Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tangham Camp Site Forest Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge > Tangham Camp Site Forest Camping Reviews

Tangham Camp Site Forest Camping
Butley
Woodbridge
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP12 3NF
Tel: 01394 450707
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 74 Reviews
                8/10 from 74 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  74 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ann Dawson 9 reviews from this member

 Lovely peaceful site in the heart of the forest. Showers were clean and adequate but make sure you have 50p coins to use.

The weekend was very busy and pitches did seem to be a bit crowded together.

However this place is great for dog walking, cycling and following the UFO trail. 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Helen Blythe 1 review from this member

 We liked the campsites position in the forest with trees all around. It had a playground for younger children and there was one at the forest centre 5 mins walk away as well as a zip wire.

You could walk the trails or hire bikes from the forest centre which was great. The showers were 50p for 5 minutes but the compartments were quite small.

The washing up area was handy but not new. As it was Bank holiday weekend the bins were full which wasn’t great but I guess they couldn’t help that.

The shop could have done with being open for longer hours or earlier on a morning we have been used to that on a number of sites.

Overall we had a great time camping with friendly people in a beautiful setting. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Babana 6 reviews from this member

 We were due to go on a Saturday but as gale force winds were predicted I phoned the site an asked if we could arrive early on Sunday and they were more than happy with that.

The site is located in the forest in a big clearing area. We were quite disappointed with the lack of grass on our pitch but I guess that was due to the sandy soil. The soil drained really quickly after a day of particularly heavy rain. The pitches are flat with easy access to the ehu points.

The shop is well stocked and the laundry room well appointed.

The toilet and shower facilities need updating. The showers were 50p for 5 mins. I did not really find this long enough especially with long thick hair. The showers were a bit cramped with dirty shower curtains and the water ran cold for the first 30secs or so. Pitch fees were not cheap so I would ha e expected a fabulous shower block if I were paying extra on top. Not the case.

It is a beautiful location but the shower and toilet facilities let it down. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Eastholme 4 reviews from this member

 A very welcoming helpful lady booked us in on arrival. Nicely laid out site with good clean facilities. Plenty of room allocated to each pitch. A small reasonably priced shop, showers (50p for 5 mins), washing up facilities, a laundry room, picnic tables to hire (£1 a day) all add up to make this a well thought out site. The bulk of the pitches have electricity available & included in the price.

It is in a perfect setting in the forest with good access.

There were plenty of campers and caravans there at the time of our visit with kids making good use of the space but not noisy at all.

We visited with two dogs - at no extra charge - and when booking over the phone the guy was very helpful in picking a good spot for us.

The site is very close to the Rendlesham Forest Centre - which is 1500 Hectacres of forest! Plenty of walking paths, cycle trails etc available. Also there is a brilliant kids wooden play area and a fun sculpture trail. All of this is within a few steps of the campsite.

We will certainly visit here again - with either a tent or the caravan.

A great find! 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sebreay 2 reviews from this member

 No recent reviews for this site, so hopefully this will be of use to some.

We stayed for a week Fri-Thurs, mid-August. We’re just a small family with three under-10s.

Site in general:

The main site field is a large (5-ish acre) cleared area in the middle of the Rendlesham Forest. It is surrounded by trees on all sides, although these are less dense on the Western edge.

The pitches are defined by numbered bricks set into the ground on 4 sides, which you need to pitch your tent/caravan within as you prefer, then the areas between the pitches are reserved for parking etc. There's no demarcation fences or hedges, but I quite liked this approach.

There are a handful of trees dotted throughout the field, but generally pitches are completely open, fairly level (the southern edge of the site banks up a bit, but otherwise its virtually flat), and have some grass. You should note that we visited after 6-8 weeks of almost no rain in the UK and therefore there may usually be more grass than we experienced; nevertheless, it was not dissimilar to wooded sites I've stayed at in southern France, where lush vegetation is limited.

There is another smaller ‘field’ to the North where pitches are not marked and you are able to pitch more freely in amongst larger trees – quite a walk to the toilets though!

I really liked the informal feel, and relative wildness of the site. It gave you the feeling of being close to nature, with the necessary facilities within easy reach. I much prefer this to the feel of a bigger holiday park or club site where everything is ordered and clinical in comparison. I don’t know about deer as one review states (perhaps in low season), but at dusk there were plenty of rabbits around the site, particularly on quieter evenings. The view of the starry sky after dark was spectacular, and plenty of bird life to be heard, if not seen, all around.

As the ground is a very sandy soil, which is found throughout the region, during one thundery squall some of our pegs were lifted out of the ground once the soil was wet as it became very loose and ‘soupy’ – I would recommend you using longer or sturdier pegs than the ones supplied with your tent at this site if you see this being a particular problem. (Although you could argue that it’s better for the tent to lift rather than the wind snap your poles?).

The welcome we received from the staff was efficient, but friendly, and all other staff encountered were friendly and helpful.

Being busy, and family/group friendly the site can get quite noisy. We had teenagers running around between tents until fairly late and shouting/screaming in the trees behind. This isn’t ideal, but recognising it was a good site for groups and that it was a busy weekend, I could accept this as part of the experience. When things did get too noisy (groups with plastic bottles wedged between their bike tyres and the frame, sounding like a pack of mopeds, for example), I did see staff going around asking them to remove – shame the parents didn’t put a stop to this before that was necessary really.

