Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Glen Trothy Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth > Glen Trothy Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Glen Trothy Caravan And Camping Park
Mitchel Troy
Monmouth
Monmouthshire   (Browse area)
NP25 4BD
Tel: 01600 712295
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 104
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 44 Reviews
                7/10 from 44 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: PercyVolvo 13 reviews from this member

 This is a site with excellent access to Monmouth, only a 10 car drive away. Easy access as well from the A40. The pitches are clean, site was quiet but a lot Of road noise, site can’t do much about that though.

So, will we visit again? A big fat no on that one. Why not?

1. The pitches are messy and uncared for, while no litter, they are weedy and muddy

2. No bins and no recycling.

3. Toilet not cleaned at all whilst we stayed for 3 nights. Of 4 cubicles, one out of order, one over flowing with Pooh and was blocked. It was like this the whole stay. The soap dispensers all empty, the sinks not cleaned, a dirty discarded sock by the sinks and a dead spider, whole time.

3. Showers- you pay £32 a night for this place and still then pay 20p for a shower. Of 4 showers, one did not work snd took my money.

4. Price- I think that this site is just greedy and should be charging £15 a night not £32 like we paid. I have stayed in much better CLs than this for half the price.

Sorry, will not be returning 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Clarke-Keith 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed on a grass pitch with electric hookup along with another family. The pitches were very crammed in our tent was just two feet from the next (They have encroached a little because there was a dog poo bin a few feet from their pitch that hadn’t been emptied and stank)

The camp site sits right next to the Monmouth-Newport road and it is busy all day and the noise is significant - take earplugs. It is well situated for Monmouth but only with a car…

Kids have a great playground and loved the parrots and cats but were very disappointed with not being able to bike around the site.

The toilet/shower block was not great. Not enough of either and some out of order. Definitely not cleaned often enough for a full site and paying extra for showers when the site is £30 a night is taking the Michael - especially when it takes 2 of 4 minutes to warm up!

The washing up area had no running hot water on any visit.

There was no site bin on final day just a big pile of bin bags! Also there is NO recycling on-site.

The microwave and freezer don’t work (they’re actually in a room with no sockets!)

But by far the most annoying thing was the Premier League quality floodlight placed in an old tree directly above our tent that lit us up like Dell Boys kitchen…

The WiFi was excellent though…

You may have guessed but we won’t be returning… 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Feagle 1 review from this member

 Very easy to find, check in is straight forward. There is a £10 refundable deposit for the barrier remote. The front of site is for season/service pitches, which are quite close together.

The next portion is more season pitches, plus the toilet/chemical disposal point and rubbish skip. Then comes the grass pitches with electrical hook up and last is the non serviced pitches.

The grass pitch boundaries are not very clear, so some hap hazard parking occurred. The season pitch area was very lacklustre in parking too.

The toilet block was dirty to say the least and I was one of a few that reported blocked urinals and lack of toilet paper. The urinals were still blocked on leaving the park.

The waste was not recycling, so everything was dumped straight into the bin. I was a bit concerned about the chemical disposal point, as it was past waist height, which could have proven difficult to some people. The whole toilet and waste area looked unkempt as a whole.

Prices in high season are £34/night for a service pitch, £28/night for grass with electric hook up and £26/night for camping. WiFi is free. Although they advertise dogs allowed, there is no actual dog exercise area.

There is a nice child friendly park located in the middle of the season pitch area.

This site is only five minutes drive outside of Monmouth, so it is the Gateway to the Wye Valley and Forest of Dean also. Raglan castle is only a short drive away too.

Considering we are still coming out of Covid, I was very disappointed by the lack of cleaning overall. This park could be so much more, but unfortunately, is not at the moment. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Alr222 1 review from this member

 The campsite is fairly small with mostly caravan and electric hook up tent pitches. Unfortunately if you aren’t on an electric hook up pitch you are sent to the forgotten about field at the end of the site.

The field is very muddy with big car tyre rugs due to the access road stopping at the edge of the field. The tap in the field doesn’t work and it is where all the dog owners take their dogs to go to the toilet. I can completely understand you can’t control the weather but some mitigation could be put in place to prevent the swamp like entrance to the field, such as an access track or putting hay down in the worst sections

The positives though - the owners were very friendly and the shower block was extremely clean. Bit disappointing to have to pay for showers but we knew this at time of booking and were still happy to go ahead.

I would visit the site again but I would request one of the electric hook up pitches so I could avoid being in the forgotten about field at the end! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Harryajh 15 reviews from this member

 Stayed here several times years but our most recent stay will be our last. The site used to be a bit shabby but a friendly Gypsy family took over the site a few years back and put a lot of money into the site and made some major improvements.

We expected a small'ish price increase but they've jumped up considerably, i. E. A hard standing pitch this August is £30, next year, it's an eye-watering £35 and you still have to pay for the Showers!.

The site is clean and tidy but a bit out of the way, roughly 1. 5 miles walk to Monmouth and no buses. The Kids facilities look really good as well but for us as a couple, it's just too expensive. As a side note, we thought the usual friendliness of the site had changed, there are signs everywhere stating you can't do this or that, didn't used to be like that, was far more laid back and enjoyable! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lloydda 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here just for the weekend and it is fair to say they are placing a lot of investment into this site.

We used a fully serviced pitch and they have created a patio type area where your Awning would normally go, great idea for me using it just for the week end, but you may want to choose your pitch accordingly if you have an awning.

Plenty of area in the middle for kids to play and there is a play park for them, a good safe area for them to play.

Other reviews have mentioned the road which you can hear, but it does quieten down in the evenings.

The owner is very welcoming and helpful, he came to sweep my patio area as I arrived, the biggest character has to be the Parrot who does impression of a lorry reversing and an emergency vehicle siren.

There are some seasonal pitches there whereby those staying have taken a lot of time and pride in setting up their pitch. The people in staying where great and easy to get on with, a very pleasant feel about the site.

There is nothing in walking distance, the nearest establishment is a pub down the road, but a bit far to walk in my opinion. A car is therefore essential, not just to get your caravan there but also to get any supplies. With a car you are minutes away from Abergavenny, Raglan, Monmouth and the Forest of Dean.

Yes I would stay again and I cannot think of anything I would improve, maybe teach the parrot a new sound.

Well done to the new owner for the latest investment to bring this site to the standard it is today. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Countrycruisers 12 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site with a large group of friends for the early May bank holiday, we occupied most of the field site beyond the toilet block, the weather was fab not a drop of rain all weekend that made the ground nice and dry.

The facilities were not the best the shower space is quite small, the ladies shower started as soon as you put your money in the meter, not allowing you time to get changed and getting wet clothes in the process, toilets were cleaned once a day.

The site is mainly seasonal pitches on hardstanding, it is a pleasant site, we may come back for an odd weekend, but this site wouldn't be top of the list. Prices are not to bad £18 PN with elec 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dibden2015 8 reviews from this member

 The site seems to be mainly organised for seasonal pitches. They are all around the outside and very well maintained, unfortunately that means that they have plant ots and fences right up to the access road making manoeuvring onto the pitches very difficult. Hard standing is two concrete slabs with 6ft of grass to drive over to access it. Then patio slabs where your awning goes ( how are you meant to peg down the awning?)

Toilets are reasonable but, due to the number of people on site and slight damp conditions, the floors were covered in mud. Maybe cleaning twice a day on busy periods could help. Showers are on meters, outside the cubicles. Seems penny pinching. Once started there's no control of temp and if you run out of time it's a walk to the meter.

Never once got warm water from the taps.

I'm aware this is a negative review. For the seasonal pitches I'm sure this is a very good site. It's lacking on the touring side. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynne 59 1 review from this member

 Lovely site. Owners very helpful. Returning in july. Facilities easy to get. Really well kept. Pretty site. Plenty of room for the grandchildren. Easy camp site to get to. Not far to Monmouth town. Looking forward to the next weekend 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Regular camper 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a long weekend at this site. We found the facilities were very clean and spacious. Water was hot with soap dispensers and hand dryers. Flat campers field and wherever you camp would be close to facilities.

Site owners very friendly and helpful. Look forward to a return visit.

Monmouth 1. 5 miles away with plenty of places to eat and drink. Has a Waitrose and Budgens. 


Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Glen Trothy Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Glen Trothy Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Glen Trothy Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Monmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Monmouthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


299 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement