is a short walk through the woods and is quite nice. The pub at the entrance of the site was nice with good food and friendly staff. There were 3/4 other caravans on the site and a few tents.

The family in the caravan next to ours said they also had trouble getting onto their pitch and if they didn't have a motor mover they wouldn't have been able to get their caravan in. They had to move their caravan around on their pitch so their hook up could reach.

I would say that this site is more suitable for tents and small caravans. We had intended to stay for 3/4 nights but as it was pretty dark/gloomy, I was longing for some proper daylight so I could sit outside our van with a glass of wine and relax, we decided to move on.

The site wasn't for us and we went in search of another site. Lucky for us we found one so we only stayed for one night. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JMC4 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a fantastic couple of days at this site. The pitch was secluded with a wooded area for the kids to play in. The trees meant that we didn't need to keep reapplying sun cream in the heat of the midday sun and kept the tent cool.

The beach was quiet and just a 10 minutes walk from the tent. The toilet were clean with toilet tissue replenished at the beginning of each day (although sometimes was a little scarce by the evening.)

Overall very enjoyable and we will definitely return! 


Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Azure Seas Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Azure Seas Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Azure Seas Caravan Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3214 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements