Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Haw Wood Farm Caravans And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Hinton > Haw Wood Farm Caravans And Camping > Reviews

Haw Wood Farm Caravans And Camping
Haw Wood Farm
Hinton
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP17 3QT
Tel: 01502 359550
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03/2024 to 14/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 51 Reviews
                9/10 from 51 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: RRoberts 18 reviews from this member

 A real gem of a site with excellent customer service, well maintained grounds, dog walking field, an on site cafe and small shop.

Showers and toilets modern and very clean.

Mix of tourers and tents.

Nice relaxed feel with firepits allowed.

Quiet and peaceful at night.

Will definitely be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 We've been advised that there has been a catastrophic failure of the plumbing within the facilities building at this site. The extent of the failure and the damage caused means that they have had to shut the whole building. This includes the main bathrooms, the family and accessible bathrooms, the shop, café and laundry

Unfortunately this means the campsite is temporarily closing until September 2022. All existing bookings will be cancelling and refunded.

Remedial work is already underway, and they hope to have their beautiful bathrooms back and in full working order as soon as possible.

Thank you for your patience and understanding. 


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Lauraw6577 1 review from this member

 Wonderful park with lovely facilities and pitches!

Staff all so helpful too. A little pricey.

Will certainly be returning in the future though thank you. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Rupert Gifford 1 review from this member

 We spent four wonderful nights at Haw Wood Farm Caravan Park this summer. We found all the staff extremely pleasant, helpful and efficient, while the facilities were better than at any other campsite we have visited (generous, well-appointed pitches; first rate, clean washrooms; fantastic children's playground; and a lovely cafe/shop full of nice little homemade treats).

It must take a lot of hard work and organisation to maintain such consistently high standards and attention to detail, and we are sincerely grateful to everyone involved.

It's also a beautiful setting (we loved the cultivated field next door for an evening stroll) and perfect location, so close to Dunwich beach (tip: Flora Tea Rooms for the best fish and chips in the country) and Minsmere Nature Reserve, and a short drive to nearby Walberswick and Southwold. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Acegem82 3 reviews from this member

 We really enjoyed our 11 night stay at Haw Wood Farm. The hard standing pitch was large and even though we were next to the play park. It was quiet by 10pm.

The toilet/shower block was always clean and had nice little touches (for example, emergency toileteries, under floor heating, vase of cut flowers, local history/information). There are also 3 family rooms which is an excellent idea and more campsites should adopt this idea.

Included in the site are other little areas, for example a large, contained dog walking field, wildlife walk, pond and picnic area.

The shop was well stocked up with toys, camping/personal essentials as well as scrumptious food and drinks (including alcoholic beverages). The owners and staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Unfortunately Haw Wood Farm is not local to us or we would be visiting more often. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Basichendo 13 reviews from this member

 Nice site in a good location, lots of things to do by the coast, Thorpeness and Aldeburgh are both beautiful.

Although the facilities are great (in terms of quality), there’s not a lot of them. In the men’s showers there are 4 and I think 5 toilets. I get up at 0630 and there were still queues. Not sure if the place has grown and just expanding / getting more popular and have outgrown?

There’s only 4 sinks to wash up too. More queues.

The site itself is well maintained and very family orientated, the boys were free to roam and the wife wasn’t worried (this is a big deal!)

There’s a great bakery (eye watering lay expensive though), at the end of the road which is great for breakfast stuff. We had lunch there after leaving. Over £50 for four. Not the cheapest! 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rose in a tent 1 review from this member

 Serendipity

This is a gem of a site. We camped for a few nights in our weekender tent. We had a a lovely, good sized flat pitch with electric. The facilities were excellent, clean, no queues, hot showers, underfloor heating which was a bonus.

Loved that we could get reasonably priced, well cooked breakfast. Small shop but everything that a tent camper needs, and best of all the staff were friendly without being intrusive.

The site is situated close to all of the lovely Suffolk coast, close to Southwold, Walberswick and Aldeburgh.

Bigger groups camped at the same time were taking advantage of the firepits provided by the campsite which was lovely to see, and whilst we were there everyone respected the quiet hours.

We will certainly be going back. Loved it and thank you. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Podds 10 reviews from this member

 Booked for a week in September weather not very good had that awful wind.

Arrived at campsite shown to pitch hard standing fully serviced plenty of room.

The lady was pleasant but seemed more interested in her herb garden and fire pits we just wanted to get pitched and awning up before it rained.

Had a look at the cafe which was open at the weekend was aware it wasn't open during the week looked more suited to children with red yellow and blue chairs not a cafe to relax more like children's cafe.

My husband bought croissants from shop not covered up people breathing all over them not very hygiene

He wasn't happy.

The wifi none existent even outside cafe the toilet block well kept and clean I expect in the busy times they have a job on with children flying around like a play area outside cafe.

The children's play area must be really noisy in peak holidays the dog walking field both my dog and myself enjoyed.

We had a bad night of winds took are awning down lucky no damage but owners no sign of to check if every one was okay some seasonal caravans awnings has succomed to the wind.

We came home early conclusion families with children interested in herbs and fire pits not a site for adults

For peace and quite would not return must be hell in busy times

Not for us. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Coquelicot 10 reviews from this member

 Lovely site - especially if you have children and a tent. However, the site does not seem as interested in its customers without children using the site during the week. The café and shop were only opened fully at the weekend to cater for all the families arriving. It made us feel a bit like second-class citizens! We spoke to other caravanners who felt the same way. I can understand the facilities not being open so much in the low season but not the middle of June.

The showers were good but I counted six seconds before the water ran out and I had to push the button again!

The co-op nearby is quite small and not great for choice. It is more like a fancy deli/farm shop and quite expensive. I couldn't even get semi-skimmed milk there one day.

The dog walk field is a meadow and totally unsuitable for exercising your dog off the lead. The grass has been allowed to grow so high that you would lose your dog in it and I would be extremely worried about grass seeds getting in my dogs' ears and paws.

Our pitch was fully serviced with a gravel hardstanding but it was not very big and the caravan and awning filled it leaving a narrow, scrubby, grass area alongside which was not really very nice for sitting out.

Lastly, the free wifi at the café/shop; we have a wifi booster and should have been able to pick up the wifi without any problem. However, the signal was weak and very slow. When all the families arrived at the weekend everyone was obviously using their phones and their tablets all evening as we could not get any wifi at all then.

Most people need wifi these days (as shown by everyone glued to their devices all evening outside the café) especially as the mobile phone signal and the TV reception were both quite poor at the site. While I accept that the TV and mobile phone reception is out of the control of the site owners due to its rural location, I feel that this issue could be a major drawback for many caravanners and should be highlighted to anyone before they consider booking this site. 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Td5boy 6 reviews from this member

 This is one of the best caravan sites I've visited. It's obvious there's a lot of development work going on here and it's equally obvious a lot of time effort and love is going into how well it's been thought out.

Facilities are first class and immaculately clean. The hard standing pitch was superb. It was level, on a not very level field. It was serviced with everything you could need and peaceful, albeit relatively early in the year.

This area of Suffolk has a lot going for it. Southwold a few miles to the north. Aldeborough to the south, along with Snape Maltings where we left quite a lot of money.

Would I visit Haw Wood again? Yep. No question in my mind. This is a definite jewel. 


Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Haw Wood Farm Caravans And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Haw Wood Farm Caravans And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Haw Wood Farm Caravans And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hinton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


46178 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement