Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Carlton Meres Holiday Park ( Park Holidays Uk)

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Saxmundham > Carlton Meres Holiday Park ( Park Holidays Uk) Reviews

Carlton Meres Holiday Park ( Park Holidays Uk)
Rendham Road
Carlton
Saxmundham
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP17 2QP
Tel: 0343 178 7070  or  01728 440925
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: -
Open: 20/03/2021 to 02/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 31 Reviews
                6/10 from 31 Reviews

Photos (23)

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Geezz 1 review from this member

 Great Pod Glamping by the lake really nice ambiance.

Peaceful and serene only problem is the Toilet and shower too far however was told they plan to build a facility nearby by next year.

Will definitely come back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Roobeeroo 15 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 4 night stay at Carlton meres as the weather was lovely. First impressions was pretty good of the privately owned lodges and statics but when you got to the touring area a different story.

Has been totally neglected road is in a bad state with big tyre ruts and holes and the 2 street lights were not working so we had to walk back from the clubhouse in the pitch dark, tripping and stumbling quite dangerous.

Only 1 area for the refuse for the whole touring area! showers and toilets were clean but no heating so it was freezing in there so unable to shower. Food was good in the restaurant/clubhouse and reasonable price. Live entertainment on friday and saturday, staff nice and friendly.

Fishing is expensive at £10 a day and we were not told that there was match fishing on the saturday so the lakes had been well ground baited so a waste of time trying to catch any fish. One of the walkways to the lakes had been blocked off so had a longer walk to get to them.

We have been told that the company which has now taken over this site is doing a 7 million pound revamp starting next year, if this is the case then we would stay again in 2 or 3 years time if big improvements are made. If not then we would not bother to stay here again.

Oh and finding the place with a satnav is a nightmare be warned. Nowhere to walk in the area from the site. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ryan zed 1 review from this member

 Arrived to awful stench of sewerage from area being covered over and not sectioned off from children. Paid more for this site because it had pool - hottest month and could not use pool as they said too many people in there. Management just shrugged and would do nothing when we complained. Even people who owned lodges there were complaining and just getting brushed off with comment like ‘let’s hope it rain’ or We are building a bigger pool next year’

Entertainment in club house was ok but children who had arrived to go in pool in swimwear were going into clubhouse because they could not get in pool for 2 hours and being sent out by entertainers to get ‘dressed properly’ on the hottest day of the year at 2pm!

We did not eat in club house but saw lots of people sending food back in one evening

Overall, really disappointed and would not return

Be aware - they advertise a pool but you can’t get in it or can only go in for one brief session ( 45 mins) per day and even then you have to queue and wait for 2 hours. We went to the beach and left for another site earlier than planned 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Anne Bedder 5 reviews from this member

 We took two grandchildren mum and dog, had a hard job to find our pitch which was on a very uneven, large rut field.

Tents seemed to pitch anywhere.

Wasps everywhere all week

Pitch next to a run down van that looked like it had been there a long time very neglected.

Toilet block

Dirty toilet block all week. Water flooded the floor for all week, no toilet paper, no lights in showers. Showers very temperamental, heads needed cleaning, all week could not find a shower which poured in the right direction. No cleaning sheet in block, but the receptionist would argue with me that there was one. I witnessed the cleaner on her mobile phone sweeping with one hand ( is this multi tasking). Only one shower hook which made life a little difficult as there was no lighting in the shower.

Washing up area

One word disgusting hadn’t been cleaned for at least a couple of weeks, and the floor not since the beginning of the season.

Chemical waste

No running water to use and full of dried grass and rubbish

Swimming pool

Quite a small pool but there was a lifeguard there at all times. The children were lucky they managed a swim when required, but they limit you on the number in pool and issue hand bands and turn over in a an hour.

I decided to have a shower in the pool block got undressed to find that the shower did not work, and to find out three other cubicles were out of order. There was a cleaning sheet on the wall, considering it was 29th august the sheet showed june 31st.

Clubhouse

Dirty tables, and the food was very poor, i felt they were missing a big trick here as the lodges which all look very superb i am sure the guest would eat out in the bar as there would not be any driving involved.

They should produce appetising food and of good produce.

The entertainment was very poor but the children did enjoy it. It is a very small clubhouse the music was loud and distorted. We tried to use the quiet bar but was told each time it was closed.

Gym and amusement area

Swept once all week.

Wasps wasps wasps wasps wasps and more wasps they were never ending.

I had tried umpteen times with customer care only to be told by an automated reply they would deal with my mail within 3 working days never a reply. I took photos and posted them to them.

I tried chat line was always just cut off

Yesterday being 12 September i was contacted to ask if I would take a partial refund.

The area is lovely the lake is a dream walk around, but i think the fishermen were a little frustrated by the children playing.

I believe they have intentions of building a bigger pool and activity room which i hope they do, but until they make good the field and want touring caravans they must up there game considerably. They have a lot of competition and I feel as this site was only purchased early this year they have got off to a very bad start, .

Touring vans have a lot of choices and they must really up there game if they want to encourage tourers and tents 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nannie3 3 reviews from this member

 When we arrived at this site it was to discover that it had just been taken over by new owners. Booked in and given a map with pitch number marked for us although when you get to the pitch it's not very clear where to pitch. Having a walk round the site you could not miss the toilet block for the smell of the drains which were blocked! The chemical toilet disposal had no hose pipe with which to swill it down after disposing of the cassette and the drain for the waste water was completely blocked. The showers have had doors put on them although in the gents the doors open inwards which means you have to step into the shower tray to get out. The water in the showers was either warm or cold. All these faults were reported to the new owners. The only saving grace was that hubby caught his personal best carp of 27. 8lb. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Podds 10 reviews from this member

 Short break

Spent a few days away at this site two adults one dog pitch okay not fully serviced elec and water but no grey waste.

Showers okay they are in the process of fitting doors on showers as some people have pointed out not a lot of room between curtain and shower did not bother me as only small.

Wanted to use restaurant but could not as we cannot leave the dog seating out side didn't appeal eating Sunday lunch around the back on uninspiring tables and wall also seat out the front not my taste.

Lovely walks around. Lake also carp fishing.

This is a family site staff friendly not for us if you want peace no kids a also lots of seasonal pitches groups meeting up foot ball and games near caravans.

Nice stay but not for us. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Eamonn 11 reviews from this member

 Our second visit to Carlton Meres, Friendly staff always willing to go the extra mile to ensure you have a great holiday, Clean facilities, and since our last visit the showers have been given 2nd doors for the people who had complained that they weren't private enough, Carlton Meres management listen to their customers to make improvements. The bar prices are similar to pub prices and the food excellent fresh and hot. Lots to do with swimming pool gym and tennis courts but for me most important two great fishing lakes with some quality fish to be caught. Shop on site for the things you forget ( we forgot to bring milk and needed a cuppa when we arrived ;) ) for bigger shops there is a Tescos and Waitrose in Saxmundham just 2 miles away and a great bait/tackle shop owned by Sam at Saxmundham Angling great prices and fresh bait 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Eamonn 11 reviews from this member

 My wife booked a 10 day stay at Carlton Meres through a Groupon deal, we read some reviews and as there was a mix of good and bad decided that we'd make our own minds up when we were there.

I noticed that there were a couple of fishing lakes and as I had not fished for over 20 years decided to dust down my rods get a license and have a few days sitting by the lake drowning a few maggots. As it was likely we would arrive after reception had closed I called and was given instructions to got to the club house where our welcome pack would be waiting, I also checked the rules for the lake, barbless hooks and no keep nets, landing net and unhooking mat, anyway we arrived about 6pm and headed to the club house, given our pack and pitch number and off we went in search, we found our pitch but unfortunately due to heavy rain it was quite muddy, so I returned to the club house and told find a pitch we liked (not muddy)an tell reception in the morning. That done we found a lovely pitch and set up, by this time it was getting dark, but the next morning we realised we had chosen well, close enough to the shower block and the lakes and only a bit further to the club house and other facilities. On the sat morn I went to reception met Anne Marie and another couple of ladies who's names I didn't get but all were equally helpful paid the £10. 00 deposit for the card for the gate and bought the 1st of many fishing day tickets.

The site was clean the showers and toilets were always well stocked and we didn't have any problems with the privacy of the showers, there was shower curtains and a area to dress and if you're shy there were a couple of cubicles which had lockable doors. There is electric and water supply on each service post, the swimming pool was closed (out of season) but will definitely be coming back in season so will use it then, there is also a gym and Tennis courts. There is also a dedicated dog walking field with doggy bins at the exit, oh and did I mention the lakes. Wow 2 fantastic lakes with loads of excellent healthy fish, I fish for silver but there are some big carp for the carp people, I caught everything from small roach and perch to lovely tench and some huge examples of Perch and roach, with bream and rudd thrown in for a all round good fish. On our second Saturday there was a fishing competition and the Fishery Manager Tony said it was a good days fun with a presentation the night time in the bar, and the proceeds to charity I entered with my 30 year old equipment and a tub of maggots, the weather was great and I was pleased with my catch, but never expected to win the competition but I did, I also won the biggest roach of the competition with a 1lb 5 oz fish, everyone in the competition were pleased for me and I brought home a couple of trophies (my first ever ). So if you enjoy fishing this is the site to stay at. And a credit to the fishery manager, excellent water and fish.

Now on to the bar and restaurant, the wine and beer is priced at pub or below pub prices the staff friendly and attentive, and the food, well the Chef Josh who knows how to cook a blue steak to perfection, and the Sunday carvery is super value, the entertainment was fun with Bryan getting everyone joining in and the Karaoke well what can I say it was brilliant.

All in all we really enjoyed our 10 day stay, well 12 days as we stayed a couple of extra days it was so good, looking forward to going again, Value for money 10 out of 10, Fun factor 10 out of 10, friendliness 10 out of 10, the only thing that lets it down is the website as it doesn't really show what the site has to offer, but apart from that it's fantastic 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarah_Sayers 3 reviews from this member

 After reading some bad reviews on this site, I went with a certain amount of trepidation, however things were not as bad as I had been fearing.

The welcome was not great, the lady who checked us in made us feel like a great inconvenience.

As others have said the shower block lacks privacy, which is a shame as there is an area outside each shower where you could change, if they just hung another shower curtain. Knowing about this in advance helped me, as I just wandered over to the block in my dressing gown! Cleanliness was fine, not A1, but probably hard to keep on top of on a site of this size. Just some mud and grass on the main floor, but the showers themselves were spotless.

We liked the layout of the tent area, with lots of trees for the children to play and adventure in. It also broke the field up a bit and made it feel like you were in a smaller place. Also a really big open field where the children can play. The site was very quiet. Lots of washing up stations under a cover. Grounds nicely kept.

The playground is small, as is the pool and there is no shallow end for the younger children, but none of that seemed to matter to my nephews, they had a great time. The chap who did the kids club was brilliant. Funny, and great with the children, he's a real credit to the site.

We didn't use the bar area much. The cash machine was not working, and hadn't been so for a month according to the staff. Nor was the wifi. Didn't matter to us, but might to others. I think if you're going to advertise that you have it, it should be available.

One big down for us though. The bins were over flowing the whole time we stayed there. Not just a few bits left beside the bins, masses of rubbish all stacked around the already full bins, and I am sure this contributed to the wasp problem. I know you get wasps outdoors, but this was like a biblical plague. Made for great team building around the camp-site though as everyone was sharing what tips they had for wasp traps.

This site is ok, but with a bit of care and effort it would be brilliant. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andybikemad 2 reviews from this member

 Not a site I would revisit. Arrived about 1pm staff in the reception was polite but didn't seem to know what they was doing, no info was given as to where water and waste was info pack that we were given only give info for the static vans. Found our pitch which only gave us about 4 foot from the van next to us only had a porch awning but by the time you get your car on there wasn't any room for much else. Toilet blocks were dirty although we were told they are cleaned 3 times a day saw no sign of this, no privacy in showers only a curtain, for 2 days there was no toilet paper in the men's block (even though they where cleaned 3 times a day!) There was dogs running around without leads and dog mess that had not been picked up. Night times was noisy had to ask a group of people to keep the noise down at 1pm. On the day of leaving there was a van turned up saying that they was on our pitch this was at 10am even though there was several pitch's empty that had been throughout our stay. This could be a lovely site with a bit or organisation and enforcing rules. 


Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Carlton Meres Holiday Park ( Park Holidays Uk) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Carlton Meres Holiday Park ( Park Holidays Uk) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Carlton Meres Holiday Park ( Park Holidays Uk)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Carlton Meres Holiday Park ( Park Holidays Uk) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saxmundham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1985 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement