Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wild Duck Holiday Park (haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Wild Duck Holiday Park (haven Holidays) Reviews

Wild Duck Holiday Park (haven Holidays)
Howards Common
Belton
Great Yarmouth
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR31 9NE
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 250
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 106 Reviews
                8/10 from 106 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: L gilding 1 review from this member

 We booked a extra wide modern 2 bed caravan and we have been put in a dated 3 bed small bedroom caravan bedding is awful.

Pool is nice, shop is continent, fish and chips at cooks is pricey and rank. I have took pictures of the food we ended up wasting after paying 27 for three of us.

Kids entertainment was shocking walked out after 45mins as my 5 year old said she was bord.

Park is terrible for kids only really a slide to use swings have been taken away for some reason we don't understand.

We are only two days in to our holiday and we can't wait to get home.

Won't be visiting again unless things improve and reviews prove that. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: HMackin47a 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 4 nights to try out our new to use folding camper trailer tent. Staff on arrival were welcoming, and drove right to our pitch. Booked as a haven hideaway holiday that nothing was open.

On the evening of our first night we were told by another guest staying in a static that everything was open and they had got 3 slots at the pool and had to be pre booked. We went to the pool to be told the whole week was booked out. Felt like holiday home customers got priority over touring with everything as was given no information that anything was open, all the activities in the day were full too.

We were on the pitch next to the toilet block and football pitch. The pitch appeared to be a gathering point for teenagers at night swearing, smashing bottles, which we ended up ringing security about one evening, the same night at 3am my husband went outside to them and told them to shut up and move on. 3Am was a joke when I have young children trying to sleep. Obviously this is not the parks fault.

Toilets were ok, showers dated though and poor quality, need upgrading. The shop sold all the essentials, the restaurant we managed to get booked into one afternoon. Food and service were great. Swings had been removed from children's play area near the tourers and tents, not sure why.

Strict gate security which was reassuring. Not too far to travel into great Yarmouth. Take away and pharmacy just outside the park gates. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Lindarutter 3 reviews from this member

 We really enjoyed our weekend here. Even though we arrived after reception had closed we were given a warm welcome on the gate and immediately shown to our pitch.

On first sight the camping area seemed a bit crowded but as we spent hardly any time in the van it wasn't a problem. Showers and toilets were always clean and in good working order; there are lots of them so we never had to queue.

The on-site Co-op is well stocked and the camp itself is clean and tidy and well-maintained. The outdoor pool was blissfully warm and by the end of our stay my foster child was the cleanest boy in Suffolk!

We enjoyed this site so much we have booked to return in the summer holidays (and possibly this weekend too as the weather forecast is good). The children's playground nearest the camping area is directly under the shade of trees so it was great in the hot sunny weather. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Ljamfam 33 reviews from this member

 The touring park is set among trees and pitches are laid out randomly throughout. Although we were very lucky with our pitch a great many are rather squashed in and in the summer when the trees are covered in leaves it could be fairly dark, with no sun, on a large number of pitches.

Toilet and shower facilities are cleaned regularly throughout the day. Water in the showers is only just warm with the dreaded push button giving a very short spurt of water. No shelf in shower to put sponge and soap on, these had to be put on the floor. No seat anywhere for those needed to sit while dressing.

Rather noisy play area right behind some of the pitches. Entertainment designed for children which they all seemed to love. Swimming pool used the band system which gave you 45 mins in the pool. Very fair to everyone. Plenty of lifeguards who were paying attention at all times which was nice to see.

The restaurant/bar needed more staff at times. There were three tables around us covered with dirty glasses for over an hour and a half before anyone cleared them away. Choice of food was very basic and portions a bit small but this was reflected in the price. Toilets needed maintaining during day and evening. Often no soap which is not nice when you are eating.

Overall good value for money but we would not go back. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sonygeezer 12 reviews from this member

 Well what can I say we booked for the month of October cost us 189 for a standard pitch with electric hook up price was for 6 people which included 6 fun passes which entitled you entry into the free daily and nightly entrainment and also the swimming pools.

All the staff were always friendly and Debby the touring/camping site warden is so helpful and always has time to pass the time of day with you.

The touring/camping site is close to all the amenities. The sitting duck pub restaurant serves food slightly expensive but not too over the and the food is good. The toilets and showers on the touring/campsite are cleaned regularly but could do with a upgrade but besides this it is a perfect site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Babytanner 8 reviews from this member

 We decided to stay at Haven Wild Duck, as regular Haven visitors we like the Haven set up for the kids. We have not stayed on this site before.

We booked a week for our family of 2 adults 3 children and 2 dogs in our Folding camper on an electric pitch. We stayed with another family making a larger group of 11.

Arriving at the site we were given a VERY warm welcome by the gate security by Big Alan. He was full of information and was extremely friendly. This was a wonderful start to the holiday and exactly what you should expect from a big holiday organisation like Haven.

Check in was quick and painless we quickly made our way to the camping touring area looking for the warden as directed.

At the touring area we waited and was quickly welcomed by Debbie in her speedy golf cart big friendly smiles very welcoming. She gave us the choice of of pitches to suit us and showed us to the pitch.

We settled in well set up on a level pitch slightly shaded by a tree with the slight feel of camping in the woods.

The pitches were well laid out and spacious. Although the site has the feeling of being big its actually not as big as you may think. There is one central toilet shower block with everything you need. I do feel this could be better mainly the showers that are starting to show age but work well and are clean and tidy.

There is a nice children's play area near the shower toilet block with the main path leading to the main entertainment complex area. There is the usual Haven set up bar restaurant swimming pool main show bar and amusements and a mini marked spar. Just behind this is the bike hire hut. This is a great activity for a sunny day its a bit pricey but we had great fun navigate through the middle of the park towards the ponds in the middle and take a moment to sit and watch the ducks and fountain its very nice and you can see why some statics are places with a balcony overlooking this area what a prime location on this site.

Its all within walking easy walking distance of the camping area and no trouble for two of our party who have walking disabilities.

We did have some issues in the Sitting Duck Restaurant with Breakfast one morning. Poor quality cooked food missing ordered food and generally poor overall on this one occasion which was all blamed on to a new chef in training. Everything was quickly rectified by the Female Team leader on the bar who took charge well and quickly took the failing staff members to task and fully refunded the meals for the whole party. Later in the stay we found out that one of our servers that performed very well had only been on the team for 4 days she was a credit to the team and looked after us the whole week when she saw us this more than make up for this once incident which we can now overlook.

The indoor pool is a nice size it is well managed and has good ample changing and locker facilities. There is a nice looking outdoor pool which we did not use this time as it was busy with the great weather and I wanted to build my sons swimming confidence in a quieter pool.

Knowing Haven I can see this park having a nice new show bar refit more in line with the Bradley and Rory theme they could do with a better look gift shop which my kids love to by all the flashy toy toys from which always break but I cant refuse them.

I can also see the amusements area could do with better machines and a bit of an upgrade but I'm sure this will be done haven are quite good at this.

This is a great site for the kids ideal for families.

Be aware that you will want to use some sort of insect repellent spray. I would also suggest you keep your fly sheet openings on tents etc closed as the biting insects can be quite challenging in the evenings if you like to sit out.

This is a very nice site and we will 100% be returning we have found this to be one of the best Haven site to stay at. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Madasdru 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a mid week break and despite the weather, we had a fantastic time. When we arrived a very friendly member of staff offered us the chiose of 3 different pitches. We had an extra large pitch with electric hook up and there was plenty of room for our 12 man tent, people carrier and an outside seating area. Due to heavy rain we did get flooded out, but once it stopped raining the pitch was very porous and the puddles soon disappeared.

The site had everything we needed. A small spar shop selling everything we needed at the expected slightly higher price. A lovely warm indoor pool (although it was in my opinion slightly overcrowded ). A restaurant offering a good selection of food at a reasonable price (this was a little dirty, but once told tbe staff happily cleaned it up).

A fish and chip shop that was a little bit pricey but this is to be expected on a camp site. The arcade was great fun and had plenty of variety for all ages. I only saw one show but that was great and the children loved it.

The toilet block was warm and clean, but there was only one hand drier and one socket for a hair drier. A room with 4 sinks is provided for dish washing and water was hot (always a bonus ). There is also a laundry room. All this is on the edge of the touring field and next to the play park. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barrowcamper 8 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site really friendly and helpful touring warden, toilets and shower block kept clean and tidy, could do with updating but does what it needs and clean. Pitches in a nice woodland setting and not on top of each other. Play area for kids at edge of touring site. Usual Haven activities on site. Bar/restaurant staff all really friendly and took time to chat with us.

Recommend a day trip to hire at boat on Broads.

Tesco Extra and Asda supermarkets at Great Yarmouth approx. 15/20 mins drive.

On site Spar not cheap but ok for odd items.

Would definitely recommend this Haven site as it is a lot smaller and quieter than most and really friendly.

Security staff often patrolling at night and on site entrance barrier during the daytime. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Marksarahandfamily 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our 5th visit to this site, we love it here. Bargain price of 120 for 7 nights for 5 of us, including electric.

Toilet block always kept clean, push button showers nice and warm. Playground just next to our 'van, kids loved it.

Shop on site is basic and slightly overpriced but there's a Tesco Express about 5mins drive off the site.

Friendly warden always happy to help answer any questions.

Hire a boat on the Broads, you won't regret it.

We'll be back again next year, in fact we already booked! 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tynxuk 16 reviews from this member

 We managed to book our pitch for a bargain price (51 for 5 nights) and were surprised the site wasn't fuller on arrival (definitely not a complaint).

The toilets & showers were always clean, laundry cost 6. 50 for standard wash size & 2 for the dryer which I thought expensive however as we got such a bargain on the pitch fee I treated myself to a load to save extra laundry once we got home.

We had hale, thunder and lightening on one day and got a bit concerned about how boggy the pitch got but it soon dried out once the rain stopped. The next day the winds got up and whistled well through the trees, there were a few windbreaks and a gazebo damaged by the winds (obviously not the sites fault) and as there were a lot of trees around a few branches fell that could have caused problems for some.

This was our second time here and we will return but maybe consider our pitch better when given the choice. 


Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wild Duck Holiday Park (haven Holidays) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Wild Duck Holiday Park (haven Holidays) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wild Duck Holiday Park (haven Holidays)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wild Duck Holiday Park (haven Holidays) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Great Yarmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4283 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement