Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Vauxhall Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Vauxhall Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) Reviews

Vauxhall Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
Acle New Road
Great Yarmouth
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR30 1TB
Tel: 01493 857231
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 220
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 79 Reviews
                7/10 from 79 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 14+ Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Truckman 2 reviews from this member

Been going to Vauxhall twice a year for 27 years, gone downhill since park dean took over. Adult room is now a family room. Even though there is already a massive children's room, so nowhere for adults to get away for some peace for a while. Beer very expensive

Paid £40, 000 pounds for my outfit plus £45 per night low season for a premier pitch just to have footballs kicked into it, when I complained was told as people were paying so much for premier pitch people were allowed to do what they want. What an attitude.

Lack of security as people coming in over fence at back, when I reported it they sent security to check, in a van, so anyone climbing over would not be caught,

The only good thing I can say about this place is excellent entertainment staff and bar staff especially David (pitsea) in the lounge bar. I could go on but I think I've said enough.

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: MadNurseGaz 7 reviews from this member

We went to Vauxhall to spend a weekend visiting family living in the area (who couldn't accommodate us). A 3 night stay cost a reasonable £53 including EHU.

The park is well situated just as you arrive at Great Yarmouth on the main road. The downside of this is the police and ambulance "dee-dah"s at all hours of day and night.

Friendly security staff directed us to our pitch on arrival. The pitches were all hardstanding (difficult to peg out the trailer tent!), quite small and packed VERY close together. The pitches were best suited to touring caravans, with an awning space at the side. After we pitched up, we found our only option for some food was the on-site chippie, which wasn't easy to find. The fish was OK, the batter soggy and not cooked through, and the chips (this is UNFORGIVABLE in a chippie)were obviously frozen chips.

We didn't use the pool, there was a queue every time we passed it, so we gave it a miss- one of our party persevered and enjoyed it, but he said it wasn't a swimming pool, it was a fun pool and was too shallow for swimming.

The toilet blocks were always immaculate whenever we went to use them, and the showers were good- hot, good spray and a "round-the-corner" style that kept your gear and clothes dry.

We ate in the restaurant twice, dinner one night which was a good meal (but again obviously frozen chips- not unforgivable in a restaurant, but not really acceptable)at a price that was a little expensive for what was on offer, and breakfast as we left, which was again filling and reasonably priced.

We went into the entertainment venue on one occasion, in the V lounge we couldn't get a seat until someone left, and the drinks although well kept were expensive. The other venue, the V showbar, had dance music (in the Madchester sense!) and was almost empty.

One of our party unfortunately made such a nuisance of himself through drink (and possibly other things too) that he was ejected from the entertainment venue three nights running- the security staff were professional throughout and sympathetic to the rest of our party, maintaining the drunkard's safety all the time. We have since been told that he is not welcome at Parkdean sites in future (as if we'd take him again!)

Overall, our impression of Vauxhall was that it's not all it's cracked up to be, and we wouldn't go there again.

There's an ASDA supermarket 5 minutes' drive away. The site shop is the usual holiday camp shop- corner shop prices and limited range. It's also the first camp shop where we've ever been asked to hurry up and leave because they were closing!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Bombastic 1 review from this member

Stayed in the premier pitches. Well what can I say ! Delivery lorry blocking the access, had to reverse all the way out whilst dodging parked staff cars. Access is tight to say the least.

The premier pitches are located next to the industrial units which start work at 6am, and the access road complete with speed bumps are located about 6 meters behind you, what a joy that was.

Drinks are expensive and the toilet blocks are average.

If your after a peaceful relaxing weekend this is not the place for you, the premier pitches are located on the worse part of the site possible

We have been to other park dean sites which are far better than this one. On the plus side we dodged the rain 😁 and the staff were great
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Heyi 1 review from this member

Really loved staying here! The staff were so friendly on site! I would recommend all my family and friends to come and visit here! Large site, able to facilitate all type of motor-homes, tents, etc for everyone, entertainment was fantastic, different show on every night. So close to yarmouth itself! approx 7 mins bus journey into town. Great shower facilities on site for those staying in a tent. On site adventure golf for kids.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: J Wake1999 2 reviews from this member

We visited at the end of July for a 2 week break and were extremely disappointed. We usually stay in the area and paid more than we would usually as we thought the kids would enjoy the large facilities.

We booked a premier pitch and upon arrival were allocated a pitch right at the back. We had views of factories and behind the hedges was a busy road. From 06am you would be woken by both the factories and the road. Directly on the road behind us was a speed hump in which every time a vehicle or even worse a heavy goods lorry went over it the noise would wake you and the caravan would vibrate.

The toilet blocks were dirty one cubicle had poo smeared on it for the whole 2 weeks we where there. Every time you saw cleaners they were stood talking.

The swimming pool you had to queue everyday sometimes up to an hour. Obviously aware that only so many can be in the pool at once, but unfair that the system is one out one in, can stay in all day if you want. Should have a better system than this at peak times.

The V lounge, unable to get a seat, drinks extremely expensive £10 for 2 pints, room was always freezing cold from air conditioning. After 3 attempts we stopped going. So my thoughts on Vauxhall is never visit and we for one would not return and would discourage any of our friends and family.

Complained during stay and after stay and they really don't care.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 14+ Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Outwellcamper 8 reviews from this member

This is the largest of the park resorts I have visited and being so I expected a much better level of quality and service.

Subsiquiently I was disappointed. Where to start? bad organisation on arrival causing hours of delays. Very dimly lit entertainments room without ample room for all the guests and very un child friendly. Management very unapproachable with any problems arrising. Will definitely avoid in the future.
via mobile

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Natgeo 4 reviews from this member

Firstly the positives :

On arrival we found that the check in was quick and very friendly with lots of information on what was on site.

The pitch easy to find and a good size

The entertainment complex was great with a whole range for all the family to enjoy.

Loved the entertainment in the V lounge, great for adults & kids. The staff work very hard to ensure that everyone is entertained.

The arcade was good, enjoyed the small bowling alley.

The kids had a great time in the swimming pool and we were very impressed with the lifeguard checking on our Sons swimming ability before he was allowed on the slide.

Louis’s tree house was great fun

Free wifi all over the park kept the Teenager happy.

The Husband enjoyed the sports bar and a sneaky pint away from the kids 

The negatives:

The camping facilities were sub standard we felt & a bit of an after thought to the main site. The fixed head showers were at the height of a child. The water, although warm, came out at a mere trickle. The drainage in the cubicle was insufficient, meaning that we had to stand in our shower water to get dressed !

Not much room to pull into when checking into Reception

There were no toilet brushes in any of the toilets

The washing up sinks had no plugs and as the taps were a push down it took a long time to do the dishes, with no area to rinse them after use. Also as they were located in either male or female showers we could not help each other with the dishes.

The motor home servicing points were not clearly labelled.

The staff in the arcade were over stretched meaning some considerable wait for change at times.

There were nowhere near enough chairs for the number of guests, meaning that 1 of our nights we couldn’t enjoy the entertainment at all and another we stood for 2 hours waiting for a table.

All in all we did enjoy our weekend there thanks to teh entertainment, so Thank you.

As to whether we’ll return, that depends if the camping facilities will be upgraded in the future, £43 per night is quite high considering the camping, we have had much better for less with similar entertainment.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mandydodgson 16 reviews from this member

We have just come back from vauxhall caravan site.

It is a lovely BUSY site - NOT great for touring caravans.

Badly set out, not enough room, not safe the way the caravans are facing.

Bad lighting.

The shop is small but has enough in, there is a Asda & Aldi in walking distance which is very handy.

The restaurant was ok! We are a big party of 9 we all ordered food together but didn't come together. There is Brewers Fayre in walking distance off site which was LOVELY & GREAT service (but we did have to book a few days in advance).

The main bar / entertainment room was COLD (air con on all the time?) over priced but you do expect that. Good entertainment on a night.

The swimming pool - the kids lived in it, the outside one was cold but they still went in. Had lots of fun in the pool.

The toilets & showers all very clean & maybe not enough for the size of site.

Great walking distance to and from Great Yarmouth.

Vauxhall is a nice site, not a great drive from Gateshead (A17 & A47 are nightmares!).

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dinx 11 reviews from this member

Have just visited this site with touring caravan for 8 nights, found the site easy enough straight off main road. On arrival go to reception there is no pull in for unit, staff pleasant enough even though very busy, given map and directions to pitch location. The pitch was the worst part of the holiday units squeezed together so tight no room for cars, once in could not got back out (dangerously so in my opinion)this also caused arguments and frayed tempers every time someone pulled on, also witnessed an accident when male couldn't get swing on van and hit the rear of other van causing damage. The facilities on site are very good for families pool indoor and outdoor, games room and clubs food outlets all very clean and tidy. The toilet blocks were a bit grubby but extremely busy the shower were bit of joke you got a blast of water then had to wait three mins for next blast, the pot wash was in the toilets (unhygienic) and the elsan point was open toilet on outside of the toilet block wall very strange. All in all facilities good touring pitches terrible paid forty six pounds per night not value for money unless you use all of site facilities will not return.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Megan55 1 review from this member

Sadly we didn't get pitch we booked. Water for showers was cold for four days but were reasonably clean. Weekend clearing of rubbish poor had plastic bag of rubbish blowing down the road past tents. Although greatly improved during the week

The Reedham food Mexican night food cold gave us upset stomachs. The fish and chip shop pies dry and hard.

Entertainment was good and clean and tidy. Good seating in the family bar.

Local to all public transport and supermarkets

Previous     79 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2553 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019