Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Breydon Water ( Parkdean Resorts )

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Breydon Water ( Parkdean Resorts )
Burgh Castle
Gorleston
Great Yarmouth
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR31 9QB
Tel: 0843 3092804
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 23/03 To 02/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 69 Reviews
                7/10 from 69 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  69 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nellyspania 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here as part of a group of couples with children.

It was a mixed bag really!

The main plus points:

Outdoor pool is really warm.

Plenty for kids to do.

Right next to Burgh castle (huge old roman fort) and Breydon water (stunning sunsets).

The main negatives:

Shower block is really dated and pretty grotty.

Lots of pitches missing grass and got very gritty when it rained.

Really noisy at night - we were lucky enough to be on the perimeter as the units are squashed together in the middle and this was where most of the noise was coming from.

I hate to come across as a snob but there was also some groups staying who were a bit rough and rowdy, including one couple who had a blazing row at 7. 30am on the sunday and screaming obscenities at each other.

Probably wouldn't stay again.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andyace 2 reviews from this member

Friendly staff. Good value for money and choice in the restaurant. Park and bathrooms were very clean. Good family site. Entertainment was ok. Bingo was amazing. Enough for all the family to do without feeling too commercialised

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stepperdoc 22 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for 7 nights from a Monday to Monday. Been before but will not be going back as the negatives far outweigh the positives.

Plus points:-

1. Good location for exploring the local area including Great Yarmouth, Lowestoft, Norwich (use park and ride) to name just a few.

2. Good sized level pitches

3. 16A EHU at all pitches

4. Reasonably cheap if booked in advance

Minus Points:-

1. The approach roads are extremely bumpy and the speed bumps on site are quite high especially when towing a caravan so make sure everything is well secured.

2. The toilet block cleanliness leaves much to be desired despite the best from John, the touring warden. The chairs in the showers were always dirty, toilets were often not flushed and the elsan disposal was very often used but not flushed.

3. There was only 1 water point at the shower block and the tap did not have a screw type hose attachment.

4. Although there was always hot water in the shower block, it was necessary to continually press the button during a shower as the longest time for water to run was around 10 seconds.

5. Many grass pitches were actually devoid of grass. If the weather had been wet I'm sure these would have turned into mud-baths very quickly.

6. The noise levels and number of children who used the shower block unattended despite notices to say they must be with an adult, rose rapidly as the weekend campers arrived.

As stated at the beginning, this was our 3rd visit to this site and probably our last.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pcb123 11 reviews from this member

Lovely friendly site, the staff very helpful especially John, nothing was too much trouble. The grandson (8) was made up with the crazy golf, go karts and the football area. The pitches were spacious and flat and there was no problem about my daughter and her family putting their tent on the pitch next to our van. The village shop/post office adjacent to the site, is small but has all the basics and the staff friendly and helpful, also there is a chip shop over the road, there are a couple of major supermarkets a few mins drive away though. There is a bus stop outside the camp where you can get the bus into Great Yarmouth and Gorleston which has a lovely beach. Nice walk from the site to Burgh castle which takes you down to Breydon water. The showers were a bit tired but did the job but as with a lot of sites had nowhere to put your shower gel/ shampoo and didn't have curtains or a barrier to protect your clothes but they were spacious so it wasn't really a problem, the same with the wash basins. Nowhere to put your wash things or towel, there was only one private wash cubicle and the hot water didn't work, apparently it never has !My daughter asked at reception about hiring a baby bath and was told they didn't do that but the sink in the baby changing room was big enough so she used that, then whilst the grandson was on the go karts we noticed that the attached bike hire shop did indeed hire baby baths amongst other things ! maybe a bit of communication went adrift. The weather wasn't as good as we would like so didn't use the outdoor pool but the grandson did use the indoor one in the sister site over the road. The entertainment was good on the nights we used the club and the meals were good value, beer a bit pricey but that's the norm. All in all a good family site.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 5357frank 3 reviews from this member

This site is a nice site ideal for touring Norfolk, seeing the broads, good area for long walks, pet friendly, clean facilities, plenty for children to do, for adults good bar next door in Kingfisher, ground mostly flat well kept by John the warden very helpful, another site over the road which can be used has a gym, pool, shop but mainly statics, bus stop outside shop gate for Gt Yarmouth

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jayneandkev 5 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to Brayden water, and was just as happy as the first, its a great friendly small park with lots of entertainment, it is very relaxing and has a great staff that are always on hand, perfect for children and safe, also if you like walks by the river its also a great site will go again this year,

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bangayfamily 1 review from this member

Stayed bank holiday pre weekend for our first ever camping trip, tent was a borrowed one so not 100% on getting the thing up, but a kind fellow camper offered to help (good spirit of camping ?) facilities are basic as you would expect but all you needed close by, shop was not adequate for size of camp so be aware you will need to get basics daily if no fridge to store it in during very hot weather, club was well provided for all ages although during bingo they expect children to be quiet ! tad unfair as at end of the day kids are excited to be on holiday, prices reasonable and some good deals, make sure you take a couple of different size plugs for the washing up facilities as it has none, pitches during peak times get very cramped. One of the better pitch sizes within the park resorts group, tents are getting bigger to accommodate families so I think they need to re look at pitch spaces. Ideal site for a relaxing break but not good if you want beaches as you would have to drive for 20 minutes either way

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: KeithandDiane 14 reviews from this member

Our first and probably last visit to a Park Resorts site unfortunately. Don't get me wrong we had a lovely week with lovely weather but the things that are important to us would stop us from returning.

We took our granddaughter for a weeks stay during school holidays. First impressions were the warden was so helpful but the touring site was so so busy with everything on top of each other. We did get a fairly decent pitch but as people came and went the 6m gap disappeared. There are also groups of people who come together and set up virtual protective barriers around themselves which again isn't a problem in itself but quite often they gather until the early hours of the morning admittedly only enjoying themselves but sometimes at the expense of everyone else.

My only other fault is the quality and cleanliness of the toilet/shower block. Whilst there are plenty of facilities, most of the time they are just filthy and need modernising, worst we have ever been to. Must be hard for the staff to keep on top of as most will probably be caused by quite young children using the toilets unsupervised who haven't yet learnt how to use hem properly.

Right that's all the negatives out the way.

The staff to a man/woman were excellent, The pool is looking a bit tired but was lovely on hot days with the lifeguards doing a good job, my granddaughter loved it. We didn't use the kids club but the staff there looked like they had so much patience and all the kids seemed to love them.

Things to do, football / basketball, crazy golf, bike hire, entertainment etc was good and no-one could have an excuse for being bored.

Overall the site felt safe and is well positioned with some nice walks to the river and pub, not far from Great Yarmouth and Gorleston beach which is lovely with loads of other stuff to do close by.

Like I say at the beginning, we had a nice week but the negatives for me outweigh the positives.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tentadventurer 4 reviews from this member

We got this site with a sun 1 camping voucher. For 2 nights it was just 12 including entertainment passes so couldn't knock that!

The site location is good, midway between great Yarmouth and the broads.

The site consists of 2 locations, bure village and another site so you can use both sites amenities. Tourers all go onto bure village.

It is one very large field with the first 3/4 closest to the clubhouse EHU and the last 1/4 non-EHU. We were non-EHU. It was dedicated pitches which might be a problem if you have a particularly large tent but it fitted our large 5 berth very easily. The area only had a couple of other campers and we were allowed to choose which pitch we wanted.

The shower block was only about 50m away and always very clean with plenty of showers and toilets which were definitely cleaned daily. The same area also had washing up facilities with 5 or 6 sinks complete with plastic drainers and bowls which was really nice and never busy.

The site warden 'mr chuckle' was very helpful in showing us to our pitch on arrival even though it was absolutely chucking it down. We also saw him regularly about the site so great if there were any problems (which we had none).

On bure village was the main clubhouse and outdoor swimming pool. We didn't use the outdoor pool due to the weather but the clubhouse was ok. We couldn't get a seat to watch the entertainment but there was a separate bar with tv which was nice for when you wanted to just get out the rain for a while. And a few 2p machines etc but nothing that's going to cost you too much money!

The indoor pool is on the sister site which is only a 5 minute walk, we found it best to arrive when it opened to the public at 10am and it was very quiet.

We really enjoyed ourselves, it had a good balance of calm without the kids getting bored. The only niggle we had was that the music in the clubhouse went on until gone midnight and was quite loud so could be heard clearly from the tent, also the non-ehu has tall willow- like trees along one edge so a bit of a noisy night. Lesson learned however and when we return (not if!) we'll just take earplugs when we want to sleep!

Definitely worth a visit!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mark+sarah 6 reviews from this member

Arrival was excellent, staff very accommodating.

The site on arrival seemed in my words like a 'concentration camp', it was very depressing. The shower blocks were not acceptable, I'm glad I had my caravan to use! They were very dated and dirty. Our pitch was adequate but I'm glad the site wasn't busy as I think it would have been a little cramped.

The area had plenty to do and there were lots of nice beaches to drive to. There were pubs in walking distance. We did not eat on site but it seemed ok. We did not go to the entertainment either but again it seemed ok, especially if you have younger children.

We did use the pool, again it was a little dated, but our children enjoyed using it and the pool staff were excellent.

I would not go to a Park Resort again and would not recommend it.

Previous     69 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2578 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019