After the weekend, the atmosphere was a lot quieter.

Facilities:

None of the facilities are modern, but they do the job well. There was never a queue for toilets or showers, despite the site being fully booked, with several larger groups too, over the weekend.

Showers are in a dedicated block, they require 50p for 5 minutes of plentiful hot water, with decent flow and comfortable space. I never felt 5 minutes was too short and even managed to wash myself and two children in that time on one occasion. I did not use the disabled facilities, so can’t comment on suitability there.

There is also a hut with large chest freezers for ice-block freezing and a cabin with a couple of washers and driers, which were only £2 to use (bring your own detergent). The site shop is well stocked with reasonably priced supplies, and toys/games. Nothing fancy, but just most things you may have forgotten or run out of.

5 or 6 washing up sinks are provided, which also seemed more-than-enough with no waiting required; again plenty of hot water available.

Surrounding area:

Right on the doorstep is numerous forest trails for walking and biking. Clearly this was a massive selling point for many, judging by the number of bikes about. For us this was excellent, as it provided ready-made entertainment on your doorstep for whenever the children needed a change of scene. Really good adventure playgrounds just off the site by the main forest car park, and 5 minutes cycle to the ‘bike park’ with ramps, berms, jumps etc. We did a couple of longer 1. 5-2-hour family rides too. The forest tracks are variable, but in the summer suit almost all types of bike, with only a couple of sections being too sandy or too rocky to be comfortable. I was using child trailer too, and as there are no steep gradients, this was all very easy riding.

The site is also a fantastic base for the Suffolk coast, with everywhere from Felixstowe to Southwold within 45 minutes reach; there’s loads to see and do.

Woodbridge has a decent sized Co-op, but other than that larger supermarkets are a bit far, so you need to plan around that.

All in all an affordable, friendly and relaxed site, in a great surroundings. It offers access to a whole load of fantastic UK countryside and coastline, from a well-appointed comfortable base. Only let down by being a little rough around the edges.

I don’t know when, but I’m pretty sure we’ll be back one day. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jesusarmy 2 reviews from this member

 Great location in the middle of a forest - a deer walked past as we were setting up our tent in the afternoon, and we saw another crossing the road as we returned from an evening meal out. When we went (October) there was lots of space and the trees looked great.

We were able to pitch looking into a clearing in the forest.

Facilities not great, but are clean. You have to watch out for the coin in the slot showers running out of time, or (in my case) starting up the wrong shower by mistake. The freezer for freezer blocks was out of action on our visit.

I probably ought to mention the barking of the nearby dogs which could be a problem.

Interesting fact: this is the location of the best attested UFO sighting, recorded in detail by the USAF. Spoiler alert: it was probably a lighthouse.

Would I go back again? Yes, certainly. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ScarletStar 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for a weekend with a small group of families who have camped and been friends since school.

Pitches are nicely spaced, so you don't feel on top of each other. You have to pitch between bricks in in the ground. We don't have a huge tent, but did our best to do so - we ended up at an angle.

The facilities are OK. Glorified portacabin for the toilets, which were actually kept quite clean. The showers are 50p for 5 minutes. This is something which irritates my husband something chronic - he feels it's something which should be on tap. The showers were hot and mostly clean although my friend did mop out all of them at one point as it had got in a bit of a state unfortunately.

The site was quite lively in its forest location, but not rowdy. Kids were freely doing their thing and it was friendly. You are a fair distance away from things, which is quite nice. Woodbridge had plenty of amenities and we had a day out on the beach at Felixstowe, which was unexpectedly pleasant. We grabbed some supplies from Tesco in Martlesham on the way back to camp. Only ice creams were purchased from the shop, which were essential as it was so hot!

Overall a good stay, I'd go back with friends but not on our own. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HNMN50 1 review from this member

 A wonderful well run site in beautiful surroundings near Woodbridge for the sailing and the oysters at the smoke houses at Orford. For quiet wander and cycling in the forest immediately from the campsite so much to do went to Bentwaters Cold War museum and the museum at Near Orfordness about radar, dogs allowed on a lead at the site we are a family of four and have been to the site three times, a shop on site for your essentials. Loos and showers cleaned regularly when we were there. Bricks available for disposable BBQ, plots well marked camp between the four brick markers. A well run site 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andtra 15 reviews from this member

 Great site, very busy when we visited but still ok. No playground in camping area but loads to do in the adjoining park, playgrounds, bike rides, walks and open spaces galore. All in all a great experience, the only thing we did not like was having to pay for a shower (50p a go), come on guys we have already paid a pitch fee! That aside we like this site and will definitely be returning here in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Julia52 1 review from this member

 This was our first camping trip as a family with a 3year old and a 1 year old. We loved this campsite. It is small enough to be able to let the children run around outside but still has a lovely family atmosphere. The forest is brilliant and the bike trails are great for young children who have just learnt to ride their bikes. The facilities were clean and the shop was great to get your essentials. We spent our second week on a much bigger campsite but much preferred Tangham campsite and we will definitely be returning in the future. The only reason I haven't' given this campsite 10/10 was because of the smell coming from the drains which was very strong at times. 


Previous     74 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tangham Camp Site Forest Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tangham Camp Site Forest Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Tangham Camp Site Forest Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Woodbridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4534 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement