Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Breydon Water Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Breydon Water Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) Reviews

Breydon Water Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
Burgh Castle
Gorleston
Great Yarmouth
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR31 9QB
Tel: 0843 3092804
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 93
Open: 15/03/2021 to 04/11/2021
           15/03/2022 to 04/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 59 Reviews
                7/10 from 59 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Daviboy232 1 review from this member

 If your travelling as a camper you’ll be sent to the park further up the road so if you want the shops or indoor pool it’s a walk down the road to the main site and if the weather not so pleasant it’s a colder walk back to the campsite.

Facilities are ok. The staff were very friendly from the off. Especially H. Not all singing and dancing like other holiday parks we’ve been to. Like the previous park we went to in the week and passed sites over the years. Maybe another Parkdean maybe better. But I will not be going there again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: The Dog 7 reviews from this member

 Just got back after a weeks stay here, have to say that we were not impressed, on-line contactless check-in appears to be a waste of time as you have to wait for the warden (if you can find one) to hand over your pack with passes etc to you, as I said if you can find one we did not see the warden for approx 4 hours after we arrived.

Toilets/Showers

Disgusting and dated, no soap in dispensers only one hand dryer working in the men's.

Pitches.

Not really just grass more mud, sand and grass but level but not very well marked out, its a shame that they mix tents and caravans all together instead of having a dedicated tent area which would be better, the drive around the site is full of deep pot holes which looking at older reviews they have been like this a long time.

When you drive in there is a sign that says no commercial or sign written vehicles, well Parkdean don't seem to take any notice of there own rules ! which did spoil our stay.

Facilities.

Could do with more than one water point and chemical waste point of which the flush was often broken.

Amusements.

Very small arcade with not a lot in it which is attached to the restaurant, the food in the restaurant was nice and it was also priced well.

Apart from the above this site is located in a great spot for visiting Yarmouth and beyond and burgh castle is a lovely walk away.

Would we come back, I would have to say no which is a shame as we do use Parkdean sites a lot for touring. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: ScottDJ 3 reviews from this member

 Would rate this as an average park at best compared to others we have stayed at in the area. Quite small, the arcades are minimal, as is the clubhouse/ entertainment complex, very small. Restaurant served nice food and was a bit more spacious. Good outside pool with water slide. Didn't try the indoor pool. Kids park was alright and we hired the chuckle brother type go karts which was fun (although tiring!)

Our pitch was more dirt than grass. The previous occupants had dug a hole at the front of the pitch (dog perhaps) which I reported and was told they would send maintenance team to fill it in, but that never happened in our 3 nights there. Could easily have ended in a twisted ankle in the dark.

Toilets/ shower block nice and clean.

Would I return again?? Maybe, but wouldn’t be my first choice of campsite in the Great Yarmouth area 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ratty 256 reviews from this member

 Booked this break through Sun Holidays and was really reasonably priced for the 4 of us and a dog. Online check-in before arrival was easy and you also got the chance to book on site activities and we booked swimming each morning.

Upon arrival we were met at the entrance to the park by a cheerful guy who directed us to our caravan and off we went. The caravan was ready for us when we got there and it was the usual standard for a 3 bed static. It had all the required facilities, crockery, cutlery, microwave, oven, etc. The only thing is the fridge door shelves were broken so we could not store mil in there as the bottle leaked when laid on its side, so we had to store that outside.

The site caters for both statics and touring and the layout is as usual for a static site with plenty of vans crammed in, but we had parking along the van, however it was grass so with the poor weather it got quite slippy and annoying, but we did not get stuck.

The touring pitches are all hardstanding and have hookup and there is a big toilet facilities block, however I did not go in there, so cannot comment.

There is a bar on site that you needed to check in each time fir CV-19 and the only way to order food and drinks was to download their app, which is great if you have a smart phone, but for anyone that does not you basically cannot get food or drink as they will not accept orders over the bar and payment by contactless, an absolutely ridiculous decision and one that really needs changing.

They do have a happy hour from 4 to 6 and you get 25% off the drinks and food, this then made the prices pretty reasonable. The choice of drinks was good as was the menu.

There are two pools, one indoor and one outdoor. The indoor pool was the only one open due to the time of year. We have to book our slots and and due to CV-19 the changing rooms, showers, etc were all closed and you had to get ready by the poolside and then leave in your wet costume. This was ok as we were able to park right outside the exit. The indoor pool was on the sister site, which is a long walk, probably ok in summer, but not when it is pouring down.

There was a huge play park which was open, however we did not use it as the weather was so poor, there was also a crazy golf on site, but this did not appear to be open.

Onsite shop and post office, however we did not go in there as brought all shopping from home to save going to the shops.

Site is very close to Burgh castle and you can walk there direct form the site and down to the river Yare too, which offers miles of walks and nature reserves, etc. You can walk to Gt Yarmouth too along the river which is about 4. 5 miles each way. Plenty of walking from the site and a few pubs locally too.

Great Yarmouth was about a 15 minute drive away and there is loads to see and do there and we enjoyed the Jurassic Journey and Merrivale Model Village, the Sealife centre was expensive and to be honest we were done and dusted in there in 30 minutes.

There are loads of shops in Gt Yarmouth, all the main supermarkets, retail parks, town centre and more. We spent two days there and could have seen more. The beach is huge, however we did not go on it due to the weather.

I would visit this park again as all staff were friendly and helpful and the location was great. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andyace 2 reviews from this member

 Friendly staff. Good value for money and choice in the restaurant. Park and bathrooms were very clean. Good family site. Entertainment was ok. Bingo was amazing. Enough for all the family to do without feeling too commercialised 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Outwellcamper 8 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to this resort and once again it smashed it.

Friendly staff great clean facilities and a mega time.

The site although small and a little dated doesn't disappoint. With great local walks around the Roman ruins and views of the broads only a short top from the local pubs and grocery shop. A mere 7mile in the car to great Yarmouth holiday town with entertainment galore.

The indoor and outdoor pools prove popular and can sometimes have ques but only a minor inconvenience on what is a top venue 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Susiet212162 1 review from this member

 Lovely clean site beautiful surroundings with lovely walks.

Very clean. And staff very helpful.

Great value for money too

Neutral score on child friendliness only because we were adults only 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Techn 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed for half term week and was thoroughly enjoyable. Pitches were generous and toilet/shower block was spotless.

On site club/shop/cafe provided what extras we needed during the course of our stay. The use of the indoor pool at the sister site down the road was an added bonus. Location wise not too far from Yarmouth which was a great trip for the kids and the adults alike.

Location next to Burgh castle gave a great opportunity for walks and bit of exploration for the kids. The decking down to the waterside made this very accessible with the push chair.

There are a few local pubs within easy walking distance and enjoyed a great meal at the Queens Head with some top local ales. Kids enjoyed the crazy golf and the pedal cars, night time entertainment at the club was OK for young and old alike.

Will most likely visit again due to the great location and superb standard of the pitches and facilities. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nellyspania 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here as part of a group of couples with children.

It was a mixed bag really!

The main plus points:

Outdoor pool is really warm.

Plenty for kids to do.

Right next to Burgh castle (huge old roman fort) and Breydon water (stunning sunsets).

The main negatives:

Shower block is really dated and pretty grotty.

Lots of pitches missing grass and got very gritty when it rained.

Really noisy at night - we were lucky enough to be on the perimeter as the units are squashed together in the middle and this was where most of the noise was coming from.

I hate to come across as a snob but there was also some groups staying who were a bit rough and rowdy, including one couple who had a blazing row at 7. 30am on the sunday and screaming obscenities at each other.

Probably wouldn't stay again. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stepperdoc 24 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for 7 nights from a Monday to Monday. Been before but will not be going back as the negatives far outweigh the positives.

Plus points:-

1. Good location for exploring the local area including Great Yarmouth, Lowestoft, Norwich (use park and ride) to name just a few.

2. Good sized level pitches

3. 16A EHU at all pitches

4. Reasonably cheap if booked in advance

Minus Points:-

1. The approach roads are extremely bumpy and the speed bumps on site are quite high especially when towing a caravan so make sure everything is well secured.

2. The toilet block cleanliness leaves much to be desired despite the best from John, the touring warden. The chairs in the showers were always dirty, toilets were often not flushed and the elsan disposal was very often used but not flushed.

3. There was only 1 water point at the shower block and the tap did not have a screw type hose attachment.

4. Although there was always hot water in the shower block, it was necessary to continually press the button during a shower as the longest time for water to run was around 10 seconds.

5. Many grass pitches were actually devoid of grass. If the weather had been wet I'm sure these would have turned into mud-baths very quickly.

6. The noise levels and number of children who used the shower block unattended despite notices to say they must be with an adult, rose rapidly as the weekend campers arrived.

As stated at the beginning, this was our 3rd visit to this site and probably our last. 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Breydon Water Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Breydon Water Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Breydon Water Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Breydon Water Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Great Yarmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4001 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement